M Hotel Singapore

huggiez

don tink it is possible tat for a hotel like theirs oni got 1 kindda centrepiece rite? surely theres more. if not i advise u to pm the bride in the other thread see how to make them comply. coz initially she was also rejected. tink she did make a fuss or something then they came up wif 3 other pieces for her. kekeke

huggiez

huh? wat u girls mean by not foc? we don need to pay anything for the vip table ma. tot standard is they will give u 2 vip tables with any charges? yes it is included in the min no of tables booked

babybluez

Hey! I like the broken glass thingy. heehee. yeah lah. I can understand why some ple upset about the sharp edges. For me, it was one of the draws that got me to sign up. haha. cos I love the colour red and I thought it was really a piece of modern looking centrepiece lor. I hate those solitary rose in small vase.

As for VIP table, well, it's included in your package lor. I suspect that some hotels will only give you 1 VIP table cos VIP table supposed to have its personal server (means they distribute the food for you whereas other tables, the guest have to fight with each other for the food. kidding!) and better decor, plates etc. So if you want 1 more VIP table, they may charge you more.
But M Hotel provides 2 VIP table. If you only want 1, then maybe can try to exchange for something lor. Cos if they take it that adding costs money, then decreasing should deduct money. But then again, we are at their control. unless you are good at showing them black face until they scared. Good luck...

flubby

hi ppl..
nice to know so many of you are going to hold you dinner at M hotel..
Mine will be next year..
Abit lost about what food to choose from..
Any ideas??

Hi Flub,

when is ur actual ??

which one u have chosen ? the ballroom or the function room ?

mine also next yr . apr.

candy78

Hi 090301 (090301)
i am only getting 20 tables.
trying not to invite too many ppl as i think beri man fan and difficulte to coordinate....think majority re my parents' frens and relatives......

and i thinking try to give the minimum nos. of tables first......else wait got excess.....

flubby

090301,, mine is in july 2005
I have chosen the ballroom..
made confirmation in june last year..
Had anna as my wedding coordinator.. but she changed to coporate now..
and i was transferred to fiona.. is she good?
what about the food?? you have any idea what to choose?

joan7577

Hi Flub, Fiona is not that professional. I'll tell u the whole story.
Early last month i emailed to Fiona telling her that i'm interested in the Zen package and when she reply me with more infor on Zen package, she did not tell me that the promotion for Zen package is ending at 19Nov. Then when i have finalise the dates and tables which is 3rd week of Nov, she then tell me that the package has end. But before that i have emailed her to meet up, she did not reply/call me. When my FH call up and left message for her to return call, she didn't return call too.
Overall, i was very upset with her unprofessional attitude.
If possible change yr F&B co-ordinator.

As for the food, i heard its so so only.

Anyway i have eliminated M Hotel from my list and will nvr encourage anybody to sign up with them.

Hi Flub,

oic.. mine also Anna . Now change to Fiona ..
still dun know whether is she good or not ..
she looks young too me .

zoeanne27

Hi Flub
Fiona need time to warm up.. Quite cool type.
Overall i also feel she is still quite "young" in this line.. Cannot provide us much recommendations. Overall, she is a nice person.

Perhaps Fiona handles too much wedding now. Heard alot have been transfer to her bcos Anna move to corporate.. Can understand that she might be very very busy now..

As for food wise, i heard from comments that they are nice and in large portion. I have friends who attend them saying they are delicious. Beside, M hotel food won awards b4.

Though Fiona is quite cool to me , i think lets give her some time to sort if our AD is still far from our date. I do expect her calls and her recommendation , good solutions for me & answer my qs from we required lor... & when my AD is near

flubby

090301, I like anna so much.. she is very helpful.. hopefully fiona will be okie too.. yah.. i guess we don bother her first..
but in any case if we have anything, i think we can also consult anna too, right? I emailed her a few months ago.. and anna replied..

Zoeanne, so when is ur big day??

