Malaysia wedding

F

fl

I am looking for a recommendation of bridal boutique in Johor Bahru. Wondering can any of u here can help? Thanks a million in advance!

berry

Hi Shazz..

May I know where is Bon Tons? Haven,t heard b4. Anyway..I,m thinking about Sunway Hotel but not very sure about the service there.

Not to far for me cause most of frens and realatives frm S,gor and KL.

shazz

Berry, it depends on how big a venue and how much you are willing to spend. Bon Ton is in kl near KLCC (v. near KLCC). It is housed on an old bungalow. V. nice. Another place you can consider is Citron, it is in an old bungalow near KLCC as well. I think it is quite close to the Vietnamese consulate or something. Another place is Ciao, a italian restaurant next to the rhb bank on Jalan Tun Razak, with a marquee outside, it can house up to 100 people.
I heard the food at Sunway is not dat great. I am having mine at Hyatt Saujana, near the old subang airport. The food is not bad. Another place to consider is the Xin Restraurant at Concorde Hotel. If you do not have muslim guests, the restaurant is v. good. The food there is really good. It is very popular for its dim sum. I think it is the best in kl.

berry

Hi Shazz,

U mean that Bon Ton in KL is actually not a hotel or restaurant but just a bungalow for holding wedding dinner? Sounds strange..Haven,t heard b4. Hv u try out their food and is it nice?

Then whatabout those pkg that u recommended here?

beanie

Bon Ton is a restaurant... used to be called Top Hat.

The food's so-so... not that fantastic. It's so expensive mainly cos' of the location.

If you are going for really one-of-a-kind type of decoration and good food, try Passion Road. They do lots of launches for fashion and products.

Costs a bit cheaper compared to Bon Ton.

shazz

Ya, Bon Ton is a restaurant. The food used to be good, but as with many restaurants in KL, the food will "drop in standard" after awhile. If you are having a small-ish affair, you can choose a restaurant and have it decorated nicely, if not, go to a hotel, Sheraton Imperial on Jalan Sultan Ismail is quite good as well. The banquet guy will give you loads of stuff if you are pushy enuff. My sis had her dinner there.

Beanie, no probs. When are you having your dinner?

beanie

Hi Shazz,

Mine's in August.

Got my gown, shots and make-up for the shots in S'pore. Objectively speaking, after looking around KL & PJ, the S'pore designs tend to be better.

Thought that Pretty in White wasn't too bad, but staff are mainly male. Didn't feel too comfortable having a guy taking my measurement although I must add that they were very eager to please, professional & patient.

Price-wise, it wasn't that cheap though. Think it's cos' of the location. It's near Damansara heights.

Where are u having your dinner? Mine's at Prince Hotel

Oh yar... looking for shoes now... anyone got suggestions?

shazz

PIW's gown are of not-so-good quality. I went there and spoke to the guy. He was quite nice but I just felt like the material was not luxurious lah. Where did you get your gown in S'pore? I'm with Flamingo.

My dinner is at Hyatt Saujana, Subang and Pulai Springs, Johor (the camphor duck is so heavenly).

I got a pair of shoes from Tangs for S$19.90. Carraros or something. Silver satin strappy ones, very plain. I think I was just so lucky to get it. It was a bit dirty, but it looked really nice after some cleaning up.

beanie

hmm.. the material at PIW is done according to your choice. The designs looked better then those I saw at other shops. Oh well, never mind...

Got my gown from Margaret's Bridal.

ooo... i've heard about Hyatt Saujana. My friends say that the food's good

Am looking for silver strappy sandles and off-white covered-toe shoes. Perhaps I'll drop-by Tangs for a look-see

Didn't find anything at Charles & Keith nor Everbest.

shazz

Beanie,

C&K shoes are not of good quality. I had a pair for all of two months and one side has broken in two. I brought it one of their shops and they refused to replace it, saying that the sole was worn (indicating that I had worn it a lot). The sole started wearing out the first time I wore it. Anyways, I am not buying their shoes anymore.

