M Hotel Singapore

Hi ling ling and zoeanna,

thanks for the pointers. Ya, shall check with fiona about the baby chairs too. Think they should have extra baby chairs around right?

Hmm, I suppose they should charge extra for the 11th head. At first, I was thinking that the amount of food can remain the same. Cos I have a friend who might come and she is a vegeterian. She says no need to cater special menu for her and she'll just pick out the veg dishes to eat.

I wonder if last min we ask for additional chair and cutlery to add to a table, will the waiter refuse? 8P anyway, looks like have to discuss further with Fiona. This is going to be a headache...

anyway, I just emailed Fiona and she replied very promptly. 8)

No problem, can add 11th person but food remains for 10 ppl. u can request whether to increase to 11 ppl (requires top up). They can also add 1 extra setting on actual day. should be no charges, as she said no problem.

Hi Mission, wow.....they are quite nice to allow 11 pple in one table. Anyway, think my ex-coordinator Diana did mention before also that if have children, can just slot in as the 11th person, so don't have to pay additional.

Called up M Hotel today & asked who will be my coordinator since Diana left. Anna was nice & polite to tell me that it will be Vincent & he has just came on board. Haven't had the chance to talk to him yet, as he always not at his desk. Hope he's good. :P

Me back.. disappeared for sometime. Hehe... very busy with work and preparation.

Snowflakes,
My cordinator is also change to Vincent. I met him last week... we went to collect our invitation cards and he actually came down personally to meet us and took some time to go through our package with us again. I must say he is very nice compared to my earlier cordinator (Marilyn - who resigned). I understand from him that he is not new in this line. He was previously from M Hotel, then move to other Millenium grp hotel. From the way he help us, think he is no newbie in this line. Feel very comfortable talking to him.

Hi Manuka, thanks for the info. After what u have said, I feel more relieved to have Vincent as my coordinator.

So how's the wedding cards? Which printer did u choose? Manuka, how much does it take to print per piece roughly. Me drawing up a budget for each individual item.

I am a M Hotel bride and my AD is in Dec this year. I am getting worried about what happen @ M Hotel recently cos my co-orinator changed from Marilyn -> Diana -> Anna -> Vincent. Loosing confidence in them...

Hi snowflakes,
I have not seen Vincent before but spoken to him recently. My impression is that he's not very good in handling customer as he kept quoting "pls refer to the contract you signed" to turn down my request. I dont mind the rejection but the way it was handled made me feel that he's not very patient and tactful. I hope I am wrong cos my wedding is coming very very soon.

Hi snowflakes,
Sorry, realised refer to wrong person.

I meant to ask Manuka about her experience with Vincent. I was hoping that Vincent is good.

Hi snowflakes,

just to share abt printing of wedding cards. I recently printed 230 pieces of insert for just $90. Have to manually tie the insert into M Hotel cards with gold string (provided by printer), but the price is really quite good. 2 other printers charge $100 for first 200 pieces and then 20 cents for subsequent piece.

Inserts are cheaper than printing directly on the cards (hotstamping). Think hotstamping will costs at least $200, so chose inserts.

hi cath i don think vincent is not good at handling customers but rather he has no idea what ur contract has. different coordinators may have promise different things to their customers. so i think it is only right to ask u to refer back to ur own contract. don take it too hard. since oredi sign the contract liao juz try to make the best out of it and be a happy bride.

Hi Mission, thanks for the info. So the design & no. of wordings don't matter when it comes to the printing issist? As long as the normal ones should be around the price u have quoted me? Can tell me which printer, so that I can keep them in mind 1st?

Cath, don't get upset ya, maybe Vincent is not as bad as it is. Think it can be quite stressful for him too, cos he just on-board & many cases to follow-up. Diana used to be the leading wedding planner leh, so must have lots of cases. He will cope with it better soon, I hope.

yes agree with mushloom and snowflakes. otherwise you shld just sit down and talk it out properly with them so that there is no more hiccups with respect to your contract
keep this in mind and be happy. No Point getting so upset
cheer up!

Thanks for your advice. Think I just have look at the brighter side then.

Hi Mission,
You have got a good deal for printing! I printed 220 pieces of inserts for invitation cards at $160. I buy my own strings or ribbons to tie it myself.

Hi Snowflakes,

The printing company that I went to is called Hi-Tech. It is at ang mo kio industrial park. Tel no is 64589455.

The design and no. of wordings is usually standard so no need to change much. You can choose a graphic (e.g. chinese word for "xi", or kissing couple to be printed.) And also choose the colour of the paper and ink (but it's usually pink/cream/ivory with gold letterings).

Yep, my price is the 'normal' type. Another friend also went to them - they charged only $80 for 200 pieces.

