Maldives

Starstar!

Congrats! your post is No. 800. Kekekeke.....

My rifle got 2 cross-hair... 1 aiming at Hilton, cost I can redeem free 1 night and the other at Shangari La...hopefully it's USD100 per night full-board opening special. Hahahahaha.... :P......

hi wu,
congratS!ur idea of forming a team actually sounds quite good.

hey starstar and wu,
ok, am in a lil dilemma..hubby and i wana try to conceive by early 2007 so that our baby will be born within e same year too, so that means anytime after jan/feb wil be tough..but we dun wana go during peak season...but we plan to go hawaii next year..ah!!!confused!!!

hey starstar,
i havent really checked out shangri-la, but i think it should be pretty cool.

hey zhu zhu,
which part of japan did u visit and for how long? i am planning to go sanrio purioland coz i love those cute lil sanrio characters and i went to disneyland japan a few years ago.. i dun intend to stay in japan for more than 4 days coz i'd like to spend more time in hawaii if poss..am thinking a flight from spore to hawaii (enroute japan) would be good.. any tips to share?

Wu
what 800????? *blur*

haru
hmmm..why dun u go Mladives first then Hawaii? U been to Maldives before? for me it's becos we went there during HM so hubby wants to 'see' other places first before going back there... so that's y we plan for Hawaii first then Maldives...:p

There is another resort opening in Mar 2006
Anantara resort & spa
www.anantara.com

Hi Haru
Me went to Jap for 2 wks...i only went to Tokyo & Osaka...we can discuss in the japan thread in more detail

hi starstar,
i think we can consider that too!wil hv to discuss with hubby, really confused now...

hi zhuzhu,
ok!wil check the thread.thanks!

Starstar,

Kekeke..... one of your thread is the 800th thread under this <<maldives>> thread lah...
"Bo liao" :P

Haru,

Think yours will be a expensive baby(early of 2007). Kekeke....

Don't worried, when it's time try checking out Shangari-la Maldives, maybe they also go opening promotion at a reasonable rates(just like Hilton).

Helloo....
Nice to see u here too Haru :D
so we do share somethings in common yeah? :P
just back form HM at Maldives and I must say that the sea there is BREATH TAKING!!! ive not seen any sea so blue before.
the weather thankfully was v v good and got myself quite burnt. heheheh....

not much of a snokerler so husb and i spent alot of time fishing and "playing" with stingrays at Banyan Tree ! btw i stayed in Angsana Resort and Spa - which is just 10mins by speadboat from Banyan Tree. I can hop over to visit BT anytime cos there are speedboats gog there every two hrs

I must say that Angsana is value for $. It is not as posh as BT bt is still very romantic and cosy. there are <50villas on the island and most pple there are on honeymoon like us.

we only spent 3nights there but we try to pack our day w activities so as to get the best of our time there.

i was so sad when i left the island for SG ...

all the best for your Maldives trip planning yeah??

Cheers!!!

hi bvbride!
wah,how nice!!!! yeah, its been our dream to go maldives (actually bora bora, tahiti but thats a lil too far and ex!hahahahha...), so we really wana try and make it a point to go soon.

can i just ask how much u spent for entire trip? really happy to know u had such a good time! share some pix with us soon,ya?=D

Another way to save money is to look out for special rates for Maldives, offer by some major bank/creadit card.

1)DBS black card got 30% discount for room rates for Soneva Gili/Fushi.
2)OCBC got discount for Velavaru.
3)UOB use to have discount too.
4)citibank at times also have, look out for it.

Folks, Any others recommendations? Cheers!

Wu
keke..can't help much... :P anyway just discuss wif my hubby... we've plan to go to Hawaii after our Perth trip (that'll be half a year later or so..)but if I happen to get preggie next year.. we'll go Hawaii after birth... during preggie, we'll go for cruise..hee..gonna stay in the balcony class...bigger room..:p
Maldives ... we'll only be going in 2007 most prob...*still looking at the ShangriLa* ;p

hi starstar,
wah, nice plan there!!! looks like u wil be travelling quite a bit, good for you!!!! i'm stil undecided...hahahha...

haru
haha...it's nice planning I agree but still gonna see if my hubby can take leave or not... he's always soooo busy... if all fails, the most I'll follow him to other countries if he's flying there for a short detachment....
just hope whatever we've plan can fulfill...

