M Hotel Singapore

Hi Rene,

Yes, Diana has got back to me and I have managed to book the ballroom on 9 Dec 2003 on my chinese birthday.

I have also inform Priscilla this morning, hope she will be able get the banquet.

BTW, Mat is a KPO......which happen to be my hubby.........

HI shirlynn,
Me book with M hotel already,thanks for calling me up in the morning and sorry about my hubby being a clown cos he just wake up lar, so abit blur blur.

Hi Doreen,
If you would like to book M hotel for your wedding dinner please do it by 14/03/03 (Friday) cos the sales manager actually inform me to confirm my booking by that day cos they will be increasing the prices about $20 extra per table, so better hurry...!

Hi Shirlynn and Priscilla,

Thank for your info.

I have met Melvin, one of the banquet assistant manager. Any comment abt him? So may I know what is your package with M hotel and what extra perk do u manage to get from them. If its inconvenience to post here, pls send to [email protected]

thank you

I will be a 2004 bride, but no date yet. Was considering M hotel also as i was told the ballroom is very nice and the price is reasonable also. However, i've also been told they are quite inflexible when it comes to the package.

Have any of you tried negotiating the package with them and ran into a wall?

Hi trixie,

i'm also w M Hotel n u're rite their ballroom is very nice, not the grand type but modernistic. as their package is already quite comprehensive so it's difficult for them to give more. i've tried to ask them to give me free food tasting but they won't barge in cos they have to specially arrange the chef to come n cook specially just for u that's why it's very costly. they r not like other hotels where they have a chinese restaurant w them so it's easier for them to waive the food tasting costs. hope the above helps

Hi rene,

Thanks for the info. So they have their banquet catered from outside, is that what you mean?

Hi Trixie,

Not to worry, their food are not being catered but being cooked by a team of cooks who are put to cater for functions and banquets...

I have tried to ask for another day of free room, compare it with Marina Mandarin who gave two nites and a deluxe room free.. but M hotel is very confident of their package... they even ask you to go to MM to see and compare...

So the decision is still be up to you... what you want to look for...

Hi Priscilla,

So you have managed to book the function room for 27th Nov???

Hi Doreen,

Did not managed to get anything from Diana, my coordinator.. just increase 10% for parking and invitation cards .. thats all I can get..

Think in general the hotel ambience quite nice. Just attended dinner there not too long ago...

The only thing is that the staff dun seem that professional - you know, they like a bit blur blur one... and not that on or 'zai'. They seem shocked when we asked for rehearsal to be done a week before wedding and the room and staff were not prepared on day of the reheasal itself, altho they were properly informed already.

And the wedding coordinators dun know which banquet manager is the one assigned to your wedding beforehand. The one who attended the rehearsal and whom we liased with and told all the details to was NOT the same as the one for the actual wedding day! What's the point right, we gotta repeat everything again on the wedding day, when we are all pressed for time already! (we already specified that we wanted same person to attend the rehearsal)

Food was normal, so-so lor, as expected for hotel banquets - but a little salty. Service was fast and quite efficient tho. :o)

hehe... having said that much, think just gotta push the hotel staff more, and all will be fine. Overall still quite good I would say... :o)

Hi Trixie,

Shirlynn is right, their food are not being catered but being cooked by a team of cooks who are put to cater for functions and banquets. so have u make an appt to talk to them???

can anyone tell me if their weekend package include fri? saw their package under "fine dining" but no mention of fri being weekend. if so, then really good deal.

Hi Doreen,

M Hotel's package is comprehensive, they will not be giving you more ... you can only ask for a day usage room, extra 10% for parking and wedding cards.. thats all I have got from them...

Hope you can get more....if not ... bargain to have at least these...

Hi ga,

Friday is considered as weekend for all hotels including M Hotel.

Hi Shirlynn,

sorry but what do u mean by day usage room. at least u r luckier than me to nego. for more stuff, me dun even get those add'l perks that u've mentioned above.

Hi Rene,

Day usage room is one of the deluxe room for those people helping you out on your wedding day to rest one : from 2 to 8 p.m.

Diana, my coordinator give me herself... I told her I don't know what I can ask.. so she offer it to me herself...

Didn't you ask for anything extra..like parking or cards??

Hi Shirylnn,
So guess you should know by now that me no longer having my dinner with M hotel
, change to Furama Hotel, so sorry to disappoint you.
So I think I will not be joining this forum anymore but hope to hear from you at the Nov03 forum.......

Hi shirlynn,

oic thanks for clarifying
wow Diana is so good, my previous co-ordinator who has left M Hotel was very persistent n refuse to give me add'l perks. i thought parking coupons n cards shd be sufficient, maybe i shd review my guest list again to ascertain whether the coupons n cards r sufficient b4 my food tasting, might be able to try my luck to ask for more

Hi rene,

I think M Hotel is rather partiular about parking. They simply refuse to give my fren more -coz they say parking per entry at $2 is cheap already. But of coz can still try lah!