Hey Mission, thanks. Will keep them in mind. Think the printing company must pay u com. This is gd publicity for them le
Really appreciate u for sharing. So roughly when do u have to liase with the printing company? Have u sent out ur wedding invitations already? Well, I have a cousin who is getting married this 11 Nov04 but I have yet to receive her invitation card. Wonder if it's a norm to give soo.......late?

Hi snowflakes,

no lah, if you go to the forum section on wedding cards, you'll also find the same info.

For friends, I confirmed with them first that they are attending about 1.5 months b4AD (a bit kiasu lah). I'm intending to send out the wedding cards about 3 weeks b4 AD.

For relatives, I guess the wedding cards are issued later, on the guo da li day. My guo da li day is supposed to be 1 week b4 AD, but we brought forward to a Sunday (about 2 weeks b4 AD).
It could be your cousin's guo da li is very close to her wedding day??

11 Nov is a good day for weddings. I almost wanted to take that date too, cos it's my ROM date and bday. hehe! but it's also public hol so more expensive...

oh, about your qns on when to liase with printing company - maybe about 1.5 months b4 AD? the company is quite fast. Once you confirmed the design, they'll fax you the layout 3 working days later. You verify that there are no errors, and they can give you the inserts by another 3-4 working days.

If you are doing hotstamping printing, then i'm not sure liow. maybe takes longer...

I'm new to this thread...

I just went down to M yesterday with my hubby to view the function room (on our own). There was no function then so the place looked rather in bad shape... but quite like the pre-fuction area for the cocktail despite a bit narrow...

I been communicating with Vincent via email to find out more about the hotel and package. He has been quite prompt and helpful.

We are quite keen to confirm the Zen Package, for the price...

Any last advice before i sign on the dotted lines?

Thank you very muchie!

Cheerio!

hmmm last advice, put on ur best bargaining skills and try to bargain for more stuff. keke. my skill not good enuff oni managed to get more carpark passes n invitation. tink u can ask for more ppl for food tasting and if u push ur luck a bit try for free nite stay for helpers lor. i feel that no harm asking so if they give it to u then good for u lor.

can u help me ask a question to vincent? if i wanna add xtra dish (chilli crab) as the ninth dish, how much do i need to top up? mine is zen package too.

Hi mushloom,

Vincent has replied me. But he said to discuss when i meet up with him... ;(

will keep you informed... I may meet him this weekend or next week...

ta ta!

Cath,
Don't worry. I think Vincent is ok... maybe if on the phone a bit "cool". maybe u can meet up with him and talk face to face better?

Snowflakes,
My printer is also Hi-Tech (can refer to my previous treads)
I paid $80+GST for 200pcs of inserts. About 6 working days to get it done.

i agree with manuka. Vincent is a bit "cold" on the line. He seems to be very busy every moment...

I've not met him personally. Just hope he's "fine" to get along with. Didn't want to leave any bad memories. :P

Still waiting for him to get back to me when he's free to meet up...

Hi Zoeanne,
I will go down this sat to negotiate on my 18sep AD, but i am on 10th floor as you booked the function room liao hahahaha..
Anyone, booked the Banquet suite? Managed to bargain anything good, please share.
Have you all ever ask abt Duty-Free wines?
I would like to go for 8 course instead of 9courses(take out the vegetables), but dunno how much to deduct from the $768nett(9course), any idea?
Many questions har..can send me([email protected]) the Aug show package to see see look look ?!?! Thanks!

Hi Mission,

I think my cousin has confirmed her wedding with the hotel before Deepavali is confirmed on 11 Nov04, so she actually will be paying the weekday rate, maybe top-up a bit but definitely not weekend rate.....gd bargain right

Aiyo.....u not kiasu lah, I am still thinking of informing my friends 3 mths before my AD & sending them the invitations 1 mth before. Huh.....then they will think I super kiasu lor? But I am worried abt the turn-up rate, so will like to inform them earlier.
Btw, Mission, ur AD really near, so everything all prepared? Enjoy ur wedding day ya & remember to delegate everything out, so u can just sit there & be pretty.

Hi Manuka,
Thanks for the printing info as well. Will go check it out when my AD is nearer. I'm a bit kiasu to ask now lah.....keke.......

Hi Angel,
I booked the banquet suite. As mine was signed up during the wedding fair, I got the free flow beer. As for other perks, u see what u need, then put on ur best negotiation skills. Think usually, for all hotels, u can try asking for increased parking tickets, extra night stay.......etc. I forgot where I put my contract. Will email u when I find them ya.

Hi Angel

I am not the one who book on 18Sept Function room. Mine is on 19Sept( monday) function room..
Hee hee.. My AD is on 18Sept...

Hi snowflake. Your cousin really lucky lor..

Just been informed by vincent that the date that I wanted have been taken up by one couple before me...and I was offered the Banquet Suite. However, due to budget, I couldn't to take it.