Jo, I give her the benefit of the doubt.. guess she is overwhelmed like what Zoeanne say.. ^_^ I got quite a lot of good comments on M Hotel too.. I have a friend whose friends mostly held their banquet there.. I am confident that I'll be satisfied.. Love their ballroom.. cosy and grand and contemporary..

zoeanne27

Hi Flub
My AD is on 18 Sept05 and dinner on 19Sept.
When is yours?

How does Anna look like? I saw a lady when I am there seeing the wedding favours. She is very very helpful, cheerful while she chat n most impt, i overheard she gave quite alot of recommendations to the couple and also guidance to them on march in , timing etc... Thats very great, I almost wanted to walk over to the next desk and ask for her name... hahahah
Is Anna with long curly hair.. not very curly type and wore a hairband?? hee hee

huggiez

?? zen package has a cut off date? ohh i wasnt even aware of it. so now no more zen package liao huh?

jo, u may not be pleased wif fiona but tat doesnt mean everything abt m is not good lor. tink its not very fair tat u juz link all stuff to her. tats how i feel.

candy78

Hi mushloom, the zen package has a cutoff. i was told to pay the deposit 3 wks ago. my coordinator told me tt the package is too gd and got many ppl taking it up. tt why they are ending it. and think the new package coming up is higher than the zen. didnt' your coordinator tell u abt the cut off date?

zoeanne27

I was told about the cutoff too.. but the cutoff is b4 2005. So I thought it is by Dec.

Maybe like what megan said. too overwhelming and they cut it short..

huggiez

no leh my coordinator neber mentioned anything to me. maybe coz i paid the deposit liao so it dont make any diff to me. so lucky i book early lor or i will miss the chance. my fren was shocked when i told her this zen package bo liao.

joan7577

Hi mushloom, perhaps M Hotel should employ somebody who is more professional lor.
I very kek sim when i found out that the ZEN package has expired.
If fiona had informed me, i would have signed up already. I even called up to scold the F&B director, June. But she said that's mgmt decision.
But i think M Hotel should indicate in their website earlier when they had decided to remove the ZEN package.
Furthermore, this fiona, got that kind of bo chap attitude just becos there are many sign up with them doesn't mean she can has this kind of attitude.
Wish me luck that i can find another better hotel to hold my banquet.
Anyway everything is over now so gd bye M Hotel brides.

flubby

Zoeanne, mine is on 9th July 2005..
Anna has long hair.. a bit curly.. but i don think she wore hairband leh..
maybe that is the lead coordinator Diana? i also not sure..
Jo, so sorrie to hear that you had such a bad experience..
Hope you can find one suitable one..

Hey, how much is this Zen package you are talking about? what does it includes?

joan7577

Hi Flub Flub, the ZEN package is a promotion package for both weekdays and weekend for Aug 04 to Dec 05 and is only $568/table and min. 20 tables.
Zen package has 8-course dinner and a very comprehensive package offering quite a number of perks that other hotels dun offer such as free flow of beer, free use of LCD projector, free 1 day rm for wedding helpers, food tasting for 6, diff type of wedding favors to choose, free cockage for wines and etc.
That's y im so kek sim to have missed this promotion.

huggiez

jo maybe they will offer this package again during the wedding show? i mean if u not in hurry to book banquet y not wait for the show n @@.

flubby

my friend whom i told you all about was shocked at the new packages too.. he said quite ex.. i ask him to wait for awhile longer.. see how..

mushloom,
when is the wedding show??

huggiez

i have no idea when is the nx show. flub u taking zen too? i juz saw the new package. wow kindda x wor. i looking out for it too. though i sign up liao but tinking of going to the show to @@.

huggiez

no prob. ya lor i saw the new pricing shocked too. if i got info on the show then post here la. so far no mentioned of it. couldnt find any info in the latest her world bride mag too.

joan7577

Gd evening ladies,
I did asked fiona b4 regarding the bridal show but she only said next yr, didn't even given me an estimated month. So don't think will wait lor though i plan to have my wedding next yr nov or dec. Since M Hotel is quite popular so i guess the promotion wont be back. I have started to source for other hotels.
Anyway if your fren is interested, he/she can check with Hotel Rendezvous. Also got quite comprehensive package, $598nett for weekday (Sun - thurs) but can only accommodate max of 23-24 tables (inclusive of reserve table).

