M Hotel Singapore

coralspring

siling...u r also a Anson room BTB too???congrats!!!after u go for ur food tasting and all u will update us again yeah...I am sure everything will be good.M hotel so far review pretty good yeah..

siling3

yupz, mi Anson Room bride. will be gg for food tasting in Feb thou. Will update here after the food tasting thou might have to wait for a while hee cos now onli Jan! hahaah....

poohbear80

I am going for my food tasting in April
lagi long... haha

Hi sotong and crabb,

Thanks very much for the reply!
I just went for my food tasting yesterday and brought 10 pax. The food portion's good and more than filling for all. However, the cooking/frying doesnt seem very even. For quite a number of our dishes, some portions are undercooked while and some overcooked ( and i'm referring to the same dish itself)

However, would totally not suggest the Udon with black pepper sauce and prawns. This is the worst tasting dish of all the 8 dishes. The noodles were too salty and the prawns was very bad. We can obviously taste it's frozen prawns and morever, it taste like it had been soaked in salt water before frying. The first taste of it feels like i'm biting into salt water coated prawns, and i couldn't even finish the whole piece. It was also the general consensus for the rest of my family, which was a real pity as that was the 2nd last dish, and instead of a memorable end to the dinner, all I had was a salty leftover taste in my mouth.

Below are the dishes I chose:-

1)Cold plate :- Spring roll, salad prawn, roast duck , soy sauce chicken and suckling pig

Comments : Spring roll was the best! Light crispy and not too oily. The salad prawn was not too bad too ( though i wonder why our udon prawn came out so bad as the salad prawn is also frozen prawn). However, we request to slice the prawn into half to serve as it's a bit too "bulky". Chicken was good, but duck a bit too tough. We requested for the duck to be boneless. The suckling pig was too fatty

2)Shark's fin with crabmeat
Overall consensus was good. Taste just right and there is no shells in it.
. Can do with bigger slices of sharks fin though. Haha!

3) Baby abalone with spinach and bai ling mushroom
Subjective. Some abalones were done just right, some were too tough . Same as the spinich .Some were overcooked, while others were a bit raw. However, the bai ling mushroom taste great! Overall, not bad as sauce is delicious

4) Garoupa in HK style
Fish is fresh and big. However, a bit overcooked. Meat just slightly too tough.

5) Fried chicken in garlic
Disappointing as taste of it is actually quite nice. However, the chicken pieces turned out a bit too tough and soggy, and skin is no longer crispy. Feels like it had been left too long in a covered plate, and the steam had condensed back into the chicken. Which was a real pity as this dish could taste very nice . We decided to changed to pipa duck and hope it will be better. * keep fingers crossed*

6) Scallop with vege
Scallops could be fresher and vege also not properly stirred

7) Fried udon with prawns
As mentioned earlier, this really can't make it.

7) Yam paste
Taste great! Full flavoured and not too sweet. =D

Overall, for most of the dish, the taste of the food is not too bad. But as it's food tasting, we are more critical of every small bit.

Kudos for the service too! Got great service from Calvin, the banquet manager, and even the waiter who served us (forgot to give him a tip at the end of the food tasting. :X)

Hopefully, AD, the cook will incorporate our comments and improve on the food!

cjes

Hi ladies, does anyone have the 2010 Weekend Wedding Lunch Package Details and Pricing for M Hotel, including additional perks given? Can email to me at [email protected] please? Thank you so much.

dingding06

Hi strawberry,

i yet to..i wrote in to request for the menu and price list for holding a buffet by the poolside, they yet to reply me. Its has been 2 days alrdy. I call their general line, no 1 pick up. Didnt know that they havin a promo. rite now.Do u have any idea when will it end ? Have u been to the pool view, nice ?

mfong

Hi, any1 has simon's email? hes my coordinator but i forgot to get a card fr him. n any1 knows whether for the wedding songs played thru out the dinner, is it provided by the hotel or we have to compile ourselves?

poohbear80

Hi LinLin

Nope, I did not go to their pool side. Only visited their Anson rd and bridal suite.

