Malaysia wedding

kreampuff

i'm holding a 2nd dinner in KL this year as other half hails from m'sia.

unfortunately, neither of us have any contacts for makeup/photography/videography in KL since he's been in singapore for a zillion years and i don't have many m'sian kakis.

would appreciate recommendations for makeup artistes, photographers etc!!

sweetiee

Hi kreampuff,

My elder sis is married to KL and she has done her photography with broadway (?) if I remember correctly... As for make-up artist, I need to email her and check with her. Will try to get back to you should I've the contacts.

sweetiee

Hi kreampuff,

ok, here's my sis' reply: "My bridal shop is REGALIS (its chinese name,nong qing mi yi).Situated in Klang. Not sure if the make-up artist is still with them or not. However,seems that it is no longer the award-winning studio since my time."

My sis got married 2 years back, and her place is not in KL actually, more so in klang, an hr drive away from KL I think. So I dunno whether that is a good choice for you. Meanwhile, if I get hold of more info of any bridal or make-up contacts in KL, I'll let you know?

kreampuff

sweetie

YOU ARE AMAZING!

i've been surfing the web for DAYS and i haven;t found a thing!

thank you so much!

i've just been to see moulin rouge, have you seen it? its a really entertaining film, if u like music and dancing! the storyline is a bit cheesy. but still very good weekend entertainment!

have a really great weekend!

sweetiee

Hi kreampuff,

Oh, you are welcome. The search engine I use is www.goggle.com. So far I think it is a pretty useful one.

Ya, I wanna catch moulin rouge too... thanks for reminding me.
You've a great weekend too.

fantasy

Similarly, I'm planning to have my dinner in JB and I need someone to do my makeup and a photographer too. Any recommendations?

Thanks,
fantasy

brang

Hi Fantasy,

u may want to try Printemps. It is located in City Square. I find their photography skill quite good.

brang

Hi Fantasy,

From the photo album, she seems quite good. Should be ok since she also gives make-up lesson. Are u looking for the full package or just actual day make-up?

fantasy

Hi brang,

I'm only looking for the makeup becos I'll be having a wedding reception in Singapore. My FH is a Malaysian and we will need to hold a wedding dinner in JB.
What is her name? Is it expensive?

Thanks,
fantasy

roxy

Hi fantasy,

Like you, I will be having a wedding dinner in JB as well and need only a make up artist coz my wedding gown package is from Spore. Anyway, if you manage to find a make up artist in JB, could you leave me a msg here and let me know? Thanks!!!

jacqueline ho

Still contemplating if I should get my Wedding Package from SIN or Ipoh? Any recommendation?

Jacqueline

bluebonnet

Hi Jacqueline,

It is probably worth a trip to Ipoh and meet up with some bridal stores and photographers in Ipoh to see if you like what they have to offer and compare that to options and prices available in Singapore.

So, are you having 2 wedding dinners? One in Ipoh and another in Singapore?

Bluebonnet

nicole

Hi Jacqueline

me oso hving my wedding in Ipoh coz my father is from Ipoh.

Any recommendations for make up and hair do there?

Nicole

bluebonnet

Hi Nicole,

I am also having a wedding dinner in Ipoh. Mine is in Dec. When's yours? There are a couple of freelance and bridal make-up/hair do artists who are pretty good. I don't have their contact numbers with me now. If your wedding is after mine, I'll let you know how mine turns out and who I engage. Make-up artists from some bridal stores are available for hire even though you don't get the bridal package from them. You can call them up as well.

Where is your dinner held?

Bluebonnet.

kk

i am also having a 2nd wedding dinner at malaysia. But mine is at Pontian. Around 8 tables. So dun think i will make it a big affair.

My Singapore dinner is held on 26 Oct 03. Guess the malaysian dinner is one week after this.

snowbelle

Hi Bluebonnet,

I'm also having a 2nd dinner in Ipoh and I'm thinking of getting the make up and hair do artist from there. But I'm not familiar with Ipoh at all, can you recommend some to me?

Btw, how many months before the wedding we have to book with them? My Malaysia wedding will be June 2003 and I'll be going to Ipoh this Nov. Do you think I should book with them now? Thank you!

bluebonnet

Hi Snowbelle,

I have not been back to Ipoh for a while and not sure how much has changed. But, I saw some pictures from Chan Sam Lock Bridal recently and the make-up/hair was pretty ok. There was another bridal store that was pretty good at make-up and hair. Think it was called Honeymoon Bridal or something. I'll find out and let you know. Someone also recommended a free lance make-up/hair artist to me. The good thing about him is he will come to your house and do the make-up/hair. I don't know how good he is but I'll get that contact # for you as well.