BTW, you mentioned that you are having it at Prince Hotel where is it? Is it the one called Melia now?

You should try Taka as well. I am going to pop by Taka this weekend (got fitting mah!) and see if I can get 2nd pair, in case I ruin my shoes during PS.

The 'Great' Malaysia Sale is on for the whole of March. I was at the Starhill Tangs yesterday and there were some Caparros there, covered toe ones going for around RM160. Should check it out if you are up in KL.

beanie

aiyo... no time to pop-by KL now. Bz shifting to my new apartment ;-p

Found a few nice pairs at Metro of all places. Perhaps its because they are still stuck with the christmas season stock. I can hardly find nice silver shoes anywhere else ;-p

Prince hotel is very new. Just had their grand opening late last year. It's at Jalan Conlay, around the corner from the Golden Triangle.

shazz

Ah, I know where it is. Metro shoes are quite nice. I saw quite a good range of vivie ones last weekend. Taka has quite a good range of shoes as well.

Anyways, you could even try JB. There is a Metrojaya at Plaza Pelangi. I prefer shopping in S'pore any day. I live near Mid Valley and go there almost every day (for gym) but can never find anything nice there. Too lian.

beanie

ahhh... Mid-Valley... one of my fav places to visit while in PJ. Let's put it this way, it's a lot better then 1U.

Does KLCC have anything promising?

I had to go all the way to KL before I found a corset-bra of the right length. S'pore shops don't stock it anymore. So exasperating....

beanie

aiyo... went walking around Orchard yesterday. The nice ViVie shoes are sold out. Similarly, the pairs I really liked at Taka and Studio are sold out too.... sigh...

Worse still is that they aren't bringing in anymore. Why like that?!?!?

It's a conspiracy I tell u ;-p

shazz

Hey Beanie, the cyn shoes are not too bad either. quite cheap as well. Went for my next to last fitting as well as trial makeup on Sat. After that I walked around Orchard with flowers in my hair. The subtle looks I got for people was just so hilarious.

Mid Valley is so successful it is amazing. You should see the hour long queue to enter the parking lot.

Try isetan and parksons in KLCC. Nose is not too bad either, but did not see anything suitable.

leigh

Hi Shazz

I'm Sporean (FH is a Malaysian). Like most of the brides-to-be on this thread, I'll be having one wedding dinner in Spore & another in M'sia.

Frankly, I'm totally clueless about where to get the necessary things done for the wedding in M'sia. My PIL are staying in PJ.

Can you give me some advice on good restuarants within PJ area & also any contacts for actual day make-up & hairdo?

Thank-you in advance.
Leigh

sagi

hi leigh

i also sporean (fh is malaysian). seems like we are in the same situation. i would be having my wedding dinner in malaysia and spore too.

the spore one mainly to invite my frens, cos my case more complicated than u. my relatives in malaysia so they can attend the kl dinner. whereas for spore one, wld be mostly my frens and ex-colleagues, colleagues etc.

when r u getting married? mine earliest wld be end of next yr or the yr after. have u start looking at bridal boutiques etc? u intend to take the pkg from spore or m'sia?

sorry ahh,so many qns.... kekee...

Shazz, do you know of any place in spore that i can hold a small dinner reception, less than 100pp? seems like those hotels that i surf on the net mostly require at least 10 or 15 tables.

leigh

Hello sagi

I'm getting married at the end of this year, so abt a year earlier than you.

