Maldives

zhuzhu

haru
hahaha..it wasn't intentational to see it..cos my frend, lovedogs happen to be in the same thread..she was from May 08 thread..then i went in to check on her posts..who noes when I scroll up..scally i saw ur name popped up there..

anyway if you need any help..we will be here for advices..

Congras Haru! Hee....Zhuzhu is veri veri sharp! I was "caught" by her in the Sgmotherhood forum too. So farney..

Anyway, so excited for you! There's be lots of new things happening. 1st thing u shld do is to invest in a good pair of sturdy shoes. I gave my colleagues and biz aq heart attacks when I wore my high heels to work, all the way till 2nd trimester i think. hahah..
I used the Clarins oil too. smells very good, like massage oil. I didn't follow instructions thou, just apply and left it on instead of washing it off as advised. I was a light user, only used abt 3/5 of a bottle, but i still use it after birth, since it's a toning oil. I dunno if it works or not, but i am quite blessed, no stretch marks!

Must continue to update us on ur pregnancy progress ok and like Zhuzhu said, we'll be here to share!

menthola

Dear Wu@depixel,

Manage to peep @ ur foto for ur trip @ maldives.
I need to seek some of ur advise as seems that u r a regular traveling to maldives.

As i plan to go honeymoon on 0ct 2008 for my honeymoon.

1) For your 2005 & 2006 trips, how you book & plan ur trips?
2) So for Hilton & Mirihi Water Villas, which is better?
3) In terms of $$, which is much more affordable & worthwhile going?

digo

Has anyone stayed at Baros,Maldives before? Will go for Honetmoon next month for 5 nights at a Water Villa..
Was chossing btw baros and Four seasons. They all look fantastic!

Heard food there is pricy. On average S$400 per day for two..

digo

Has anyone stayed at Baros,Maldives before? Will go for Honetmoon next month for 5 nights at a Water Villa..
Was chossing btw Baros and Four seasons. They all look fantastic!

Heard food there is pricy. On average S$400 per day for two..

imagesxela

Yo Wu,

So you still come here ah. Its been ages since i pop in here. Seems like u are still popular ah.

What W-hotel...YOU ARE NOT GOING ANYWHERE!!! Cannot!! Not allowed. kekekeke....

shyantiffy

oh..sorry..haven't come into the forum for awhile.. I have some pics posted on my multiply account can go there & add me my id is tiffini

Hi YM,

Never stayed in Baros but it was one of my shortlisted resorts to stay. The watervillas look good!

Food/Expenses will not be so ex now, with the weak USD. How much to budget also depends on how you plan ur meals. If you are looking at 3 meals ala carte, and a few fine dining which is available in some resorts, then plan a higher budget. There are some people who opt for half board (BF/Dinner) and spend abt $200 a day on food.

Starstar,
called ur helper, turned out she's fully booked on weekends.

any other recommendations for part time maid?

bvbride

Hey T and P

Me also looking for one that is avail on weekends
(i think i only need twice them twice a month cos we still do abit of chores here and there)
but as usual all booked liao
Maybe u can try those cleaning companies? they prob charge more i think. Heard from other forumers that this company is not bad but dunno about their charges
u can get them at 98250730 Urbane cleaning

digo

Hi T&P

Thanks for the tips..

Hope you find yur perfect resort to stay!

I was almost decide on Four Seasons as my hubby wants
to experience the water plane, but has to spend one night at main island. Then a friend recommented Baros..Sales also recomended 2 of them for Honeymoon. Really looking forward to it..

bvbride

Hi YM

pls do check out Tripadvisor.com
very comprehensive and lots of comments from ex visitors for the various resorts

happy shopping

digo

hi bvbride

Yes, i have read some reviews from that website before i booked for Baros. .. Truly a useful link for traveller..

ryo

Hi Kiang,

For my trip to Hilton yr 2005, I booked direct with Hilton Maldives thru their webby, and booked my own SQ flight.

For Mirihi, I booked with www.mal-dives.com(Impex), they are online agent for lots of resort. PLease check out their website as currently they do have free night stays with a couple of resort, such as Conrad aka Hilton, W-hotel, one & only, banyan tree, angsana etc...
http://www.mal-dives.com/maldives/holidays/resorts/special_offers.html

I'm currently planning for my 2008 trip to Maldives again, and likely to book with www.mal-dives.com again.

