M Hotel Singapore

lilostitch12

Hi Bluwinte,
initially we wanted to take away shark fins from our menu as well. So we tried the fish maw soup during food tasting... But in laws insisted on shark fins. Had the same problem as you..

Here is my menu

-Cold Dish combi
-Braised shark fins with crabmeat
-Braised whole baby abalone with chinese spinach
-Steamed Pomfret in Teochew style
-Crispy roasted chicken enhanced with fried garlic and fragrant leaves
-Stir fried fresh scallops with xo sauce
-Braised ee fu noodles with crabmeat and chives
-Sweetened red bean paste.

bluwinte

Lilo> we will be having the 8 treasure soup uring our food tasting, hopefully it taste good then we will do away with it..

did you try the soon hock, & the stir fried prawns, & the mango pudding during your food tasting?? Was thinking to have them for mine~ & was the abalone really small in size?? hehee

lilostitch12

hi bluwinte,

we didnt try soon hock and prawns.. we kept everything the same except changing fish maw soup to shark fins.

The abalone served is a whole baby abalone.. Size is acceptable lah..of cos cannot compare with the fist size abalone = ) Unlike most banquets, abalone are served in slices instead of the whole thing. So presentation still looks good lah =)

bluwinte

Lilo> i see i see~ so the taste okie?? who was yr co-ordinator?? i'm so so excited~ i'm thinking of the U-shape march in.. think its v strange... but bo bian.. sign liao

lilostitch12

hi bluwinte,

My coodinator was simon.
I think the food taste good leh.. So far no complaint abt the quality of food on our dinner..

The U shape march in is not a problem lah.. At first i also find it strange, but you wont feel so on the actual march-in itself..

The only complaint that I have is I dont like the position where they place my photo albums (i.e. the table top where the mirrors are). It is far from the receptionist table and alot of our guests didnt catch our photo albums..sigh

seb1816

hi i also considering the package at the anson room or the banquet suite...

can anyone tell me if it is really justifiable for the price difference?

how is the overall experience? can share some photo of the actual day itself? thanks alot!

ms_mango

Hi All M hotel BTB!

I have booked M hotel early this year. My AD is 18 Oct 09 at Banquet Suite. Anyone on the same day?

My co-ordinator is Simon. I am very happy to see soooo many good reviews so far. I hope mine will be as wonderful next year

piglit21

seb1816

banquet suite is located at level 10, you can have the whole floor by yourself with a VIP room for bride to do her changing, make-up, the couple to rest etc i think attached with washroom too, the ballroom ceiling is higher than anson room, no pillars, more grand, u can create ur own menu (from the list available) whereas anson room menus is fixed.

Anson room is located at the level 2, layout is not as great as banquet suite.

check ur mail box!

meyou

I just had my wedding dinner at M Hotel on Monday. Overall, I can say the experience with them is great! They have very good customer service, such as immediately helping you with your stuff once you've reached the hotel. Preparing the pre-dinner snack for us, assuring us that they will take care of things etc etc... and the room deco is nice!

One thing to note about the dinner is that you have to confirm with your co-ordinator that your VIP table is seated for 12 pax. As I wasn't aware that it requires confirmation or so, they've only arrange for 10 pax. But in any case, they have solved the problem on the spot when we feedbacked the arrangment with them.

Food wise, the comments that I received is that its normal.

Overall, it's a pleasant experience working with the people in M hotel (Simon & David). They have done an excellent job & in assuring an anxious bride like me that everything is taken care of & under control.

Thumbs up!

maudrey

i'm looking to include M Hotel on my shortlist of venues for my wedding dinner. can anyone please share feedback on the perks of their package - decor, favours, invites? thanks.

piglit21

maudrey

u can request your coordinator to send u the wedding theme photos, invites etc. , check with them any wedding show coming up, more perks during the perks.

Basically their perks are quite comprehensive.

meyou

My AD is in banquet room (Level 10). Sorry..Have not gotten my pics from my photographer yet. But there are some pics posted by others previously. You may want to look through those...

Their room deco is very nice (even has a jacuzzi inside!) Banquet deco is good..favours so-so..invites not as nice as other 5 stars hotels.. but to me, that is secondary.. U can always print your own invite if you really detest theirs..

