Maldives

mish

Hey Wu,

Yeah, the programe is on this friday night.

Last night I went for wine tasting.. so zonk out after that. I really cant drink at all. Terrible. Hehe.

Hey everyone,

I Thinking of getting Merlot. Hmm. Caliboro - chilean or French - cant rem the name. Hee. What are ur views of French and Chilean? WHich country's wine better?

haru

hey Wu,
wow, thinking of gg next apr again sounds sooooo soon! hahah..the rates then wil def be much more, at least double? think for me, wil def be gg back to hilton again if i do decide to go next year. while i was there hubby told me he will bring me there again, at least for our 5th anniversary..heheh....

ryo

YO Mish,

Okie okie...will watch tonight....er..how does ur hubby looks like har?

Have u tasted both French and Chilean wine? So whats ur preference?
For me....drank once chilean wine then like it straight away...very smooth. I think shld be merlot. Me not a wine lover, got then drink.if don't hv, then don't drink.
Another one I've tasted is Xanadu "white" color red wine....oooo....very nice...

Thus I think every country got their nice wine. Different ppl got different preference...so I don't think there's so call better wine. Go with your taste bud lah....

YO Haru,

Oh yeh....Next april is like 9 more months! Hahahah.....

When is ur 5th Ani?? Wedding Ani or knowing each other Ani? Kekekek.....
Hmmmm...my 5th wedding ani would be 2008....when's urs?
Oh ya hor, Ani might get some free upgrade as well!

haru

hi Wu,
wedding anni lah, we've been together for like 9 years liao..kekkeke..our 5th anni would be 2010!

so sad, wanted to go tiong bahru for brekkie this morn but raining non stop...there goes my chwee kueh and peanut pancake..

kazataza

Wu,
haha...how come u dun like the Gao Ling Feng? heeheee...okay lah..don't tease u liao

so sianz..the heavy rain this morning made my jeans all wet..sigh...

Haru
u live near tiong bahru?

starmed

fanfan n wu
yah..forget to mention that Wu looks like the gao ling feng from some angles... haha...the younger bro...haha

Wu n haru
wah!! 2010 is the next world cup leh... in SA!!
then u can go see matches for wedding anni liao..
5 years anni...
btw u guys count the ROM one or the customary one?

For me, we only count the ROM one..cos legally speaking ROM is already married... if ROM one, in 2010, mine will be 6 years anni liao... if customary one, it'll be 5 years.

Mish
haha..i like all the Merlots... some how I prefer aussie ones... hee..:p

ryo

Yo Haru,

Wah....you still so young then you together with you hubby for so long liao ah? REally a Marathon man! Wah...so you've been together since secondary school then lah! Hm...really a long long time. I think if you shld return to Maldives next year, tell them you're on your 10th Ani... Its true isn't it, knowing and together for 10 years can consider Ani also.

Hahaha..then they upgrade u to Sunset water villa! Yipeee.....

Yo Fanfan,

Hahahah...... Although Gao Ling Fen is almost my time singer...kekeke.... I don't particular favor him lah.... He like "Ka-po" loh! :p
Actually do you still remember how he looks like when he's young?... I really can't remember liao lah.... but I can still remember how "Liu Wen Zheng" looks like.

Oooo....better blow dry your jeans..else smelly...Kekekek...

Hello Zenn,

How are you doing lately? Hope that you've recovered fully liao. Do take care of yourself more okie...since now you're a mother to be.

Oh yeah....glad that you like the Mirihi pics as well. It's also you who recommended Mirihi to me as well.... off course after I do some research and it really worth a try lah...kekek.... and I never regret choosing Mirihi.
In fact...right now, I might just go back again.

So you gonna bring your baby to Mirihi next year?

So are you still going for the Sydney convention?

ryo

Yo Starstar,

Another Gao Ling Feng comment....don't want to share the photo with you liao. :p Kekekekkee....

