M Hotel Singapore

Hi Angel, I asked on the red carpet as well. Then Diana & my hubby all said I very 'old fashion'....kekeke......but Diana was quite nice then, as she volunteered to go search for one for me but don't remember whether have to pay or not. Diana said that she got to go rent from other company, so might have to pay. Aiyah, then I finally think that don't have also nvm lah. I think they will arrange the tables & flora stand in such a way that it will be our red carpet pathway.

Who's ur coordinator? U may like to check with the person? I think if u really want, they can source it out for u, so don't worry ya.

mine is fiona, i think she quite a nice lady too. But is just funny no red carpet lor, also u hv a point that too old fashion to insist on red carpet lah. But just that chinese always have the saying "ta shang hong di tan' mah, so rather awkard that dun hv lor.
Yes, Fiona did mention that need to pay if want to get one.
However, I read in the past thread, it mentioned that M Hotel decoration might change for next year, so maybe, they will come out with new red carpet lor.
As what u said, if dun hv, then we just take it as modern style lor, no need red carpet, just follow the floral stand.

hi eileen i oni managed to get extra carpark passes and invitations. i don need extra food tasting places so i didnt ask for it. basically i tink the package is pretty comprehensive liao.

my wedding will be in Dec which is next month. Am very kan cheong now! Is there anyone here whose wedding coming soon this year?

Btw, can anyone enlighten me wat is Zen packege?

I was told that M dont allow duty free liquor and the bottle must not be opened. Not too sure if there's other way out.

Am trying to look for wedding march songs.Its a headache man!!

Hi Snowflakes,

Is it ok to find out more on the package u have? Cos I will require a few rooms before AD as I will marry from hotel to my hubby's place. The rate is definitely not cheap! thanks!!

Hi Cath, wow.....ur wedding coming soon, so excited for u. Dun be kan cheong lah, I'm sure everything will go well.
Actually, I think all hotels dun allow duty free liquor, not only M Hotel. Hubby said it's part of the govt regulation. Usually, govt dun send officers to check lah but if they were to do so & there's duty free liquor, the hotel will be in trouble as well.
What kinds of liquor are u looking at? Maybe we can see if anyone has gd suggestions where to get gd & cheap ones.
Of course I will be glad to share with u my package. Y not I email the details to u?
As for march-in songs, I can't help much, cos not very savvy in songs selection. Maybe can try the wedding songs thread.

Welcome Angel, another M Hotel's BTB! * Big Smile* So when is ur AD? I think Diana told me before that the deco might change also. Did u check with Fiona? Have u gotten a BS already?

Cath Zen package is the promotional package for function room from Aug 04 to Dec 05 (applicable for both weekdays and weekends). Each table at 568nett and most attractive perk i tink is the free flow beer.

Hi Angel

U signed up with M hotel already at Banquet Suite? Congrats

I MIA for so long. Dun know what to post here online. Paiseh. Did Fiona mentioned that the deco will change?

Wah mushloom, u mention all out on Zen package liao..

Hi Angel,

If your wedding is in the banquet hall, then it is a bit strange to have red carpet. Cos the march-in for banquet hall is a bit like U-turn and not a straight walk from door to stage. Also depending on the no. of tables you have, the hall will be quite crowded. IMHO, think it's ok without carpet - in case trip over the carper too. 8P

Hi Cath, my wedding dinner is on 7 Dec, so also feeling kan cheong liow cos the pieces are coming together now. getting worried whether something is missed out or not. met up with fiona last month. Think will meet her soon again to confirm all nitty gritty details.

oops zoe cannot say ah?? :x keke
anyway those are the most attractive terms afterall ma. hows ur planning so far? me now juz idle around waiting for the day to come closer. tink will go in to check out the gown only in march.

Hihi all! Hmmmmm ya no matter 4 or 5 stars I still like the hotel alot. Knew someone who had her wedding at M, and everyone commented the food is great! *PHEW*

Red carpet? At the banquet hall?

Hi Snowflakes,
AD, u mean dinner har, quite blur leh, hehehee. I am holding on 18th Sep (Sunday) on banquet suite, i think one mth + after yours lor, if i remember correctly, u are on 30th July?
No, forgot to ask Fiona about the changed of decor next year.
She only told me M hotel is 4* biz hotel.....
I only settled on the hotel - banquet matter, all other, like wedding band, photographer, make-up artist, BS and many other things also no check out yet! Please tell me est.how much for BS package and what shld be included, eg. how many suits and gowns, also, will it include both parents' suit too?
I am having the solemnization on the same day, thot of having it after the 1st March-In. Any one attending such wedding before, let me know how to do it, Thanks!

