M Hotel Singapore

hi Rene,
i did not go centrepoint times bookshop.. not me
i heard 22 june is a popular date..
hi Shirlynn,
the function room was not decorated for wedding when i went tt day.. overall function room looks more like a meeting room.. the ceiling is low, and not chandeliers.. not so nice lor..
hi Yan,
i hope my FIL will choose a venue soon.. cos very very late liao... so sad

Yan, u're welcome. do u really like Wedding Present's gowns?? it really depends what is ur emphasis - gowns, price, photography?? cos if u really like Chris work, then forget abt Wedding Present cos might be able to have more beautiful gowns n at the same time have Chris as ur photographer...me very lor soh rite?? so when r u going to c Chris??

Yvonne, sorry thought that girl is u?? ya i think a lot of couples are getting married on 22 jun. y is it an auspicious day??

Rene,

I did not go around to look for any hotels.. M-Hotel is recommended by my friend... its the only one that I have went to so far.. I find the ballroom is nice but the dates I am choosing.. the ballroom is out.. really headache now..

I have gave Diana a verbal confirm for the function on the 27th Nov.. but request to change to another date for ballroom if I find it not acceptable ..

Just hope the function room will not be too bad after the decor.

Hi Shirlynn,

Personally i dun like the shape of the function room as it's longish so it will be difficult for ur guests at the extreme ends to have a proper view of the stage. As what Yvonne said the ceiling of the function room is low so not as nice. But if u dun mind the above disadvantages, u can think abt it cos it's a lot cheaper that the ballroom.

Thanks Rene,

No choice.. I have to wait till March to see how is the decor of the function room as only then there is gonna be a wedding ...*sigh* I also like everyone would like to have the ballroom. Pity that I did not start to look for banquet earlier.. or else will save all these troubles..... You are lucky Rene

Hi Shirlynn,

well, wait n see loh. but have u fixed ur wedding date, if not, can always choose another date where the ballroom is available. i'm not exactly lucky lah, just kiasu so that's why booked very early.

Hi Rene

I hav not fixed date with Chris yet. I am also considering Picture Box. Hav not gone to c other bridal boutiques. Most likely Wedding Present.

Hi Shirlynn

If you have a particular wedding date that you want and the ballroom of M Hotel is not available, you can try other hotels if you do not like the function room. It's good to compare with other hotels as each hotel has its good and bad points.Now, I am considering between Holiday Inn Parkview Hotel and M Hotel. Also headache for me.

Hi Yvonne

Dun be sad. Hope your FIL has found the venue.

Thanks, Rene and Yan,

I have already confirmed with Diana last Sat for the function Room.... Went to Marina Mandarin in the morning to view the place... The fifth floor's ballroom is not bad but still think M Hotel is better :-). Diana is mentioning to me that the couple who book the ballroom on the date I wanted is considering to change their dates.. Might have hope for me ...

Yan, Picture Box is not too bad as well...let me know how do u feel abt Chris after u've talk to him o.k??
I've been to Hldy Inn Parkview's bridal show last year. The design is very different from M Hotel as the former is more Victorian type of deco whereas M Hotel ballroom is more modernise so it depends which u prefer.

Shirlynn, welcome to the club
Hope the other couple can give up their ballroom so u can have it
so ur wedding is 27 Nov 03?? how's ur wedding preparation coming along??

Hi Rene

Will update u after I meet Chris Ling. Saw Picture Box photos. Effect very nice. I will find one day to view the actual setup of M Hotel. Saw HIPV's actual setup. The ballroom is grand. Agree with you that M Hotel is newer and has a modern look, compared to HIPV. I also like their brideal suite more. But heard good comments about HIPV food.

Hi Shirlynn

Wish you good luck. Hope u can get the ballroom. I also feel that the ballroom is nicer than the function room.

Hope that

Hi yan,

thanks in advance for keeping me in the loop after ur discussion with Chris. Did u call M Hotel to find out when will there be a wedding so that u can go n view the function/ballroom?

