Mahjong

oooh... i get what u mean le... ya ya!

but sometimes the 'down leg' just not compatible with me lah... whatever I throw also buey gum him to 'eat'.. keke..

mayi,

Oh.. I normally play shooter pay all. It does not apply if it is not shooter pay all.

You should play shooter pay all - you will learn how to "siam" better..

One of the problem with beginners is that they want to "game" all the time

The ART of mahjong is not to game all the time. But to maximize your winnings when your luck is up and tiles are good. And minimize your loss when your luck is down and tiles bad.

Many a time I would intentionally throw for people to game 1/2/3 doubles to escape paying more..

1st golden rule of mahjong if you want to game. Be ready. No matter how good your cards, how many doubles on the table.. quite useless if you are not ready to "game".

Just make yourself ready to 'game'.. you never know what is going to happen.. so sometimes given the opportunity to wait for cards.. just do it.. "bong tia bong tia" - is better than waiting for the prefect tiles to arrive..

i always try to game big.. always hiong with the big tiles player.. (of cos muz hiong smart lah).. small small tiles usually no kick for me.. haha.. unless i am super down on luck then i will try to game whenever with whatever..

so i usually play minimum 2 doubles instead of 1..

eh btw, 'kang kang hu' is how many doubles ah? i gamed it once and there was a small argument on the payout.. is it the max double played or only a fix 'tai' at 5 double?

"kan kan hu" actually must "zi mo", should be max. But different people play diff ways, some no need to zi mo, as long as u state prior to the game loh

"kan kan hu" - no zhi mo how to game?

It means to game after 2 consecutive "kan".

How to count?

It depends on your max.

Normally people in SG play to max of 5 doubles. so it will be 5 doubles. then some people have another higher limit.. that will pay fix addition amount above 5 doubles.. the next higher limit could be 7 or 8 or 9 or even 13 doubles. Say we fix at 9 doubles.. then it will be 9 doubles for "kan kan hu" - the whatever higher limit that you set.

sm,

i've come across some who play kan kan hu can game on others' cards if calling the eye, then no need to zi mo. I don't quite agree, but ev one has diff rules, so ok lor.

anyway, everyone is ignoring my "who wants a game" leh....

i see.. so kan kan hu falls under the same category as shi san yao...

i guess u guys here all play very big de..
i don play bets above $20 for 5 doubles... keke.

wj,

Are you referring to "kan kan hu" or "kum kum hu"

they are different thing.

"kan kan hu" you have to kan, then kan then game. How to game without "zhi mo"? Not possible.

"Kum kum hu", yes possible to game without "zhi mo" but NORMALLY, in SG at least, we all have accepted that it has to be "zhi mo" - this is the default rule. I playe mahjong for like 4 decades.

mayi,

"so kan kan hu falls under the same category as shi san yao... "

Not really. It really depends.. like when I am playing with friends.

We have 5 double for normal max

Then 9 doubles for card like da san yuan, kan kan hu, etc etc

Then 13 doubles for shi san yao, tian hu, di hu..

Just to differentiate the relative specialness

I have my regular mahjong kaki.. so I hardly play with "strangers"..

But once a while, I guess I can entertain you guys..

sm,
i was referring to what u term as "kum kum hu". As i've said, i also think it only makes sense to zi mo if that should pay max, but somehow, some people don't play that way leh, frus but what to do when u're on their table?
yup, "gang gang hu" is only possible by zi mo. I haven't actually seen gang gang hu and tian hu before.
Da san yuan is actually really easy, so normally i won't play if the table dictates no need to finish game, or too big for gaming it. Think extra 2 or 3 doubles would be fair enough (means total 5-6 doubles just from that already).
Shi san yao (13 wonders) actually not that uncommon leh, but 13 doubles is quite standard i guess...

repeat: anybody wants to play leh?

wah .. now all the 'kakis' crawl out liao ... i've been 'paying' my lessons through mj sessions .. pay so many years still paying .. lol .. i just love the shiokness of playing mj .. just can't master the game .. dunno y .. n its always fun when u have jokers in the game .. mj jokes are a killer !!

wj,

"Da san yuan is actually really easy, so normally i won't play if the table dictates no need to finish game, or too big for gaming it."

Depends on who you are playing with... if you are playing with "gao shou", may not be that easy even if you already holding 3 pairs of the "da san yuan"

"Da si xi" is definitely more difficult. But I guess pure "One-nine" is even more difficult as you need to have 5 pairs of one-nine out of the possible 6 pairs.

