Maldives

Yo adel,

Got baby no Maldives, got Maldives no baby....kekekek...so have to go Maldives a few time more then decide.

Then you leh? When decide to get married and have kids? Kekeke.... probably you'll also say to travel the world more then think about it!

Sure, please email to :- [email protected]

Hey adel(hee still prefer to call ya the previous nick) ;p wah... so all along u 'outside watching'...keke.. come join us inside lah...

btw I've decided to go Perth...haha...just waiting to book the tics n accom...iternary all planned.. same here... we 'll be self driving too... it's a great place to drive.... no stress one man...
hey..wanna see your tasmania pics also... [email protected] thanks gal...

oh ya... come join the "Wu's tour" in 2007 leh... more pple cheaper....

Wu
tell me abt fuel surcharges...
stupid surcharges so ex.... sigh...

Going to send you guys my maldives and tasmania photo. Server is running slow. check later.

All of you planned to go in 2007? Hilton?

How much for this trip? Wu is planning now?

starstar,
are you going to take diving lesson there?

Good day Wu

Yep i agree with u so after we all "suan-lai-suan-qu" it still boils down to Hilton in terms of the best value! hopefully got beach villas that are nearer to the beach....personal preference la !

Another thing to note hor
maybe itz due to the size of the island. the deluxe beachfront villas at Angsana are all located v closely to one another. your neighbours on your left and right are only a scream away :P
Buuuutttt the "exclusivity" is still not lost cos u dun get those typical kiasu Singaporeans living next to u - itz either angmo/jap couples only. so everyone is v civil and mind their own business. if the ladies want to suntan topless (although itz illegal in Maldives) they just go right ahead cos no one gives a hoot there HAHAHA!!

as for the time to walk round the island hor....it depends on whether u are doing brisk walk/romantic stroll la okie
i was strolling arr...heheheh =)

oh yeah before i forget

those of u who are Bora Bora/Tahiti crazy must catch the replay of Globe Trekker TODAY~ they should be showing that Ian Wright episode where he goes island hopping in the French Polynesia.

Blue Ginger: would u mind sharing your Maldives pix with me? email link to [email protected]

Yo Adel,

No lah... talk only lah... who knows everyone are still in this thread by 2007? KEkekek... But also yes lah, tentatively!

If my calculation is correct, should be around S$4K for at least 6~7 nights, bed breakfast only.

So you on???

YoYo bvbride,

No lah....Kekeke... so far Hilton best value. you wouldn't know when Angsana gonna come out with a special rates, i.e 6 to go at S$3000 per couple 7 nights + flight etc.... Kekekek

Sure! I'll book for Angsana! Hey...Angsana is the first few resort I've look around b4 my trip.
I really love the resort villa design as well! Kekekekek....

hey....which channel you're talking ah? I got no SCV leh...

Hi Wu,

Per Pax? Very expensive leh! Very likely I'm out cos include diving will hit abt $5K per pax, right? Killing me with debt after I come back. Hahahah! But I do look forward to your next photo session.

blue ginger
can't gointo your Tasmania link....
wow..saw your maldives one...very nice...
sigh... so tempting...

Wu
2007? who nows we are still here in this thread..keke..:p wah...$3000 per couple..I chiong man...

hi Starstar, Wu and Blue Ginger

SCV channel 16 - the Travel and Living channel
time ? should be 7pm and 1am cos my husb always monitor this particular episode kekeke =)
that was the episode that sparked off my luurrve for water bungalows, clear blue water etc etc =) yippee!!!!

Wu arrr..u love to travel but no SCV how can?? aiyoh....nebermind la get someone to tape it for u

bvbride
dun like say Wu leh...keke..me also no SCV..hahaha....
cos hubby felt no point getting as most of time we wun be at home to watch TV(either working or going out during weekends)...:p he says "waste $$$"... wait till I leave my current job first then he'll apply...

aiya..darn..can't watch liao..

hi starstar,

Thank you for your comment. compared with Hilton, it is nothing.
This is a link from my friend. I have viewed them leh! If not, you properly need to wait til mid of this month before I can fully upload the photos to mine web. Will let you know again through mail, ok?

I love travelling, I mostly travel through books and TV. haha! I watched it before. That's when I feel of going to Polynesia instead of Maldives.