My all time favourite hair dresser in Ipoh is this chap in Yik foong Complex. His shop is on the second floor and it is right in front of the escalator. Can't remember his name or the shop's name. He has 5 or 6 female assistants but he is the artist. Not sure if he is still around. But he does not do make-up, so that's a bummer.

As for how soon do you need to book their service, I suppose it all depends on how auspicious the date you choose. I am only reserving the artist a month before my wedding 'cos that's the earlist I can be in Ipoh.

Since you are going to be in Ipoh in Nov, let me know what good boutiques, artists and photographers you find. :)

Bluebonnet

beanie

Anyone holding your wedding/been to a wedding in KL?

I need suggestions for nice cosy venue for ~200 guests. Am so late in choosing a place, panicking already ;-p

Bon Ton would have been very nice but it's soooo expensive. Think they quoted us RM25K for 100-150 guests.

Any similar places or nice hotel/country club venues with good food?

zxha

Hi Beanie,

You can try Covershots bridal. They rent out their 'bungalow' as a wedding recept venue but you'll hv to find a caterer.I'm not sure if their charges are posted on the website. www.covershots.com.my
Was there last week to arrange my makeup and hairdo. The place is serene and perfect for a garden wedding.

beanie

Hey... thanks zxha!

Just wondering if they have contingency plans if it should rain.

By the way, what did u get from Covershots and how much did u pay? Am considering Covershots actually. I need to get a photographer and a make-up artist for the actual day/outdoor shots.

For the studio shots, I went for Benny Ang : )

nic

Hi all the ipoh brides,

i also having my wedding at ipoh, both of us from ipoh, but i taking wedding photo at johor, becoz cheaper than spore & maybe nicer than ipoh. i have pointed my actual day makeup artist already, if i not wrong she is the makeup artist from Honeymoon Bridal, doing freelance secretly. if any of u want to take wedding package in ipoh, i think u can try "France,Taipei", recently i saw a few album from them not bad, quite nice, their wedding gown also not bad.

nic

Hi bluebonnet,

so sorry, i dun have the contact no with me now, maybe i try to call my mum & check with her, btw when is ur wedding, if no hurry can wait after hari raya not? becoz i will back to ipoh during raya holiday.

regards

michell

Hi Beanie,

which locations u prefer in KL?? Im frm KL, maybe can help u out??

u wanna look for restaurant??

beanie

Hi Michell,

Am thinking of either in PJ or KL itself. No particular pref as long as the place itself is nice.

His parents suggested Tropicana. But I find that they aren't very professional.

When asked on kind of decorations they can do, the fellow said that they can put up Balloons!!!

sigh... don't know what to do...

Would really appreciate some suggestions : )

Beanie

michell

Hi beanie,

PJ ...emm.....wanna ask u something 1st.. u need a very decoration ball room or juz simple restaurant ( quite grand) lah....???

if ball room, maybe u can try Sg.Long which quite far lah ..nearby Klang. but the ball room ( actually inside is a country club ) ..quite nice

or if u wan simple & nice restaurant, strongly recommend Cheong Wah Seafood Restaurant which located at Puchong Jaya ( opp IOI Mall )...their restaurant is 5 storey...the foods there very nice! yam yam..
their service & charges also reasonable.......actually last time my best friend held her wedding dinner there......hehe..they can play the music for u too...and the staffs they will stand beside every table to serve urs...

the ladies boss there very nice & friendly...b'coz i talked with them b4 when my friend bargain with them about the price...

beanie

Hi Michell,

Thanks for answering so fast : )

Actually, I'm more interested in places similar to Bon Ton (Western/Buffet style) but less expensive of course ;-p

Don't mind country clubs provided they are professional enough. Tropicana was ok... but they sure don't make me feel very comfortable with their level of professionalism.

Don't mind ballrooms if all else fails. But definitely no Chinese dinner. : )

michell

Hi Beanie,

Oic...u not interested in chinese dinner huh...
then u should try crown princess at KL...their ball room & wedding dinner quite nice.
They provide more choice western dinner...or maybe u can try KL tower restaurant...i heard my friend told me, that restaurant is turning around...so all the guests can see the scenary.
they also provide western dinner...why dun u give them a call to ask?? its very unique leh...

beanie

thanks Michell!

