Maldives

haru

hi Wu,
i agree about the char kway teow. hubby and i ate it first time yesterday..nothing special tho. oh! u stayed at dover close!! i'll be moving (en bloc) in a few years time to opp dover park view/united world college. =>

ryo

Yo folks,

I've loaded another batch of photo in my album...the Hilton visit one and the only actual 100% sunset photos I've got!! These are my favourite batch of photos...cos less shaky hands and wonderful lightings!!

Feel free to comment so that I can improve especially the composure stuff.......

http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2104321453

ryo

Yo Haru,

Yes Yes...dover close!!! I really love that place...b4 those condo being build. There used to be a small rocky mountain where I always climb up with my friends!! Really missed that place. And there's a big army camp there b4 so at that time the place is really quiet. Hmm.... Missed that!

Wah..your house en-block ah? You bought second hand or u staying with ur parents?

Yo imagesxela,

I think it ganna Tsunami. It suppose to open much early but it never did, then Tsunami struck. I suppose it ganna also. It's an island by itself right? ANW the rates also not cheap. I'm willing to save up and go Maldives instead.

ryo

Yo imagesxela,

The Racha rates seems to drop alot, at least from what I know. hmmm...the pics is the same as last time, so even if it's destroy in the Tsunami, they build back to the same design, probably?
Hmm.... still looks very tempting hor!

The Racha - On Koh Racha
http://www.thailand-traveler.com/hotel.php?hid=540

For me, why I reluctant to visit Phuket is I'm abit superstitious..thinking the place is very "dirty". Once I overcome this thinking...it' shld be a very good destination!!

imagesxela

huh....dun scare me leh...me is like 80% want to go liao...email the place to check rates all that liao leh...hahaha...

captivated by the scenery...so want to go there shoot heheh....

kazataza

dun nid to be scared lah imagesxela
I juz came back from Phuket not long ago mah..everything is okay for me...
i think it's all in your mind one lah..u dun think, go there enjoy, wun remember one lor

ryo

Yo imagesxela,

No lah....that's my thinking only lah... I believe mah..
anw you don't believe just go for it!!! Don't think so much!!! Go Go Go!!!

Can ask for more photos from them or not? Did you go direct or some agents?

Yo Fanfan,

hahahaha...no ones knows better than you! You're a frequent travellers to Thailand right?
Thanks for the website. Is this the homepage har?

ryo

Long time never hear from Zhuzhu hor... Paging Zhuzhu!!! Long time neber put up this chart liao. Looks like the next one is Mish liao. imagesxela changing mind..kekekekek....then fanfan will be next

Lai ah...whos next after Fanfan??

Yo Haru,

how to link your pics har?

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Photo Album</TD><TD>Departure</TD><TD>Returned</TD><TD>Total nites</TD><TD>Countdown(Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Taj Exotica/Baros(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/album/208550556KcSIWJ </font><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/user/plannerholiday3</font></TD><TD>Oct 04</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral(WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2120573087</font></TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla/Sunset WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2123875645</font></TD><TD>30-June-05</TD><TD>8-July-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana(Beach Villa) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/wpwgrent/my_photos</font></TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Clubmed(SupRm/WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://photos.yahoo.com/lengph</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>29-Apr-06</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Clubmed(BVilla/WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.moonlight00.shutterfly.com/</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>13-May-06</TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/?id=2105956261</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>25-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>T&amp;P</TD><TD>Taj Exotica(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.tajexotica.shutterfly.com </font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>10-Jun-06</TD><TD>16-Jun-06</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nelc</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Jun-06</TD><TD>25-Jun-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Mirihi(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2104321453</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>29-Jun-06</TD><TD>8-July-06</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton(DBVilla/WVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-July-06</TD><TD>7-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon/Hilton(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.fullmoonmaldives.com/</font></TD><TD>9-July-06</TD><TD>14-July-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Coming back liao </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-July-06</TD><TD>16-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Still There. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Anantara(Water Villa)</TD><TD></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Changing plan. </TD></TR><TR><TD>FanFan</TD><TD>Mirihi(WVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Nov-06</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>121 </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Laguna or Club Rannalhi</TD><TD></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Hurry hurry!
</TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

imagesxela

Hi Wu

Never go thru agent leh..all DIY lor..take tigerairways..then book the resort there lor...now problem i think is apply leave to go.. and the flight timing to reach there and ferry to the resort..hmmm....

ryo

Yo imagesxela,

Read the website supply by Fanfan...got lot of transfer info. Fly to phuket then tranfer by ferry right? If you stay min 7 nites hor, got pick up limo at the airport, and also schedule ferry transfer! So you just settle the tiger air can liao!!