I am taking a bridal pkg from Spore as it is easier this way. I can always drop by the bridal boutique (which I do quite often) without having to go through almost 4 hours drive to KL. And boutiques here are quite flexible to let you bring your gowns out of the cty.

shazz

Hi Leigh,

Haven't been to the web site for ages. Are you having a dinner only? There are quite a few good hotels in KL/PJ. In PJ, the PJ Hilton is quite good, the food is not bad either. [Not related to the topic, but the Jap buffet at PJ Hilton is so excellent.] Oso, there is Hyatt Regency Saujana, on the way to the old Subang airport. I am having my wedding dinner there, the food is quite good. There is Sunway Lagoon Hotel, I have not been there for wedding dinners, but I was told that it is so-so only. In KL, there is Shangri la, Sheraton Imperial, Concorde Hotel (the chinese restaurant is quite good), Mandarin Oriental (depending on the dishes, it may be good or so-so), the Legend Hotel (my parents-in-law have been there and said that the food is quite good.)

PJ or KL restaurants are not usually nice places to have dinner. There is Overseas Restaurant at Amcorp Mall, but may be a bit small. There are a few Tai Thong group restaurants around, but I think mostly in KL area.

I do have one contact for hair and makeup, I have not gone for a trial with her, but she apparently does natural-ish makeup. Post your email and I will send the contact.

Sagi,

Sorry can't help you there. More familar with KL.

bluebonnet

Sagi,

If you are looking for Chinese dinner in S'pore, you may want to consider Lei Garden in Chijmes. They cannot seat more than 110 people and may be just the right size for you.

Bluebonnet

amanda

Hi Leigh,

I'm a Malaysian bride too. My wedding is in Sep 2003. I've done quite a bit of ground work so if you need anything, just drop me an email. ([email protected]).

If you plan to hold you wedding this year, the best advice is to quickly call up the hotels to find the availability of dates. Apparently, most hotels are already filled up for year-end weddings. BTW, what's your budget so I can roughly let you know which hotels to look out for.

amanda

If you're still looking for a MTM wedding gown or evening gown, I would recommend that you check out one of the famous Malaysian designers, Bill Keith. His shop is in Jalan Alor (near Metrojaya Bukit Bintang).

His designs are to-die-for, espcially his beading. He also makes matching shoes and handbag to go with your gowns. I was there 2 weeks ago and I was sold! heehee

BTW, his website is www.bilkeith.com

shazz

hi Leigh,

Marriot food varies. i have heard contrasting reports about the food there. The ballroom is nice tho'. Equatorial food is very average, the ballroom is quite nice, but you have to bear in mind its location, on Jalan Sultan Ismail. Can get quite chock a block on Sat nite.

My email is out at the moment and will email you the number of the makeup person.

hi Amanda,

how was the service at Bill Keith? I am very suspicious of Malaysian designers as they have a tendency to be extremely prima dona and you may not get the service level as in S'pore after you put the deposit down. I got my gown in S'pore after checking the different bridal places in KL. They are al so eager to sign you up, but I was not confident that they would provide me the service that I want after my deposit has been placed.

amanda

Hi Shazz

The service was excellent! In fact, it was Bill himself who discussed with me. I just told him to design an evening gown for me and he just did it within 5 minutes after looking at my body shape etc! (felt a bit self-conscious actually)

In fact, we chatted quite a bit after that because Bill is very friendly (like a sister) and can give you a lot of advice on how to be beautiful
. Got a few tips on how to dress up during my wedding day as well ..

I have not booked with him yet as I wanted to discuss with my fiance first. So happy that my fiance told me to go ahead ...
. Will see Bill again in April once he finishes with his Baju Kebaja project (very very beautiful designs).

Oh he does quite a bit of overseas orders as well. When I was there, there was this beautiful wedding gown on display tailor-made for this lady staying in UK. You just need to give him your measurements and he can create something for you.

I understand your concerns about the Malaysian bridal houses. They pressure you like crazy to sign up. Heard that the pressure is even worst AFTER the photoshoot as they will ask you to buy a lot of pictures so that your album will not look pathetically thin. So, no choice la.

So, my fiance and I have decided not to sign up with any of those one-stop centre bridal houses, even though it's cheaper and less hassle.