But for cards they are more flexible, will usually accomodate your request for more if you ask...

You paying 50% for the food tasting?

Hi jenn,

thanks for ur info. i'll try my luck
ya i think i'm going to have to food tasting for 50% cos parents n in-laws haven't talk abt the Guo Da Li stuff yet n since have to go to a restaurant anyway might as well pay add'l a few hundreds to go for the food tasting lor

did u also go for the food tasting previously??

Hi Rene,

No did not... coz the wedding stuff was all settles and also the food tasting would not make much diff since hotel was booked already...

Hi jenn,

thanks for the info. btw, did u use their LCD projector, any problem (is it clear, etc??) did u bring duty-free liquor?? how was their sound system??

Hi rene,

Actually it was my fren's wedding... she did not have any slide show, so not too sure about the LCD monitor. We had duty paid wine only, no hard liquor.

Sound system was ok, but best to have an actual reheasal to test your CDs. Wat seems to sound ok over your hi-fi could be quite soft (esp. the intro of the songs)over their system. If that's the case, you could get them to pause the CD at say 10 seconds, so when you are ready to start the march-in, they will press play and start the song from the 11th second! Prob best to take note of the vol you prefer so can tell the actual technician on the day of your wedding... Hope this is helpful!

Hi jenn, oic, thanks so much for the info. it's really very informative.
were the dishes enough to go around a table of 10??

Hi rene,

Ya. The portions were quite generous! Most tables will not be able to finish the dishes served towards the end! So no worries about your guests not being full!

You can think about whether you want your dinner to end early. For my fren, the dinner started at about 8.10pm (which is considered early per the Banquet Manager). After their second march-in, the dishes were served about 10 minutes apart and they managed to end the entire dinner at 10.30pm! Quite an achievement hor! The banquet manager initially wanted to serve the food slowly, but my fren said NO, they did not want it to end late! Hehe... like I mentioned in my earlier post, they seem rather 'nua' in general, so have to push them and give them detailed dinner programme to follow with timing included! Then will not have prob!

Let me know if you need more info!

Hi jenn,

thanks for the info
wow ur friend dinner is really consider early but does it means that all her guests arrive b4 8.10 p.m.?? u mean ur fren type out a detailed programme for the banquet manager to follow??

Hi rene,

All guests arrived by about 8pm, so plus some dilly dally, started about 8.10pm lor... Basically the general rule is that when 75% of guest have arrived, then can open ballroom for guests to be seated (gotta constantly get recep to update wedding coordinator on status of guest arrival; usually start sitting around 7.45pm). Then should try to start as close to the time you have planned as possible so as to be fair to those guests who came early (in this case 8.10pm). That's why gotta have firm fren to be your wedding coordinator!

Yes,hehe... actually I worked out detailed wedding dinner prog and also have a summary to pass to banquet manager who was on duty so that they have no excuse regarding the sequence of events and can try to follow the timing as close as possible. Guess its about being in control, but of coz gotta be flexi too!

Hi jenn,

ur fren is really lucky to have all guests arrived abt 8pm cos i've never attended one wedding that start at 8.10p.m., hopefully mine will commence as early as ur fren.

wow ur fren is really lucky to have u as the co-ordinator, btw, would u be so kind to e-mail the dinner prog that u have done for ur fren to me, it would really save me a lot of trouble

my e-mail address is [email protected]

This thread has been so quiet lately... where has everyone went to ??

As M-Hotel do not provide the slips in the invitation cards.. Just want to find out where did you get them??

Hi Shirlynn,

do u mean the inserts? I print them fr T-Dragon recommended by M Hotel. Lazy to source around & since it's their vendor, they have all e hotel's details. So if any wrong, they r liable. We jus make sure all our names & date r correct.

BTW when's ur wedding? Mine in May.

My fren jus had hers in M Hotel 2 mths ago. The food ok but service really lousy. All e waiters v inexperience & keep e food b4 e guest could finish. Like rushing to go home like tat. She cant b bother to feedback cos her weddin over & nothing she could do. So she ask me to really stress & highlight to them

Hi black monster,

How is the charges like?? Nice??

My wedding is in Dec.. Still a long way. I presume you have settle the rest of the things already.. whats still missing??

If you have these kind of feedback, you have to stress to the banquet manager that you do not want the same thing to happen at your dinner.