Adel,

No lah.....Not 5K per pax lah... depends how many dives lah. If you say 12 dives per person hor, maybe add another S$1200 per pax. Aiya.. relax lah, say 4 or 5 dives should be enough lah!

Bvbride,

SCV expensive leh... den I always watch only discovery channel b4 marriage in my parents house, that time "Free" mah!
It's true, when only watch animal planets, discovery channel, national Greographic or travel program on SCV, quite a waste to subscribe though.

I'm trying to find someone who can spare me a additional set-top box, cheaper mah. I think alot of ppl do that.

Aiyo.... recently watch the channelnewsasia regarding Maldives air pollution causing Global dimming, quite scary leh. As years goes by Maldives will have less sun-shine!

So must Go early loh! 2007 Maldives...

cool, my pizza just arrived in time for dinner, so i gues i'l be glued to the tv later! i CANNOT do without cable....i love surfing the channels...

Wha..... lucky you Haru,

So early reach home liao ah? I still got so many things to do leh... must complete all the task b4 going for Reservist from 6th Dec to 23rd Dec. SianX

I wanna to watch the program also leh.... anyone can record?

hello Wu
oops - sorry arr...cos im like Haru - super onz abt TV. wait till u explore the new digital channels - wonder if they hv anything on Pets??hmm.... am sure they hv some channel specifically for pets?? hmm
Haru if u hv those additional digital channels u can enlighten us

Haru - hope u are catching the show now

yep the SCV can add alot of "extra" cost to your mthly expenses but ah lau cannot do without it! he can surf from channel 5 to channel 60! yikes!
want to rope me in to pay for the extra channels he claimed that i will definately LOVE like discovery health and living or something like that :P
where got the so much dough?? kekekek....

aiyoh Wu arr since i dun really dive hor i guess 4nights for me gao liao la hoping to keep to my SGD 2000++ budget

we will see lah

maybe i too wil be hanging around this thread still in 2007

Aiya... those who watch the docu tell me the story lah... Don't know how you do it lah.. but just tell me lah. At least better than nothing. Kekekekek....

Yo bvbride,

4nights where got enough? you don't dive but there's lots of things to do there leh. First day Nua Nua, 2nd day, island hop+snorkel, 3rd day - spa, 4th day walk around the island take photo/movie, 5th day go swimming pool sun-tan, 6th day play some water-sports... etc... you see, at least must 6-7 days leh!

Then hor if can upgrade to sunset water villa leh! Max 6 adults, too bad only 2 couples can sleep on beds. Then if can secure USD750 again per night, per couple only USD250.... Cheap leh!
Kekekke... That'll be the 7th day, 8th day onwards

Going crazy liao...my vacation is actually going longer and longer. Used to be 3d2n tioman, then 4d3n redang, then 7d6n redang/KL, then Maldives 8d7n.. What's next? 12d11n??
Really need to look out for more money!

hi everyone!!! so how's the program last nite?

heard from my colleague who has SCV at home, he also watch...he mention to me the Bora Bora island is beautiful... told me abt the water villas...abt USD$600 per nite... blah blah... gee... anybody recorded the progam down? seems pretty nice.. *dreamy*

Wu
yes..if I go back Maldives, I wanna go for a week...
wah 12d 11n? go where? Europe? For me, think Maldives I'll definitely bring maggi mee there..cos I'm sure to miss the local food in three days time... :p

Yo Starstar,

12d11n Maldives loh.... When I nua, I can really "NUA" one.

I'll definitely go for at least 1 week lah, anything less hor, I'll feel something missing.
This time round, I'll bring some combat ration there...kekekek..
Not lah, this time round if really want to get maggi mee hor, must get those very exotic type, like those in Taiwan, got beef inside one. Normal ones, 1 day 1 already sian liao...

Hai.... still a long time to go lah... 2007 leh.

Anyone know will that SCV program got repeat telecast? Now really thinking getting SCV sub.

hello starstar and Wu!

the prog last night was rather hazy cos i was super shack - caught the 1Am one. basically the best part of the show was when Ian Wright went to the Pearl Beach Resort in BoraBora. the water there is like the one at Hilton sunset villa but with lesser corals. he went on the stingray feeding excursion as well (@USD50). the speedboat (exposed one - nt the glam ones we r used to in Maldives) took him to this stretch of water that is so unbelivably blue, clear and clean and all the stingrays just came up to them for food
Fantastic!