Hi Rene

U r welcome!
So you hav not meet up with Chris?
Heard that there will be 1 wedding this sat at the ballroom. You can drop by too.

i booked with M hotel for my wedding in May,2003. Few days ago i called my co-ordinator to arrange a food-tasting (it's said better to do it 3 mth b4 wedding). I was a bit disappointed with her answer about food-tasting. Because they don't have their own cook in hotel, so there's only ONE day for food-tasting in March. Further,we need to pay a full table price (10 pax)despite the fact that we might only hv 3-4 ppl to try the food. Well i'm not trying to influence u all here. I know M htl's situation is special, i like the ballroom so i chose them after all. But i thot food tasting is as easy as reserving a tbl w restaurant. then suddenly u happen to realise that the restaurant stipulatd a minimum order requirement.

Gals, pls beware of it. Make sure 2 know all the strength n weakness of the htl you're choosing. As for me, i don't know wat 2 do for my food-tastingt issue.
i'm hving a headache to explain the whole story to my families... *sigh*

Thanks Rene and Yan!! Hope so, the date which the couple might be giving up is on the 9th Dec '03. It happen to be my chinese birthday too.

Hi Headache,

Don't be worried over this small matter of food tasting. Maybe try to arrange it on a date with some occasion like birthday or .... then just invite some relative or close friends, then you will be able to kill two birds with one stone. Be happy, you will be a bride soon, this will be peanuts to you once its over

Hi headache,

Don't worry about the food tasting issue. I didn't had the food tasting for my case. Thought that it's not necessary since I had to have 10 pax. Anyway, it didn't turn out to be the wrong move. The food I selected all turn out quite well!

Anyway, think that the reason why there's only one day for food tasting (as explained by the hotel) is because they are having the team of cook to cook for you just for the food tasting. That's why they specially specify the day of the food tasting.

Yan, i've actually wanted to meet up w Chris b4 deciding to choose between him n Kim (Studio D'Fia) but in the end after talking to some of my friends who r photographers, they commented that Chris is better than Kim so that's why didn't bother to meet up w Chris in the end cos i've full confidence in him
thanks for informing, i might pop in on Sat

Shirlynn, so i think u will definitely change the date to 9 Dec if the couple ever give up rite cos it's quite meaningful to have ur wedding on ur chinese birthday eh??

headache, like what other brides mentioned, this is quite a small issue so keep ur cool o.k.?? forget abt the food tasting lor

Hello Headache,

I think you might had a mis-communication with the staffs. I just called M Hotel to check.

They do not have any chinese restaurant in the hotel. But they do have cooks and kitchen to cook for all functions held at the hotel.

The reason that they cannot let you have less than a table as these cook will be specially cooking just for you and your family. And also take note that you will be having your food tasting at the function room.

Hope the above will help to take away your worries.

Rene,

Of course, quite meaningful hor to have birthday and wedding at the same time.

BTW, for the actual day photo taking, have you managed to book any one to take photos yet? Any good recommendation??

Thank you Shirlynn, decbride & rene...

Well, I know it's just a small issue, but my mother-in-law does care about the food very much.... Besides, we did saw 3-4 small groups trying food in separate table last time at function room. I guess my in-law just saw it and came out of an idea doing same thing lor.. Shirlynn, maybe you're right, the staff gave me the same answer. She even said full tbl arrangement's better to experience the whole service. Wondered if they put different groups together to try the food last time...

Oh btw, anyone know nice shop for men? I want 2 buy some nice cuff-links n neckties...

Shirlynn, ya i've actually booked a guy called Yew Kwang for my actual day PS. his website is linked to this website under photography but his website is a bit outdated so not very impressive but i've seen his work and was very satisfied with his work. his price is very reasonable so u can check it out. i've booked his digital package which costs $620 for 200 or 300 pics (sorry can't really remember the exact details cos quite some mths back). his attitude is excellent n he also offers to be the banquet co-ordinator if we couldn't find any experience friends to do it.

Headache, oic o.k. dun worry too much
as for the men's stuff, u can try the deptal store like Robinson, Isetan, etc as the prices are more reasonable but if u want something more branded than u can try boutiques like hugo boss n other boutiques at Taka. hope it helps cos i haven't source for these items yet so cannot really give u very good suggestions

I will be selecting my menu soon for my dinner in March? ANy good recommendations or any dishes I should avoid? Thanks!

Hi rene.. thans for yr suggestions... i'll try Taka first.
think their stuff are new & rare... Will let u know if i discover anything worth to buy..