Me a lot of things still not done yet .. also don't know what to start first

glad to see that tis tread is alive again

shirlynn, i was thinking to source around some printers b4 finalising but if T-Dragon's pricing is reasonable then will save the hassle n choose them. what r the things that u've not done maybe we can discuss n c whether i could be of any help

black monster, ya i'm also interested in T-Dragon charges, can u give me more details..thanks..

i think i better stress this lousy service of theirs during my food tasting cos i really dun want this kind of thing to happen during my BIG day

Hi Rene,

Long time no hear from you ...glad to see you stil around.. everytime so disappointed .. do not see anyone posting in this thread anymore.. just wondering whether is it all the brides are already married.

When is your wedding ?? I have only confirmed my hotel banquet, PS (not yet 1st appt) and actual day photographer.. the rest ... have not touched yet...

Hope to see this thread alive again!!!

Hi Shirlynn, ya me also pop in once in a while but did not find any postings but glad that u have make it alive again

my wedding is end of aug. which bridal boutique did u book? what abt actual day photograhper, did u choose yew kwang?? actually besides these few main items which u need to book earlier, the rest of the things wil come later so dun have to worry so much

Hi Rene,

My wedding is on the 9 Dec. Bridal Universal at Toa Payoh... Blur blur book the package last year at S'pore Expo when me and my hubby went there to look at the furniture exhibition. Miss out the fun of sourcing for a bridal stuio.

For actual day photographer, we have just confirmed with Nick Goh. For Yew Kwang, he is good but just that I am not use to his way of photography... most of the photos are slanted at an angle.. that is his "specialty of making the photos special". He told us that we must like the way a photographer takes the photos... as if we ask them to change.. it will not be natural for them.. the results will not be good.

I have to thank Yew Kwang for his patience and time to explain and teach me and my hubby a lot of things that we should look out for. Anyone interested in him can contact him at his h/p : 97608980. ( His package is cheap and good, very worthy)

Thanks! I know the things will come.. but have you had your Guo Da Li.. and arrange the helpers yet.. scheule the actual day?? These are some of the most tedious ones and I have not started any yet.. *sigh* .. worry there will be a lot of hiccups...

Hi Shirlynn/rene,

I will pop by this thread everyday but didnt post & oso feel glad to c here busy again.

T-dragon charge me $100 for 200pcs & $10 for a cartoon at e corner of e insert. I took e basic package = paper free & gold ink. Initially we order gold stamp, tracing paper & it turn out to be $210. Aft comments fr fren we stick to basic cos all say all guest jus read e date & venue, nobody care wat kind of ink/paper used.

I took both white & red cards from M hotel on 50-50 basic to suit diff group of guest. Red for relatives & white for friends. T-dragon was v nice to print on 2 colours of papers for me. Pink to suit the red & cream to suit e western card. They printed 110pcs for each colour though we order 200pcs. BUT, for e pink ones we realised that thr were only 88pcs. I dun think it's was on purpose but we didint go back to them cos we used e 10pcs extra fr e cream. So u better count b4 u leave their shop to b on safe side.

My fren oso stress on svc b4 e dinner but of no use & there's really nothing much u can do according to her.

Seem like all those brides who had chat w me previously no longer here cos their wedding over & my wedding is e earliest among u gals.

We both really too busy to do anythg. Hasnt even start writing invitation card or compile e final guest list. We oledi swear that we'll do it this weekend. We hv selected our photos & left w all these nitty gritty stuff like guo da li, ann chuang etc which is more headache then anythg...

Shirlynn, i think Nick Goh is quite good also but i feel that he always hard sell himself so didn't shortlist him the other time but his photos look good.
wow, i think YK must give u commission for advertising him in this tread hor but i must admit that his attitude is really superb. No i haven't had my Guo Da Li but i think mine will be a simple one cos both myself and my hubby are catholics so we want to keep it simple, although my parents are not catholics they have expressed that leave this up to us..phew
as for the helpers, we have identified friends to help but haven't assign duties to them yet..i'll take things as they come lor..dun want to be too stressed up.

black monster, is the charges of T-Dragon consider cheap/reasonable cos i haven't source around for printers yet. $10 for the cartoons is it the cost for all the inserts?? where is ur bridal boutique?? so have u collected ur album already?? i dun think i'll have an chuang thingy but anyway what does it symbolise??

Hi Shirlynn,
my wedding in early May. 1 more mth to go!

Hi Rene,
i dun know if it's cheap cos i oso nvn go source ard. I think $110 is not a big amt so not much to save & not worth e effort. But i guess it shld b reasonable. $10 is for all e insert.

My bridal is Thomson Wedding. I have scanned all my proofs & will be collecting my album on 18Apr.

Main purpose of an chuang is to make sure u have offspring & a blissful marriage. I oso dun care but my MIL insist lor.

My actual photographer is Alan Dai. 2 of my close frens used him & i m hapi w his work & price.