Hmmm.... actually think about it hor, this resort is even cheaper than some Redang resort.
Oki lah..you go there recce. Come back with nice photo then I think my fear will be gone...Kekekekek..
My wife say the most we don't dive loh. Kekekek...

starmed

imagesxela
haha...looks like u r not alone when u go...me too going Bali in the 7th mth...haha..
what the heck!!

haru n wu
yoz..the char kuay teow.. in fact I dun like it..think there used to be a stall better one..but it look slike the current one got more publicity..so the rest all can't survive even though better...

ryo

Yo imagesxela,

Chiong ah.......Kekekek..... We'll need a report from u oki.. :p
anw, does that mean we gonna remove your name from the Maldives visit list? So sad..... :p
kekeke..Kidding.....Neber mind will keep it there! sooner or later you'll sure go back one isn't it?

Yo Starstar,

Wah...you are all travelling at 7th month ah....kekeke...ya lah what the heck!! Yo you better take some photo oki. :p
Hmmm.....I tot you just came back from Bali or somewhere isn't it? How come ppl like Bali so much har?

Yo Zhuzhu,

Wah...what happened to you? busy with work or fun? oki oki...go to rest....talk again when you free okie?

Goodnite everyone!! Anyway, I've loaded all my photos. No more liao.
Maybe only minor adjustment.

Now we'll wait for Mira's photo....and where this Nelc har? Greentea will be back soon as well. Hopefully she did went to Fullmoon and take some pics for our references.

lph

got kaki to do research on phuket

im also going phuket most prob in sept.
its quite troublesome to go the racha but it really looks very nice. u can arrange all the transfer with the hotel. they even arrange transfer from bangkok. but the price has dropped quite a lot.

im planning to stay at karon beach. coz i heard that patong beach is like kuta beach in bali...a lot of vendors disturbing you trying to sell their things.

anyone with experience staying at karon beach area? n how to get to the beach from the airport?
the hotel is charging US25 per way per pax for the transfer.

jopej

Hi haru,

I m really looking forward to this romantic holiday.. this trip is very different from all other shopping trip we always go for...

Hope i manage to book the resort.. waiting for replies now.. wu says maybe fully book already....
so sad

zhuzhu

Yoz Wu
aiyah all becos of my hubby lor..asked him to pick me up at my mum's plc after his dinner..then he went to see show oso..by the time he picked me up already after midnite liao..soooo sleepy then...

Hey jopej
Remember to update us on ur plan so that we can post it on the table..

zhuzhu

eh..actually the transfer to Racha oso not dat difficult leh..just like wat we do when we reached Male at nite mar..take a dhoni to Male..stay 1 nite..then take dhoni back and take seaplane..

just that the transfer from phuket to racha takes longer time only..the resort looks quite nice leh..tempting leh..

kazataza

imgagesxela,
i just went at end June. I stayed at Movenpick (ex Crown Plaza) for 4 nights (paid by company) and 3 nights at Baan Karonburi (paid by myself)

Wu,
the website i'd given is not the homepage of Racha...but it's a phuket info page i always refer to..it's very good cos it tie up with the Asia Web Direct for the hotel bookings and offer quite good deals..

LPH
if you staying at Karon Beach, a taxi from airport to Karon Beach is THB650..for minibus, it's THB180 per pax to Karon Beach..the minibus will drop people at various stops (Patong-Karon-Kata)..

if you're staying @ Karon Beach, i recommend a Thai massage place that my colleagues and i find it not bad...it's at The Old Phuket @ Karon Beach..the shop name is Karma Thai massage (or something similar..cant remember the name)..it's THB250 for 1 hr Thai massage and very good..

try to get tuks tuks along the main beach road instead from hotel as its' cheaper..

do tell me if you guys need more info on Phuket ^_^

ryo

Yo Fanfan,

Lucky you..... always got such trip.
Envy... kekekeke.....
Hmmm....seems like got your assurance or, I'm not so "Pan Tan" liao. :p
Sure...will try Racha. If decide to go, will u an imagesxela to guide me thru the whole transfer thingy!

starmed

Wu
hahaha...yup..travelling in the 7th mth... aiya..no need "pang tan" too much...clear conscience...
correct? ;p anyway, Bali's very rich in culture n of course got alot of arts n handicrafts...n nature landscapes lah...
of course the beach can't be compared to Maldives one but it's much better than singapore...haha

oh ya..u been there bef? there's this place called Gili near Bali..heard it's a good n great diving spots...
sure I
ll take pics but not as nice as yours n haru's...:p hope u dun mind..

LPH
ya...karon's more peaceful... the last time I went stayed in Patong...at nite is soo noisy n busy just like Kuta in Bali...this time round we not staying in kuta liao... too many ang mohs too that's why..haha...hey..u can always rent a 4 wheel drive when u there to drive ard the island... not ex..
we did just that the last time we went to phuket...
fun!

kazataza

Wu
No probs. you'd given us so much valuable info on Maldives. my info on Phuket oni so-so.

yeah! rent a 4 wheel drive will be fun. I did that during my 1st trip to Phuket..drive up to the hills to see the sunset..it's very very nice...i think @ most places, parking is FOC except for parking along the main Patong beach..