Hahaha....anyway I got 3 different Ani loh. 1 is together for how long, 2nd is ROM, 3rd is customary. I think better tell them the longest one...i.e. Together for how long one. :p

Wah...ya hor 2010 WC again! Wah....by the time I'll have just paid off my car load then got bigger budget for Maldives liao...

Huvafenfushi Maldives in year 2010...Anyone???

mish

Ya this ani thing... is soooooooo luan.

So me and hubby choose to rom and banquet same day.. haha. no need to luan

haru,

thanks for the pics! finally finished them today. been down with serious food poisoning since monday. i swear i will never ever eat salted fish again. anyway..ur pics look great and u look like my ex collage classmate? U from any JC?

Wu,
starting on ur pics now...

kazataza

Wu,
Gao Ling Feng was a lady killer leh...u shld be happy...anw, he's not my generation one..so i dun really recall how he look like when he's young..but i just feel you're the younger version (evil me to mention again)...kekekekee

anw, me this many question gal gonna ask u abt Mirihi again..ask one round of questions to your wifey on MSN liao...heeheee..

1) Is the tap water at Mirihi drinkable after boiling?

2) Can we boil water @ the coffee maker or should we bring a portable kettle?

3) Did u try the snacks at the bar? If yes, r they yummy?

4) For the seaplane transfer, did u state what time u want beforehand? Antony told me we will be only told of the time of the seaplane when I reach Male leh..sob sob...

5) Transfer between airport and Relax Inn, is it ez? Mirihi offered return transfer of USD25 for two pax wor...expensive right?

haru

fanfan,
me staying in dover area..=P but i frequent tiong bahru since young coz my grandma used to live near tiong bahru.

hey starstar,
we count our anniversary based on AD date, coz we didn't move in together yet even after our ROM. our AD was exactly 3 months after our ROM. =>

yo Wu,
hahah, no lah. since poly, nt secondary sch! wah, i doubt they have ever upgrade any guest to sunset water villa!!

haru,

ok...i tot u look so much like her, esp ur smile..
i had this salted fish at this fancy fine thai dining resturant in town. u r supposed to eat it with their roast duck curry..wah leow..have never been so sick in my life man...
btw, which church u go to?

ryo

yo T&P,

Wah...we tot u MIA liao..

Hope that you're feeling better. Probably it might not be the salted fish, have you ate some other stuff?
Ya loh, like next time you take teochew porridge hor must have salted fish also, or some claypot chicken rice(at clementi)must also have salted fish then nice.

Yo Fanfan,

My wifey now at home cleaning the house....so messy... Kekekek...
So she multi-task lah, MSN you can cleaning the house?
1)Not advisable to drink from the tap, cos it's slightly salty taste water. Anyway, they give free 2 small bottles of distilled water everyday. Morning remember to drink more fruit juice and water(free) quite adequate liao. Some day, we bua tan han then go buy coke or bottled water.

2)Can boil water using the coffee maker, instant boiler(like instant heater like that). But not as hot as using kettle, but good enough lah.

3)Those "snacks" like sandwiches lah, chicken wings lah, nice but not really fantastic. We always take the Caesar salad with scallop...that one nice esp. scallop. Then afternoon teabreak we also order the lamb cutlets...this one even our friend who don't like to eat lamb also eat!

4)I stated early but same answer from them. So the day when I fly, I ask them for the earliest one, fly off at around 7 plus am. More Wu-Hua, cos I got free breakfast, and 930am check in.

5)Dont need lah...save the money. The USD25 probably they sent someone to meet u at airport then fetch u there to relax inn. Go take a dhoni ride to Male, on the way there can see the relax inn hotel sign liao.
I've take all the photos for u to follow...kekekek...
Next day, same , take dhoni back and meet at the Trans-Maldivian air counter, wait for their bus to fetch you to Mirihi seaplane transfer lounge.