Wu
sigh for me think it's rather the opp of your situation... got enough $$ but no time to go... his squadron soooo busy...
guess he also wish he can get out of the force n join SIA... more time for himself..

StarStar,

Wha.... during and after preggie you still planning for travel ah.. you must be loaded enough for that. For us, we'll have to think carefully....I think once got kid, no more travel liao..where got enough money?

Yeah....Balcony class I stayed b4. Free one some more. My uncle got membership with starcruise, cos he always gamble there. I think balcony class not cheap leh... Hey, Wait a while for that lah..once Integrated resort open, the price for criuse might just tumble.

Envy.... :>. Hey, Join SIA not necessary free hor. My friend got time only during his wedding. Other than that, can only rest for a few days, then fly again.

Sigh... If we don't own a car, I'll be able to afford more trips per year....sign...but my wife really need 1 loh. A car already cost us more than S$18K easily.... How to save money like that???
Don't tell me both of you drive and yet got money to spare for so many trips. :P..... Kekekekeke.....

hi Wu

really love your candid response - i totally understand cos am in the same boat. Cannot wait to go Maldives again after my recent trip
contemplating this coming June/July when it will be cheaper to travel there but must depend on luck as well cos it may be rainy ..haizzzzz

am not too pro baby making now cos of the cost of living in singapore. want to maintain our carefee lifestyle + hubby need to hv a car for his line of work - hence will delay it as long as possible??!!!??? anyway dun mind not hvg children la (for now....)

since u are such an expert in Hilton - let me chk with u something. When i compared the rates offered by tour agencies vs booking the trip ala carte yourself - there is not much diff in cost savings leh... according to Hilton's website - the room rates are not inclusive of breakfast + seaplane transfers (well at least it is not indicated)

Hi bvbride,

Yah...Singaporean cannot live w/o car once you started to own 1 lah. I still remember last time we used to take bus/MRT, very happy still and can spare money to eat eat here and there. Now with cars, can't even afford a simple decent restaurant meals. Then if I sell the car, I still owe bank money still, thus, have to keep on paying and paying. Sigh!!!

I'm not an expert lah...kekeke....It's really luck that brought me there, and just stayed there once and manage to ask for huge discount for the sunset villa, and the beach villa rates is all-time low as well. ANyway, Hilton website guarantee cheapest rate though. Thus have to save on others liao, ie. flight etc...

The Hilton rates are inclusive of breakfast, but not seaplane. Sometime you'll have ti fiddle around with the booking setting. Last time I click smoking, no breakfast, then when click smoking, it gives me free breakfast. If pre-paid, can save like USD15 more.

Most agencies are slightly more ex. example:- Crown tours.
Which agencies have you check with?

I'm recommending Hilton beach villas only, as I think the quality, living space, design and off course the price etc is really really value for money. At that time, its USD150++ for a 150sqm of living space(King size bed,walkin wallrobe, outdoor bath pavillion,terrace, fountain,gardenetc...), do you think it's worth?
At least I think so loh... For other 5 star resort, USD150 can only stay half day loh.

hi wu and bvbride,
i noe what u mean. having a car is quite an expense,but heck, i love the convenience of zipping around in a car!plus i live near my parents so they get to use it too!but i am happy to say that we have no debts, execpt for our monthly shopping with our credit card that we normally still pay off within the payment due date. so we are really blessed..=>

i think hubby and i are stil gona go ahead with japan/hawaii plan next year.we wil prob have to spend as much if we were to go to maldives but we get to go a lil further!hahaha... as to if we wil stil go ahead with maldives in 2007, it really depends on the rates then and our time availability. coz really wana try for a baby by early 2007 (which is super peak season isnt it?)...

hi bvbride,
thanks for sharing ur lovely pix, u are one hot babe!!!!!*whistle!*...gosh, gota say that lookin at e pix makes me drool and confused all over again......=P

Hi Haru,

Lucky you....wha no debts, so you're done with your car installments and house installment ah??
Or you paid all by CASH :0 WOW!!!!!
Envy....