Cheers..

shanshine

Anyone successfully gotten an extra night stay in the Bridal room or have asked for other perks in the package?

Thanks in advance!!

maudrey

hi piglit,

thanks for the info. I can't go to any wedding shows just yet cos i'm still overseas. i think i will have to rely on feedback from brides when deciding on our venue since i'm away. i really like the details to be perfect that's why i'm asking about perks.

dodolet

I think M hotel favours pretty limited though. We had to make do with the cup and saucer. I would like something more quirky and fun.

The cards for me was pretty nice as I love the red card with the big double happiness.

For banquet room we are given angbao box(round leather bound look) and guest signature book. I asked for the ap box and the book to be given earlier so that I can deco it, but early by afew days only. T.T

The good thing is you can mix and match abit for the deco, as long the sections used fresh flowers. I am pretty thankful certain things they are more flexible with.

So far, Simon had responded pretty quicky to your queries usually. Oh.. haven seen him for sometime and saw him today.. He got a different zhao xing now.. LOL.

ms_mango

Hi cayenne

Did M Hotel provide ang bao box? I remember reading a post saying they only provide guestbook only. But my package did indicate inclusice Ang bao box. If you have used theirs, do you have a pic of it?

lilostitch12

Hey everyone..

I am writting this msg in the bridal suite in M Hotel now.. heee

Excellent facilites and alot alot of space and a big jaccuzi...

BTW, I didnt have ang pow box provided on my AD leh..I have to use my own.

siling3

Hi lilostitch12,

wow, so cool... to b writing in ur suit!!! ur AD is held in which room? Im trying to decide whether to hold it in the Anson room.

lilostitch12

Hi Siling,

Yup yup.. I stayed in the helper's room (converted to a one nite stay) on my AD and redeemed a bridal suite voucher for another visit.

Mine was held in banquet suite..

If you are not too bothered about the layout and the lower ceiling, i think Anson room is worth considering as the package is very valued for $$

Cheers and merry xmas to all = )

siling3

Hi lilostitch12,

thks.. just confirmed w Eugene on the Anson Room. m gg to be a M hotel BTB... haha... ya, the package is very comprehensive given that kind of price. hee... hope u r enjoying urself now.

Merry Xmas and Happi New Year!!! ~~~

poohbear80

My fiance and myself have just confirmed with Eugene today. The package was very attractive and also no ++. lol.

My wedding will be on 1 Aug 09.

Congrats everyone

poohbear80

Hi Catherine

I guess Eugene is the new coordinator. But I felt he wasnt very friendly, quite stern looking. Anyway, we will be working more with the banquet manager..

My package was very attractive. Very pleased with the package. Now have to start working on my dinner part, church wedding plans just started. Any tips/advise/plan to go abt doing the dinner planning?

siling3

Hi strawberry, oh, u mean the person who serves u (Eugene) wont b ur main coordinator? mind telling me wat u got? just wanna noe if i miss out on anything....

by the way, u took the Anson room or the Banquet suite? Have u placed the deposit?

poohbear80

Hi Siling

I think so..Eugene says I will be working more with the banquet manager however I still work with him on little part.

I cant remember exactly the package though...but these are the extra perks were given to us

1) 1 bottle of red wine for every table + free flow of beer
2) 25 confirmed table + 1 free table
3)1 bridal suite + 1 helper suite
3)Food tasting for 10 paxs
4)waiver of corkages

I booked Anson Room..When is yr AD?

siling3

hI STRAWBERRY,

yea, got the same perks as urs. these are actually given during the wedding show in Jan. so, glad that we are able to have them now. haha...

My AD on 1 May 2009. just place the deposit todae.

miomio

I have shortlist M Hotel Anson Room and Novotel Cinnamon room, as i only have 20-25tables. Dunno which to chose, both are as cosy ..

Anyone hold their wedding in Anson Room?, any good feedback ?

poohbear80

Hi Pika

I think the helpers' room we extend to overnight under the 5 choices we get to choose from.

Hi Siling
Ya. Eugene extended the Jan 2009 promotion to us.
My fiance after seeing the package, bridal room and anson room. He was so pleased that he immediately agreed to sign.

Wah, yr AD is so near. only 5 more months ;).