Hi mushloom

Not cannot say la.. Can.. but hor, ppl know the price liao.. our ang bao also little liao.. Hee Hee... joking la..

My preparation stop so far. Now waiting to for my 1st fitting at BS next year.. I got my BS, photographer , MUA etc liao..Lately busy with house renovation lor..Therefore same as u, idle until date is nearer for wedding....

Hi Angel

I attended such wedding b4 for my good friend.. Usually, photo montage will show 1st just on their childood photos etc. Then the couple march in, then proceed to the solemnization, with the JP/ Priest on the stage already. After that everything continue as usual until the 2nd March in, then show another montage on their wedding etc...

Alternatively, if u like the church style, u can ask your daddy to hold you for the March in to your hubby at the solemnization table waiting for you..Then 2nd March in, will be you and your hubby lor..

Actually it all depend on individual preference on the sequence.

Hope this is useful to u

Yes, Zoeanne, defintely helpful!
No lah, my Dad nt so on lah, where will hold my hands to the stage hahaha.
So the 1st March in will be before the 1st dish ? Thot of starting early ard 8pm, but then scare that those latecomers missed the scene and also no register as the helpers/coordinators will be inside joining the crowd liao...
So, wat is the package u got for your BS?
U are one day after me har, so, before i checked out the hotel, u will be in the hotel , hahahha.

zoe oops but cannot edit it liao. but tink wont la coz if ppl truly wanna find out the price n give juz nice ang pao then there are many other ways leh. plus the ppl u invite are ppl whom u are close to ma so they will give u face wan. keke

hi angel don panic u still have time. as for the package it will depends on how much is ur budget lor. in singapore it can range from about 3k - 6k or even more. some of the basic things as follows
AD
1 wedding gown, 1 evening gown/kua, 1 men suit, car deco, hand bouquet, some even have corsages, whole day makeup for bride. tink for can bargain for parents suit to be include, but don tink they will have anything for mom. not sure gotta check out.

photo shoot
photos and albums, desktops, makeup, hairdo, wedding gown, evening gown, traditional costumes, men suit.

Hi mushloom, Thanks alot!
wow, u guys really have done alot of homework, I am so 'paiseh' leh, everything also dunno and unsure.
How abt if want to rent car? then will it be included as there is car deco too.
Then hor, the AD and photo shoot are all from the same company, eg. the photographer and makeup artist frm same compay? The markup artist will come to your hse early morning and then do all these things for you till your 2nd evening gown? How abt groom? they hv makeup artist too?
Thanks for all your advice! Really gald that have helps from you all.

Hi, me meeting Fiona next week to confirm booking for the Zen package. Can anyone advise on what additional perks which I should bargin for? Thanks

hee hee no need to paiseh la. tats wat the forum is for ma. u donno then come here to find out more rite.
from wat i know some bs do provide bridal car but are those obiang models.

as for ad photography is different from photo shoot. photo shoot are those which u go to a nice nice place and pose nice nice. AD photography are those taken during AD itself. For photographer tink u can liase with them or find another. for mine it comes wif the bridal package so i don have to find another.

The makeup artist will come to my place in the morning then go back, and will only return the next evening coz my AD and dinner on diff days. again this is inclusive in my package so they are from the same company. As for the groom don tink they will have makeup.

Good comments about our hotel leh..
Hope their service will be as good during all our wedding dinner!

============================================

A 'DAVID' TAKES ON THE BIG BOYS

Tuesday November 9, 2004

M Hotel gets picked best corporate hotel

Shobha Tsering Bhalla

IN a modern-day day corporate version of the David versus Goliath story, a low-key boutique hostelry has beaten some of Singapore's highest starred hotels to clinch a prestigious industry award.

The M Hotel Singapore was recently given the Best Corporate Hotel award at the Hospitality Asia Platinum Awards 2004-2005 Singapore Series, pipping at the post giants such as the Fullerton Hotel, the Four Seasons and the Conrad Centennial.

A visit to any of the superbly managed outlets at the avant-garde hotel is enough to convince you why the hotel has been so successful at a time when others are only just emerging from the economic depredations of the last two years.