Yogi...
Actually i m now trying to figure it out,too. Esp the fish, they hv Garoupa, Sea Bass, soon hock, pomfret etc. I like the concept 2 design our own menu, but things seem to become complicated once u hv too many choices
ha ha

headache, u r welcome, thanks for keeping me posted of ur hunt

headache, yogi, i've haven't chosen my menu yet but headache, u shd choose Garoupa cos it's more expensive than the rest of the fish and it's also perceive by a better type of fish by most ppl. Have it steam with Hong kong style. i've also heard ppl giving good comments on their pancake (dessert) but i personally find that it's too oily. sorry can't help much.....

I am also looking for actual day photographer. Rene, so coincidental again, I wanted to choose Yew Kwang too but he already booked on the date that I want. So no choice, have to find again. Any other suggestions?

Hi Yan,

how much is ur budget. i think a lot of ppl sing praises abt Choon huat, Hilarion n Nick Goh. Personally i dun like Nick Goh cos i felt that he always advertise a lot in his forum.

I have a colleague (but has already resigned to go into full time photography) whom i felt he's very good but out of my budget. He's Triston Yeo (can look at the comments under photography forum). He charges abt $1k to $1.2k but he uses digital camera so will be more expensive.

Hope the above helps
what other photographers do u have in mind??

Hi Rene

My budget will be as cheap as possible lah. Heard that good or popular photographers will usually cost above $1k. Have u heard of the photographer, Richard Kang from Tinseltown? I think your package with YK is value for money leh.

Hi Rene,Yan

I'm also looking for actual day photographer... Heard of [w] studio is good, but not cheap leh. Any of you heard of 'Linn Creative Works'? Think they might b a good choice to me. Personally i like the actual day photo in black & white, make the layout into journalistic style...
and Rene, i don't like nick goh's works,too...

I have just contacted YK this morning... he say he might be booked on 27 Nov, but 9 Dec is avail. I still need to wait for Diana to get back to me regarding the ballroom.

I think YK package is quite standard.Photograph package is 8 rolls for $500 and 300 pics for digital is $620.

Gals.. can check with you.. do people bargain with the photographers?? What is the price range now??

YK package really value for money. Comments about him are gd too. Too bad he not free on the day I want. Most of the photographers I talked to are at least $700. So Diana,your wedding will be on 9 Dec?

Yan, i've not heard abt Richard b4, does he use digital camera or film ones?? how much did he quote?? ya, i'm quite lucky to have started early to source for photographers and managed to find a good n value for $$$ photographer
i've know of another photographer whom he has many praises - Alan Dai (read abt him under his tread). i've met him b4 but i prefer digital camera so did not choose him and since he's a malaysian he cannot really converse in English n my hubby is not comfortable in conversing in mandarin so that's why did not choose him.

headache, i've seen [w] studio works too, there's a photographer Avlin (i think) which is good. his price is abt $800 but out of our budget so never choose him. the rest of their photographers are so so only which is abt $500-600 so in the end still choose YK. Linn is pretty expensive as i've asked for quotation b4 so also never choose them.

Shirlynn, so hopefully, Diana can let u have the ballroom on 9 dec then banquet n photgraphy will be solve rite??
i think people dun really bargain with photographers as it's rather standard, however, i've tried to bargain w my colleague Triston b4 (he charges $1k) but he never barged in....

Hi Shirlynn,
Saw your msg on the nOV 03 thread but quite sorry if I say anything on the thread that u may not like cos I really like the place n the offer that are included in the package.And was really disappointed when I saw ur msg on this thread.

Yes, I am planning to get married on the 27 Nov 03 but can't get the hotel I want n mostly all fully booked cos that day heard is a good day to get married. You are really lucky to get the booking for M hotel.

Hi Priscilla,

Hope you have got the message I have drop you at the Nov 03 thread.

Yes, 27th is a good day, 2 Dec and 9 Dec are too... Did you check whether is it a good for both you and your hubby.. Actually these are the few dates my MIL has chosen for us.

Will let you know if Diana should contact me next week as she promise to get back to me...

So which other hotel do you have in mind??

hi Shirlynn,

Saw your msg on the Nov 03 thread already, actually we did not really went to a fortune teller to get our wedding date but I went to a webpage looking for a good day to get married in Nov 03 and just nice this day fall on weekday n also a Thursday n both my parents n my in-laws n me never clash on any of the chinese animal sign.
By the way where did your MIL go to get your wedding date?

