Maldives

Thank you so much for the help. Will check timing of seaplane and location. WIll keep u all updated. Have a grt weekend.

haru
u blur lah...I haven embark on any trip yet...it'll be in april lah...
u too gan cheong over your trip till blur liao...haha..

u won't regret going there one... my parents went there and after that, they went Korea... they still prefer japan. Think it's better to go korea before japan cos like my parents, both felt japan was more worthy to go than korea n scenery wise better. guess the standard is set by the hokkaido trip...keke... ;p

May I find out whether is Dec a good time to visit Maldives? Cos my wedding is in Dec and did think about going to Maldives for honeymoon. Is Dec a good time to do diving?

hi sailor,
welcome!! dec is good, as its not the monsoon. but not to worry a few of us went during monsoon and we still had sunshine days. but it may be a lil high season so rates may be higher too.

hey welcome sailor to the Maldive club

Not much activities in this thread now cos only Piggy heading there now.
Do save up cos Dec is not the cheapest season to go. i went in NOv06 cos of a super good promo and expecting weather to be great but encountered some rainfall - buttt.. weather is always unpredictable so just take the chance man
sure wont regret

Haru: yep agree w you that the experience is worth more than anything
lucky u
must do all the travelling before yr BB arrives hor...u also qt keen to start soon right?
who knows u get lucky in Hokkaido? hehehehe...
no major travelling plans for me now but hopefully the CNY can bring some TOTO luck for all of us here :D

Starstar: looks like u are back to your old nick hehehhe...cant break the habit mah...
If i got news hor, u all wil definately hear about it one haha...u must also report here if u got any BB news ok

think zhuzhu, u and i are the ones who are abt the same age hor? ;P so Mummy time for us i guess

bvbride
haha..sure... old habits die hard...:p anyway if got any bb news..i'll let u gals know

ya..toto hong bao draw again!! time flies!

hey bvbride,
we were planning to try in japan, but then had second tots coz we stil enjoying couplehood.hahah..but guess its hard to really plan it eh? just never know..anyhow, it will be a blessing whenever it happens.=>

hiyah..toking bout toto..my bb never give me luck..never strike 4D..haiz...

Haru
If made in japan..u going to give bb a jap name..

Hi, All. I am new here and hope to join in ur discussions.

Got to start saving as I planned to go Maldives or mauritus. Still cant decide which is best?

Hi diana
welcome!! Well, it'll depends on both of u. Simply just wanna to chill out n relax with sun, sea n lots of sand... Maldives the one! If u prefer a more mixture kinda of relaxation, ie..can go hiking, go sight seeing..etc Mauritius the one! becos Maldives are made up of many atolls(small islands) so every single resorts is on one of the atolls... basically u'll be facing sea, sand and sun all day. So it all boils down to what both of u like to have...
Both places are worth a visit in the lifetime!

hi y'all

Happy Valentine's Day!
sure u all hv great plans w flowers and gifts galore!
me celebrating by watching American Idol ! haha
Cheers!!!

bvbride
thanks!! happi V day to ya too. keke.. no lah... won't have flowers n great plans for the day cos V day is so commercialised now! Not worth the $$ spent just on one day and it's not even our anni... everything is so ex today. one bunch of flowers today can get u two on other days!! So me celebrating it by having a meal at foodcourt n watching TV!

starstar
my bb is due sometime mid may..i never had those 4D/toto luck...haiz...even the car plate for my wedding car..i buy never strike..but my mum strike a few times...no luck...

Hi everyone....

How are u folks doing? Me busy with work all the way from..er... since my last mail lah! Missed talking to you gals also!
Oh yah...missed talking to you also, bvbride! kekeke...
Wish you folks a wonderful, prosperous CNY!!!

Haiz... need to complete more work before the CNY break!