Have fun

jopej

Hi wu,

is it that as long as i receive an email with reservation id from impex holidays means they have rooms for me? i can go ahead to purchase air tickets?

i am getting excited....

haru

hi Wu and Fanfan,
yup, the mkt will be affected too by e enbloc. we actually bot a unit here after they confirmed enbloc coz we thinking few years later can have new place why not? and we like the area. we paid high price for our place coz we bot it after the place is confirmed for enbloc and we do not enjoy all rebates/benefits.

Wu,
hmm...i tried the link cannot leh. think the only to do is for me to send invite. mayb you can put remark "to leave email addy to haru" under the photo album..paiseh ah!

LPH,
i stayed at karon beach too the last time. more peaceful but i think if u get a nice hotel in patong wil def b more convenient. the choice is yours, whether you wana be really close to e happening place or u want to have some peace and quiet and dun mind to travel abit.

jopej,
i am sure you and hubby will have a good and romantic couple time!! hope you'll be able to book the resort you like..=>

lph

haru, i want some place happening but not too crowded....contradicting rite

after the experience at kuta beach, i decided to choose karon instead.

im very afraid of driving overseas cos it always give the felling that the drivers there are more 'heong'...scared le.

most prob will be booking the access pool resort. n travelling after the 7th mth. me too scared esp phuket is quite badly hit by the tsunami.

thanks everyone for all the info on phuket.

ryo

Yo Starstar,

Hmmmm....... I still got no urge to go Bali... I want those nice nice beach lah, at least Redang standard. Looks from the TV, it's like Bintan standard...so Bali will not be in my list.

Hi Jopej,

Wa...so early ah you?

Yes I think so...but it's better to call them and make sure(they got a Singapore land line, toll free). Is that a reservation confirmation?
Read their policy first, as they got rights to divert u to other "Comparable standard".
Read their terms and condition here:-
http://www.mal-dives.com/mv/?dir=../book&amp;target=main&amp;title=How%20to%20book%20with%20us
So if you want to be 100% sure, write straight to Keells and ask them for confirmation that they've already reserve the room for you, under impex travel.
You are almost there,Good luck!!!

Yo Haru,

ok.. Or alternative, you can also put your photo on imagestation, seems to be more user friendly leh.

starmed

Wu
haha..i know your standard lah...
btw u can check out the Gili islands near Bali...redang standard ones..
check it out dude...

www.lombok-network.com/gili_islands
LPH n Wu
oh ya...maybe LPH may also be interested..if anyone of u are SAFRA members..think they have a promo for one of the resort near Phuket.. it's a 4D/3N stay in a superior studio at $288 per pax..w/o the air tics of course.
can check out the resort here ... maybe anoone who's interested can check it out too..

www.TheParadise.biz

ryo

Yo Starstar,

Hahaha.....you know me well.... kekekek...the beach and water must have certain standard then I would go.

Thanks for ur link...I'm looking at it now.

haru

hi Wu,
ya, i gota say that after experiencing maldives its hard to find a match for it. i guess if we were to go for short trip to thailand, etc..its more for just relaxation but nt necessary for the beach. i can't get maldives out of my mind too..
kao_dizzy.gif

hey everyone,
gona be going back to work tom. felt like a really long time since i was at work so it does feel like a nice long break for me. i hv not had a 2 week break before other than for my HM. i realy like hving a long break, feels really rest altho its harder to get myself "prepared" to get back for work!hahah..i guess my next break will be sometime in nov or late dec where we normally have our christmas break. if all goes as planned we mite take a short trip to Manchester as hubby hopes. will have to see how the time and budget works out..flights during christmas week will be much more expensive and difficult to book.

haru

hi starstar,
i checked out the Paradise, actually looks quite nice for a weekend getaway.=D but weekend getaways are gona be almost not possible for me for next 4-6 months coz of hubby's work schedule. will keep in my favourites tho!

starmed

hiya people
how's weekend?

haru
hahaha..me also very tempted to go to the Paradise after seeing the website..:p somemore wif the SAFRA member deal..seems not too bad...:p I'll type put the package deal for all here:
- 4D/3N stay in superior studio(it's actually pay 2 nites, 3rd nite free)
- Daily breakfast except on the complimentary nite
- Round trip transfer from Phuket/Krabi airport to Koh Yao including land n sea transfer
- 1 spa treatment (1hour aromatherapy) per pax per stay
- Beach shuttle to nearby tropical island of Koh Pak Bia
- Welcome drink/fruit basket
- Free use of herbal steam bath
- Free use of mountain bikes/sea canoes

Offer valid till oct 31.

it's also in my fave too..:p

mish

Hey!