Orders for tea and chicken pie take less than five minutes for delivery and are served with a panache that is reminiscent of the best French establishments.

But that is only to be expected of a hotel that has as its general manager the former head of that legendary epitome of luxury - the Ritz Hotel, Paris.

Sophistication is writ large in the contemporary metropolitan style and decor of the hotel and it is reflected in the service culture imparted by Mr John Roozemond, the M's Noel Coward-like boss who has been in the hospitality industry for 40 years.

The 413-room hotel is one of the first in Singapore to adopt a wireless network and, in line with its reputation as a state-of-the-art businessman's hotel, it will be installing a Bloomberg terminal in its lobby next week - a first here.

No wonder its occupancy rate during weekdays is well over 90 per cent and no wonder it has a return guest rate of 41 per cent - among the highest in the industry here.

"Even if you have the most opulent hotel, you still have to come down to one basic point: The customer comes first. That is paramount in this hotel," said Mr Roozemond.

The Dutch native, who joined the hotel industry in 1965, started working life in Europe's top hotels when they were at their luxurious peak and came to Asia just when the region's top hotel chains were being built.

Since 1969, he has worked all over Asia including the Middle East and Manila where he was the manager of the newly launched Century Park hotel, reporting directly to the country's most famous lady "boss" - Mrs Imelda Marcos.

This diverse experience has resulted in a management ethos that borrows the best from each hotel and moulds it to fit the needs of the guests and the business.

So, instead of the layers of management hierarchies typical of most brand name hotels, the 4-star M Hotel has a very flat management structure.

"I believe in empowering my staff so I don't have department heads or middle managers," explained Mr Roozemond. The manager of each outlet reports directly to the general manager, or "head coach".

The sporting analogy translates well among staff most of whom are young and highly motivated because the incentives are tangible and immediate: Cash vouchers, "step up" commendation cards and salary increments.

There are also "step down" cards but this is not to punish the staff.

"It tells you who are the ones seriously lacking in training or where we have made a hiring mistake. We never discard employees," said Mr Roozemond.

The upshot is that second chances are the norm and employees are given plenty of room for making mistakes and the blame game is shunned like a vice.

"The buck stops with me as the 'head coach'," he said.

Not only does this enlightened policy mean happy employees, it also means a better bottom-line.

"I save slightly over $40,000 a month with this system compared to the traditional style of top down management," said Mr Roozemond.

Visit TODAYonline website at http://www.todayonline.com

Wow MTDT.....this article make me feels so proud of them!

Gotta forward this article to all my relatives liao.....lol..

Hi BNL,

I think quite a number of us here have Fiona as coordinator....she's quite ok....ask for the standard stuffs like additional car park tics etc lor. If I'm not wrong the Zen package got free flow beer already right? So nothing much to ask for.......

Hi Mushloom
Just joking abt the ang bao.. Ya those will come for the dinner, will come... hahah...

Hi angel
My BS is from JB. went to do some research and found one there i like. Cheaper too..
oh, u are one day b4 me.. Yes, maybe I can go find u too.. Ha Ha..

Hi Angel, thanks for remembering my AD correctly.
As for my BS, I took with J&M (1 of the shop along Tanjong Pagar). There's plentiful around that area, so u can take ur pick. Forgotten what my package consisted of, cos I took it up with them in Jan last year, when I ROM. but as usual, will go dig my contract & let u know again ya. *wink*
Btw, just attended my friend's wedding & his had the solemnization & AD together. The sequence is after the cocktail reception, they will proceed with the solemnization, then the dinner. I think it's quite a gd idea to have the solemnization on the same day, cos the guests tend to be more punctual. Solemnization very serious, so cannot afford to be late.

Hi Snowflakes,

Thanks!Gave u my email address liao.
My in-laws intend to bring Martel they bought from DFS but I guess cant in this case. Its ok la since nowadays not much ppl will drink hard liquor.

Hi Mission,

Ur actual day is coming soon!! DOnt worry, everything will be ok. Seems like you have prepared all u need to. Maybe its more of making sure the gown fits well, ensure ur jie mei and brother knows the schedule and their role on AD and get the wedding march songs ready!Maybe canb check if the CD u are going to bring is compatible with their sys or not.Just to be sure though they say their sys is ok. hee. And maybe some vit c or supplements to make sure u are at ur best form!

