Maldives

wah u back...
anyway for me, I had my HM at Taj Coral... to me, it's good enough...maybe both my hubby n me not the romantic sort...keke...:p the villa there was good enough for us cos of budget constraints.
If we can fork out more $$, I dun mind staying in the 5 stars n above ones...;p Taj Coral is only 4 star mah...
The next time we go, we'll stay in a better resort...looking and waiting for the Shangri La one...up n coming...;p

very nice pics...u went for the submarine trip? I went for it too..cool right?

Welcome back missylan,

The place is nice, esp the sea. Maldives is a place more for relaxation. I have hard time trying to slow down my pace on my first day. The first thing I do when I woke up in the morning, was to walk around the resort (Full moon resort) which only took me 15mins to complete the island.
I went snorkelling and diving most of the times during my 7 days stay there.

Missylan!

Welcome back... it's a pity you've not enjoy to your fullest. Probably you are still not 100% resort freak like me. :P.. I like beach resort because I can do nothing.... that's the point
... The art of losing track of time....Maldives...
I can actually "Nua Nua" everywhere on the island... the beach, my room, the lounge... etc...

The buffet there in Taj is pretty cheap leh...

Actually if you can dive, better still... and thats the point when ppl like Adel and me go to such places... Diving freak!! kekekeke..... You should have go for a open water dive course when you start to feel boring during the last 2 days mah....

Actually if you go Hilton, it'll be the same.. Most of the time we're out Diving.. or Nua Nua ... or having free afternoon tea recept, taking photos, sun-tanning and everyday is the same routine. You'll have to like the way of living like that first...

I went there 7 nights but feel it's too short. My next trip would be at least 10 nights..to NUA..
We have to come back Singapore early because we miss our 2 doggies back home, with my sister alone taking care of them... if not har..hehehe..I'll extend more days.

neber mind lah.... you really need to slow slow down when you visit such places.

Cheers!!!

hey hey all...new here! reading at all the maldvies really get drooling over it...planning it for honeymoon too....seem like Hilton Maldives really more popular ya??...

hey WU, when are the month u go to the Hilton Maldives? we thinking of using the hilton points however seem like the pp in spore told me the maldives hilton not yet set up system to accredit points to us??

I wanna learn diving there. but hubby not a good swimmer... He asked me to go ahead and learn at Maldives, one person no fun leh. I am Nua Nua in Singapore liao, go there same Nua Nua pattern lah. Kekeke...
In fact, I chose Maldives cos of my hubby, I want his mind to relax and all those "price enquiries" ppl to get off his back lor. My hubby said that we are not going back to Maldives for the next 3years. Wait till our son gets older, we might bring him to a better/nicer resort. You missed your doggies, we missed our son. I still plan to get a change of skin colour. Applied lots of sunblock on face and body to avoid sunburn. Hehe, I turned mocha!
Anyway, we go to Japan yearly cos of exhibition, we can continue and made up for extra time for our honeymoon. Still prefer cold climate countries. Keke...

Hello Kalbarri,

Don't read our post lah....join in...kekekeke

Actually Hilton not very popular due to it's price. I went bcos it's having promo. and thus the price is equivalent to other 4 stars resort. So why not?

I can show you my pics and you can decide loh... but must let me know your email add.

I went there in July 05'. I think you can used the hilton points lah, the HHounours point right?
I think the points is rather alot for just 1 night, Cat 6. If i'm not wrong, 40000 points for 1 night. (eq to USD4000 for 1 night free).

Maybe you can call Hilton direct?

Hi Missylan,

1 person go learn diving can concentrate mah... kekekeke...
Maldives Nua is so different.... where can you get such kind of beautiful sea, sand here in Singapore? Have you also take a look into the sky? You can even see the Milky Way, if it's a cloudless night. I used my giant bino and telescope and observed the sky almost every night. Lots of shooting stars (meteors) as well!

hahahah.... Oh I C.. you must be missing your son lah! That's why you are eager to come home, really, last few days, we miss our doggies so much that we wish we are back. :P

You are definitely a person who like cold climate more...like Switzerland lah, the artic or norway etc...

Anyway... diff ppl got diff preferences lah. Cold also not too bad, you can go ice skating, ski etc... quite fun too isn't it? And eating "Ramen" or eating BBQ beef during cold weather in Japan is the best things to do....Yummy!!!!

kekeke..ya glad to join in sure...oh i see...WU, consider u a "pioneer" of the hilton maldives loh..so can ask more info from u !!
thanks for your info, will try to contact them direct!!!

will really glad if can have a view at ur photos if u do not mind???

can send to me at [email protected] ? =)
or anyone who have hilton maldives also dun mind sharing??

hear u all say till i wished i can go there asap...heee!!!