"Shi san yao" is not as difficult if you are holding good cards and able to call because mostly you are waiting for tiles that likely to be discarded.. unless again you are playing with "gao shou" and they would refuse to throw the tiles for you.

"Tian hu and di Hu" are definitely rare.

In SG context, we also have the 8 flowers - which is quite rare.. (I seen it once only)

i gamed kan kan hu once and shi san yao once..

after gaming shi san yao, one of my frnd gave me an ang pao.. he say for heng heng.. cos if nvr receive an ang pao after gaming 13-yao, will be very suay after that game... do u guys believe in this?

i also say superstitious.

some say v suay after gaming 13 wonders, but i've game 13 wonders a few times, and seems to be super "hot" for next few mj sessions after that. I guess it depends on what u believe, u believe suay, no confidence, of coz continue to be suay. Believe it's lucky, then feel better, play better, maybe luckier loh!

mayi,
your "kan kan hu" means which?
4 sets of 3 + pair of eyes, or "gong" everything and game by "gong", then upon replacing from "flower pot" and game?

wj, the latter..

my kan kan hu is with already 2 pongs on the floor.. kan once, den kan again than game from the card drew from the 'flower pot'... kan kan hu.. doesnt matter if the other 2 pairs are 'straights' or 'triplets'.. as long as you kan, and kan again and than hu which is also 'hua shang'..

sm,
no need to take formal lessons la =P
I do OJT can liao

the 8 flowers 1 was damn damn exciting !!!
i've got it once donkey years back .. i still remember everybody (including the 'spectators' hahha) was so kan chiong when its down to the last card .. all of us stood up and started to 'cramp' n 'shake' when mo-ing cards .. not me of course lol n the best part is the last animal was indeed the last card !!! but some of my friends disputed that actually the last card shouldn't win since one can't pu hua .. is it true sm ?

sm,
when u play 8 flowers 'hua hu', if u've already got 7 flowers, does the person who picks up the 8th flower have to give it to u, and that person will be considered the one who threw the winning card?

aiyo, i think all the terms in different dialects confuse us all ;p

"gang gang hu" (chinese), u have to have 4 sets of 4 cards (3+1 gang) that are the same, plus pair of eyes, means everything must "gang" cept the eyes. that's how i play amongst my kakis. But i guess some use gang gang hu to describe what u gamed, which u "gang", pull from flower pot, "gang" again, pull second card from flower pot then game on that card, all in the same "pull".

mayi arrange for a game loh, hehe

Blah..wah, last card get 8th flower very shioks yah. But I think in that instance, u should be allowed to game because for 8 flowers, u game the minute the 8th flower is uncovered. Don't need to draw flower.

Hm..i thought gangganghu means u gang twice consecutively and then upon the final flower draw, u game. Not necessary to have 4 sets of 4 cards.

I usually play chingtong (who throws, who pays all) style especially when the stakes are higher.

wj,

"when u play 8 flowers 'hua hu', if u've already got 7 flowers, does the person who picks up the 8th flower have to give it to u, and that person will be considered the one who threw the winning card?"

Like the shi san yao.. 8 flowers is a special hand.. so everyone has to pay double regardless

blah,

" not me of course lol n the best part is the last animal was indeed the last card !!! but some of my friends disputed that actually the last card shouldn't win since one can't pu hua .. is it true sm ?"

"animal is not considered flower".. so won't be counted.

But if you have seven flowers and the last card is the 8th flowers. yes you can game..

sm,

not answering my question leh....if someone else picks the 8th flower, must "give" u and u game or not?

shi san yao, i dunno your style, coz i normally only play "chin chong" (shooter pays), in which case shooter pays 4 shares (double for himself and half for the other 2 kakis)

wj, for the case i play with my ka kees, no matter who draw the 8th flower, muz gif to the one with 7 to game... but thats the rule i play with my ka kees.. nt sure about others...

sm .. lol .. my mistake .. i always call all flowers & animals .. animal .. noob i know

wj, same as little ash & yuuki .. i encountered some kakees requesting all players to open all tiles at the end of the game just to make sure no one actually did keep the tile.

Heh, I have learnt some theories from the experts here, thanks for the free lessons ^^

I think it is kind of ridiculous to "advertise" the "mahjong course" here and ask for lesson fees/ang bao. Practical is more important than theories, else, why would the poly/uni have such thing called "internship"?

I am just a newbie, kinda noob, ever lost 150bucks @ a night, playing with all the experts
I didn't know they are so "pro" lor..

Hi everyone, this forum about mj kaki still valid or not? Nowadays difficult to find one more kaki, always san que yi