Malaysia wedding

Any recommendation on boutiques in Penang that provide good make-up & hair-do artist? Also, any idea how much will such services costs?I need one during my actual wedding day..I have taken up the photo package in JB but my wedding dinner will be held in Penang...

Hi..I,m a M,sian bride too..I,m looking for a good makeup artist as well..Can anyone here recommend me?

Thks

Hi Lbs..were be holding my customary at both places. SG and M,sia as well..Whatabout U and when is your customary?

Nice to meet u..

Hi all..

DU gals hv know is there any bridal magazines in M,sia so that we can able to get information.

Or any info about wedding's provided?

Thank You

I will be having a simple ROM in SG but my customary will be in Penang.Had attended few weddings back in Penang, didnt quite like the design of the gowns...thus I have booked a package in JB...will take their gown for my actual day...noe, a bit problem cos' dun have lobang in Penang where to get good make-up & hair do artist..
Yea, anyone have good recommendation, magazines or anything abt bridal stuffs?

Hi lbs..

Yeah true too..In M,sia, hardly provided information about wedding stuff. And me have the same thought, didn,t quite like the design of the gowns here. *sigh*

Hi berry

So, which part of M'sia that you are having your customary? & when?

Mine will be in September next year but we already booked the venue last week...u know, most of the nice hotels,restaurants in Penang already quite pack during that month..

Btw, have u booked your photo shooting? I will be having mine done in JB..^^

Hi berry & ibs!

i'm a Sporean & my hubby is a Msian. I had my wedding dinner in Penang last month. Like both of you, I was searching in vain for a gd make-up artist & hair stylist there. However, due to time constrain, I cannot afford to go up to hunt one prior to my wedding. I dun trust my ILs' taste. In the end, I did my own make-up & went to a salon nearby the hotel to do a simple french twist. Comments rcvd were good!

I agree that the info on Msia's bridal service is very limited. I saw there are quite a lot of bridal boutiques in Penang. Perhaps you gals can spend a few days to hunt ard.

Good Luck!

Hi Cher

Thks for your advice..will do more survey on that..:-)

btw, which hotel/restaurants you had your wedding banquet back in Penang??

Thks cher for recommendation but I think Penang is too far for me cause I,m located at Selangor.

May I ask u, how was your procedure for the customary? I mean u make it separate days or week since are doing at both places.

Thank You

hi berry..

both my fiance & myself are m'sian lar..

Is just that both of us have been in Spore for quite "a while".. :-)

HI ibs & berry!

ibs: I had my dinner at the City Bayview Hotel. It has renovated recently, not too bad. How abt u?

berry: for you, may bit a bit easier than ibs, bcos u are near to KL. We had our customary and followed by a dinner here in spore. 2 wks later, then we went to penang to have a tea ceremony to my ILs & their relatives and than a dinner.

lbs...i see...so u are planning to stay in SG after your wedding?

Hi cher..how did u managed to invite your guest to both places? I mean in terms of accomodation or whatever..Just curious.

hi cher

I have booked mine at Evergreen Laurel, Penang..^^
In fact, I did check out with City Bayview upon recommendation by a friend. But we end up with Evergreen..hahahaa..

Hi berry

Yeap, in fact, both of us are working in Spore...for many years already..

berry: we only have immediate family members & some close relatives to travel btwn spore & penang. In spore, we put up my ILs in a serviced apt and for penang, all stayed in city Bayview.

ibs: Evergreen Laurel is good location. There's a hair salon there where my SIL had her hairdo & make-up done for her wedding last Dec. Not bad, but dunno if the lady is still there.

Hi cher
u mean there is a salon located inside the hotel?
okay, will check it out..u know agak how much she charged for hairdo & makeup?

okie dokie..me going up to penang soon..will check it out..if RM150, quite reasonable lar..

anyway,thks...

My FH is frm Malacca. I am holding my actual wedding at Malacca. Any recommedation of Makeupartist/Bouquet?