KEKEKE.... not pioneer lah.
.. but a bit weird leh, those staff in Hilton say very seldom do they see Singaporean. I think likely singaporean do not like beach resort that much, and it's not the cheapest resort there, somemore breakfast only. Singaporean probably like full-board, value for money mah...!
Singaporean also rich what... but probably they would rather spend the amount going to Europe or USA or Australia.
Singaporean like to shop as well. In Maldives, shop what????
My best guess lah...

My friends hor either like to go for tour packages with tour guide kind of tour.
I do have 'gagi' during poly days whereby all are single, or dating... thus still can go to beach resort like tioman, redang and because as student, price does matters mah, cannot go elsewhere further than malaysia.
Then after everyone got married, got kids, they find troublesome to go such places.. and would rather go disneyland with their kids.

Okie, will sent you an e-invitation.

You can also wait for the Shangari-la resort...opening in early 2007. Likely that they'll have promo(I hope so). just like Hilton during early June 05' new beach resort opening. If it's around USD150 per night per room....kekekek... I sure go. I think Starstar also "Gian"... Right Starstar?? Kekekeke.....

Hey... look around first lah... don't rush.
One of the fun part is actually sourcing for the resort that you're going visit.

There's other very nice resort in Maldives too.. like Huvafenfushi(very Ex!!),Soneva Gili, Banyan Tree, Angsana, Mihiri, Coco palm, Vilu Reef, meeru reef.. (judging from pics lah..Starasia travel)
Taj where Starstar and Missylan went also very decent place, really nice water villas as well too. See their pics also lah..

ANyway, anywhere in Maldives also nice lah..Kekekeke..

Wu
whahaha..ya man..me very gian going back....:p hinted to my hubby on the Shangri La resort...he says "ok..see how then..." yeah got a little hope liao... though he still mention he wanna go elsewhere first.. Tahiti or Hawaii...
wah..if USD150 per night..I sure wanna go man...

the resorts u named are all so nice n exortic...
think out of all the resorts u named, I'll like to go to Huvafenfushi(I know ver ex...
), Soneva Gili and Coco Palm....
*keke very greedy*.... :p sigh...slowly lah... No choice... :p

Hello Starstar,

Kekekeke.... Shangari-la har
anyway, so far no pics coming out yet, probably still building.
Go Tahiti lah.. Hawaii to common liao lah..Kekeke..

Aiya.. for me Huvafenfushi is just a dream lah, not practical for a practical Singaporean like me lah...kekeke... unless...um strike toto lah.. :p

If I can go back Hilton Maldives every year beach Villa, I happy enough liao. However, now USD is a killer, so as the airline fuel charges, Killer man.

Wu
ya man... the stupid air tic to Perth at first very cheap after adding the fuel surcharges...taxes...wah...come up to abt $1k plus for two pax....
me haven book the tics...waiting for any sales.... :p

Hilton is heavenly man...
ya lor...I agree the Huvafenfushi is abit too ex...if I can go to Soneva Gili...me a happy lady....haha..

He also more keen on Tahiti leh... but Hawaii seems fun too... can see volcanic activity...

Wha.... 1K plus to Perth ah... I rather go Maldives... Kekekeke..

If I can go back Maldives, any resort lah, I'm very happy liao lah...cheap skate me... kekeke
Maybe just go purely for diving, really dive, eat sleep, dive eat sleep type.

Volcano nice to see meh? When it errupted nicer isn't it? but dangerous when erruption lah...kekekeke..

Wu
keke...dun know leh..me like to see volcanoes one... Like anything that's geographical...
think when I was in sec sch...I climbed a dorman volcano before... wah...the sulphur smell at the top really yucks...:p but I enjoyed myself..
Me no diver leh...so need to find other land activities mah...

Kekeke.... ya lah..some ppl like to go down(Dive) and for you is up(mountains) and your hubby also up(pilot)..Kekeke..

Just went to Huvafenfushi website. Wha.. cheapest is USD700 per night for the cheapest beach villa!
Crazy!

Most ex is USD4800 for the ocean pavilion!
:p...... Drool.....

I heard from the staffs who work at full moon resort that most of Maldives island are owned by a Singaporean.

Btw, i managed to retrieve my Maldive photo. Will upload them tomolo.