It's true that I got collegues who can afford paying for a S$75k car with CASH!!

Well, for me debts include car loan,housing loan and reno loan. If my calculation is correct, I'll be done with this housing loan by 2013, car loan by 2010 and reno loan by 2008. That's not the end ah.... if got kids har... it'll be another at least 19years of debt ah!!!

1 last question for all, how much you guys save up, in terms of % of take home paid. Anyone?

Wu
keke.. my hubby n me not much debts lah... think the only debt we have is the HDB loan one lor but still that is deducted thru CPF... anyway, we've paid a large downpayment for the HDB so the amt per mth owed is not much.. less than $900/mth for an executive flat.

We dun have two car..only one car and is all paid for the instant we got the car... so no loan taken. Guess my situation abt same as haru..we paid up our mthly credit card expenses.

BUT we made it a point to save up at least 20% of our individual take home pay so for me I'll save abt $400 while my hubby of course more...think abt $800(I also not sure cos finances stuff in my house is taken charge by my hubby.) We also got a combine acount which we save $500 mthly. Both of us will contribute abt $250 each.

We are lucky cos my hubby n me saved quite alot during our single time... so our wedding expenses n HM n reno can all be paid for wif no loans taken. *phew*

Must always rem to save some $$ just in case... think my hubby is able to 'jin da xi shuan' better than me...

Wu n Bvbride
children wise we planning to start soon cos hee..planning for retirement mah... we dun wanna to be caught retiring and our kids are still in sec or pri school... at least serving NS or in uni still ok...
imagine still need to provide for them for another 10 years or so... gee... this is also part of my hubby's planning for the future... he wants to retire in peace....keke..

Starstar,

WoW! you got pretty healthy financial health though!
You really pay cash for your car ah? WOW. New car?
For me, after graduating from UK, I still need to pay for part of the study loan. Monthly I gave S$1K to my parents, thus no saving for years during single time.

Currently I save around $400(stocks purchase plan), my wife probably another $500. Both of us around S$1K to insurance/investment(long term), and health policy for our parents. $921 to car. $400 to parents. $400 to reno loan, then spending really left not much after paying for the utlities, parking etc. Truthfully, we're still comfortable lah..."My Hiam" Kekeke.... Must have a bit of Ah "Q" spirit. At least got chance to go Maldives liao. Kekekeke :P

Our case in is in paying off the debt phase, yours is already saving and planning for family phase...Kekekeke...you're 1 phase ahead

Aiya...next time can afford my kids to NS good enough liao loh. To further study or not really have to depends on they themselves. My saving will likely be just enough for our retirements by then!

Thats life!

hi wu,
no lah, i stil have car and hse loan..but i mean no other loans like from shoppping and holidays etc..hhehehe..

seems like u and ur wife quite "healthy" with ur financial arrangements and savings plans though..dun worry too much lah, it will all work out!

hello peeps
am back - what a boring day at work :P

Wu - think ditto for me la. got reno loan to pay so that will burden me for a couple of years more before im free from it
Starstar - u are in such good financial health envious man. me got relatively "short" dating phase w hubby so we
didnt get to save that much together before wedding

but luckily still can go Maldives la (thatz a miracle...so must really thank GOD for that)

yep like what Wu said must be abit Ah Q sometimes or else life will be v v stressful leh.

so i still maintain my stand - im still fine without having any kids
hahaha - those who are in the planning phase already like starstar -
Good for you! All the best and jia yu ok

Haru dear

thx for your compliments but not babe la pls
u are the quintessential beach babe
can imagine liao judging from your HM pix :D

Sorri arr auntie here memory very bad - think my 4D3N trip cost slightly over SGD1700 hheeheh
but itz not full board hor...it comes with speedboat transfer, breakfast and thatz about it!
spent another $900+ on our two fishing trips + spa + dinners + tips

think u are among very serious Maldives loving pple here....Really u should go check it out soon !!