I guess its better for you to drop by and meet them. You can look for Eugene.

Jane
Wah, how come you have $388 off? so gd
I had free red wine for every table and free flow of beer. Same same?

poohbear80

I have paid 3k deposit for the dinner banquet on 26 Dec but I have yet to sign the contract. Contacted the sales person saying he will contact me in Jan but yet to hear from him

Anyone also did not receive the contact after paying? is it normal.

siling3

Hi Strawberry, i tink they could be quite busy now.. Maybe u wait till abt 1st week of Feb then contact ur coordinator again? I signed up on 29 and also yet to receive. Dun worry lah...

batwings

just had my Anson room dinner last night, very positive feedback from my guests, banquet manager Dennis is very very helpful, kudos to him and team.

siling3

hi batwings,

glad to see sum1 who has her banquet in Anson room and w positive comments! did u change any of the food items? which theme did u choose?

bluwinte

Audrey > I went for the food tasting too 7 almost had the same dish as you... the roast pork was not bad but quite fatty but i think 1 person per piece should be ok.. I'm considering the udon to be changed to the rice as well..

I had mango pudding, it taste quite nice however~ it lack presentation~

missybrooklynn

i attended my frd's wedding at M hotel recently.. her dinner was held at level 2 (or 4, cant rem :p ). the reception area is quite spacious and i cant rem if there is any pillars inside. but it's a L-shaped march in aisle and low ceiling.

- bridal suite is not bad, quite big and there is a big jacuzzi bathtub.

- i dunno wat is the name of the coordinator but its a he and my FH was the one coordinating with him during the dinner cos he is helping my frd while they wash up and preparing for the dinner. he looks quite pro and make sure everything runs smoothly though.

- for the first time, we nv finished the shark's fins! it was quite watery and starchy.. not sure if the chef has added too much 'water' or soup into it. none of us on our table (not sure abt others) finished the shark's fins and had 2nd bowl. haha...

- the dessert was yam paste. ok lah, i find it quite 'smooth' and i heard that M hotel is famous for its yam paste too.

anyone who is interested to view the photos, can email me- [email protected]

batwings

hi siling,

although my menu was the standard "cheapest" one, they still allow me to change some items no extra charge.

if i'm not wrong, my food menus is still similar to the one now for Anson room. My food may not be "expensive" ones, most guests were saying how fresh the fish and prawns were and the chicken was very well cooked. I only managed to eat the cold plate and sharks fins and yam paste was slightly watery.

The food was definitely an improvement from food tasting according to my parents and in-laws.

Even my pre dinner tea ceremony was very well prepared, if i've known, I would have done my tea ceremony there instead ;-)

If there's any negative about M hotel, I would have to say the L-shape of Anson room, some areas can't see the stage/screen. But I just put my closer friends there and some buddies right at the end of the room to solve this.

my theme was not the bird cage one, it was more pink and simple, forget what theme already.

the very nice and big M hotel ang pow box was provided by Dennis, but i had my own.

you can either prep your own songs or just ask the hotel to music/songs for everything from march in, dinner, cocktail...

batwings

hi tiramisu,

mine was 08 menu, can't really remember what was the initial menu, if i remember correctly, i changed the cold dish from otah to spring roll, pacific clams to bai ling mushroom, dessert to yam paste.

ask your coordinator, the menu is not really fix, you can request to change to similar range items, example, E noodles to lotus leaf rice, herb prawns to just plain prawns. otherwise, unless u're willing to top up for the "better fod" no worries, they are quite flexible or they'll at least try their best to help.

Hi blu,

I think the rice sounds interesting too, but my grandma and ILs don't like. They said rice in chinese sounds like "fan(2)" . Not auspicious. :p

poohbear80

I am now having 2nd tots abt having dinner banquet. I am really half hearted now.

Very scare that I wont be able to cover leh. But I have already engage the VG for my AD which includes the express highlight. I like the dinner part abt the march in and showing my express highlight only.