Adel,

Own by Singaporean? Is it? ...but it's probably a 60yrs lease only, worse then HDB leh... Someone say Maldives will be under water by then due to the rise in Sea level.
Is it true?

Ya loh..should give me free nights hor.. and also for those who went Hilton upon my recoomendation lah... win -win mah...
Kekekeke...

Should have recommend Huvafenfushi better still. Their tour agent got 10% commission.Thus For a person who can afford, a minimum stay of 14 days(a must during dec) during the dec period, at the ocean pavilion, I recommend and be their "tour agent", I can earn at least.... USD6700 leh, then I can go back Hilton Maldives for around 10 days liao...kekekek

Hmmmmmm..... maybe can do such business hor? Anyone interested? I think some rich SIngaporean might just go there so long as we packaged and market the resort properly! kekekkekeke....

No facts and figure. no further comments on these. With the raising of the sea-level, many maldives island will be submerged in water less than 10 yrs. That's a true fact unless their governerment do something abt it. *SAD*

Wu
idea man...sell the resort....then we earn $$$...
not bad...
Count me in if u are really into it...;p

Adel
har...so fasst?! !0 years or so?!...wah...must really go back before all's gone....!!!
What a waste...it's a heaven man...

One of the things they can do is dig up sea-sand and reclaim, just like what Singapore did, with sand from Indonesia and Malaysia.

Maldives should have lots of sea-sand, but it's gonna be rather ex things to do though, which might be add on to tourist. Next time beside Bed tax of USD8 per pax, there'll be reclaimation tax as well.... :p

..Hmmm... maybe i should talk to Hilton on my comms....kekekeke...StarStar I'll give you 3 nights free at Hilton Sunset water villa...kekekekek :p

waa..ya...i think hardly sporean love resort cos think pace too slow..some just love shopping... but i think for honeymoon, it is the best place to NUA rite...??ahahhaa.a.....
cos wana feel lazy....and yah am surprised few singaporean in hilton maldives?

...but a la carte food wise lunch and dinner is quite ok rite ma? i mean cost wise...heee...
only 1 restaurant or few choices?

feel that since we have the hilton points really wished to utilise it else will be wasted lor.. but seem contact direct they also ask us to contact Hilton hhonours card pp..then the pp say contact resort...oh blurred liao....wait till next yr see how le....
hee.e...
hopefully get a great deal!
2007 maybe too far leh...my wedding over in june lor..wish to go asap..heee...:P

I would like to check. SQ will arrive in Male at around 2210hrs...and the resort I am interested in is accessible by speedboat. That means I will checked in the resort maybe close to midnite? So is the 1st nite considered the day I arrived in maldives or is it the next day?

Kalbarri,

a-la-carte food in Hilton and elsewhere in other resort roughly the same lah, I think, as price wise is at the high side. lunch/dinner for 2 range from USD35 ~ USD60 (full enough for 2 normal build person lah).

There're around 6 main restaurant on Hilton's 2 island. Undersea restaurant most ex, which cost USD220 per pax 6 course dinner.

Your wedding June done isn't? then it's a good time to go there, cos it's the cheapest period to stay at Hilton Maldives. The last time I check is USD200 per night for the beach villas.
You can call direct to Hilton Maldives for booking and discuss about your HHounours pts loh, and furthermore you can ask for discount on the stay as well...
Maybe can ask them to throw in the Sunset water villa at a heavily discount rate as what we did there... Tell them you honeymoon lah..then got other Singaporean recommend lah.
Call the person who is taking care of the Sunset Water Villa, Either Mathai, or Ali (Preferably Ali) as they are the ones who help us neg. the price.

Already sent you my photo links, saw adi???

Hi ZhuZhu,

I think i'll be consider 1 night stay. Anyway All resort charge by per night stay.

Maybe Starstar or those who have stayed near Male and transfer during the night can help? Starstar?? Adel?? Missylan??

All MIA liao?

ANyway which resort will you be going? Book thru agent?

Wu
here..here..keke...
start? I also dun know? any criteria?

Zhuzhu
yup..the first nite u check in is consider one nite liao... it's like that one if u go Maldives...unless u take the Sri Lanka airline which arrives in the morning. Just bear in mind the stopover at Colombo.
Which resort u going?

Hi Wu & starstar

I am looking at Meeru island resort...very interested in the honeymoon water villa...i am looking to go in Jan 2006...check the rates liao...cost me USD635/room/nite...haiz..then like dat I lugi one day already

Hi ZhuZhu,

Yes... the meeru honeymoon suite very nice, laquer wooden interal.. heheh... saw it on the Starasia travel web. But USD635 is Ok lah.. should be around that price, but that night you really lugi loh. Why not you take Starstar's advice, take the Sri Lankan flight instead?