I guess I'll have to ask the hotels for their packages huh.

Have you attended weddings at Shangrila, Mandarin or Eastin before?

Still prefer something like the Alkaff Mansion in Singapore... so much more cosy : )

michell

Hi Beanie,

Shangrila not bad...but if these 3 hotels, i'll choose Eastin.. more western but quite exp lah..

Hahah.....actually if u like Alkaff mansion, then u better choose Eastin Hotel...

Their foods not bad.....and quite nice!

beanie

hmmm... interesting... think I better send Eastin an email to ask then : )

Thanks for the advise Michell!

zxha

Hi Beanie,

Sorry was on MC yesterday..

I'm getting COvershots to do my hair and makeup for my actual day.It costs RM 650 (RM400 for them to come to my place and RM250 to go to their studio for dinner make up). THeir photography pkg is rather exp. RM3200 to cover 1/2 day and RM4600 for a full day event. I've engaged a photog from here to go up.

If you like western setting, i can suggest that you try Stars/ Shrooms at KLCC. I read in some KL bridal mag of a couple who had their reception there.Let me check up if there are other restaurants that may suit your requirements.

Mine is a chinese dinner at a resatuarant at Midvalley.

beanie

Hi zxha,

It does seem that covershots is rather expensive. Saw their web-site. The number of pics they give is so limited huh.

Think I'll just get their make-up. Am going to sign up with Benny Ang for the photos.

Oooo...i think i read about Shrooms somewhere too. But I think the article also mentioned that the venue is not open concept. So that means that some tables will not be able to see anything.

MidValley... love the pet shop there ;-p Don't recall any Chinese restaurant though.

The place is terrible for parking. You better make sure your guests arrive well ahead of time : )

zxha

Hi Beanie,

I hv the Shrooms article in front of me. They are charging Rm80++,RM110++per pax for sitdown dinners. That comes up to about what BonTon quoted you. I think you're better off hving your recept at a hotel for that pxes.

My restuarant is on the outside facing some office blocks.They're only chrging rm600 for a 9-course chinese dinner.Which we thot was worth it cos, in spore, that same menu wld costs SGP600+ too. 1/2 px!
Hubby so happy! haha...

Well gd luck, in u need other info, i'll be glad to help... provided i hv it lah .....

beanie

Hi zxha,

Thanks for the info!

Geez... hotels and restaurants at/around KLCC are sooooo expensive.

I wonder how much Shang costs. Asked them for a quotation but they haven't gotten back to me yet.
Have you attended any weddings there before?

I sent an email to Eastin to request for a quotation. They didn't reply till I sent a reminder. Not only that, this sales person was rather abrupt. She only asked for my home address and gave no explanations nor anything else actually.

sigh... so much for a 5 star biz-class hotel.

tea

Dear Nic & Bluebonnet,

Just want to kaypoy abit..where will you all be having your wedding dinner in Ipoh?

My hubby is also from Ipoh. Therefore, I will also be having my dinner there one week after my dinner in Singapore.

Tea

zxha

Hi Beanie,

Glad to help.

I've not attended any weddings in KL coz i'm from spore. Hubby's the KL-ite. But the weddings that my in-laws attend seem to be all chinese affairs.

By the way, hv u been to Eastin Hotel before? I suggest you check it out first to see if u like the place. i've stayed there many times due to work so i'm rather familiar with the place. It's a 4 not 5 * htl. Well.. jus check it out first...

beanie

Hi zxha,

hmmm... I seem to the impression that you don't really like Eastin?

I've only passed by the hotel. Never been in there. My fiance doesn't like the hotel. Didn't say why though.

I like the location of the hotel. Away from the jams at KL and near enough to PJ.

Just got a reply from them today. They only quoted me the chinese package. Totally ignored my request for a buffet or western dinner. So annoyed with them

zxha

Hi Beanie,

It's more impt that u and ur fiance like the place. I associate it with work and being away from town and shopping and gd food so...

ok ok i betta shut up now...

nic

Hi Bluebonnet

Do you still need the contact number of the freelance makeup artist? so sorry i make a mistake she is not honeymoon bridal, she is from Bridal World