Hey Wu,
finally back!! k lah, we noe you also busy..so how? any upcoming holiday to maldives plans with your wife?

hey zhuzhu,
wow, thats quite fast..all the best in your pregnancy!! enjoy it to the very best!

hey everyone,
me worked late today, have to clear lots of work before going on leave. came home still had to do spring cleaning..now really looking forward to arriving in snowy japan..=p

hey y'all~ its the long weekend again although i hv to work tmr

Wu - nice to hear fr u again. Happy Prosperous New Year back to u! so gog Prague/Maldives or anywhere? am sure u got travelling plans one

Haru - sounds like u wil hv a bz Sat cleaning house man - what a drag right? hubby wil sure help out one right so no worries ok...
i did my major vacuuming last Sat so just left toilets to clean, wash towels and wiping here and there, ironing (yet again) ...this year is a lazzzy year for me...haha

so before i forget herez wishing u all Health, Wealth and Happiness~!!! ** GONG XI FA CAI!**

hi all, thinking of going Maldives for honeymoon, any good deals out there?

is it better to go on packages or ala carte?

Which resort is highly recommended?

Any good agents to recommend?

Please let me know the costs involved as well! Thks!

Hi bvbride, haru n all
anyone of u been to Melbourne and Tasmania? There's some changes of plans on my trip...cos something crop up...so can't go Mauritius liao as there's some activities I can't take part..eg undersea walk, horse riding etc. Can't foloow hubby to US too cos of the reason... just wanna some advices abt reco o accom in these two places. Going in late april or early may.

thanks! Really appreciate the help.

hi pat,
do look around at the packages too. but its mostly like 3day package which is really short. try working out the amout for both and compare. I stayed at hilton which was great, highly recommended for just that touch of luxury. of coz it cannot be compared to W.

Can u pls share which resort u stay in maldives? my hubby & I thought of gog there for our honeymoon in Oct as we both loves the sun, sand and sea...

thks!

hi hi Starstar~

been to Melbourne during my student years and had frens to bring me around so was on free and easy - i was kinda chauffered everywhere so it was definately enjoyable and no need to spend $ on package some more haha
so sorry cannot give u any useful info. if u guys dare to drive around on your own just do a free and easy - book svc apartment, airtix and car and off u go ! keke :D

AL - hi and welcome -
the thread is very quiet nowadays but do chk out our postings from OCT to NOV last year - alot of info plus pictures plus reviews from some of us.
my recommendation would be MIRIHI!!! though ive not been there haha from Wu's review it is fantastic and marine life there is really abundant so lots of snorkelling to do around the resort

another webbie for u to chk out will the tripadvisor.com
very good reviews there
good luck!

starstar,

i did F&E melbourne but did not drive on our own. joined 2 tours when we reached. went to great ocean rd and philip island tour. it was a nice experience and on the way, they stop at a small town for lunch. can meet many people from different countries also. stopped at a farm, a wildlife park and a rainforest.

rest of the days, we travelled out of the town by taking their buses and did a lot of walking.

Hi starstar,

Do you have any lobang for Hanging Garden, Bali?
I am stuck with the resort choice...shortlisted a few and ended up too confused..dunno which one to go..argh...

t&p
u can try checking out their resort webby? then check wif other webby for hotel bookings...see which one more worth it... :p

LPH n bvbride
thanks for the info... i'm thinking of driving around...but heard the traffic theere is slightly diff from perth... see how first... :p thanks gals!

hi folks!
Happy Chinese New Year and a belated Vday...heehee.. had been bz with work and looking @ the stock market...kekeke...

think haru had left for her snowy Japan?

zhuzhu,
must take care of yourself and BB okay

AL
like what BVbride had mentioned, do check out our postings back last year...lotsa reviews and research on various resorts...actually it depends more on your budget and what u want...maybe u want to share with us what's your budget and we can help to suggest??

am now in abashiri, hokkaido,japan..its pretty cold here.. 4 layers of clothes so you can imagine. its been fun so far, with lotsa intersting things happening...but i must say if you can't speak a word of japanese best to follow tour if not really tough to get around especially this part of japan where its not all english translated and not everyone can speak or understand. it took me a while to remember conversing in japanese. been so many years,hahahha...anyways, hope everyone had a good CNY!!

hi starstar,

nvm..i booked my package with holiday tours..again..ha..leaving this sun..yeah!!
I remember from ur pics, u went to this hilltop resturant for lunch. Wat's the name of that place? Thanks!