Thnk water at Hilton is every better cos the sea there has lesser coral. right Wu??
even so hubby and i totally fell in love with the resort and cannot wait to go back soon ...
but must save up first la...haizzz

Wu n Bvbride
hee.. no worries lah..I'm sure u guys are able to work it out...
I must thank my hubby... he's really much more 'calculative' n a good planner...
that's why my financial stuff all handled by him.. :p guess it's really our upbringing since childhood.. our parents taught us the value of saving..that's why even before we know each other, each of us have some savings... heart pain man when we see the years of hardwork of savings all just gone within a few weeks... wedding, reno n buying home.... sigh..

Wu
ya..think your financial status quite ok leh... for me, on top of the amt I've mentioned.. I give $500/mth to my parents and hubby gives abt $200 to his. the remainder are used on petrol n car park... n at times, entertainment. If got extra, we'll save it up.We also got insurance abt $300/mth for me and $200/mth for my hubby. For this insurance thingy...my hubby is most prob going to top up some more for a life insurance.. with the recommendation of our fiancial planner..

The car we got at that point of time is new..

bvbride
thanks for your blessings...I'll definitely jia you...

Wha Say, this topic becomes financial planning session liao Wo! Kekeke.... Anyway, it's closely related with Maldives isn't it? Kekekeke, NO MONEY, NO MALDIVES and that's the fact, whether we like it or not! SigH......

Haru,

Ya loh, car and housing are the biggest "investment" we ever "made" in our lifetime. especially when one is in a sales job, really can't do w/o a car. I know what u mean, I used to drive my car across the street just to but Wanton Mee, Kekekek.....Lazy till that extend.
Healthy in the sense that I still got US stocks on hand, that's my saving till now. Cash, no more after the Maldives trip. :P

Bvbride,

you don't plan to have kids, so you and your hubby kept any pets? ANyway, most of the couple who don't plan to have kids sure keep pets loh, just like kids mah. Our groups of friend who don't plan to have kids all keep dogs as their companion.....
Your Maldives Angsana 4D3N only cost SGD1700, per pax I would suppose, is cheap leh! Where did you book your trip?

Er.... Have you been to Hilton as well?
Yes, unfortunately not much coral reef(House reef) around the island where Hilton stood.
Thus for snorkelling we'll have to travel to other parts of the area.

StarStar,

Wha....that's a really huge sum of money you ppl have save. Imagine, a new car, wedding maybe break even lah, then reno+appliance. You ppl should have save at least 100 grand man!

I've started working part-time when I'm in secondary thru Poly and the U, i.e Macdonald, factory operator, cooking oil refi, a cook lah... all sorts. Well all the hard earn money goes into hobby lah, tour lah etc...

After started working, most of the money went to my parents, cos they're not working.

Good for you...maintain your habit of saving then can go MAldives again mah!!!!

Wu
thanks for the encouragement...
well for me, since young, never been to anywhere except genting. Even those $$ I've saved..think the furthest I went when I started to do temp work after A levels n uni... it's go to a cruise wif my best friend once n stayed in those small cabin... so small till the bathroom only can accomodate one pax one...n one trip to genting wif her again. no life one... that's why save alot lor.. what's more I dun go shopping(u should know lah from my current occupation...;p) think i shop like a guy..even my best friend she also buay tahan me... everytime seems so distracted whenever she asked me to shop wif her... just dun understand...why keep asking me nice or not... if u like it, buy lor... keke..this is what I'll tell her. :p she know my pattern liao..so now only ask me out after she shops...hahaha...

now then I'm hitched...also no life one... weekend we dun go to shopping centers...I HATED the crowds... n felt rather aimless roaming ard the stores... so we'll most prob see us at Changi beach/East Coast...blading away...
haha..think by now, u'll feel my hubby n me no life one....
the most is we go into JB n visit my in laws....

hi bvbride,
i think u got quite a good deal for ur trip!! hubby says we should just stick to plan to go japan/hawaii next year and then maldives in 2007...will have to plan again later about which part of 2007 we would wana go if we were to try to baby..