BTW, I went to see Orson Liyu's wedding gown designs the other day. Nice but expensive man!! His gowns are all for sale. Unfortunately, he doesn't have evening gowns on display.

leigh

Amanda, you mentioned abt Orson Liyu whom I also heard from my fren in KL. His wife did her wedding gown there. Is he really very GOOD & very EXPENSIVE as well?

amanda

Hi Leigh,

Personally, I thought it was nice but not to-die-for. I found some of the designs were quite plain and the material used were not so luxurious. In terms of pricing, Orson's wedding gowns start from RM1,800 onwards. He doesn't rent the gowns. Do you want his contact number?

The person there informed me that JW Marriot KL will be having a Wedding Fair in June 2003 and they have invited Orson Liyu to display his selection of wedding gowns. You may want to check with JW Marriot on this.

emailwendylee

HI LEIGH AND SAGI,
I UNDERSTAND THAT BOTH YOU ARE SIN AND HUBBY IS MSIAN. CAN I KNOW HOW IS YOUR PROCEDURE IN 'REGISTERING' YOUR MARRIAGE IN SIN AND MSIA? AND ALSO WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IS BOTH YOUR HUBBY A PR B4 YOU BOTH GO ROM? WHAT ARE YOUR 'HASSELS' OF GOING THROUGH B4 YOU ACTUALLY GOT ROM? ANY ADVICE TO GET? AND IM WORRIED THAT HE MIGHT NOT GET PR (WIFE SPONSERSHIP) EVEN WHEN I SUBMIT TOGETHER USING OUR MARRIAGE CERT. BUT OF COURSE IM NOT IMPLYING THAT USING ROM CERT WILL GET APPROVAL OF PR FOR HIM. ME JUST WISHED THAT WE CAN PASS THOSE 'TOUBLES' SMOOTHLY SO THAT WE CAN BE NORMAL LIKE APPLYING FOR FLAT ETC... BUT I UNDERSTAND THAT ITS CASE-CASE BASIS. IM IN THE SAME SUITATION AS YOU BUT DONT KNOW WHERE TO GET STARTED. HE'S NOT A PR YET AND WE INTEND TO GET ROM END 2003. WILL INTEND TO HAVE TRADITIONAL WEDDING MAYB 2004/05.

PLS ADVISE. THANKS!

leigh

Hi Wendy

sorry for the late reply. Too busy to come to the forum for the past few days.

For my case, it is not a problem as my FH has been a PR since long time back. So, I guess you won't be interested to know how we are going to get ROM.

Nonetheless, I hv asked my FH re. your queries. Acc. to him, if both are not SIN PR or citizen, cannot register in SIN. But can register outside, bring the cert back to SIN & apply for PR. However, it seems like other than marriage cert, its approval is also subject to academic qualifications, job held in SIN etc. I think you can get more details at the website www.ecitzen.gov.sg

hope it helps.

emailwendylee

Hi Leigh...

Of course I would want to know how yours procedure in preparing for your ROM! You ROMed? Mine propably end this year... Btw, Im a Sin too... and my BF is Msian.

leigh

Hi Wendy.

dun worry, I'm sure your BF will get his PR soon.

Arranging for wedding for 2 locations, SG & M'sia is really double the effort. As we are staying in SG & are more familar with things here, it is a lot easier to make decision. Whereas for M'sia wedding, I would need valuable advices, feedback etc from people who are staying there (inc. frens from this forum). So, in a way, it takes more time to discuss and visit the dinner venue, & other services. I think after my wedding in M'sia, you can ask me abt it. I would love to share the experience.

sagi

Hi Wendy,

sorry for the late reply, been sick lately and nvr visit the forum.... anyway, my fh is already a pr here. i have not rom yet, intend to wait till nearer the wedding date then do so.(sorry, cant help you there)but not to worry, think ur fh wld be able to get his pr soon. how long has he been working here??
havent even decided on the wedding date, tenativey might be end of last yr earliest, if not wld be in 2005. keke, i very kiasu hor, already start looking and asking ard.