Kekeke.... I hope I'm clear enough, if not, you go bug my wife in the MSN again!

kazataza

Hi Wu,

Thanks for the info. Will take note of it..
I chatted with your wife yesterday lah..so u dun be mistaken that she's not doing housework..kekeke

ryo

Yo Fanfan,

Hahaha..... No lah....we always share housework. So I'm 100% sure she'll clean the house nice nice by the time I go back. I'll cook her a nice meal loh, perhaps a black pepper rosemary marinated Lamb cutlets w/ vege and mushroom sauce....Hungry liao...missed the lamb cutlets so much loh! :p

Kekekek.... Okie lah....talk to u tonight?

Wu,

the waves at mirihi seems kinda strong no?
I tot T.Exotica waters kinda choppy but frm wat i see frm ur pics..Mirihi waves r powerful man..
still checking out the pics...

ryo

Yo T&P,

Er.... actually not that huge waves lah. Snorkellerable!
Most of the waves, I uses zoom lens thus it looks big. Anyway, this is the period whereby the sea is more choppy. However at times, the wave can knock u back a few metres...but if you wear a flipper then there should be not much issue. Only at times water sip into the snorkel....Kekekek..

My cooking okie lah..better than my wifey..kekeke.. U wanna cook ur own steak or eat out? I mostly cook my own steak, as I wanted more sauce....as I can control myself.

starmed

Wu
haha..ok...dun say u look like that frog liao lah...:p anyway 2010 seems like a happening year...your 5 year anni...n WC...
sounds like a good suggestions to huvafenfushi
but since it's your 5 years anni..dun u prefer to be alone wif your wife rather got two others hanging ard? :p haha..

haru
oh u stay in dover? that's near ghim moh...
haha..got alot of nice food in ghim moh also... grew up there bef shifting to JW..

oh.. u n me same..our AD is 3 mths apart from ROM date..
but hubby prefers to consider using ROM date..easier to rem cos near my birthday.. one present represent all...:p

jopej

Hi Wu,

I intend to go this sep for 4 nites at Hakuraa Club. Its water villa is the cheapest, I guess. Wat is your advise?

I tried to read reviews. Not many, but seems ok.
Have u heard of anything abt this place?

joystream

yo fanfan,

wu, is 100% wrong... i didn't do anything housework today....
(but i did tell him i will be doing housework lah.. kekeke) fetch him to work then came home, zzzz awhile then went for spa.

anw, today massage so disappointing..
coz after came back from Maldives can feel the difference in massage. today one like do for the sack of doing it... scrub me like i am not a human like that!! i told her softer... after awhile back to sq one
like venting all her frustration on me!!! after coming out of the spa suppose to feel good, instead i got agitated so easily... spoil my half day.. i think sleep at home better!

you gals got any good spa / massuer to recommend..? finish this package change liao!!

wu,
our anni is in 2007..!!! next year...!!! i based on our ROM... muahahahahaha

ryo

Hi Jopej,

Hakurra Club is all the way down south of Maldives, the Malaku Atoll. Probably around 40mins seaplane flight. It was renovated recently after the Tsunami...
So have you include the seaplane charges to your budget? You might need to pay around USD300 plus pax.
If you're just going for the 4 nites hor, seems like you're paying 1/3 of your budget for you accom while 2/3 are the air transfer(SQ, seaplane). Not really a good choice loh.

From the pics....wah....the water villa so close to each other and there's no privacy at all at the sundeck. From researching thru the web, it got 80 rooms while the island doesn't really look big to accom so many ppl.
However, the price is tempting, at just around USD190 nett for the water villa, and it's all-inclusive. Most Tourist likely are from UK, and I guess Sept might be fully booked liao.

Maybe you can let me know your budget(how far you can stretch) and lets us work out together what other choices you have. how about that?

Normally I would ask the resort to reserve the rooms for me first, then go booked Air tix...followed by confirmation with the resort. Almost 100% guarantee sure got no cock up..

jopej

Hi Wu,

I have already relax my budget a little. Initially I tot 3K for both. apparently really cannot. so now is abt 4k, all in.

but i was hoping to get water villa and seaplane. i also worry abt the high cost of the meals there.... so i tot hakura's all inclusive is good.

jopej

Hi wu,

Is it that certain resort like kuredu doesn't allow less than 6 nites?
or just mal-dives.com doesn't allow?

ryo

Yo Jopej,

IC...
S$4K for 4 nites, water villa and seaplane is your expectation lah...hmmm... abit tight but can still discuss for option loh.

anyway Hakuraa club is operated by Keells resort Hotel group, which also includes other resort such as Velidhu, Ellaidhoo and Dhonveli. U can take a look at these resort as well. I'm more familiar with Velidhu...the water villa with a small glass panel on the floor for u to see the fishes, sea, corals etc...