Wu arr...dun think will hv your kind of budget to say so long leh seriously. i dun need to spa/ tan for one whole day cos im that kind who wil pack my day w stuff to do. 4nights will be great for me
Nua-ing i also like but itz too expansive for me to nua one whole day in Maldives - half a day is nice enuf. if i tio TOTO then itz another story la HOHOHO
(in Spore - i can like nua for weeks lor)

Hello bvbride,

Ai....Bora Bora..... 10 years later then go lah. Still cannot forget about Maldives yet. :P
Here is the Bora Bora Pearl beach resort website.
Have fun surfing!

http://pearlresorts.com/bora/main.asp

Yes, i understand what you mean also... me too got budget issue, that's why I'm also trying hard to "look" for money mah...Toto lah, big sweep lah etc.. :P
For me, the equation doesn't seems right leh, staying only 4 days, the rates is probably that of the flight ticket prices. Like spending around S$1400 for 2 on SQ and stay there beach villas USD200 per day(4 days also around S$1400)! Not really "worth" it loh... Especially when there's such offer, those 5D3N ones really not worth loh.

Neber mind, 2007 still long way...May you, me,starstar and all others here ganna toto, big sweep and 4D laughing to the Maldive's bank! KEkekekeke

Hi Wu

yep thatz how i feel too. i caught this prog nearly two years back and i was totally overwhelmed by the beauty of BoraBora
after i visited Maldives i feel that the same can be found w/i Maldives ie Soneva Gilli/Huva
moreover itz so much cheaper to get there right?

btw i learn abt Soneva Gilli from another prog shown on SCV Channel 16. i was stunned by just how blue and clear the water was!

yep yep 2007 is a long time la. will see will see - Good luck with your TOTO/4D etc etc etc HOHOHO!!

btw i just realised tt u had your wedding in Sheraton? me too HAHAHA =) think they are good value for $. service not too bad either.

Wu
wah!!!! very very nice!!! AND the rates very nice too... think Hiton is abt the same size as the resort right? very ex... it's like paying for a 5 star resort water bunglalow price in Maldives but air tic to Maldives cheaper lor...

haha...me will only be signing up the SCV in Jan....kekeke..:p

Hey Hey....bvbride,

KEkekeke....oh.. yours is at Sheraton as well ah. Kekekeke
so funny. Yes... it's really good value for money(I really "profited" from this wedding). Decent food, good service and not forgetting their fabulous house wine. The best wine I ever had (comparing average priced wine). The wine from Chile, and I think most chilean wine tasted extremely smooth, as it just flow down your stomach.
try it if you like wine.

Then hor... don't trust too much on the prog cos they used filter to enhance the blue. In my pics also, my casio exlim camera is very sensitive to blue, and thus the effect. Some of my pics came from my friends camera, a digital SLR with various filter used to have such effects
From our eyes, it's not so blue.
Camera tricks you know! Kekekek

But Soneva gili and Huva is too ex also. Simple beach villa in Huva cost USD700. you can stay Angsana 2 nights leh... but must agree, these are the 2 most exotic location in Maldives, maybe can island hop there just 1 night stay? Hahaha...

1 thing true about Bora Bora is much bigger islands and lots of hills. And with the surrounding water, it forms a big contrast, and thats the diff between Maldives. Aiya... most island/water around the equator that is that nice lah, except Singapore :P

Hey Starstar,

Not sure about that Bora Bora resort size leh...but the land area definitely bigger than those in Maldive lah.
The rates are also "nicer" than Maldives...way too high.

As what bvbride say, the beach,sand,sea quality likely the same as Maldives, so might as well go Maldives instead. Don't really think it's worth that much loh in Bora Bora!

And not forgetting the air tic there, yes it's gonna shave off a couple of thousand dollars from the budget.

Really for that price hor, since it's comparable with Huvafenfushi beach villa price, I would rather choose Huva than Pearl beach! Or even choose back Hilton sunset villa, off course the discounted price lah, not the full USD3000 per night.

Anyway, it seems that it's impossible to have a quote for Sunset villa price in hilton website. Don't know why leh? Hmmmmmmmmm.......