It's a big Lugi loh, wasting 1 afternoon/evening.

Hi zhuzhu,

No choice. If you are taking SQ flight, that's the way. And you won't get to see the bird-eyed view from the flight cos it is at night. That applied to returning as well. Night flight too. Unless you flies by SQ from other countries like Russia, Europe. At least you get to see the resort at the first rim of the day when you awake in the morning. And everything appears like it is in your dream.

Hmmmm... Ya lah, I don't suggest Sri Lankan flight because I only take SQ ma.... Maybe ZhuZhu Would mind ma..... KEkekeee.... :p
Actually now safer lah... Tamil tiger already signed peace treaty with the Sri Lanka Govt.
Don't frighten ppl lah....

Aiya... Meeru can take seaplane there ma.. thus still can see better bird eyes view cos it fly slower, lower and it's around USD190 return. Not too bad lah...

ZhuZhu,

We're not sure how long is the stopover..should be around 1 hours norm lah.

zhu zhu
it's for a nite... can't rem what time it leaves singapore... but I know that time I was checking ard the airlines, came to know need to stay over for a nite at Colombo. Not only Sri Lanka fly there with a stopover, emirates also got. Same thing stopover at Colombo. think u better check wif the airliners..Wah..meeru island resort!! nice resort!! price wise it's qutie ex...
but worth to stay...

Adel
Wu neber wanted to take...it's his personal recommendations lah... it's his fears...that's why he dun recommend Sri Lanka airlines...;p

zhu zhu
think u better check wif the airliners...in case they change iternary...I rem that time I was sourcing for the best deal for air tics.. I came to know got stopover at Colombo... that's y didn't take Sri Lanka n Emirates though cheaper air tics.. cos I rem it's like I need to find the accomodation myself in Colombo...simply no idea how to lor as I booked my Maldives trip thru net one... no agencies...

ZhuZhu,

Colombo as a capital city should have hotels lah... You can check thru the internet to see if there's some famous hotel, book one night there, defintely cheaper and more worth then the Meeru USD635 1 night.

http://catalogue.horse21.net/sri+lanka+hotels/colombo+hotels/hotels5/best

See the link above on some hotels in Colombo. There's an airport hotel, price from EUR54, 5 mins from airport, still cheaper than the Airport hotel in Maldives lah. There ex ones like the Hilton Colombo, which you can try. Either place, you just take airport taxi loh, should be quite easy.

Or alternative, take SQ, you stay 1 night in Male. Much cheaper than staying at Meeru.
The following day, you then arrange with Meeru to transfer you. Thus your 1st night is from the transfer day onwards.
How about that?

zhuzhu
I booked my air tics direct from SIA cos hubby is krisflyer... got quite alot of points from all his travelling..so trying to accumulate more pts everytime we fly... hotel wise we book direct from the hotel also...look thru the hotels via yahoo,etc...n also the travel guides... then choose the resort we want to stay n book direct from them.

Wu
aiya..why neber know u earlier? then I can book the cheap air tics and stay one nite in Colombo...
wah..u seem to rather well travelled... u been to Jakarta? anything nice there? Cos I'll be going there wif hubby.. he on official trip...me on leisure....haha..;p

Hi Wu

thanks for the suggestion...its such a headache to plan...i think the meeru honeymoon suite is booked...

I remember someone went to Full moon resort? Am considering that also...

Kekekeke...

Starstar, I don't travel much lah... juz surf the net can find all these lobang liao, just like what you did also. :p

But don't know why, I alway can find good lobang.. like cheapest accom, cheapest airfare lah...blar blar. Probably just a bit of luck at the right time lah.

Anyhow, I'll still feel un-comfortable traveling with other airline...Kekekee. Next trip to Maldives, still I'll travel by SQ.

Neber been to Jakarta leh... anyway, in My lifetime I don't think I'll ever visit there. You should know why lah... I just think too much...Haii..... :P

ZhuZhu,

Hey, don't headache lah..you should find booking, and sourcing fun! It'll lead to even more fun when you're there, after months of planning

You meant fully Booked ah?..... Wha..

I think Adel went to Full moon right?
Why don't you try Banyan Tree, Hilton, Coco Palm
or Mihiri since you've such a healthy budget?

