M Hotel Singapore

Hi Eileen
No leh. Personally think the fish taste quite good. I held mine at function room too...
For us, due to budget, we did not upgrade any dish at all.. My coordinator made a mistake for us at a dish during our food tasting.. so he actually upgrade out dish to mango pudding free.

Mine was a 8 course dinner too..

If you wan to see how the dishes look like.. leave me your email address. i try to send the pics to you. I did took every pic for each dish I had for my dinner.

hi zoeanne, may i take a look also at the pics?
thanks so much!

Hi eileen, I have around 30 tables and will be using the function room as well. Agree with u that 34 tables seems alittle cramp.... Maybe u have to walk in front by a few steps before yr hubby.

Hi Mei,

At first we don't intend to invite so many guest and I est. is abt 20 tables that I need and M Hotel able to accept the min 20 tables if I took up the function room. As for banquet suite is abit ex and is out of our budget.

Last mins my parents wan to invite our cousins those who are married. After counting I got more than 36 tables and function room can only accumulate 34 tables include 2 reserve tables.

Now we are able to reduce to 34 tables, still doing RSVP. Lucky we took the function still can accumulate up to 34 tables...otherwise I got more headache liao.

hi eileen, i see. headache hor but dun worrie it would be ok. hmm...if difficult for u to march-in then also difficult for the waiter/waitress to serve guests too.

hi mei,
did u choose a garoupa or soon hock for your fish? Do u know what's the difference for steamed teochew style & steamed with superior soya sauce?

thanks zoeanne! got them
hmm, are the plates and containers on the actual day much nicer than those used during food tasting? hee, looks a bit old to me :P but must say the prawns looks nice, haha..

Hey Zoeanne me want to see too! [email protected]! thanks a lot!

Something in garouper and soon hock. Garoupa is a marine fish. Pretty ex cos there are restrictions on the size catch. Marine fish (well to me) is sweeter and tastier. Plus no smell. Soon Hock is a freshwater species. Their flesh is also sweet and taste the best among all the freshwater fish i know of. they can be quite ex, but if i m not wrong, garouper might be just a bit more ex. i personally prefer garouper though...
just my 2 cents worth.

hi bear,
I heard that soon hock is more ex than the normal garoupa..only the red-spotted garoupa is the most ex but i dont think the hotel is giving that. heh.. thanks anyway!

i had my food tasting yesterday. It was the muddy fish, cant remember the name, but we intend to change it to the black garoupa as the hotel doesnt have red...

Yup, the herbal prawn is indeed very nice, they use live prawns to cook.

ya there are many types of garouper.. heehee.. u can ask them what garouper they give lor... but if i m not wrong, the garouper can be much bigger than soon hock... heehee.. based on my experience as a marine biologist.. :P

Hi umberrimae
Eh.. i did not take note of the plates on my wedding dinner.. no time to look into these details actually. i only notice the plates on VIP tables are nice...

Yes.. the prawns are very nice n i love the noodles too.. soft n nice

hi Bear,
heh..i also heard Garoupa is bigger than Soon Hock. Thanks for sharing! At least u have some idea abt fishes..I have totally no idea except to hear from ppl..but I love to eat fish! keke

Hi Ladies!

I'm keen to have my AD in M-Htl, anyone can share with me their package? Mmmm.... like per table hw much etc. Pls advise.

hi Moon Moon,
u can take a look at the new promo M is having if u click at advertising banner in the Singaporebrides.com at the top of the page

I'm oso having my AD in M hotel, next yr 30th Sept. i choose the banquet suite coz i prefer high ceilings n both my parents n my PIL tinks dat it's more personalised...
any recommendations on the menu? though i wont b starting food tasting dat soon but would love to hear some opinions from u all

oso, i'm tinking of not including shark's fins in the menu...

Dorcas, ur name sound familiar... do i happen to know u?

hi Huan,
U taking banquet suite for 30 Sept 06?? hee...
that's my AD but I'm taking the banquet suite on 1 Oct

hi moon,
What's ur budget for dinner?

Hi Moon Moon,
the diff between the function room n the banquet suite is dat the function room is longer whereas the banquet suite is more of a rectangle room. the price diff between these 2 rooms is abt $160 per table. the ceilings of banquet suite is oso higher with hanging lights. i personally prefer a higher ceiling. oso, the banquet suite is more personalized. it has quite a spacious bridal changing room just outside the banquet suite!! I'm paying $788 per table for the banquet suite...

Hi Ashlady,
isit coz i booked the date dat's y u put on 2 days for ur wedding? paiseh.... :P
the reason y i put on 30th sept is coz it's a significant date for both my FH n I, n my PIL leave it to us to choose the date... :P

what is the new theme for M hotel function/banquet suite? does anyone has any pics of the ballroom to share?
wat are the favours they r giving now?

hi Huan,
hee..not to worry, we chose 1 Oct coz we already planned to have 2 days instead of squeezing everything into 1 day...we didnt want to feel tired after the church wedding & have to rush for the dinner after that! So, just nice huh? keke

oh, if you dont want sharks' fin, can consider the 8 treasures soup..i heard it's nice from this forum. I've eaten the fish maw before...kind of dislike it...though it's supposed to be good for health.

hi blueemarine,
I dont think M hotel has any themes...u can choose what flowers u want. They have a variety of flavours like bears, key chains..etc. I think they are looking into changing some of the flavours.