I paid 3k but yet to sign the contract. Shld I have dinner? My bf's parents have not objection of us having dinner or not.

batwings

hi strawberry,

having banquet is not about covering cost, it's about sharing your joy with your family and friends and getting blessings from them.

my parents and in laws were initially ok with us not having the banquet, but we decided to go for it "just for the experience" and i must say it was a real memorable day, all the hectic stuffs to do, schedules, guest list, mini minor stuffs... it was tiring, but it was worth it for us, to see all my friends and family together for us ;-)

poohbear80

Hi Batwings

I am already having a church wedding in the afternoon so the dinner is juz an "extra" thing,
So majority of my friends will be at the church wedding.

I do not know if i m doing extra thing like having a banquet wedding since I am already
having a church wedding

I am having a smaller scale wedding banquet as compare to church wedding. Not inviting relative and closer frends. Sigh.. i m lost.

sean_ng

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

en_en_lee

Hi all, I signed up with M hotel last yr during one of the roadshows. I only managed to get 1 red wine per table, 1 complimentry table per 25 tabl. But one of my friend manage to ask for an extra night stay in the wedding room and extend night stay for the coordinator's room.... so lucky... I am now asking from my coordinator about it see how it goes =)

keenelee

hi en en,

when is your wedding date?? your is a dinner or lunch func? i thought all dinner package comes w/ 1 red wine per table....

i try to ask for 1 more night stay of bridal suite but unsuccessful too

en_en_lee

Hi, my table is $748++ and it is dinner (function room). There is also an overall discount ($1888). I heard my friends (2 of them ex M hotel bride) that each person have different packages. Before you sign up with the hotel you shld try to ask for these items (especially now is recession, they shld be more willing to give):

Overall angbao discount (usually from 1288-3888)
Red wine
Complimentry table
coordinator room extension
Bridal suite one more night or anniversay night
Parking +20% more
Food tasting up to 12pax

The ex bride i mention (which is my friends) says that coordiantor usually ask them to keep their packages to themselves. So just wanna share so that you girls wont lose out... you need to be persistent if not look around first before deciding... =)

poohbear80

Hi En en

I signed up with M hotel in Dec. My package consist of the above too but my table is 788nett on a Saturday evening (Anson room).

alexaphy

hi en en
when is ur big day ar?? who is ur coordinator ar?? can share??

i oso tried to ask for extra one nite stay in bridal suite or anniversay night & extra parking... & food credits etc... but coodinator nt willing to give wor.. say gt ppl staying in e suite or nt enff parking lots....

waaa... gt tis type of overall angbao discount de?? somemore is $1288-3888 ar???

me sign up in oct... anson rm $788 too... but oredi pay deposit liao... seems like i lugi alot gt no much benefits de wor...

pay deposit liao, can i ask for more benefits de???

poohbear80

Hi Alexaphy

I guess we got the same package. I signed up in Dec. Mine also $788nett and it includes the following;
1) 1 bridal suite
2) 1 helper room (i got it extended to a night)
3) 1 red wine for every table
4) Free flow of beer
5) 1 complimetry table for 25 confirmed tables

If we had the same package (@ $788nett) then I think ours will be more worth, cos I did some calculation,

Package 1
$748++ = $875.16 for 1 table
$875.16 x 25 tables = $21,879
*If you minus away $1888 discount,it will be $19,991

Package 2
$788nett x 25 tables = $19,700

I was thinking when the hotel says there is ang pao discount of $1288 to $3888. I doubt they will give much discount above $2500. I wonder if it lucky dip kind of thing.

alexaphy

hi strawberry

envy envy wor.. who did u sign up w??
same as urs package.. aiyo... but no haf tt $1888 discount wor & 1 complimentary table for 25 confirmed tables...
aiya.. me sld sign ltr wor..

poohbear80

Hi alexaphy

Mine is package 2 (w/o the $1888). I do not have $1888 discount but it comes with 1 free table for 25 confirmed tables. oh yes.... it also comes with a spa for my and my HTB.

en_en_lee

I just want to clarify things about packages. Each one of us each different packages so please do not expect to get all the perks that i merely mention for information only. I do not want to get my friend in trouble. hope you girls understand =).