I have in mind are Merchant Court hotel, M hotel or Grand Hyatt lor.

Actually have some experience in helping out wedding n planning for my friends so maybe if u got any question or not sure anything can ask me. Hee Hee

Don't mind if I ask, what dialect is your hubby and you cos on customary wedding I abit headache?
Me is Teochew and hubby Hokkian.

Hello Priscilla,

We did not go to any fortune teller or anything. My MIL know how to read the "tong shu", so she just check using both my hubby and my birthdates to check.

Actually Nov 13 is also a good date, but as its still school days, some of my MIL's relatives are from M'sia, can only attend during school holidays, so we can only have during the school holidays, you know lah.. later people say you purposely to choose a date which they cannot come,....better to be safe than sorry, if not.. I will already choose 13 Nov as the ballroom is still available.

Thanks in advance.. think will have a lot of things which need to check with you...have you got everything ready which you need for the wedding day?? Any good bargains around... have to go around and source... yesterday just have a move in ceremony for my new house... now so tired..Now the next thing will be PS and wedding day.

I am Hokkien whereas my hubby is " Heng Huat".. heard of this dialect before??

BTW, Ladies , Aussino is on sales, there is a red bedsheet set which seems quite nice... good for wedding day... your relatives will be very happy to see that!

hi Shirlynn,

I've been to Tangs & Robinson and they don't really have much sale on Aussino. where did u see it?? how much is the sale??when is ur PS?? which bridal boutique did u sign up with?? so u've confirm ur wedding date on 13 Nov?? so have u call YK to check his availability?? sorry so many qns

HI Shirlynn,
Can ask your MIL help me find a good date for me? heehee
All the dates below is based on english Birthday. Thank you but if too troublesome then never mind lor.

My birthdate is : 29/08/1982 (Dog)
Birth time : 1550hrs
Hubby's birthdate: 21/06/1977 (Snake)
Birth time : 1649hrs

But 13 Nov 03 is on a MOnday lei, and hubby scare no people will turn up cos MOnday is the starting of a new week so people tend to work OT.

Me have not even settle wedding dinner so maybe after making a confirm booking then I will go out to search for all the items, but I saw in a bridal magazine that there is this place at Jurong west selling all the items for customary wedding, not too sure where is the actual address but will check it out then let u know.

Wow, your hubby dialect really never heard or see before. What dialect is that actually?

Maybe in this month me and a few peoples from the chat room will be meeting for wine tasting at Ubi, each person only need to pay $10, want to join us?
If you are intersted then I will help you inform the rest cos need to make reservation.

By the way what is the meaning of PS? I abit stupid lar, pls excuse me.

And where is the actual location you saw the red bedsheet?
Is it true that a couple need to change a whole new bed for their wedding? cos my sister says change bedsheet can liao, is it true? and cos my bed I sleep with my hubby only use for 1yr plus so abit wasted to throw away and get a new one.

By the way, where is your new house and your present house?

Hello Rene,

I am sorry but the sales is at their boutiques which ends today. But the red colour bedsheet set is not under their discount items of these few days, maybe you can check out by calling their outlets.

But pls take note that you have to check what is the height of your mattress when you are buying your bedsheet cover. For me, my mattress height is 11", not all brands carries, Aussino also do not have. BTW, the red colour set only consists : two pillow case and a quilt cover, the rest like bedsheet cover and bolster cover, you have to purchase a plain set separately.

No lah, I only confirm with the hotel on the 27 Nov, and will change to 9 Dec if the ballroom is available on that date.

Kiasu after so many things, you can give a call to YK to check his availability and ask him to hold until you have book your banquet if you do really liek his works. And if he is not available.. then faster find another one...

Hi Priscilla,

BTW, is these the chinese birthdates or English ones?? Need to have the chinese one to be more accurate, for timing wise, do not tell people the exact timing of your birth, it is not too good for you if people want to harm you. Let me have the details of your birthdate thru' my e-mail at [email protected]

Just give me an estimate of your timing is goo enough, for example, maybe 12.10... you can just tell me any time form 12 to 13, should be okay.

okay, thanks in advance, maybe we can even go together to buy and see provided that you hubby is not free, or else, just let me have the address and I can go there with my hubby.