So sad... sob sob.

So I have to bye to all M brides-to-be... Best wishes to all!

Mushloom, sorry I couldn't find out the answer to your question...

Hi snowflakes,

ya, agree that your cousin got a good deal! 8)

I'm starting to panic a bit liow, cos wedding day is drawing near. Most things are settled but still got a lot of things to remember i.e. wine, photos, guestlist. Both my hubby and I rather easy-going so still taking things easy. Haha, guess we will really panic at the eleventh hour!

Zoeanne,
Sorry for mixing up your date, I thot we are on the same day, then will be 'neighbours' for upstair and downstair liao.
Hi snowflakes,
Really interested to know wat your package included, pls email me the package asap once you found it. As i am going on "negotiation battle" this coming saturday 6/11.
So you got extra night stay at the Bridal suite? Fiona only agreed to coordinator's stay one night if I confirm 30tables. How many tables u getting?
Thank U!

Hi Mission, don't panic ya, cos I feel that there will always be some things not done no matter how well things are planned. As long as major stuffs are taken care of shld be gd enough.
So you have collected ur photos already? I'm currently very big-headed, don't know what kind of designs to get for my gowns.

Hi Maomao, how abt other dates? The date I wanted was also taken when I tried to book with them, so I actually asked the master for other good dates.

Hi Angel, I will try my best to find the contract ya. I am looking at abt 23-25 tables only. Will try to let u know before u go for ur 'battle'.

Hi Snowflakes,

As I wanted the wedding in the 2nd half of the year and at a weekend, the master only can find 4 dates. ALL not available at M now... sigh...

Nowadays, people just act too fast... moreover, Vincent said that the Zen Package is running out very fast for the weekends...

maomao
vincent is rite abt wkends being snatched up fast. actually the date the master give is for ur tea ceremony only. not necessary must be dinner n tea ceremony on the same day. for me, the dae which i wanted also taken up in the first place. so me opted for 2 seperate days coz i like the zen package.

angel
keke can u help me ask a question to vincent? if i wanna add xtra dish (chilli crab) as the ninth dish, how much do i need to top up? mine is zen package too.

Hi Mushloom,
my coordinator is diff, not vincent, also, i am taking banquet suite, not zen package.
But i will help to ask my coordinator abt the ninth dish(chilli crab) for zen package.

I see that you mentioned M Hotel is 4star, I thot is 5 star and they are under the same chain with Corpthorne waterfront?

keke thanx angel. doesnt matter which coordinator coz eventually it shld still end up wif the same pricing la. thanx again

Hi snowflakes,
Thanks in advance for your help and 'searching'.

Mushloom,
I not taking zen package, I am having Banquet suite. Also, my coordinator not Vincent leh. But i will help to ask my coordinator for your question and see wat she replied and update you.

By the way, i thot M Hotel is 5 stars, same chain as Copthorne Waterfront? But i read that some of you said is 4 stars? I ask the hotel this weekend how many stars is it , hehehe...

Hi Angel

I book around Aug 04 lor.. During the wedding fair... Then taken up liao.. So i choose Monday on weekday..

I thought M is only a 4 star hotel?

i did explore the ideal of having the dinner on separate day... but my mom feels that it's very mah fan... sigh... how to please everyone?

Hi mao mao

It is often hard to please everyone la. Maybe explain to your mum that you could be tired after the whole days?

Actually, I am also having 2 days. There are some things u need to take notes. LIke extra costs for 2 days, like photographers, rental of car, flowers for 2 days, MUA etc etc.. U must try to budget in these costs..

I just persuade my parents that we do not wan to squeeze all things together, and we be very tired. Then as i took my BS in JB, I told her we wanna take PS in Singapore after my tea ceremony etc...

Good luck to you..

Have u book the zen package? Vincent said no dates?

Hi Angel,
I have sent u my package details already. U can go have a look. I just state the additional perks I have, as my scanner something wrong, cannot scan. Paiseh paiseh *wink*
All the best for ur negotiation tomorrow ya. I took the banquet suite as well. Really like the place, hope u like it too.

Btw, I thought M hotel is 5-star too. But nvm lah, regardless of 4 or 5 stars, like it can liao. I think the layout, ambience & everything are nice lor but maybe the older generation never heard of it before. :P

Hi Mushloom,

I have gone to M hotel to view the function room and overall I quite like it. I’m also thinking of taking up the package and I need to give them the answer by today or tomorrow.

Can you share with me what are the things that you manage to get for you package? Please give me some advice? Thanks in advance.

Hi Snowflakes,
Yes, signed with them last sat.

Well, as you had advised in your email, those strictly not allowed and only agreed during the show, I can't get it lor.

I am concerned for one more thing, there isn't any red carpet in Banquet suite leh....