This ananatara very strange.. I faxed my credit card details over already.. and emailed to ask them twice whether they received it. And they reply on everything else but did not confirm that they received my fax and confirmed my booking. How Strange.

Anyway, They recommend the mookai Hotel in Male capital for 103usd. How is mookai? Anyone knows about it?

ryo

Yo Mish,

Get use to it. Seems like most of them always "da fei shou weng".. ask them something they tell you something else.... opss. except Anthony from the Mirihi resort. He's the only one so far answering my question. Even last year Hilton rep abit strange as well....kekekke..
Did u write in point form?

Mookai just next to Relax inn. From pics not bad lah, probably same standard as Relax inn. Anyway, don't think there's other better motel around liao.
But USD103 a bit ex... probably it's the high season rates.

Yo Starstar,

Weekend sucks... Can't get over it still. Wife clean house but I gong gong not enough sleep..taking a nap while she doing housework. Anyhow, I did cook her a steak meal.

Ah....the rates sound good but...my schedule fully pack liao. Sept go Sdyney then Oct reservist! :p Counting down to my ROD...probably 2 more high key...

bvbride

hello all!!

Haru: u back at work today right? take it easy yeah...think your collegues must be bombarding u abt your pix and asking u abt your trip yeah...

now slight diversion to Phuket hor...hmmm...think i still stay put w my decision. if can afford holiday to Phuket - might as well dump some more $$ in to go Maldives?? kekekke.....my plans to Maldives still work in process la..sighhhh...
must say that Racha looks really good man

Mr Wu-hvnt got time to scan thru all your pix and i cannot accesss your imagestation from office. hvnt reached the part abt your Water villa. just want to chk abt the water condition around your villa... looks like there are alot of coral reefs just below your villa yeah? live ones? so must watch where u swim hor... personally pref clear water under the villa cos its more "Bora Bora-esq"

Starstar - plan a trip to phuket !!! like that u can give us some phuket review here..kekkeke.... hope u are hvg fun at home....
got to go - pop in later.....

mish

Wu,

Ya lo... they reply like.... horrible!! I didn't write in pt form though. But i leave one line in every sentence. heh

hmm. I also think that mookai quite ex hor... 103.. hmm how much was relax inn?

I think we should change our thread from maldives to beach resorts.. haha. hunting for gd beach resorts? hmm

imagesxela

FanFan

The link u gave me to book the accommodation hor, they reply fast or not. I emailed them Sat, until now still no news leh...
Email the resort to book also no news leh...

I is panic dunno like what liao lor... Have to secured both flight and accmmodation FAST. Flight ticket is selling fast during national day week...but i cannot book until the resort get back to me...ai yoooooo......

haizz.....

Truffles...
Oh really.. Wow.seems like i make a good choice..got photos? heheh...

Me is 99% ONzz for Racha liao.. only left booking...

starmed

Wu
wah!! going sydney!!
how long u going? leisure or company trip?

haru
your hubby is he SAFRA member? if so, can get the deal liao..

bvbride
haha..me not going phuket leh... this deal came later after I book my bali trip...abit the late liao...
next time bah...:p

haru

hi bvbride,
yup, me back at work today. so much emails and paperwork for me! but will take the rest of this week to slowly clear them. feel really rested tho, really good break. and just another 4 months to my long break again in christmas where i will have at least a week's break..

adelene

The track is killing me. I spent whole day viewing the track and do my work simultaneously.

My wedding is on 19 Oct this year. Hv not taken my PS yet, it'll be in Aug. Very late uh? =P

Thank you for your wedding photo. Now viewing through them.

Wu,
For a beginner, your camera skill good! Can try using Aperture mode instead of Auto-mode. After you are more cofident, use the Manual model. You are very lucky to see a complete sunsetting into the sea.
You and Joy nv take photo with your pet fishes?

You are working at Science Park! My office at Alexandra TechnoPark. We work nearby.

kazataza

imagesxela,
shld be quite fast..when i booked my accomodation in June, it was confirmed in less than 3 days i think...they shld have sent u an email confirming your booking and that they're pending resort's confirmation that there are rooms for your booking..right?

if i'm u, i think i will book air tixs first..the reason is that there're so many resorts in Phuket..if really this one no more rooms, u can try other resorts too..but i doubt will have no more rooms lah..it's off-peak for Phuket now

imagesxela

Wah...very lay chey...and me is very kan cheong..haha..

I email them and no reply. So cannot wait liao...i go book the accommodation first. I got another friend going as well so not sure whether she can secured the accommodation because it is based on request...

Haizz...dunno now should book the air ticket first or not....ai yooo.... Whole day just monitor this..damm..haha.