Hi Leigh,

same situation here. for the kl wedding, i think i wld be totally clueless too. think wld depend on my fh's relatives for the traditional customary things. for wedding gowns and photo shoots, intending to take in spore too. if able to afford, wld also have photo shoots in malaysia.hee *dreaming*

Hi Shazz

no problem, wld need your advice on kl then when i really start preparing for my wedding.
can you email me the contact of the make-up person too? i like naturalish make-up, dun like those like wayang type
thanks in advance!

Hi Amanda

dun mind me emailing you next time when i need advice?? how much is the gown you made at bill's ?

Thanks, bluebonnet, for the info. would check it out, maybe might not have chinese dinner, cos i got malay frens, might go for buffet style instead. anyone got any idea where is good?

sagi

oops, realise got mistake......shld be " tenatively might be end of next yr" instead of last yr in my msg to wendy..
head too groggy already, type wrongly.

shazz

Hey Guys,

Computer on the blink and v. busy. So have not been here. Anyways, for those who wanted the contact for makeup person. I have sent. Sorry for the long time that it took. Had my photoshoot inS'pore the past weekend. V. tired. At the end of the day, couldn't wait to get into normal clothes again.

emailwendylee

Hi Sagi & Leigh,

Thanks for the info! Of course if you are willing to share your interesting info, Im willing to take note.

Havent really confirmed my ROM yet but mostly propably end this yr and mayb 2004/05 will customary bah...

Me also everything not confirmed yet then came into the forum and ask ask ask... heeee

My BF has been working here for about 8yrs liao... but got change job when his WP expires bcos either the boss or the job no good. But I can say he's not those job-hoppers lah... hopefully SIN can grant him PR after we ROM lor... but I knw sure its not upon our marriage cert lah... more than that! But how ah?

So update me too on your preprations hor... cos we are sure to hold the wedding in Msia too! Die die sure lah... cos his brother got married didnt actually make "big" ma, so as 2nd son sure have to show something bah?

sagi

Hi Wendy

I same as you ahh... nothing confirmed yet also look and ask ard liao, havent really look as in look at boutiques but just browse thru those bride magazines and come to this forum to see pp's comments..heee..

your bf work here for 8 yrs liao, he nvr tried to apply for pr before is it? i think shld be very easy....the govt likes malaysians one... that time my bf only work for 2 yrs can get already...think he got it in 2001.

i sure wld have wedding dinner in malaysia too, cos my bf only got 1 elder brother, and he not attached, unless he suddenly got lightning wedding, then hmmmm..... maybe can get away with the dinner in malaysia...hehe..

Hi Shazz

ya, got your mail already, thanks again!

u got ur bridal package from which boutique ahh?? photographer? what is the price like?
heard that photo shoot is very tiring, with all the gowns and posing, and spore weather so hot...for those outdoor shoots....cant imagine the heat...

Hi Leigh

defintely wld ask you all about your wedding preparations and advice after your big day.... hehe

emailwendylee

I do have a wedding package from Golden Horse Awards to transfer leh... cos neva do research then sign up upon the exhibition then later do research liao then got about the same thing but cheaper in JB and would like to give up this one so though that those have not decide their packages to discuss with me.

The WG/Eg and grooms's suit are all MTM and got some other freebies costing $3388.00 Anyone to response this msg?

Yeah, might ROM end this year lah... cos everything not confirmed yet. Your BF sure have good qualification lah, and thats Y...

amanda

Hi Sagi

Sure, you can email me anytime if you need help. As for the gown from Bill, I haven't confirmed with him yet but he's charging me RM1,800 for the Thai silk gown, accessories (matching choker with beads), matching shoes and handbag. Not too bad considering that he's one of the top Malaysian designers and I don't have to hunt high and low for matching shoes, accesories and all.

Sagi, I suppose it'll be quite worth it for you since it will cost only S$900! It's really a steal.