Oh...Kekekekk
I'm think of getting the SCV thru my parents. additional SCV box cost less right? :P

Wu
wah..u so smart...

talk abt Sheraton, I had a friend who went for a wedding dinner in Sheraton sometime back in aug... she told me she was rather disappointed wif the service there n the food... not up to the standard... waiter spilling the food into drinks etc... sigh...anyway it was complaints... I was rather surprised wif her encounter... or maybe she was too 'picky'... :p but the comments on the food for functions etc..for sheraton is not very consistent... some say good... maybe the cook got mood swings... hahaha..

bvbride
your wedding's over? haha... ya man..Wu 'profitted' for his wedding..
darn lucky...
well..if your wedding is not over, it's just something to 'watch out' for...

Yo Starstar,

I think this kind of thing hor really depends on luck one loh! As we know most waiter/tres are part timer mah... it's really a industry issue here. If a wedding takes place in a restaurant, oh different case liao.... their waitress all aunties and are very experience ones

I must say the food wise, it's probably not the best or excellent but the I would say rather consistent(my wife ate a few times there). The cooks are from Li Bai and they got certain fame liao.

however, I must say something, the whole arrangement from initially planning(conceptual) to the finish of the whole wedding program, I'm very satisfied! especially with their wedding/dinner consultant.... everything went on so smoothly till the end. No complain at all!

Especially during the start, I scare there would be cock-up, we specially ask them to rehearse again and again... becos it all started with an MTV...and this MTV(songs and music) actually continue with our appearance(i.e walkin) with special lightings(Mr Bean style) featuring me waiting for my father-in-law, bringing in my wife....all these are in spilt seconds thingy, and Sheraton folks did all the timing accurately without flaws...

Hey...I think your friend to fussy lah...Kekekeke :P those waiter earn so less and also must blame it on Singapore's overall service culture. With such little money and no prospect, who would really give in 100%? We're not Japanese or at least Taiwanes standard yet.

Really depends on luck. I think

Wu
ya man..I agree wif ya... luck plays a big role here... keke...
good that your wedding went smoothly...
keke.. guess lady luck was wif me too...my wedding was also smooth going... n am I lucky to be my coord last few customers... cos after a while, my coord cross over to another hotel n heard the new coord very rigid...phew...:p

yo Wu
hahaha..forget to mention lady luck is wif ya most of the time...'profitting from dinner'etc..;p hard to make $$ from dinner nowadays leh.. dun lose too much happi liao...:p

Yo starstar,

Yah lah... I got little bit of luck. Small ones only lah, not big though. During some shows in Sheraton, we won 1 night stay in their suite. Then wedding dinner, they gave us 2 nights stay in their suite.
Bridal veil show also won something like the 5th or 6th prize, photo shots package by Chris ling.
Then wedding dinner Hong Bao got extra, just nice to pay for Bridal veil's package.

Aiya....got small luck life better than nothing lah... Kekekeke

hi ya all,
i have the digital channels such as E entertainment and Discovery Health and Living,realy nice to watch. esp E! has some real brainless programms, great for late nite entertainment...can seriously consider..

haru
E is in chinese or english?

Wu
wah..u still call that small luck..hahaha..then for pple who never won anything in lucky draw how?
kekeke...u very heng leh... must 'touch a bit of your luck' leh...

hellow folks good evening

Haru u feeling better? u still moderating this thread today? aiyoh rest well ok
shiok hor get to cosy up w hubby tdy - heh heh heh

Wu arr
u also photography/videography expert sibo? hmm...point taken abt the blue waters

Sheraton was great for us. some guest feedback that the sharksfin abit fishy la, dishes take very long to come in la, annndd of cos complained that waiters are inexperienced arr etcetc....i didnt qt bother la cos u cannt expect everything to be 100% perfect.
my coordinator ROger and the banquet manager for that night hv been wonderful. both husb and i got great room service at our suite as well as at The DIning Room

i got two nights stay too and won one night stay at the suite at their lucky draw ! no kiddin! hahaha!!!!!!!!!!
guess during your time u got a bigger suite cos my SIL got a super gigantic suite during her wedding in 2002 or is it 2003 hmmm but i remembered that the suite was extremely spacious and grand

hi starstar,
E! is in english, with all the entertainment world gossips,etc...

hi bvbride,
i'm stil resting at home.sleeping last nite was quite a challenge coz my nasal was entirely blocked, had to breath through my mouth,making my throat really dry. but hubby was really sweet, he stayed up putting cold towel for me until i fell asleep...

bvbride
glad that u enjoy your stay in the hotel...
wah..u also very lucky leh...like Wu like that...
sigh..me seldom kena lucky draw one leh...:p

haru
u drink lots of water...poor gal... BUT least your hubby got sayang u...so nice of him..
take care gal..