Hi strawberry,

Since you already have a church wedding and your frens and relative have shared in your joy, i think you can hold a smaller scale dinner at a restaurant or just a get together party. It'll not only save cost for you n yr hubby, but also your frens n relatives.

When we sign up for our dinner banquet last oct and going to be held this month, didn't know economy can decelerate until so bad. Hv frens, colleagues, relatives who are either affected by retrenchment, pay cut, or no bonus. Morever, it's very costly to us as the cost came together with our downpayment of our house and renovation.
If i knew things are going to turn so bad, i would either insist that we just have a get together with close friends and relatives, or to hold it as a restaurant. -_-"

poohbear80

Hi Audrey

We wanted to do w/o dinner initially however, thinking my bf is the first to be married within his relatives and family. Also, I am flying my granduncle in from Japan. So, thought it will be better to hold a proper dinner banquet.

Now, I have a little regrets holding the wedding banquet. However, we have already paid the deposit of 3k and its not refundable. But I cant turn back the clock leh - either we cancel the banquet and forfeit the 3k OR we just go ahead with the dinner.

I had discussed with my HTB, he says just go ahead cos we already booked the place. And its only once in a lifetime and not as if we are holdng the dinner every year.

Another thing is we are a better position cos we do not need to spend $ on a house. I have a house which was co-bought with my dad almost 4 years ago in Punggol, so the house and furnitures are still relatively new.

I have 5 months+ left towards my wedding day and I am still halfhearted abt having dinner. Sigh! I have not signed the contract yet. Dunnoe what to do now

en_en_lee

Hi all, please note that the above mention price of $748 package is signed up 2 yrs back. And accordingly to my source it has increase to $788 =) Better clarify on this =)

cljw84

Hi, my HTB & I are thinking of having our banquet @ M Hotel. Does anyone have any pictures of the Banquet Suite, the ang pow box & the favours?

Hi strawberry,

Oh! Since u dun hv to spend $$ on a house or renovation, the financial burden won't be that heavy.
. For us, we have the housing, renovation, buying of appliances, wedding photo shoots n dinner all coming together which is very very painful on the wallet.

That case, should go ahead with the banquet. It's really more memorable than a church lunch buffet, and besides will be a once in a lifetime experience. =)

I just had my AD on thursday, n i can say i'm EXTREMELY pleased with M hotel's service. My coordinator Simon, really did a great job of coordinator and everything went very very smoothly n was set up very nicely for both my ROM and dinner. My banquet coordinator,Dennis,also did a great job of coordinating the timing of march in,guiding us in the champagne pouring, cake cutting and such. And i'm really surprised and pleased at how proactive they all. Before the wedding, we had informed them that there are 5 tables with 11 pax and thought they will charge us the additional pax .In the end,some guests didn't turn up and only 1 table ended up with 11 pax. They inform us that they will charge us only that 1 table with 11 pax even though they had prepared the additional food for the 5 tables. Very surprised n pleased with their initiativeness. =D

The bridal suite is also extremely lovely n big , n they even did a lovely rose deco with flowers, champagne n teddy bears. My sis n sis-in-law who got married at sheraton n fullerton said the suite is even bigger than theirs. =D ..Angpow box provided is very beautiful too. I'm quite surprised as i thought it'll just be a simple box, n even prepared my own. This is a pic of how the box looks like..
934731.jpg

poohbear80

Hi Audrey

Congrats to you..leaving for honeymoon?

Thanks for your positive remarks and encouragement to go ahead with my banquet. ;)

Wah, M hotel is really good. Must learn from u how to win their hearts....lol. When I told some friends abt getting M hotel as my wedding banquet venue. Most of them say..wah..very good hotel. Really hope its really gd.

The red ang pao box is prepared by you or the M hotel? Its really nice.