From desperate AC

i wld be holding my actual wedding in kl too.. though not so fast....hehe
got feedback from my frens that the gowns in m'sia and the photo shoot look quite cheena type, is that true?? they even suggest that when i want to get married that time, to book a pkg in sg instead of kl....

hallo all,

i have to hold a wedding in KL too. and i am looking for good make up( Natural) and day ldphotography..Does KL have any nice kuas??? comparable to Hong kong??? i saw the frens of my sisters who did their shopping in Hong kong and the kuas were very elaborate and nice!!!so much that i am now a kua convert. i used to think they are yucks!!i am kaving my wedding in dec. but should be going up kl to source for venue and makeup artist.any suggestions?? my hubby is from KL.

Hi sagi,

Wat u frenz said are not true! i dun find that m'sia photo shoot & gown are not nice, personally i feel they have better skills than spore, ppl command that just becoz they dun really go to search for it, or they just dun like m'sia, anything from m'sia they will just said no good or cheap. Me & husband not a m'sian, but we just dun like ppl look down on others.

sagi,

you should check out covershots located in jalan ampang in kl.

ur fren would be proven so wrong.

cin, guess some pple just have the preception from the past, without realising that pple and things do change and mabbe even improve over time.

hi cookie..

May I know which covershots located in Jln Ampang KL? DU hv their web site or add? I been looking and hunting for a good make up artist.

Thank You

hi berry.

the name of the bridal house is called covershots. it is housed in colonial bungalow with a garden and all. it is along jalan ampang in kl.

unfortunately, their web site is not working. if u have frens working in kl, get them to check out the place for you and get their contact numbers. then u can call them. i have lost their numbers.

i didnt get my package from them though coz i completed my posting there before my wedding and didnt want the hassle of travelling up and down.

Hi to all the brides who are having their weddings in KL :-)

I am a S'porean, hubby is a M'sian. We got married last mth with celebrations in S'pore and KL. We had our wedding reception in Pan Pacific Kuala Lumpur. Friends and relatives commented the decor is nice and grand :-) Food is good too. The service is excellent. Plus factor is the price is not expensive. As for those who need a photographer, the one we engaged is fabulous! I highly recommend him. He is a freelance and his works is better than the local package I got here.
He can be contacted at 012 307 6220 (Peter Sim).

Hi Post Brides,

I,m interested to know more about that photographer that u recommended. DU hv any pics that u had taken by him? Mind to share with me and how much does he charge for that and can i know what are the price ranked for pan pac in KL per table?

Thank You.

Hi Berry

Sure, m happy to share with you :-) and sorry for the late reply. His package is :-

(1) 2 photographers including him
(2) Both take unlimited shots
(3) 1 CD with all the unlimited shots
(4) For hardcopies of the photos, he will develop 6 rolls - 5 rolls of colour, 1 roll of black & white. All the hardcopies will be based on your selection after viewing from the CD

As I had only dinner reception in KL, his charges were RM1,500.00. Comments from friends/relatives, his works are good. Yup, I don't mind sharing the photos with you however I do not have the CD with me. I have the photos with me.

The price in Pan Pac range from RM 570 to RM 700. 4 different kinds of menu to choose from.

My sister-in-law did my make-up for me. So, am not sure about others make-up artiste.

Hope the above helps. Do drop me an email ([email protected])if you need any details. More than willing to share with you :-)

Post Brides

hi AC

i am having wedding in malacca too! planning this september but NOTHING done yet!!! a friend of mine held her wedding last year at renaissance hotel and had her hair and make-up done at the salon in the hotel..not too bad. when is your big day?? mind sharing some info on your preparations cos i have ABSOLUTELY no idea on how to go about getting started.

millie

Anybody done their photo shooting in JB? Any recommendation

I have visited a few studio in JB. Their photo looks really taiwanese style.... Think will take up a package in Spore (more ex)! Heard from my friens that "Du Hui jia Ren" is not bad....

Any actual day photographer and make up artist to recommend?

A million thanks!