hey wu,
how expensive is it to travel to maldives say in feb or march?

hey hey,
i think everyone else here is def a better saver than myself and my hubby!! we hardly save before our wedding coz we always use it on travelling like once every 3-4 months. even if its to m'sia islands.heheheh...but then again, we are carefree about it, dun go cracking our heads too much about tomorrow or the future lah..=D

haru
if u travel in march is not so ex..I went during march this year..it's almost nearing the low season...it's like the "not so low low season"...:p n it didn't rain at all during the one week stay i had then...
spent $1200 on air tics for two and $4800 on resort stay(6 nites), snorkelling trips, two days worth of spa n food(inclu in the accom rates..full board mah), submarine ride, n a day's trip to Male town. I stayed in a 4 star resort's water villa(Taj Coral). Transfer are provided by resort free cos upon touching down, we took the power craft to the resort liao...

haru
when r u planning to go for your Hawaii trip? will u be going to Japan n hawaii? cos I'm thinking of going hawaii only.. planning to go in the second half of the year.. before the end year sch hols..well if i'm not preggie lah.

envy u...can travel regularly... once very 3-4 mths... sigh..my hubby just can't take leave so easily... every year his leave kena 'eaten' up...currently he still got 60 over days of leave to clear.. n no time/chance... think out of these 60 days...20 days r going to be gone after dec...
kena 'eaten'..

Starstar,

Hehehehe......That's why you are suitable for your current occupation lah... everything free inside right. Kekekeke:P

I'm going back ICT for 3 weeks this coming dec 05', so basically 3 weeks of saving, no spending at all! Still can earn some money if got range or IPPT. :P

Aiya, for us, sama-sama leh. Seldom go Shopping. Most of the time at home watching TV. Bring our doggies for a run, or bring them to swim at Sentosa. No fancy fancy lifestyle also.

You know when guys tends to shop, they are worst! Cars, Sports rim for cars, bodykits for cars, suspension change.... etc cost huge sum of money. Currently, I trying to "prevent" myself from doing that.

Haru,

If you travel during Feb/March, the price for Hilton Maldives would be consider peak loh(unlike Dec/Jan is super peak). The price is around 2X that of May~July, for accom. Flight would be more or less the same lah, Hopefully by that time fuel price goes down and so does the surcharge.

For Clubmed Maldives, the price seems to Alternating. See the link below for details.However, I would say, for most resort, May-July is the low season, so does the price.

http://www.clubmed.com.sg/package_rate/02.php

Wu
ya man..the BEST part of my occupation is no need to doll up...hahaha...
no need to think what to wear for work today...
best liao.. can go in in admin attire(unit polo tee n shorts)...very relax n carefree...guess this is the best of my current job...
also free ex... pays u to keep fit. ;p so u taken your IPPT?

GOod morning
Wu:
Im very the nua one, after work i simply hv no energy for anything else so no pets for me pls. I will make a bad pet owner cos i wil be too tired to pay attention to them. Iut if i really want to get one - it will be a dwarf lop rabbit for sure
so kawai-i~
Booked my trip during Sept05 NATAs fair - company is called Holiday Tours. They are located at Cairnhill plaza/bldg - near Heeren. Service is not too bad. Read from the review thread u forwarded sometime ago that Misa Travel at Hong Lim Building offers cheap deals too. But they are pretty small so nt sure if they are that reliable??

When i was at the fair, didnt find many agencies promoting Hilton and we were qt sua ku so just stuck with the tried and tested Angsana cos SIL went there for her HM too and she loved that place. Should have met u at this thread earlier prior booking for my tour hor....initially planning HM at LV and LA but packages were too expansive. Then we stumbled across the Holiday Tours booth at the fair and just decided to go ahead w Maldives
itz FATE

Starstar,

Ya lah, every year in camp sure must take IPPT. For my last ippt, I took on the day b4 my windown close....Phew! Luckily I passed. Due to some miscalculation and to conserve energy for 2,4 run, I missed 1 points to obtain a silver. Haiz....... or else another 100 dollars can have at least 2 meals in Maldives 2007. :P

I still wonder why you wanna to quit your job? Actually I do missed the carefree life in camp, then monthly pay kept coming in, bonus, AWS etc....