Hello bvbride,

No lah.... kekeke.. not expert in photography lah. Read some info here and there, in books TV, all such scenic pictures/video do have some form of enhancement.

Aiya... wedding dinner ah, as the groom/bride, don't have to worry anything lah, just enjoy the evening can liao. Even if there's complain, as a guest/friend, one should be tolerate and always remember it's your friends wedding, so complain for what?
There's once in my wife's collegue's wedding, a poor waiter pour a whole glass of Coke on my shirt, I just forgive him loh, never scold him also, even I'm soaking wet. That poor chap is so scare you know, why must scold him leh?

Eh...you also lucky hor! KEkekekek

Wu
keke..if everyone thinks like u...whole PEACE....hahaha...:p not everyone can think so 'maturely'... I've seen worse man when I attended my hubby's colleagues wedding...somemore in the same table kepp blabbing from the beginning till the end... sigh...iritating guy...felt like slapping him n tell him it's your friend's wedding hor...why must comment on every single damn thing? n make lousy remarks...BUT i didn't..keke..cos he's my hubby's senior..:p rank also higher than both of us leh...what to do..LL lor..:p

ya man..BOTH u n bvbride are darn lucky fellows...
*envy* Think the only thing I won in a magazine lucky draw ia a johnson's hamper worth $150. keke..else nothing...:p

Guess as bride/groom, we have some expectations... actually if we know such things occur bef, good to remind the coord hopefully such things dun happen at your own wedding..but guess luck does play a part... nobody wish such things to happen...
for me, I dun lugi alot can liao...

Starstar,

Wha.... this kind of complain king ah....So he's an officer ah? He's making himself looks ugly only, really stupid person. Aiya.... I think sour grape lah... maybe his wedding is worse leh?

See...at least you won something, must be contented liao. There're ppl whole life hor no luck. But luck is secondary lah, most important is healthy, got job, and retired happily hor good enough liao.

I think bvbride 1 night stay is the same as mine, the second prize. Actually it's better than 1st cos 1st is a bridel package which we don't like. Kekekeke....

Okie... folks just in case I come into the forum later.... you guys have fun over the weekends.
I'm going to bintan tomorrow...Company trip.

Haru,
please take care!

Wu
enjoy yourself dude...
bintan....a nice place...
your wife going also?

haha..agree wif ya..I'm contented liao...:p happy that things are doing well for me..

haha..well..he's an officer lor... never see such horrid man before... till now, everytime I attend my hubby's squadron function, I just can't stand the sight of him... hubby keep reminding not to let this kind of pple ruin my day..ignore his presence... haha...:p

hi starstar,
ya, i think tis kind of person is one that i wil try to avoid inviting in the first place!hahah...i think to error is human, so just forgive and forget is best, everyone is happy and world becomes a better place rite? i think unless its a repeated and silly mistake, no point making a fuss over it.

Hi Haru and Starstar

only the ladies around today huuh

Haru - u take care and recover soon. in the meantime think abt Maldives' clear blue waters and your potential 2nd honey moon there
hmmm...u will def recover faster HOHOHO hwz your negotiations with hubby?

Starstar - agree w u - breaking even during this kind of wedding banquet is qt rare nowadays la. i must be thankful that i dun hv to fork out anything extra - Thank God.
my lucky draw luck is nt that fantastic also. besides the room stay - dun think i won anything else :p

u gals have a great weekend ahead with your hubbies

yo bvbride.n haru
ya man..the only guy is away...kekeke..;p

haru
recover quickly...
ya..bvbride is right... think of the blue blue seas..keke..
look forward to your 2nd Honeymoon...be it at Maldives or Hawaii...

bvbride
ya man..totally agree...
hey..room stay leh...one nite also quite ex right..;p

u ladies too have a great weekend wif your hubbies...

hi bvbride and starstar,
yup, gues its only us - charlies' angels!muahahahahaha....

my MIL called my hubby today and asked if i was preggie yet..(!!!!!!) kinda funny, its coz she just retired so she's really free now and wouldnt mind to have a grandchild to look after!hahahah...we are thinking maybe we wil try next yr when we are in hawaii, will just go with the flow.