By the way, there are also a couple of Malaysian fashion designers you could check out. One of the upcoming one is Khoon Hooi. His prices are not as expensive as the more established ones. The website is http://www.moda.com.my/

shazz

Hi Sagi,

Got mine from Flamingo n photographer is Ray Ong from Photo Language. I was quite lucky that when I went out for the outdoor shoot, the weather was quite cool. Ray told us that we were very fortunate. I hardly sweat at all.

Anyways, went for my trial with the KL makeup preson. She is quite good, the natural makeup is quite nice. She did the makeup for one of the M'sian Nescafe ads. She is not one of those prima donna makeup artists who is extremely defensive about her work, but have a good idea of what you want to do before seeing her, discuss with her and be open to her suggestions.

I told her to braid my hair for the day and she was quite happy to do it, 'cos most brides are not keen on braids and want the usual sculpted look.

Hi Amanda,

Bill sounds quite ex for M'sian standards. I suppose for Spore standards, he is quite good value.

angelbella

Hi Shazz,
I'm a s'porean and bf a M'sian. I'm also having my wedding dinner at both sides, in S'pore and M'sia. Can I have the contact for make up please? Thank you very much. Would she go to your place to make up for you?

dkny

I've just joined this forum. Me n bf r singapore PR n planning 2 have rom d year n maybe will have customary in 2004/05.
We'r planning 2 have customary in m'sia.But i'm quite interested the wedding package in s'pore.So, i'm thinking 2 take d package in here but do ur know about divine couture in KL? Can u give some comments about this shop? I heard that it also have another outlet in jb, how was it?
Hope i can get some precious info from urs, thx......

shazz

Hi Angelbella,

Just post your email add I will send to you. She will go to your place to do your makeup. Set up a trial with her and see if you like her style. Try not to compare too much with makeup artists in S'pore, the bridal industry in S'pore is far advanced. ;-)

dkny
I am not sure about the outlet in JB, but according to the one in KL, their fabric, designs etc are all comparable to S'pore. I was told that a lot of S'poreans go to kl to get the gown 'cos cheaper. But I did not think so. KL doesn't offer packages like S'pore. Everything count separately. Just do some research and see whether KL is cheaper. Take into account travelling, toll etc.

dkny

Hai Shazz
Thx for ur suggestion but until now i'm just doing some research from all wedding package. I'm planning 2 rom this year but until now i can't make up my mind what 2 wear for that day. Many friends told me about DAniel yam n i don't very like about their design. Sorry 2 said that for me is little bit simple, do u have any suggestion about rom package? I heard some gals they took mtm grown from le galleria, divine couture n empire, do u have any opinions?
Sorry 2 ask u lots of questios

shazz

Hi dkny, it depends a lot on your budget and what sort of designs you are looking for. Empire dresses are nice. Are you looking for MTM? Some OTR ones are nice as well. You can oso try Vanity, Flamingo etc. If you want something different from what you see in S'pore, you can checkout M'sian designers. In today's Star newspaper, there is an article about Eric Choong, who designs wedding gowns. I amsure he does ROM dresses as well. If you read the past postings there are some on M'sian designers. But generaly, I find them to prima donna. Singapore offers better customer service.

beanie

hehe... Shazz, you have just been made the honorary advisor for this forum topic huh.

Anyway, just checking if the person who did your make-up is Shin Kitt.

Haven't contacted her yet. Can't go over to KL now with all the SARS thing going on.

Sigh... wonder if KL will ban visitors from S'pore. I just hope my wedding won't be affected.

shazz

Beanie, ha ha py seh. Ya, it's her. I sent you her no. right? Anyways, I don't know how bad the situation here is in KL. Not exactly very transparent here, if you know what I mean. I am staying away from crowded places. Just go to Mid Valley for workout and then home again. I was told less people in malls nowadays. Just hope it tapers out by June. If not I may have to cancel mine and have garden party for relative and close friends instead.

Angelbella, she charges RM80 for trial. RM600 for day and night, hair and makeup. If only day or might, she charges RM400. Will send you no. as soon as poss. She should give me commission for this.