Lightings

xyz123

Hi aquarius_888,
if false ceilings/L-box, dun think u will be using halogen, u shld be using those tube type, think also known as PLC. if it is PLC, so should be ok.

u can see the energy consumption from the rating of the bulb/lamp, etc. normal PLC tubes (for false ceilings) comes in range from 10-18W. halogen usually is 50W per bulb. normal fluorescent is 18W, 22W, 32W and 40W. 40W is recommended for living room.

with the rating, u can calculate how much is your energy consumption. e.g, if u using PLC tube with ratings of 10W, you will be consuming 120W (12x10W). if you using halogen of 50W, your consumption will be 720W.

aquarius_888

Hi xyz123

Thanks for the infos. Will go to balestier one of the weekend.

pepsi

Just to share that you may want to consider Pacific Lightings. They do have advertisement in the papers sometime on "warehouse sale". They told me they supply lights to some retailers. Price wise, reasonable. Service is good. The staff is polite, delivery is on time.
Can consider this place if u are looking esp for those round, simple kind of ceiling lights, they have more choices than e.g. Chan Huat. And cost only $35 for 32watt kind. They have other varieties too, quite simple and classic kind. But if u r looking for chandeliers, or more complicated kind of lights, can give this a miss.

balicraze

juz to recommend a wholesaler/distributor that i juz came across recently through my electrician doing up my new hse.

This shop/showroom operation time is like office hours Mon-Fri 9.30am till 6.00pm, Sat 9.30 till 1.00pm. PH/Sunday closed.

I've bought quite alot of PLC square downlights with Osram bulbs, some lights for kitchen, study room and 18 pcs of ultra slim flouresent tube lights (no need to use starter and ballast) is electronic start. I find the prices quite cheap as compared to shops in Balestier.
The light which I got for study selling me $50+. Singapore and Chan Huat in Balestier i saw identical selling $160/-.
Or maybe I didn't mention I'm from SB... haha!

One thing I've learnt is that most downlights, halogens, flouresent tubes which are common items in most shops, they tends to sell cheaper or should say competitve moderate price. BUT, for single lighting unit which depends on designs and qualities, brands etc.. theres always different prices if you compare identical light from different shops. (example my kitchen and study rm ceiling light).

So dun feel happy that the shop you may find price is low bcos of the PLC or halogen selling you is cheap. They tends to sell higher for other lightings which caught your eye. Juz my 2 cents of thought.

Do hunt around and check prices.

The lighting shop i went is:
Address :
Kingslight Pte Ltd.
396 Race Course Rd
Tel : 62939402

Is juz few streets away from Balestier.

I've bought the items through a lady named Karen (if i din forget her name).

Hope this info do help some members here since I've learn quite alot from this site.

cookies_gal

Hi people,

Anyone here has any comments (both price & service) on the lighting firm Lighting Centre? They have a lot of branches in S'pore (eg, Balestier, IMM, Jln Besar, Geylang etc) & they have quite a good range of lights.

afcai

Hi cookie's gal,

maybe u can go to Chuan Huat Hup biggest shrm at balestier(2nd level) and browse ard, they have various of lightling to choose from, their pricing is reasonable and services is gd that's why l bought my lighting there.
maybe u would also like to take a look at the comment posted at "Cheap lightings shop to recommend" thread.

cookies_gal

Hi afcai,

Thanks for the suggestions. Actually, my hubby & I dropped by the Chuan Huat Hup show room over the weekend after we read about the recommendations posted here. However, it didn't have what we were looking for. We saw what we wanted in Lighting Centre instead, so I'm just checking to see if anyone has any comments on this firm before we make our final decision.