Haru darling

just out of curiousity - u can also make baby in singapore right? why must go all the way to Maldives? such a beautiful place so cannot be cooped up in the room all the time right? heheh...
just my kaypoh opinion hope u dun mind

Hello bvbride,

just curiousity on your nickname, does bv stands for Bridal veil?

Wha.... so Nua one ah you..kekeke.. a pet turtle would be easy to feed.
Really, got 2 in my office, minimum maintanence.

Aiya you met me early on the thread also no use. You went there quite early right?
I was there on beginning July 05, 7 nights.

Hey Angasana also quite nice what, small small island with very nice beach and coral reefs right? But a bit too ex loh.

Wu
aiyo u dun know lah... things are very diff since the 911 incident... everything also step up... the tempo in the ops unit very high...hardly got time to take a breather...imagine my hubby already like that so busy, me carry on wif this(definitely need to go back ops to clock my command tour)...think no time for ourselves... it's either I'm free n hubby not free or the other way round... if got kids worse... cos me dun wanna depend on maid or parents... wanna take care of kids ourselves... we'll only leave our kids wif parents when we wanna go for a trip together(just the 2 of us) or want some 'er ren shi jie'....

If i'm not married, think I'll definitely carry on...
I just can't request to remain in schools right? promotion prospect not there..
If not I wanted to quit, I'll be in ops unit now...

bvbride
booked air tics bef wif misa travel..reliable but they dun accept credit card payment..got extra charges to use the credit cards...

hi starstar,
hmm..that sounds quite reasonable. i gues it also depends on the resort u stay at eh? ..will slowly check out more from the few resorts,but think we will be quite keen on hilton.=>

hi starstar,
u workin in the force? wah, must be quite fit!! i also work in casual environment and just wear shorts and tee and flips flops, no prob.heheheh...

hi bvbride,
heheh, actualy coz we thinkin its quite special to "conceive" overseas. i noe it sounds a lil bizarre, just kinda fun to try while on a nice holiday overseas(if we hit "jackpot" during the trip!)..just the novelty of it..hahaha...and also we will relaxed and so in the mood with the lovely atmosphere...hehehheh...

hey starstar,
i was thinkin also sometime in the second half of the next year, mayb in sep..gues for hawaii anytime is good time.but for japan wil try to go during spring or autumn.=> how about ya? i have not started lookin at any info for hawaii though..like hotels and stuff..

hello Wu

yep bridal veil but....didnt sign up with them la when i reg for SG brides BV was one of the shop i had in mind

yes v nua but try working alternate week of night and day shift. when on normal shift, i will reach home around 8pm - sometimes 9pm - hw to entertain pets? my ah lau more impt ok :P actually prefer to potter around the house then to play with pets la. i v auntie one. i will do things like wipe kitchen top, clean toilet, ironing etc when i reach home - strange right??hahah....

i just came back from Maldives last week la.
if got $ i really want to check out Hilton June/July during lull period
u are tempting me too much! ha ha

one thing abt the corals - they are so damn sharp! - the dead ones i guess. husb got bad cut when he accidentally scraped past one of them

Starstar,

Understand what you meant... in Singapore is like that loh,your case is the best lah, at least next time you'll be taking care of your kids.

For me, really cannot do with just 1 working. No choice loh, next time have to throw the kids to my parents. Aiya, I think many of us also grew up this way.

Wha... seems like your life in Army getting tougher leh, last time our Officer eng eng one leh!
Army army army, no scholarship lesser prospect. :p. That's the reality. Last time my OC, a cpt(borned 1970), few years back already Col in his early 30s, now already into politics, a really smart guy! President scholar ma. recently saw him on TV beside our minister mentor Lee, visiting Russian. WOW!!! Eh.... you should know him also right, remember you're in ADA also. Col Lee Siow Hiang.

Anyway, wish you all the best in your new "career" and new life!