Cannot compare Hilton with Mirihi as they're of different class. Mirihi is really value for money, and they do have very nice Water villa interior for the price. It used to be about USD260 nett per nite for their Water villa. Now is about USD420 liao.
Hilton Water got 6 category, water villa,superior, deluxe, premier, spa water villa & Sunset water villa. Their price now range from USD1K onwards for their normal Water villa.
My personal opinion is that it's overprice liao, although it's nice(branded stuff inside the villa), but I might as well go for Mirihi at USD420 or W-hotel Ocean Oasis or One & Only Reethi Rah Water villa.

Mirihi is no longer that cheap but infact all resort rates in MAldives sky rocketted from last year onwards. However, Hilton rates is worse, it went up at least 2 fold since my trip(probably due to name change to conrad). It is still worth to go if u choose the beach villa(USD660 nett), at 150sqm in floor area, 2 big island for u to explore, superb breakfast range, nice water sports centre n gym, and off course the underwater restaurant.

However, do bear in mind that I've quote u based on Mal-dives.com July rates, Oct rate will be more ex across the board for most resort. Conrad seems to be the same, while most I think shld be up b 25%.

Ok.. 1st I think do set a budget for your trip. If no budget it's the best la..kekeke... but if you do, must go thru with you on varies expenditure such as food, transfer, excursion etc... Do let me know if you need help.

ryo

Yo Alex,

I MUST GO.... :p Buay Tan Han liao.... I need a break!!! HEee....

Hi Tiffy,

I'm planning for a trip to W-hotel this coming July, please kindly comment more on the resort. Service how har? from their website pics, the island looks "Crowded" with villas, and small land mass, do you feel crowded there?
Do share with me if you have any food menu or excursion menu on pdf files.

Cannot see any Maldives photos in your multiply webby leh... ur id is tiffini right?

ryo

Hi to all mummy....Hee..how are all of you doing.
Looks like all mummy and baby are doing fantastic!
Congrats to Haru, mummy to be soon eh...

Saw something that interest me so dropping u folks a note.. I wanna to look for a part time maid also.. any Kangtao? those charge by hour one right?

Bvbride,
my friend's using Ateam. Maybe I'll check it out. But i prefer not to use agent leh.

Wu,
Hey...i also headache, looking for lobang.
Any plans to go Maldives soon? USD weak, cheap to go now

bvbride

Yo WU!! Nice to see u around again

Gog to maldives again for Bb making perhaps? haha :D better travel while u are still footloose and fancy free oh. :p

Prob w these PT helpers is that they are mostly booked on weekends by couples like us - wkg full time w or w/o babies :p

Im trying to choop one in advance for mth end :p

ryo

Hiya T&P,bvbride,

Wha..... everybody looking for helpers ah!... Will it cause the rates to go up or not? kekeke...

Ya,I'm planning for a Maldives trip this year. Hee...Still trying to calculate whether I've got enuff leave or not:p
Weak USD doesn't help leh... all rates in all resort went up alot, at least 50% up.

Mostly Like it'll be July again.... perhaps planning for baby making as well..Hee..

Really work like mad for the pass 2 yrs without any oversea holiday. Really very very drain....I really must go this yr! Buay Tan Han already :p

So... anyone wanna bring their kids to Maldives? kekekeke....

shyantiffy

hi Wu... the service in W hotel is superb! very very good.. its really whatever, whenever...

but haveta agree.. its a very very small island.. can tour the whole island in 10 mins.. I kinda got bored in day 2...

if u can't see in my multiply??? click on view all.. the 1st pic is my stupid look with the gigantic lolipop! hahaahha

shyantiffy

for W hotel.. its kinda steep.. but well.. we got it as a wedding gift la.. but for our 5 ddays trip.. its 18K.

I'll try to upload some pics here if u guys really cannot see frm my multiply account.. gimme a day or 2.. needa convert the pics...

ryo

Hi Tiffy,

Great to hear abt the service.
ya... I knew what u mean, the last island I went to took me around 15 mins once around. But hey..it's Maldives, n u're suppose to Nua, especially in ur Oasis.
The only tiffini I found in multiply only have 2 photo album.. tioman pics... cannot be u la hor?

U are a lucky one.. Maldives trip as a wedding gift? WOW...
how come so ex? which type of room u stay in? The most I'm looking at the Ocean Oasis that's all. for about 9 nites.