Hi Esther
Before and after signing with M hotel, I was told by many pple that M hotel is very gd. To be frank, so far I have yet to hear any negative comments. I attended a wedding dinner at Novotel in Sept this yr, the food is so so.

dodolet

Just finished my wedding dinner at M hotel banquet room.

The comments from my guests were excellent ambience and good service. Only the fish was commented as abit stubborn.. >.<

Anyway, the M hotel staff are very adaptable to change and the banquet Manager David had helped us to make our event a successful one.

Oh we extended the stay in the helper's room too as we dun think we can enjoy the comfort of the bridal suite on the wedding banquet day. ^^

siling3

Hi strawberry, to be exact, its only 4 months more to my AD!!! wahahha... cos 1 May 2009 ma...

Haven been to Novetel so cant gif comments.

seems lk many take up the banquet suite.. anybody had theirs in Anson room?

whitequeeniie

Just went to M hotel's Banquet Suite for my dear sister's wedding! It was tiring, very! However, It was a fabuluous dinner on that day. Many thanks to Simon Wong, the sales coordinator &amp; not forgetting the banquet manager, Dennis Ng &amp; his team for making this wedding a success. My parents and relatives were praising for the gd job done!

read through the threads and found out that Dennis is from Carlton previously? He looks very young yet full of experiences.

siling3

Can I check for the printing of inserts, does M hotel has their own printer? Otherwise, does anyone has recommendations?

Will be having my AD at M Hotel on the 12th Feb 09, 10th floor banquet suite. Coordinator: Simon :D

Can anyone recommend what dishes are nice? I'm pondering over what dishes i should select for my food tasting..Have any1 seen the chopsticks wedding favour? We are also debating whether to select that for our wedding favour leh..

Siling, I don't think M hotel has their own printers, but they will recommend some printers to go to. Price is reasonable bah.It's around 150 pieces for $180. However, we didn't print on insert, but on the actual card itself. I think it's too troublesome to have to tie the insert to the card. :p

dodolet

Hi Audrey,
Had my dinner at the banquet suite in end Dec.

From the feedbacks of my friends,
cold dish fav - salad prawns and suckling pig
Shark fins - we had the one with the 4 things inside. It was excellent.
Veg - we had the abalone with bai ling gu and spinach. It was good, but the old folks (okie.. the >70s) was commenting that the abalone was hard for them.
Fish - we had groupa and most commented that it was stubborn.
Prawns - we had the herbal prawns and the comments was good.
Chicken - the crispy chicken was subjective. Some found it salty near the inner bone parts some found it okie. soo...

Oh yeah, the AP box from M hotel is pretty good remember to get from them. The signature book was those with pearl glaze on them. We had to end up using ball point pens as the gel or glitter pens smudged badly.

crrabb

Anyone needs extra wedding cards from M hotel? I have 100+ cards willing to give away, they are mixture of the 2 red designs in '08. Self-collection near Bedok or Alexandra area. Interested pls email me at [email protected].

crrabb

I had my wedding dinner at Banquet Suite in Oct 08. Overall experience with M hotel is great and satisfying!

Would like to give credits to the hotel staff, especially Colette, David and Steven. Colette has been a great coordinator, professional, and willing to answer my thousand questions back then. David and Steven had been very very helpful during our wedding dinner time, helping us new birds on what to do, helping to resolve last minute issues e.g. adding new seats, new muslim/vege meals. Infact we only found out that night that David and my hubby comes from the same hometown, and is "somehow" related to my hubby's bestman.. Haha, what a small world..

Foodwise, all of my guests give above average ratings. I didn't hear a single -ve remarks. Too bad I don't get to eat any after the 1st 2 dishes. (On hindsight, could have asked them to reserve the food so that we can takeaway after the dinner; Don't waste the food la..).

Banquet suite wise, we had the full 32 table setting, and it was a bit squeezed. The front 4 tables wouldn't be able to see the stage and the projectors. In my opinion, 28 tables would be the maximum for best layout.

In summary, M hotel has a competitive package, convenient location, good service, good food, which I feel is value-for-money.

mrmrs

hi all, my htb and i are considering M hotel for our banquet dinner. has anyone heard of any negative comments about them before? so far all the comments seems quite good! and the bridal suite which i saw on their brouchure like very nice!