Hi mushloom,

Thanks. Zen package is really value for money! I am not aware of this package maybe because I sign mine during last yr Dec!Mine is $700 a table at 2nd floor, somemore dont have freeflow of beer!So if anyone is considering, this package is definitely a good bargain..

hee hee ya lor after the long weekend no mood to work liao. in fact me in holidae mood oredi. so when is ur photo shoot?
Evangel tink there was a thread the other time on the rose petals. tink u have to do a search for it.

My Hubby once toke to Vincent b4. He was very rude to us. When we requested to go dwn to M hotel to discuss wif him regarding the packages, he replied 'why must still discuss', already promotion'.We think it is ridiculous as we have even yet to see the venue yet!

Btw, M hotel is 4 stars hotel. Anyway, i went to see both the function rm and the banquet rm, i personally find the function rm is great as we can have a longer wedding march as compared to the bandquet rm. And the cocktail reception for the function rm is much better, somemore there is promotion for the function rm. Readlly a gd bargain. And the most important is, the suit is very nice. Remember to request to take a look. U will love the toilet.

hi coleen

U sign up the package? Yes, the suite is indeed very nice especially the jacuzzi bath tub and open concept toilet. how many tables do u have?
Function Rm can hold up to 34tables..
Is vincent so rude? I never talk to him b4

Hi mushloom
I also no mood to work but today MC at home cos got stomach flu.. Terrible feeling..My long holiday down at home sick...

Hi 09301
Thats nice.. u chosen your gown.. Which BS are u at?
When is ur AD?

Hi evangel
I did b4 at my ROM to have buy roses in bulk, very fresh and ask my friends to peel for me one by one the night b4 and kept in the fridge.. of course, at the florist, i also buy some ready peeled petals. But do not expect them to be fresh some wither already. I mixed the petals together for my short march in at my ROM.
One rose about $0.60 or lesser from market.
Not sure if this is the best way....
just hope useful to u..

aiyo zoe u are almost like me. whenever it comes to holidae i will definitely fall sick and cannot enjoy it. hope u feeling better. are we allowed to throw petals in the function room? heard tat some hotels do not allowed tat coz might dirty their carpet or watever.

coleen or u wanna talk to my coordinator fiona? don tink she will be rude but she is a bit cool and takes time to warm up to u.

Hi zenith
I bought 30stalks.. Paiseh to waste such 30 lovely flowers but wan to decorate the place..seem no other alternative ways. About $18, plus $3-5 of the ready peeled petals.. I do not have flowers girls n boys. But the left overs are more than enough for 2 pairs of flowers girls/boys to throw during March in and as well to decorate the ROM table.

Yup, some do not allow and afraid the petal actually can stain the carpet, if everyone step on it during the dinner..

true, fiona really take time to warm.. haha.. until now i still feel cold cold.. but its ok la

Ger, i think we better Eat alot of BU3 Ping3.. hahaha... always holiday n sick.. cannot enjoy.. very saddening one..

thanks zoeanne

the ready peeled petals is it alot? or just a small pack?
do you know of any flower wholesale market?

hmmmm..... have to check with fiona........

Hi Evangel
Ready peel petals are in a whole bag for you to choose till u like and whatever amount u wan depend whether the florist have them anot.. Sometimes they might not have..Disadvantages are that they might not be so fresh, u got to pick out the wither one, then it is in a mixed colour of petals..

I dun know any flower wholesale , sorry....But i think sure have...Paiseh..

zoe ah i also wanna jin bu but like of no use. tink on usually dae too stress liao so no time to fall ill oni when holidae comes then all viruses will start working n immunity will go on strike. keke
btw is m hotel wedding cake totally fake one or is there a tier which can be eaten?

Hi Cath,
Sorry for the late reply. Has just gotten back from holidays. Pls refer to my email to u on the additional perks that I have gotten. Paiseh for the delay once again :P

Hi Coleen,
I'm so worried, as my coordinator is Vincent as well. As what u have mentioned, I think it is really quite bad attitude of him to say things like that. Did u lodge a complaint? Since u still have a choice now & if u really like the function rm, u shld ask to change to another coordinator. Don't let him affect ur decision, as usually not too bad one.

Hi mushloom
I think all tiers are fake. No real one leh...

hahaha.. ya lor.. when holiday all virus come..
Doc said i am too stress and lead to stomach flu..

so are u ladies gonna get a real wedding cake? i always tot tat the top tier is real wan leh. now all fake. will have to think if wanna get a real one.

zoe don worry. once u recover u are as good as new. keke