IS this ur multiply account? this is the only tiffini I found :p kekeke
http://tiffini.multiply.com/

bvbride

hello all

Zhuzhu: i smsed Nunu and she gave me a tentative date so still need to look around for alternatives.
Most of the PT helpers are fully booked for sat and sun :p, want twice a mth also must book way in advance

Wu: u really didnt go for holiday last two years meh? U still doing PT photography right?
At the rate the prices are gog up for Maldives resort i guess my Kieran wont get to go Maldives :p Guess this time round bring more of your own food cos bet the prices for food there has sky rocketed!! U set on W already?

ryo

Yo bvbride,

Ya loh.... no holiday since my last trip to Sydney. Seriously loh... I really need a break, and so does Karen as well.
Ya... still doing photography with Alex(Dante).. remember him? kekeke...
In fact, we'll be bringing 2 couples to Australia perth for photoshoot next month.

It's true, the rates are getting from bad to worse. The free nites stay rate with mal-dives.com is very tempting. In fact if time permits we might go for 14nite, pay only 10, but Karen really too busy... so might be settle for less.
Ya most likely going to W-hotel, n still calculating whether we have enuff to island hopped to One & Only Reethi Rah.

If the rates kept on rising...this might be my last trip loh.
Ya loh.. u mummy already spent so much on money n time on kids... if we really have kids, then most likely no time for Maldives as well, and Karen will start to frequent this thread again...hee hee... :p

How's Kieran doing? Getting naughty aleady? hehehe...

shyantiffy

Hi Wu.. it is me leh... yep.. we stayed in the ocean oasis..think I set the setting to pple in my network..but have put it public.. can go see it now...sorry about tat!

ryo

Hi Tiffy,

Oh... I see... u haven share to public.. Ok.. I go see.
So I guess you went during the high season issit? As 18k is alot just for 5 days, meaning 3 nites only right? Still..... u are a very lucky gal! Phew... how I wish I got such a gift.

Will check out ur multiply again!

ryo

Haha.... thanks for sharing. Saw the album liao. looks like a fun place... and best place to nua.

Not the best gift after all eh... ;) I saw the comments. anw.. lesson learn lah

yep... super peak during Jan.

bvbride

Hey Wu

We will welcome Karen w open arms

Whoa got island hop 2 One and Only somemore ahh..
I guess u HAVE to check out what so big deal about One and Only. It has been so hyped up by those ang mohs and in Tripadvisor etc..
Got to compromise on the no of days lor..slightly shorter trip = can go to two resorsts ;>

2couples some more le...good business hor...good la u are spending your time so constructively ! really pei fu

Yep - now funds and time are channelled to babycare.. this clueless mummy still researching on how to make bb food :p
Weekends totally taken w baby sitting so a good PT housekeeper will really make things easier!!

No chance to check out Tiffini's (from the other Maldives thread) W Hotel pix - have u seen the pix? her budget is out of this world man :p

bvbride

oh yeah Wu - Kieran is a handful (mentioned many times here liao ..kekeke..)
7mths plus liao - time really flies
the longest i can leave him alone to play by himself is 25mins tops! hahah :D

ryo

Yo bvbride,

planning only ... O&O is really ex leh but the water villa is really drooling as well. I think O&O is really up there about service... imagine 24hrs butler for every villa/rooms. I know the feeling as last time in Hilton, I got 2 butler...kekeke... it's like king loh.. anw already back to reality liao. And their speedboat transfer is a luxury yacht. Per person 2 way transfer is about USD330. Phew.....

True... have to compromise if I intend to island hopped 2 islands. Most likely, I'll still stick with W-hotel, as I think their rates will soon match O&O....

Oh yes... regarding photography.. it's really tough job and really hard earn money. Time spend is = neglecting the wife. kekeke.... Have to slow down a bit liao..else spoilt my health also. Alex probably will go full time 1st.

Yep Tiffy's album is up... go take alook...kekeke.. She went during super peak for 4 nites.. thus that amount. phew.

Hahaha.... sound likes there's alot of fun being a mom eh. Ya..time really flies. We're in this thread for 3yrs liao leh.. and all become mummy liao somemore.
Wait till Kieran start walking... (I can't even handle my bro's kid liao when he started walking)
Kekekee....very tiring job for me... :p
say hi to Kieran for me ok
Be good ok.. Kieran.

zhuzhu

yoz Wu
wah u said u haven't been on a hols since ur sydney trip...me too leh..my last trip was to maldives..

bvbride
if nunu cannot make it, you can ask if she got frends to recc o not

menthola

Tiffy,

Thks for sharing ur pic...
Wow.. seems that u reali enjoy...
Btw i saw u using PC... u bought along on ah ?
Got internet ah

ryo

Hi Kiang,

You can check out the rates with holiday tours(local tour agent)... specialised in Maldives. I'd compare their rates for July 08 with Mal-dives.com rates, holiday tours is still more expensive.