But if any of u have infor on their bridal show can keep me inform.
Thks.

babybluez

Hi all. Sorry to hear about your bad experience with FIona. She's my co-ordinator. I feel she is quite ok lah. Not overly friendly of course but I don't expect her to be lor. Most people aren't like that. And if they are, usually it's fake.

But I do get the feeling that they are not too desperate for business already. Cos their packages were cheap, especially the Zen. So of course a lot of people booked, which means they kinda develop the kind of "take it or leave it" attitude. Not too willing to negotiate. But I found FIona ok, if what you are asking for is reasonable also. It's just that you don't get that kind of warmth and reassurance that these pple care a lot about you and your wedding.

Overall though, I think food wise and the look of the ballroom is enough for me to sign up. One thing to note, the price is higher for next year (every year the price goes up anyway, expected.) but they have thrown in free flow beer for the banquet suite. Though I don't think it justifies raising the price so much for that. For the Zen, I cannot remember the exact package but well, since they no longer short of bookings, I guess they think they can raise the price.

BUt they are forgetting their Function Room is really not a very attractive place. So to entice people to book was the low price and good benefits. If you remove that, who will book? We have better alternatives at their price. Well, they'll eventually learn.

candy78

The Zen package also include free flow of beer. anyway, this thingy of free flow of beer, not really attractive coz nowadays, ppl drink wine in wedding dinner.

think the Zen package is a good bargain. coz everything is the same with what they are giving now with the new prices. The only different between ballroom and function rm is that the ballroom, they allowed the choice of the dishes which in the function rm, the fix the 8 course dishes. Anyway, saw the menu for the function rm, think is not too bad. If anyone wanna to lower budget, can consider the function rm which is 100 bucks lower. personally, i find function rm gd coz is at the second flr. ppl can see frm the lobby and they got nice long stairway to the function rm.though is near a resturant, there are enff space for cocktail reception. the function rm is able to have a long wedding march. as for the ballroom, is 6flr.not as visible as the function rm..and the cocktail reception is at the other end of the ballroom. wedding march not as long as the function rm
Gers, if u re interested, fix time and ask the coordinator to let u see the two venues and the pros and cons of having the ballrm and function rm. see wat u really wanna.

flubby

Mushloom, i booked last year in june.. my package cost 758 nett per table for a saturday.. issit ex??

yup.. i agree with nicole.. the free flow of beer and design your own menu.. i think these are attractive enuff, right?? :p just my opinion..

huggiez

yup yup in fact it was the free flow beer tat caught my eye. though now more n more ppl drink wine, i don tink i will offer it lor coz i donno how to drink/choose those good wines. if offer liao but not good then others will gossip and blah... so safest is to juz offer beer. as for me i taking the zen in the function room coz i tink the menu is quite ok.

flub actually i tink for weekend (sat) ur price is quite ok. not too x nor too low la. the places which i have sourced is somewhere ard this range too.

xiao_tian_shi

Hi flub,
$758nett is for how many courses? And for your package, it include the free flow of beer?
I also received few feedbacks that the ballroom look grand and nice after the decoration.