Anyway, the room rates for Hakuraa water villa is USD180++ (ard USD214 nett) and seaplane transfer is only USD255 nett(quotes from maldives.com) Hakuraa direct quotes higher....hmmm... sounds good. And it's all-incl... sounds really good. If you don't mind the slightly more crowded location, it shld be a option for u. however, recently I heard tourist are starting to flood Maldives..and especially those from Europe i.e UK. I suspect the rooms shld be fully booked till even end of the year.
you can write to them to check for availability...if fully booked, can try the tour operator such as crown tours(they might hv some rooms left!).

ryo

Yo Jopej,

There are some resort does implement min nites stay, likely during the super peak period such as Dec-Jan. I'm not sure about during other periods. Did Mal-dives.com indicates minimum nite stay?

jopej

Hi wu,

I read ur earlier posting b4. crown tours do not have hakura club.
By the way, for that price, do u think the rooms will be run down? or the beach not nice?
I m already not expecting much fr food...

jopej

Hi wu,

No. never indicate. just that after i submit request for price, they state "this property does not have less than 6 nites"

ryo

Yo Jopej,

Hmm.... ok. just check out Mal-dives.com site, looks like it's the resort establishment did implement min nite stay policy. And Kuredu is so near to Komandoo(Komandoo is fully booked thur end of the year).... and I really don't like the total no. of rooms in Kuredu..It's 300 rooms!!

For Hakuraa, The pics never really show the rooms pics. I think it shld not be that bad lah. you might not get any wooden interior(Which I like), you might be getting tiles flooring, wall tiles..typical hotel like rooms though.

So far, never see any lousy beach in Maldives(seaplane view lah)...but there are some sand errosion occurance in some resort.

food wise I think it shld be rather Hotel like loh..continental stuff. 4 nites shld be easy on you.

Do you really have to go this year? Is it your honeymoon?
If you can postpone and build up your budget, then go for a better resort next year. Can consider that also. (My honeymoon I went perth, low budget...and most of the folks are old folks, teacher and kids...kekekekek...)

ryo

Yo Jopej,

Take a look at the link below. Keells homepage on Hakuraa. hmmm.....these might the new look. the bed looks comfy isn't it? Oh...and it looks like it got wooden flooring.... Okie..with that I'm slightly more comfortable with the resort. 70 rooms is still better than Kuredu 300 rooms!

http://www.johnkeellshotels.com/photo_gallery2.php
Worth trying....the only but is the price you'll be paying for the airtix and seaplane loh. don't forget the nite stay in Male.

jopej

Hahaha wu,

I m a teacher... can only go on sch holidays... but a honeymoon, more like anniversary. postpone trip 3 years ago due to twice pregnancies... hahaha... finally now tot can find time....

ryo

Yo Jopej,

Wah...teacher! Very stressful job isn't it. Kekeke..... I guess that's a really a long wait isn't it. 3 long years. Oki lah...go go go...

will u be bringing your kids there? er... maybe too young hor.
Actually I would suggest 5 nites lah(not including the 1 nite stay in Male)....4 nites really not enough. anw for me hor 2 weeks also not enough, greedy hor. :p

Have you been to other resort in other places?i.e Malaysia, indonesia etc?

jopej

Hi wu,

indeed very stressful.. but whose job's not? just diff stress. hahaha...
kids really too young.. decided not to bring them anywhere til they are at least 10 yrs old... tried bringing elder one to sydney and blu mountains when she 7 mths... everything very slow moving.. not fun... prefer with HB alone.. hahaha... i m a selfish mum.....
been to redang twice... like it alot.. but actually cant swim. but still long to go maldives... hahaha... i was even asking ard if cant swim can try diving... friends say "committing suicide"....

ryo

Yo Jopej,

Ya lor...really diff stress...but I reckon the stress from the kids would make me jump even more!! Hahahahha....
Eh....selfish har...kekekeke.....