Hi cin, cookie, post bride

thanks for the comments and the suggestions, wld check it out....

post bride, if u dun mind, i might email u for more details when i really start planning for my wedding... ;p

cheers to all the lovely brides-to-be

Hi all brides-to-be who will be having dinner reception in KL. I am M'sian working in KL (FH as well), but we decided to get our package from S'pore. I had checked out a few places in KL and not very impressed with the service. Covershots is ok, but the package is not worth it compared to what you can get in S'pore. Oso, my friend spoke to the designer at Covershots and she was not only unprofessional, but not too interested in your business kind lah. Their basic package in includes indoor/outdoor photography, their graden counts as the outdoor one. If you want to take in location around the Klang Valley, you have to pay more and the no. of photos given are limited.

Divine Couture is in Renaissance Hotel, the lady there is quite professional, you can check them out.

M'sia does have a bridal mag, more like a directory, very exp, about RM19. Quarterly publication. The latest one is out already, saw it in the stores.

Suggestions for dinner venues, Cyberview lodge, in Cyberjaya, about 1/2 hour, but they are new and would be dying to please.

Berry, have your dinner at Bon tons, it is a nice place. In KL, if you want it to be nice you would have to pay for it. Tropicana's service is crap, I just went for a wedding dinner there and half the guests did not get served alcohol.

Hey Shazz, have you got any recommendations for hair and make-up services?

Was considering Cover-shots or White&Lacy but they charge an arm & a leg for it. RM400 per session! So if I use them for the church wedding in the afternoon & also for the dinner, that would set me back by RM800! Amazing...

I've just booked Prince Hotel. The best of the lot so far. They r very eager to please.

Checked out Bon Ton & Passion Road. Both VERY pricey ~RM220/table. If asked to choose btw those 2, I'll go for Passion Road instead of Bon Ton.

Hated Mandarin Oriental. So unprofessional. Kept me in suspense and then sent wrong info to wrong place.

JW Marriot was nice too, but the rooms are very small and some has pillars blocking the view.

Got my wedding gown & shots in S'pore. Designs so much better.

Hope those who are still searching finds this helpful.

Beanie,

I was given a contact by my friend's mom. I have not met with her but have spoken to her, she sounds quite professional. She does makeup and hair for commercials as well. I was told that she does more 'natural style' and she even told me that she would not be able to do heavy makeup.

Anyway, post your email, I will send the contact to you lor.

Just to add, don't go white & lacy. She is quite ex and her style is very lian. My sis used her. She is not receptive to suggestions and get very defensive. dat's why I am not using her. Oso, this girl that i told you about charges RM600 hair and makeup for both day and night. For trial she will charge a min. of RM80.

Shazz,

tks for your advice! i also think Covershots not worth it (esp their actual day photography package rmb4500 ++) just it happens to be one of the few best in town...

so you recommend Divine Couture at Renaissance for the photos, right? do they hv good gowns too? (thinking of getting everythg in one shop)

i hv also visited Picasso at Sunway Pyramid, seems their photos are good as well but did not try any gowns. any comments abt it?

Hi Shazz,

My email: [email protected]

Thanks in advance for the contact!

Geez... thought S'pore was expensive, didn't know KL can be so expensive too. My make-up & hair for the photoshoot costs only $150 in S'pore.

Sent an email to Covershots to ask about their package. They sure didn't sound too enthusiastic.

Beanie

Sharon,
Have not heard of Picasso, but the only problem with M'sian bridal places is that they offer this cheesy settings for your photoshoot, you get to choose from a variety of 'sets' and different sets of baju for the 'sets' lor. I did not want that, plus I did not think that the service would be very good. divine c is a branch of the s'pore one. apparently, they use the same fabrics etc, only it is cheaper. The prices seems quite ok, but I did not compare it with s'pore tho'. There is a bridal shop at the back of KL Plaza, Orson Liyu. Haven't been in there, just passed by. M'sian designer. Just try it lor.

hi ladies, anyone of you heard of superstar located at city square? need your recommendation for a good make-up artist there if you gals happen to know of any.