Hi Haru,
have fun!

t&p
have fun!!!
can't rem the hilltop restaurant but it's the one facing the volcano direct.... there's a few there... the place ther is lovely! enjoy!

haru
guess u enjoyed yourselves...
have fun too ya? ;p

hi T&P,

if u wanna hv lunch with the best volcano view...get the driver to bring u there slightly earlier eg. 11.30am so u can pick n choose a seat with best view
there is a beautiful lake right beside the volcano too...

i think the hilltop restaurant is at kintamani, the volcano is batur mountain. rem to go early so tat u can sit outside.

cacky
it'll depends on which resorts u looking at n how many nights u planning to stay. 3stars or 5 stars resorts? 3 nghts or 7 nights? It really depends on what u want.... hard to gauge.... can range from $3k-$10k....

Ooooooh, I'm probably looking at 4-star ... not too expensive lah ... but planning to stay for about 5 days. How much would that roughly cost?

cacky
hmmm...if u looking at 4 stars... u planning to go for the over water villas? If so, maybe u can roughly gauge from my trip in march 05. It's considered not the peak..think it's shoulder period. Spent a total of $6k on the trip. Stayed at over water villa in Taj Coral Reef resort(4 stars resort) for 6 nights. $6k is inclusive of air tics. Just take note that of the month u going... if u go during peak, the cost would be 2x higher... n of course, the resorts there all use USD. When u planning to go also impt?

cacky
u can check out this web site to do your research...
the rates doesn't include air tics n transfers for some resorts...and some resorts u'll need to stay in the town for a night cos they dun have speedboat transfers. Some resorts r too far out...so need sea planes to reach... the planes only fly in the day... SQ flights usu reach the airport at night... so if u book those resorts that need sea plane transfer... must factor in the cost of a nite stay in town.

www.mal-dives.com

Hi Cacky,

Just give u a rough guide. For example Hilton beach villa and Mirihi Water villa, a 7 nites stay includes all transfer(SQ + internal transfer) plus all taxes, and Ala-carte food + excursion, some spa, you'll need around S$8K for 2 person.

What we recommend u to do is set a budget as high as possible and probably also tell us how many days u wanna go for and we can give you recommendation in which resort, what to do, what transfer(Seaplane or speedboat) etc....
I'll try to post the link to the photo for most of the folks here tonite. You take a look on ur desired resort and it might help.

If u don't mind any budget, it'll be much easy for us to recommend.... we'll sent u to Maldives to become Kings and Queens for that period!

Some high ends one can goes up to USD3000 or even USD10k per nite. Some ppl I know can easily afford that really!

Just some price guide below for u:-
1)SQ flight for 2(return):- S$1648 nett
2)Seaplane transfer for 2(return):- USD500 ~ 600
3)Speedboat transfer for 2(return):- USD100 ~ 200
4)Accomodation for 5star resort(low end villa) ~ USD200 to USD1000++
5)high season rate of accom is 1.5 ~ 2x the rates of low season.

etc.....

Need any help just let us know!

Hi Cacky....

Sorry, never see your ealier post. As what Lavendar_lover say, a 5 nite stay in a 4stars resort should be around USD200 per nite (Bed breakfast).
Add on and average expenditure of USD150-200 per day, plus transfer, I think u can do it for S$4K~S$6K depends on resort.

Try to look into the Hilton beach villa, I still think it's the most valuable choice for most ppl. Just that the seaplane transfer is a killer!
5nites will cost you around S$6.2k BB,SQ, seaplane,food and expenditure of ard USD150 per nite.
You can try Bandos new 2 level beach villa also, will only cost u around USD1100 for 2, bed and breakfast, including speedboat transfer, so total you might only spent around S$4.5k, SQ, speedboat, food, expenditure ard USD150 per nite.

So are u interested in Water villa or beach villas, and when u planning to go?

Yo starstar!!

kekeke...... today abit free lah... so got time to write something... Later will be busy again, need to have a conference call with my Thai counterpart in solving issue, tiring lah!