Other agent like Misa travel also have Maldives package. Bigger agency such as chan bros or SA do not have many resorts, anw not their focus.

If u r the 1st time there...book a resort that need seaplane transfer.
Although plane is small and warm.. but the sight is really...WOW

shyantiffy

oh yes.. kiang..got free internet access in my room..!! so if plannin to go there.. bring lappy..can save on phone bills!

WU.. u tie with coffee ar?? heehee... so should i go to him or go to u straight? he is my personal friend tho.. heehee

ryo

Hi Tiffy,

Ya ya... we tie up with coffee.
Errr... so u know coffee lah or his wife?

ya.. We do have a package price together loh. Can come to us or them, rates are the same, with discount of course.

Eh... I thot ur AD over and the W-hotel is ur free HM gift. No?
kekekek....

I can sent you the rates if you allow me to, just give me ur email.

bvbride

Wu: Sounds like u have some great plans
I think not easy being a photog cos u got to have the stamina plus bear w the ever changing weather !

Yeah me here for almost 3years already. Its very tiring taking care of small babies and toddlers man...this will be my lifestyle till my boy reaches 21 :p
Kieran seemed to hv ballooned :p now 8+ kg - imagine carrying him around shopping for a few hours - me is a sarong mummy :p

Zhuzhu: thanks!
btw Markus's looks diff now hor...more toddler looking
i just checked your blog recently. Handsom-er too! like his mohawk hairstyle.

ryo

Hi Tiffy,

I see. kekekeke..... ROM already went to Maldives. Looks like AD both of ya gonna go around the world liao...kekeke... Kidding. :p
Hmmmm.... perhaps Bora Bora this time round? if are a beach lover la.

Wha.... ur AD June ah. Hmm... just let u know if you want to find a PG/VG, better do it fast. Becos we're fully booked for most weekend liao. Other PG might also be the same.

Coffee themselves might be fully booked too, especially if you wanted their animation series. Or you can do it urself for sure right?

ryo

Yo Zhuzhu,

Looks like u're stuck here longer....since 2005 or 2006 ha? It's about time u can bring ur kiddy for a holiday isn't it?

Yo bvbride,

NAh... biz if difficult, sometimes planning also no use, especially when I still hold a day job. It's unbelievably tiring for this pass 1 year for me and Alex, 7/24 ba....

WOW.... 8kg liao! that's a big boy liao. I roughly know how heavy it is becos my small doggie is about same weight...kekekeke. (paisay for using my doggie as comparison, then I rougly know how heavy is 8kg....kekeke).

It's really tiring carrying a 8kg kid around shopping... tough mummy. I carry my nephew a while already buay ta han... Really dunno how when I become a dad. Phew... kekekeke.....

woah..then is my Jarrett abit on the big side? He's 7.25kg as @ yesterday.

I'm trying this PT china chinese maid this sun. If she's good, I'll pass the contacts around ya people!

I've been stuck here for exactly 1 yr! The last trip was Bali...planning for a italy trip this mid yr, without baby thou..boo...cos part work. I tink i'll go crazy missing my baby!!!

Wu,
Good sia..i have always wanted to check out O&O Reethi..and W! Looks like it wun b anytime soon for me, with a baby now. Expenses is going up, up n up while income remains the same leh..haiz..

ryo

Yo T&P,

1yr still not too bad la... kekeke... me 2 yrs liao leh. :p really buay ta han liao.

I've check out O&O Reethi Rah online... really too ex as compare to some. It's only pro I can think of is their legendary service level loh. Coral reefs plus room probably still lose to lesser resort(in terms of size).

You can check out those new breed of resort up all the way to the north of Maldives that need domestic flight transfer plus speed boat transfer kekeke... I'm looking at 2 of them. Gigantic villas at a fraction of O&O rates. Service wise no sure... as I really dun care.

http://www.beachhousecollection.com/
http://www.island-hideaway.com/

Most likely I'll try out beach house and give feedback here again...but still deciding loh. O&O is out for sure. My list are beach house, W-hotel or huvafenfushi. Hopefully to choose 1 by end of april.

zhuzhu

wow..all ur bb quite big leh..think my Markus just abt 9kg or so only..

Wu,
now cannot bring bb oversea lar..wait till he can walk then easier..

T&P
I ever tried 1 china maid..$12/hr...wah..she cannot make it ah..her ironing was SOOO BAD..that I had to redo after she left..and I already very chin chye iron leh...