iz_33

by the way for those who are looking for lights.Can try visiting E lite illumination at Jalan Besar at New world centre. Got quite a lot of range and the staff there also very polite.Cheerz

whitelily

My two cents worth after getting cheated by LIGHTS AND LIGHTS...NOT ADVISED AT ALL to buy from there as they tend to overcharge! It is better to buy from all other shops because LNL charges almost double. I realised it too late. For instance, I was charged $90 for one acrylic sqaure-shaped light. But in fact, I could have gotten it at $50! Other items include fluorescent tubes at more than $20 each! Sadly, I only realised it after paying the deposit as I am not a seasoned buyer. Should not have believed the sales person there. When I tried to negotiate with the boss, he simply said he is a very busy person and pushed us back to the salesperson. I really do not know why we bought from there in the first place. But other than regrets, I am here to warn potential buyers out there to beware of LIGHTS N LIGHTS and remember to compare prices from many different shops before making the final decision. Any idea what actions I can take for being over-charged by almost double?

whitelily

The shop is in Balestier. Make sure you open your eyes wide and avoid it! I was a sincere customer of the shop, and am not any competitor I assure you!

bennysmurf

recommend this shop called Crown Lighting at 600 Geylang Road.
The shopowner is called Sunny, quite friendly.
My advice is for you to see what kins of lighting design you like at other shop and then go to him and tell him. He knows got lots of "lobang", so he will be able to get you a good price for them.
Best of all, he personally delivers of the lights most of the time. Last weekend, I ordered some downlights from him and told him they needed to be delivered by MONDAY cos my electricians would be at my place. He took the effort to get his friend to deliver 2 downlights first in the early afternoon and he came down with the rest in the evening (cos warehouse delayed the delivery to Sunny), so that the electricians would have something to do. He even apologised to my contractor's electricians for being late and offered to buy them drinks.
Here is what I orered:
Kitchen - 2 round glass lights 32W/ Toshiba tube (R.O.C.)
=> $30 each
Living Room - 8 4ft Toshiba flourescent tube (day-light) c/w 2 clips each and starter
=> $6.50 each
- 8 PLC aluminium die-cast round downlights (glass flush wif surface) c/w Philips 13w (Holland) and ERC (italy) ballast
=> $16 each
2 bedrooms - 2 40W round glass lights, with glass outer-rim c/w 32W tube (4got brand) and ERC (italy) starter.
=> $60 each
walk-in-wardrobe - same design as bedroom ones except 22W c/w 22W tube instead.
=> $45

He will try to give you good parts (eg PLC, ballast, starter) from Italy, Holland, Japan.
Just let him know Benny (me!) recommended you.

a_k

anyone bought lights at light pro at imm. happen to pass by there & saw they got quite a range of lightings there. i think i ever saw comments on this shop but i cant rem if it is good one or bad one. anyone can help to advise. thks.

raindew

Ak, I purchased lightings at Light Pro (Balestier) some months back. Would advice you to buy at your own risk.

For my purchase of more than 30 lightings, it gave me so much problem and unhappiness. More than 70% of the lights were either faulty or wrong delivery. And alot of excuses were given just to avoid refunding us the money for their problematic lights.

Only manage to get refund for 3 bedroom lights. Up till now (from May till now where my reno. has complete), my common toilet light (hamburger light somemore!) is still faulty and during the renovation period, 2 halogen lights and 1 downlight have to be replaced again.

During my demand to seek a refund for my bedroom lights, the following excuses were given to avoid full refund :
1) We have to absorb GST charges
2) We are liable for credit card administrative charges

A very lengthy and unhappy process for me. Don't want to repeat again. To summarise, a very unhappy period.

Their prices are actually much higher than other lightings shop. I regretted trusting my contractor and not doing my research on other lightings shops.

I would rank this the worst retailer I have ever met. Thought the MD ultimately refund us, the shop and its sales manager has already made me determine of not buying anything from them again. Once bitten, twice shy

fallen

Hi all, plse dun go Palace of Lights & Furnishings to buy your lights!

THEY ARE NOT TRUSTWORTHY!

I regret listening to my ID's "referral" to go and see their lights.
I bought > $1k worth of lights + ceiling fan frm them only to find that they ripped me off big-time!