Wu,
the date i wan to go is booked for the honeymoon suite (they only had 2 honeymoon suite there)...

those other resorts u mentioned are pretty way off...cos that price for meeru includes full board leh...but those u mentioned only have bed n breakfast...haiz...trying to enjoy life and be cheapskate at the same time..

ZhuZhu,

Yes Meeru only have 2 honeymoon suite, and their next range will be the Coral and Dolphin suite, but way too ex lah.
Which date have you decided to go? Banyan tree maybe out lah, since they only have breakfast, and the price is USD600++.

I think you have a pretty healthy budget though, around USD600 plus per night right?
Mihiri deluxe water villa should be around USD400 plus, Hilton beach villas starting from USD350 (can be as low as USD200 during May ~ July period).
I've stayed in Hilton beach villa, paying only USD150, but it's one of the biggest and newest villa around, at 150sqm. The next range is the deluxe beach villa, at a whopping 300sqm , with dive pool some more. Very very nice ones(around 3 5rm HDB flat). Kekeke....I'm not advertising for Hilton, but I think the deluxe beach villa in Hilton beats a lot of other more ex villas hands-down and really value for money. Just trying to help.

I can sent you some pics and the floor plan for Hilton normal/deluxe beach villas if you don't mind, then you see whether you like or not?

Forget about full board if you're a normal eater or not a buffet ppl. Ala carte is a way to go, you see alot of Ang mo just go for Ala carte, and they really enjoy their food too, and it's not too ex as well.

Hope you don't find me too "ka-po"... just wanna share how much we've enjoy in Hilton and share this feeling with the others.

Anyway, how many days you are planning to stay there in Maldives?

Wu,
I expected you will say that. Hee!

starstar,
I went Jakarta on business trip. The traffic is amazing. 4 lanes can have 8 rows of vehicles. Not much of shopping for nice clothing, but have a lot for makan and malay jewellery. I won't go there for holiday as well. Just another city and nothing much. Prefer to go Bali instead.

Zhuzhu,
I went full-moon resort. 5-15mins by sea from Male Airport. Food (international food just like singapore) is nice, but I got bore of the foods there after 5 days. Went Male for more local food. Staffs very helpful and friendly. Suite is not as nice as the one Hilton have. Just a short 1-2 mins walk along wooden walkway from shore. No transparent floor, but have wooden balcony that extend out into the sea, more like those at Taj Coral. It's romantics enough to stay in one. I'm happy with that.
One thing that disappointed me is the drop* (see below for description) is more than 150m away from the shore. I walked (water level is abt knee-length 100m all the way from shore) really far out into the ocean in order to reach the drop. It's very tiring to walk in water esp in the day where the reflection of water is terrible and the sunblock is useless as well. It is like walking in desert without water. Swim is cooler, but it is too shallow plus strong current against you, so not much different. BTW, snorkeling around the island with your own snorkelling equipment is free.

Other than this, they have activites like Island-hopping, fishing, jetplane, kayaking, etc. Activities like other resorts have, but charged. Night activites like taking a stroll along the beach (they are two beaches- one lagoon, the other facing the open sea), can see lots of crabs. Resort have BBQ dinner and pub with live band and beach bar.

*Drop- area where island seabed meet the open sea. You won't see any seabed after that, corals are on the walls, water temp is cooler and there are plenty of fishes there.

Hello Adel,

Say what? kekekeke .... I've said so many things. :p
Kekekee... It's a norm lah... every resort got it's own "advocates". :P

Anyway, we're all trying to help ppl out there who had not been to Maldives, to secure a value added resort, and to share our experience..kekekeke...

For me, can go Maldives already very happy loh......

ZhuZhu,

I've check on the Hilton Website. Price during early Jan 06 very Ex. even for the beach villa at USD500 plus. However, if you can go at the end of Jan, the price for the 300sqm deluxe beach villa(with dive pool) is only USD390++.... Hey, at this price, which resort can beat? Not many leh!

What you get for USD390 is a outdoor spa bath Pavilion, open shower bath, a courtyard with fountain, bedroom plus living area, walk-in wallrobe, a big terrace followed by a dive pool, and a garden leading out to the beach and the house reef out in the sea. Tempting??? :p

Wu,
That sound very tempting...but hor go Maldives dun stay at those water villas like very wasted leh...would like to see ur hilton pics

I only intend to stay there either 3 o 4 nites only lar..no $$$ to stay longer..

Adel,
U stay at what sort of room in Full Moon
Still dun really understand what is "drop" *stratch head*