candy78

hi mushloom (mushloom)
dnt really have to worry abt the wine. my coordinator actually recommend me this wine bar that sells wine at not a bad price.
but come to think of tt, if ppl asked for wine and no wine provided, isn't tt the same and ppl will start to talk. anyway, this type of thing, depends on the type of guests u have.:0

caitlyn

hi, i'm a M Hotel bride too.. i've booked the function room under the Zen package for 03/12/05.. din manage to negotiate for much extras, despite ungrading the menu.. din even manage to get extra car park passes.. haha.. such a failure.. =)

huggiez

hi caitlyn nice to see one more m hotel brides. tink its pretty comprehensive liao lor the package. therefore they don have much room for negotiation. but don worry la most of us didnt get much from the zen too. keke

caitlyn

i upgraded the clam to whole abalone.. $50 bucls more per table.. coz my parents felt abalone more presentable.. i also changed my dessert to white fungus as my FH's parents wanted something auspicious sounding.. =)

huggiez

hmmm i haven really go n @@ the menu yet wor... i do need to change some of the dish like the noodles hor, my mil wanted rice but don tink will charge xtra. gotta ask fiona

caitlyn

if i'm not wrong, change noodles to rice shouldn't cost extra.. our parents were quite concerned abt menu which is why we also took note.. for me, i more concerned abt ambience.. typical bride i suppose? hahahha

mtdt

Hi gals, AM back!!!

Everything was great on my AD. Abit of hiccups on the hotel arrangement but was quickly resolved! Much thanks to Vincent my coordinator.

ALL M HOTEL BRIDES TO BE - no worries, u r in good hands!

mtdt

Actually at this moment, I would think that it is not serious lah..

These are the hiccups:

1) The famous screen in our bridal suite is not working! They send a technician to repair it. After abt 90 mins, finally give up. So I could not wash up at all! Check in at abt 230pm, only able to wash up at abt 4pm. So that was kinda of sad...

But to be fair, I wanted the screen to be fixed. So I also din stop them from working on it. Lucky thing was i still managed to sleep for abt an hour before I meet Vincent.

2) At abt 600pm, went down to the ballroom to check out the settings. But as there was a wedding lunch earlier, nothing was setup yet. So 2nd shock of the day! :p But the captain assure me that it will be ready by 7pm.

3) Saw the florist bring in my flowers setting. BUT not according to what I requested!! (wrong colour roses) Vincent saw and immediately arrange for them to change it. Accordingly to my hubby, they managed to changed it. (I was upstairs doing my makeup already. To be honest, I din even notice what was the flowers after that! :p)

Vincent and the banquet captain were very fast in their response to me. So make me feel more secure.

Once I start my makeup session, I din bother about anything already. So to me, there seems to be no more hiccups lah. My hubby, his bros, my jiemeis & Emcee was doing the preparation while I makeup.

One Surprise - I did ask Vincent before if I am able to throw flowers petals during my march in. However, in the end, I was too busy to prepare it. Thus i got a surprise when my guests starts to throw flower petals at me during my first march in! That's very sweet of Vincent to prepare it. (think it was the "mistake" flowers petals! :p)

I have very good comments on the food, services and have no problems with the sound systems. i simply give one CD with all the MP3 songs that I want to play. Very convenient. I make full use of the projector by showing my PS Pics throughout the whole dinner. No problem too.

caitlyn

highness - i booked in september if i remember correctly.. my coordinator at the moment is june but she says she'll be transferring us to someone else, not sure who yet.. =) as for dessert, i didn't have to pay extra if i'm not wrong..

mtdt - great to hear ur wedding went well.. seems like the service staff are rather attentive.. sure makes me feel glad i chose M Hotel.. as i'll be having both a dinner and lunch function there.. =)

highness

Hi Caitlyn,

u having lunch and dinner there?!
wow.. that's a grand affair..
both lunch n dinner same price?

me thinking if they can provide me somewhere else for my solemnisation.. saw the poolside, too windy, and they can't stop their hotel guests for goin there during my solemnise.. then my FH say my MIL see those 'hunks' at poolside drooling, haha..

Hi MTDT!

i'm happy for you that ur wedding went well! thanks for all these feedbacks..
wish you xin fu mei man!!