I took a walk along Jln Besar and Balestier Rd yesterday and today while hunting for my bathrm accessories and out of some nagging suspicions, i popped in quite a no. of lightings shops.
And my sense of buyer's regret gets stronger and stronger! =(

List of items bought - price i paid VS 3rd party quote
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. 1 x KDK ceiling fan w remote - $200 each VS $170!
2. 2 x 50w Halogen d/l cw transformer in square silver frame - paid $25 each VS $20 quote!
3. 11 x PLC 10w d/l in square die-cast metal silver frame - paid $18 each VS $14 quote!
4. 8 x PLC 2x13w d/l in square die-cast metal silver frame - paid $35 VS $28 quote!
5. 2 x 2D(tube) 38w in round white metal holder wif acrylic cover - paid $85 VS $20 quote!
6. 2 x 18w "energy saving" d/l in silver cylinder holder - paid $65 vs $40 quote!
7. 3 x 40w+32w+IC wif round glass cover with silver metal trim - paid $115 vs $90 quote!

All in all, Palace of Lights overcharged me by $345!!!!

Further note that the 3rd party prices i was quoted was b4 bargaining with the shops somemore!

*Wails* what a SUPER BIG CARROT i have been!

When I went to confront the sales person as the amt involved is not a small sum, he gave some crap story that their lights, holders all come frm spain and their ballast are gd quality one frm australia. BS! I went to some other lighting shops and for the same price i had paid, i was able to get better quality lights, ballast etc frm germany etc. And the finishes and mechanisms realli haf a lot of diff! I am so fuming mad at Palace of Lights!

So please dun buy frm them and spread the word around so tat your friends won't have to go thru the "heart-ache" that i am having now!

During my "post-light purchase" trips to Balestier yesterday & today, i found 2 shops whose designs are nicer, quality better and prices much more reaonable than Palace of lights

1) A.F. Lighting House
329 Balestier Rd
- Look for Mr Steven Chin. Veri friendly and patient despite my endless asking of prices for various lights, cty of origin/mfg and even opening of all lights to see the quality of finishes.

2)Lights Zone Enterprise
338 Balestier Rd
Nice trendy design lights with reasonable prices.
- Look for Joevin Neo.

I also find Chan Huat's lights pretti expensive despite me being such a big carrot to Palace of Lights liao. But their design range is quite extensive.

So, please take note of my painful experience and DUN BUY LIGHTS FRM PALACE OF LIGHTS!!!!!!

fanta

Hi dracwy,
The chandelier you're looking for looks exactly like the one we're having at my current plc. Bought it fm Ikea too but few years back liao. Found it quite troublesome to maintain cos nid to change bulb frequently.

tulip94

Any comments or experience with Simply Lights and Euro Lightings. My id told me that he knows the people there and can help us to get discount. We need to get our lightings very soon. Appreciate any advices you'd share. Thanks.

magnum

Never go with your id to their so called recommended shop, this is becoz the lighting shop usually give your id commission for bringing them customers, and it is at least 15%, some even demand 30%. And yes, this commission comes from you ==> the big carrot.

magnum

fyi, a number of shops in balestier are from the same boss, so checking out prices in the same area doesnt help actually.

bennysmurf

yet another example:
Balestier Lightings
Lumiere
Lightology
Euro Lightings (not sure the name, but I am sure it is to the left of the Taiwan porridge shop in balestier)
VLUX (Geylang)

genesisgalaxy

Looked for iron wrought chandeliers too
coz my painter BROKE OUR cone-shaped shade!!!!!!

So irriating.

finally found a similar one (altho not iron wrought...more of silverish colour) at Nam Wah near the fire station at bedok / simei.

Nam Wah is having a sale now...lights are super cheap....chandeliers going as cheap as $90..i bought mine at $160. The usual price was $300+ !!! all the lights there are goinng at 50% discount....they've got quite a number there, from hanging chandeliers, to hanging individual lights (modern zen look). all 50%..if i'm not wrong, the sale barely started days ago.

Went there to look for basins, ended up buying lights.

blurqueen

We bought our lights from Simply Lightings, VLUX and Lumiere.

Simply Lightings price is cheapest and Alex's service is excellent. Highly recommended!!!

genesisgalaxy

It's just next to Lorenzo.
At the fire station after the temple at Bedok Nth Ave 5, instead of turning left to Tampines/Simei, go straight ahead after the traffic light. It is just right in front.