Wah..can't swim you still go Maldives ah..wasted lah...let me go on your behalf can? kekeke...Kidding lah.
anw, you don't hv to know how to swim to dive. Diving you just sink mah...kekekkeke... kidding again.

Okie seriously, you'll enjoy the beach, white powdery sand, and the sun for sure. Why I always ask ppl to go for more days is more days, you somewhat spread the risk of having rain everyday loh. like for my trip...it rain on and off. I even heard b4 it rain for days during someone's HM(but I think it's very rare lah).

Ahhh....Redang... which resort you stay in?

jopej

Hi wu,
quite sometime ago, think is pelangi, very economical one.. i go with many family members.. 2 mpv drove in together... very fun..

the second time not so fun cos din manage to book redang, stayed in pehentian instead. not as good.

for diving, dun i have to know how to swim to stay at the surface or to come back to the surface?

ryo

Yo jopej,

Okie...the reason why I ask is at least you've not been to some upmarket beach resort(am I right?, not including up market hotel hor. :p) Just to make sure you'll not be disappointed in the later part lah.

Then your expectation wouldn't be sky high. So even a normal 3 stars or 4 stars resort in Maldives will "WOW" you to death....the seaplane flight is already breath taking!!! then once you landed..the white sand and clear blue sea...it's really an experience!!

Hmm...you shld have try Bejaya Redang or Laguna Redang. Slightly more up market. Both resort got their really nice beach just in front of them.
Perhentian island is primarily for divers. So I guess for Hakuraa, it'll definitely be better than those 2 Redang/Perhentian resort you've stayed in.

Regarding the diving part, I'm just kidding abit but for diving you'll need to be able to swim at least 200m(I think) during the certification lah.
Along the surface of the water, just flip can liao mah and we got inflated BCD(bouyancy control) jacket, i.e like life jackets will float, and we breath from tanks so... "logically" even for non-swimmer, think still can survive lah.

jopej

Hahaha wu,

thank u so so so much for all the advise... i am so relief to find my way to this forum. u are so generous in helping ppl. thanks...
hope i can book my rooms successfully. just sent to mal-dives.com and john keells. hope got chance...

ryo

Hi Jopej,

Anytime anywhere. Just wanted all to experience maldives

You can write direct and ask "John Keells" to reserve the room for you, and tell them you'll be booking from Mal-dives.com(cos it's cheaper I think, please double check and compare their rates again, don't forget to include bed tax and 10% surcharge)...
If you want trouble-free booking, then direct book would be good too as well.

Good luck and hope you can fulfil your dream to Maldives this Sept. Let us know the good news oki!

haru

hi T&P,
me attending NCC..=D

starstar,
i just went to ghim moh for breakfst yesterday!haha..queued up so long for the char kway teow. i like the chee cheong fun there too. i have been gg there since young coz i have been living in dover all my life. but now can only go ghim moh for brekkie on weekends coz too early to go there on work days.=P

hi jopej,
wow, u must be a yummy mummy who enjoys the beach life too! i think its a good idea to have a getaway for just u and hubby. like another honeymoon. its impt to have couple time even after you have kids. keep us updated on the plans for ur trip!

ryo

Yo imagesxela,

Ah...Racha... I saw it like 2 yrs back. Really posh deco and settings isn't it?

Actually wanna go....then the Tsunami Struck!!

anw...heng never go.... becos I've found Maldives!!!

Yo Haru,

Kekeke....I work in Science Park so always go Ghim moh market for lunch. The Char Kway teow abit over-rate lah...not worth queuing up for that.
You stay in Dover for life ah?? Me too stay there when young, at least until Secondary. I can't remember the block name but it's one of the point block on that hill, beside ACJC!!