Bvbride,

Ya..... normally when we reach home, nobody wanna to do anything, just sit there watch TV. Weekend then do housework together, wash clothes lah, vaccuum lah, wash toilets lah, cook lah etc...

OIC, I thought you went Maldives long time ago. HAhahah.... I'm tempting you? No lah, in fact the one I'm tempting most is still myself. Really can't get over it.....
I really missed there....
Aiya, don't "hiam" lah. I think Angsana is as good as Hilton if not better. Last time Angsana is in my top list as well. But because it's pricey, at least USD400 per night, thus we choose Hilton.
Hey, next time if you got chance to go Hilton, if you don't like hor, don't blame me hor...kekekeke... HIlton beach villa is USD200, then Angsana is USD400 hor, big diff hor. KEkekek...

First thing, you shouldn't have step on the coral.. green peace ppl might protest Oki... kekeke :P
I know what you guys encounter lah, those dead corals around the island, actually unavoidable loh if you step into the sea. Alternatively, you can choose to wear a botties(normally divers will wear), that'll protect you.

hi bvbride,
yeah, thats why i stil use aqua shoes unless i'm very sure its not too much dead corals..my feet quite delicate so i dun like walkin on rough surfaces (dat's why i really dun like sentosa's sand!!!yikes!) its best to protect ur feet coz sometimes there are some little poisonous fish,etc in the sea bed that u can't really see such as stone fish(or is it rock fish??)

hey starstar,
so you left the force? u working in corporate world currently? sorry ah, if i am a lil kaypoh..hehehe..well, hope you are happy wherever you are now!

hi WU

nonetheless must thank u for your valuable info and pix on Maldives. actually learn alot after i went there and more when i stepped into this thread.

u see husb and i sua ku type, first time snokelling hence ganna cut la.. didnt step on those lovely corals - swear to GOD
we just kinda lost our balance when the waves were qt strong and husb use his hand to "tarik" the fall.....

if i got a chance to go Hilton Maldives - wil be too happy to blame anyone anything man hahhaha :D
from your pictures - the water there seem to be blue and clear and without the corals right?kekeke...sounds ideal.....
on the other hand there wont be that many fishes

Hi bvbride,

Kekekeke...... you're right man! To learn more about Maldives, must and if possible go there every year :P Hahahaha....

Aiya.. everyone is Sua Ku intially, and for sure everyone first time snorkel near a house reef sure ganna cut b4 one lah! Me too
When I first learn diving, cannot control bouyancy, definitely kept stepping on live coral somemore :p

Sure hor, can go Maldives, anywhere also can lah.... how to blame ppl...Kekekekeke...

However, if you got chance to go there, better to buy a booties when you wanna snorkel. There's bound to have small pieces of dead corals being wash up the beach, and they do cut!
Oh no you're wrong about fishes, you'll see lots of huge fish appearing along the 500m long bridge. But you're right also lah, no corals less fishes.
esp reef fishes.

We even saw a huge 1.5m long Barracuda feeding(chasing other fishes) in the undersea restaurant! Lot's of baby sharks too, and we saw an eagle ray along the beaches as well. Too bad we went too late, during July, as the staff told us beginning of the year to april, Giant Manta Rays tends to visit Maldives and ppl use to spot them swimming at night along the Hilton Maldives bridge. Then at night spot lights are on along the bridge and all fishes can be spotted easily.

haru
not yet...me still in force...
I'll be doing part time tuition after I quit. Fit? ok lah... :p

Hawaii...I haven really look up...cos now busy settling my Perth trip... but got sort of browse thru lah... still very early... u going Japan too? Dun think we wanna go leh... btw any direct flight to Hawaii?

Wu
wah... not bad leh... still keeping fit...;p well all the best for your coming IPPT then...

agree wif ya... I've got a family friend he's a scholar... now a major... same age as me leh... sigh...that's why I told my hubby if he wanna stay on..he better take up the offer to go study...least SAF pays for his fees n everything... and also got pay at the same time... it'll depends on him.

hmmm...Wu...u really tempt me wif all your descriptions of Hilton leh... darn...:p can brief me on Shangri La??