As for wine tasting, sorry but no thanks.. As I am working in a German co., they like to have wine during our dinner functions and I actually do not really like the taste of alcohol.. maybe other times.

PS : Photo Shoot, last time also do not understand.. later then analyse that out...forum do really have a lot of short forms..:-)

I am not too sure.. but should not be a problem, my MIL only tells me that we must "an chuang" before the wedding, then no women should get near the bed until the wedding day.

My new house is at Punggol 21, my parents' place at Hougang and my hubby is at AMK.

Hi Yan,

Sorry to miss your message, my wedding tentatively will be on 27 Nov, I am waiting for Diana to confirm with me the date on 9 Dec, if no problem, will change to that date as my hubby also prefer the ballroom

Hi shirlynn,
Sorry to inform you that I don't know how to convert my birthdate to chinese one but the above message I send you is my english birthdate.
Hee Hee, I blur blur lar so never thought of that so just put my birth timing on this thread but I believe people who join this thread won't be any evil people...

So maybe your MIL know how to convert my birthdate to the chinese one.

I think I know which shop you are refering to buy the bedsheet, got their brocher before....

But my bed, when firstly it arrives I am not the first woman to sleep on it cos mu hubby ex girlfriend sleep on it first before me, so do you think its safe to change one new one? When I think about it got abit angry.......

Sorry Priscilla,

But how long did you get to know your hubby before you plan for marriage?? KPO hor..

Are you getting a new flat or will be staying with your in laws?? Any extra bedrooms??

Hi Shirlynn,
ME know my hubby for only 6mths plus when we ROM. Its ok to ask cos it is natural for woman to be kpo.
Me still staying with in laws but will mostly apply a new flat around next year cos hubby just graduate last year so quite alot of things have not stablised, so too bad have to wait lor.....

Nope his house only got 3 rooms so we already take up one room and my in laws one room and my sister in law lor.

So how? Can you help me ask your MIL to convert my english birth date to chinese one?

Thanks Shirlynn,
Wow so many dates and 27 is not inside so maybe no need to wait for your side, hee hee (thats one good news.)
Help me to say thanks to your MIL.
Got any photos to exchange?(eg:dating or ROM photos also can)Can exchange it in our e-mail.

But how about the bedsheet thing?

To play safe can help me look for dates in Dec?
Just want to abit Kiasu...

HI shirlynn,
I just remember that the lady which is my co-ordinator to me at M hotel, her name is Marilyn Ang she is the catering manager. Just to inform you lor.

Hi Priscilla,

Actually 27 is also one of the good dates, my MIL forgot to put in the list as she did not know whether will we change the date or not.

Actually I thought of maybe asking you to put the mattress at the empty room for guest if you have any. As I think that you will not like to have the mattress for your wedding one. But the end decision still lies with you.

Just check with them what are the dates available at this moment, book tentatively with them if you are interested

Shirlynn,
Thanks for your advice.
You really bring alot of big helps to me especially the wedding date thing.
Thanks a million..!

I think I will call them up to make tentatively booking with them first cos really scare no place.

i am looking for hotels for my wedding in nov 03 and like to know more about M Hotel. Can anyone please give feedback on this hotel, is the wedding package attractive and competitive as compare to other hotels? Thank

Hi Priscilla,

Diana just got back to me, yes we will be changing to 9 Dec 2003. So you also better be fast to confirm the date with them. It is one of the best dates in November 2003.

Hi Doreen,

Have you confirmed the dates that you would like to have?? M Hotel seems to run out of good dates in November.. unless you do not insist on a certain date... or else.. it would be better if you could call up the hotels to check first if your dates are still available.

Shirlynn, so u will be having ur wedding on ur chinese birthday rite (if i can remember correctly)

doreen, M Hotel has 2 banquet locations, function room (cheaper) and banquet suite (at 10th floor). Their packages incl alot of things like free flow of beer etc ( u can log on to their website for details). it really depends on ur definition of competitiveness as which other hotels are u referring to cos u can't compare M Hotel w Conrad/Ritz Carlton but as i felt it's very competitive as compared to Crown Prince or Merchant Court. Call them to make an appt to find out more urself.