Wah 30th Sept, 1st Oct and 6th Oct all taken liao heehee... U guys dun ruin the bridal suite with ur antics ya?? heehee... i wanna use one hor... :P

Huan, i also think the banquet suite is better and nicer but i no money so chose the function rm lor... haizzz.. nvm lah... i doubt ppl rem the deco for that day... I also dun want sharks fin.. we are thinking abt alternatives now.

Ashlady, ya, i think the most impt is the freshness of the fish. u can have the most expensive fish but if got the fishy smell, then not nice liao...

hi uberrimae,
I supposed urs is held at the function rm? If it's so, i'm not too sure..got to check with the wedding coordinator. If urs is the banquet suite, then u actually have a choice.

hi bear,
keke..they got so many bridal suites.

What's marine or freshwater fish? Is it Marine fish is from the sea, while freshwater fish is reared?

Hi Ashlady,

Yup marine fish means saltwater fish, while freshwater fish means, well freshwater lah! heehee... there are also reared marine fish like sea bass. That's why sea bass is so cheap nowadays. heehee...

Freshwater fish are mostly reared too...

Gd morning!

Mei u had no sharksfin ah? How was the 8 treasure soup??? how abt Buddha Jump over the Wall? that one got sharksfin in it???

I also thinking not to have sharksfin soup cos of conservation, but hubby scared offend ppl leh. Did u write in ur invite that u won't be having sharksfin then?i read somewhere that u should include it in ur wedding invite so that ppl can adjust the amt they give for ang baos!!!

Hi Bear Tou
I am not sure if you can check with the hotel to exchange for something in similar cost. Personally do not think the hotel will discount from the price per table lor...

Maybe u can change to " Yu Piao" , which they cook like sharkfin...Not sharkfin....

State in the invitation that no sharkfin? What if the hotel do not adjust the price n you state in your invitation as no sharkfin? then abit lugi leh... =P

Last time me n hubby also consider taking away the shark fin..... cos like very cruel... we sometimes went overseas to dive n like those marine fishes... N feel its very unethical for ppl to cut their fins n leave them to die n rot in the sea.....

But opposition fail, all elders think it is not nice to not have any shark fin.... sob sob....

Zoeanne, u call me bear tou ah?? heehee..

Erm i m not really concern abt the price of the dish cos i think deep down the most impt is to taste nice. I dun like fish maw also... can tell the difference one... haizzz...

I also haven't told my parents abt this plan. i think my parents will grumble but will support my decision but not sure abt my inlaws. so don't put 'no sharksfin' on the wedding invite then?

hi bear, yap me no sharks fin soup. only 8 treasure soup. hmm...not sure abt buddha jump over wall. personally feel 8 treasure soup yummy yummy.

nope. i did not write anything on my invite that i not having the sharks fin. dun want to let my AngBao suffer mah. heehee. BUT i have placed a "no-sharks-fin" card on each table during banquet prior dinner start. = ) so at least the guest know that no sharks fin is served that night.

AND YES, DUN put no sharks fin on ur wedding invite unless u want ur AB to suffer.

hi zoeanne, my inlaws also felt that we should have sharks fin soup initially but we told them we try the 8-treasure soup during food tasting. if they dun like then we change back to sharks fin. end up during food tasting, they enjoyed it. = )

Hi Bear
hahaha.. sorry la.. call u wrongly...
Oh.. u dun like fish maw ah.. Tell you hor, either the restaurant we went, are too good that i cannot differentiate, or i m too sotong.. Maybe i m sotong la.. hahahha

Same as Meilu, i feel dun put "no sharkfin" on ur invite la.. I also dun wan the AB to suffer leh. Find a dish that is of similar "status" to replace lor... isn't it better.

Hi Mei
No choice leh, to avoid problem , we stay with the fins.. but at food tasting, we did not invite both families as we afraid more things will "change" .. kekeke so we invite our jie mei n xiongdi ( those who held impt roles on that day)

hi bear,
thanks for the "fishy" clarification! Keke..

hi mini_apple,
my coordinator is the same as uberrimae...U can call him to send you the details

Hi mei, how to obtain the "no sharks" cards? need costs on dat? roughly ard how much?
er... tink it's not wise to put the "no sharks" notice in the invitation card coz the charges for 8 treasure soup might b the same as the sharks fins soup leh... esp for banquet suite, 8 treasure soup is 1 of the soups to b chosen from...

Hi ashlady... glad to hear dat!! yeah! 2 days then wont b dat tiring... esp when u have church wedding oso...

Hiya gals,

Orh will take ur comments into considerations. Hrmmm i just rem it was my col who said should put the no sharksfin wording on the invite. Think he wanna give me lesser!!! heeheee...

Ashlady, u are welcome!

If i m not wrong, u can obtain free card templates online on no sharksfin dinner. I can't rem the webby liao but i have seen it before, some conservation website. U can take a look Huan. BTW, i have a fren whose fren is getting married at M Hotel on 30th Sept this yr. Just wondering if it could be u. Heehee.. PM me to find out!

hi huan, yap. same as Bear. I gotten the free "no-sharks fin" card via a conservation website. Although it's free, a small token of donation is much appreciation (at least cover their printing and postage cost).

There is a design meant for wedding (red colour) but I've lost the link. Mine was a general design. I've the template in soft. Let me know if you want the template (pls dun pm me, cos' I dun know how to use pm...heehee) to do your own printing and see the words.

anyway this is the front view pic of the my "no sharks-fin" card. it's english on 1 side and mandarin on the other side. view pic below.

hi zoeanne, then ur parents and in-laws will eat much on the actual day? hmm...guess they would also missed out some of the banquet dishes.

339748.jpg