Hi black monster, ya i guessed $110 is quite cheap already. how does M Hotel's western card looks like?? i've a friend whose bridal shop is also Thomson Wedding
what do u mean by scanning all your proofs..sorry i'm quite blur in this area.

i'm quite lucky, yesterday, i've confirmed with my MIL n she said we dun have to do an chuang n she dun even know what is it. when i explained to her, she said she didn't do it during her wedding but she still gave birth to 2 sons n her marriage is still as blissful
..so one less thing to worry abt...phew...

i was comtemplated to engage Alan Dai too as his charges is real cheap but my hubby dun really like him cos we prefer to engage someone who uses digital camera so he's out.

Hi Black Monster / Rene,

So both of you consider luckier than me.. but what about Guo Da Li?? Are both you skipping this too??

Hi Shirlynn,

so which means u will have the an chuang thingy izzit?? i think for Guo Da Li, shd have lah cos it's the day my hubby side to deliver those things that my mum wants rite?? hehe..not too sure also

Hi Rene,

If you are going to have those Guo Da Li things... Have you done your purchase for the things that you need to give to your hubby's side??

Hi Shirlynn,

haha..sorry i thought Guo Da Li it's only for my hubby's side to buy things for my side, u mean i also have to buy things for his side?? do u know what r the things?? anyway, i think we will only finalise the Guo Da Li things when we have the food tasting which provide a chance for both parents to specify the things that they want
what abt u, have u started buying the an chuang n Guo Da Li stuffs??

Hi Rene,

So you are more blur than me hor....*hahaha**

Me too have not buy anything yet... me wedding is in Dec ... so most probably wil have the Guo Da Li and an chuan in Oct to Nov, but will arrange both parents to meet during food tasting.. *not to waste this food tasting hor** when will you be having your food tasting?? Chosen the dishes yet??

Hi Shirlynn,

so do u know what r the things that i've to buy for my hubby's side for Guo Da Li??? i think i'll be having my food tasting sometime in mid or end of june. as for the dishes, i've roughly know what dishes to choose but will look at the menu again b4 i arrange for the food tasting cos the menu might change since the last one i have
what abt u??

Hi Rene,

There is a few shops as being recommended by some of the brides which we can go and get those things... The shops have all the things needed.. so we can just tell the shop keeper.. they will let us know what we need ... can also check with them what is the meaning for individual things.

As for food tasting and menu.. not yet gone through yet.. Now is worrying where can I get the shoes for th gowns..

Hi rene/shirlynn,
e an chuang is a must according to my MIL. But both our mums have agreed tat e GDL will be kept to minimial. Only cakes is neccessary & subsitute all other stuffs by red packets.

proofs=those 4R which u took during ur PS w no touch up. U chose e photos u wan for ur album fr thr. We scan them & used e projector provided by M hotel to show our photos while waiting for guests to arrive so tat frens/relatv neednt crowd ard 1 album during e banquet & oso smthg to keep them occupied while waiting. It will b repeated till dinner starts.

I seen e works of Alan fr my 2 frens & we r hapi w him. Beside price & his skill, main thing is we find tat he's really gd at creating fun moods w families members while taking photos. He really can crack gd jokes so tat every1 smile/laugh nicely in e photos. Can get along well w e elderly oso.

R u gals getting any videographer?

I swear to get the invitation done during e weekend but didnt cos went to e cemetary for Ching Ming & whole day under e hot sun really burn me out tat i was too exhausted to do anythg. My mum was screamg that i shld excuse myself this yr cos she dun wan her daughther to b a dark-skinned bride. U know elderly lah, alwys think tat fair skin is beautiful & tanned is not healthy...

Shirlynn, do u know the shops names?? or shd i go to the GDL tread to find out?? as for shoes, shd be quite easy for the WG but will be tougher for EG cos depending on the colour of the EG. u can go to VNC (citylink) to look for white shoes, can also go to ricci no., leapin lizards, paradox, etc...

black monster, wow ur mum so good, willing to subsitute red pkt for those other items of GDL. hope it turns out the same way for me too
i'm luckier cos dun have to go thru the process of scanning the photos as my photographer will be digital camera n he'll return us all negatives via a CD-rom which i'm going to use it for the slides show. i'm not getting videographer. i'm also desparately trying to keep myself away from the sun but very difficult leh

Hi Rene / Black Monster,

FYI : Shops to shop for traditional stuffs

1. Blk 506 Jurong West St 52 #01-180
Tel : 65660311 / 6566 0333
Boss : Clara

2. China Town market
Hui Xing Toys and Departmental store
#01-97
Tel : 6224 8848

3. Xin Yang Dept Store
Blk 335 Smith Street
#01-129 Kreta Ayer Market
Tel : 62266820

Another two at Beauty World.. think its on the first storey or maybe Second.