Hope u can find it!

tanlh

Hello genesisgalaxy,

I have checked the street directory and found that there is no Bedok Nth Ave 5, only up to Ave 4, can you confirm again cause I have tried to source around but could not find...

genesisgalaxy

OOps
i dunno if it's bedok nth ave 5 or bedok nth st 5.....because that ave/st is a new one, for industrial/warehouse purposes. Ok...why don't you look up the directory again & look for the fire station near bedok nth ave 4. Coupled with handydog's info, you shld be able to find it.

yuuri

Has anyone here gone to POINT-ONE @ Jln Besar Rd?

I found down-light there, fully die-cast, single tube (NEC) @ $13

a__a

Hi all, I've just purchased my lightings from Lumiere & Chan Huat. Total abt 1.4k.
I will recommend Lumiere for their range of lights which are not available in other shops.
Servicewise is very good from my salesperson.

p2me1a

hi A & A,

did you get any downlights from Lumiere and Chan Huat? we were looking at lights at those 2 places yesterday too. and the PLC lights were (ir I recall correctly) more in the range of $25 - $35... not so the $10+ range I see people have been posting. so I am wondering what is a reasonable price to pay for downlights now...

anyone else bought downlights recently and care to share how much you paid for them and where the ballast or whatever parts are made in?

thanks thanks

pst

Just bought 9 items from Palace of Lights(Balestic that stretch). Was charged $1300 for the lights and no installation. Felt ok and reasonable lor.

I ever went to Lights And Lights and was somehow being cheated by the salesperson.

yuuri

Hi pst,
I bought my downlights from Point One, at $13 per pc.

Missylan,
Why you say that about Lights and Lights? Cos' I just bought a light there....

Yuuri,
I bought some lights from them for my office use. I remember asking the salesperson whether the light he intro is the brightest in the market. Cos my unit is a high ceiling one, I need the bulb to be the brightest. He just nodded and nodded. For that lamps, I bought 4 from them. Ended up it is totally very dim. Even I get another new 4 from them, it will remain dim. After few weeks, I saw my neighbour using the "real" bright ones and got the contact from him.
My present contractor also have issue with Lights & Lights... But didn't ask him much lah

p2me1a

hi yuuri,

wow so cheap??? where is Point One??? Is yours a PLC light that can fit two 13 watt bulbs as well?

pst

yuuri

pst,
It's somewhere along Jln Bersah rd...forgot the exact address...can find in the yahoo biz listings

Ermm..what is PLC? I forgot already....but yes, can fit 1 or 2 bulbs

p2me1a

hi yuuri,

thanks for your reply.
okay will check out the yellowpages or something.

hehehe sorry I also dunno what PLC stands for hahaha... but then that's what they call downlights also, I think. hehehe...

pst

magnum

never go to l*g*t*ng square in Jln Bersah (opposite mac). very bad experience with that shop, so ppl please be careful.

kenneth

Hi the things abt lightings is that u can't just compare in absolute term one downlight to another. Most ppl will buy a lot of items, even all from a single shop. By doing that, there will certainly be better discount off the package then a single item alone.
So we can't possibly compare absolute prices to prices as another cheaper downlight could possibly be from a package price.
Oh..lastly bargain and bargain!!!

a__a

Hi pst,
I got downlights from both shops.
Cost me abt $24 each for 13w one.
It's definitely much more ex than e ones quoted here.
However I think the exact type of finishing must be e same for accurate comparison.
Like what most pple here recommends, go down & take a look for yourself..
It'll not cost you anything except time & effort..
BTW you find joy in it too!! ;-)

magnum

fyi, for those who bought the 2 ft double tube flourscent lights with reflector, please check the reflector. almost all the lighting shops in balestier and jalan besar have problems with the reflectors.

p2me1a

thanks for all your comments and suggestions. yeah I think nutty is right, there're so many different sorts of downlights with different ballasts, tubes, amp, etc that one would really have to do their own groudwork to see what they need.

we got our lights last nigth from this place in Shaw Plaza shopping centre along balestier rd, by the name of Thomson Lighting. we spoke to a guy called Ben. he's really funny and nice and weren't pushing us to buy expensive lights etc. in fact, he was telling me to buy like ordinary 'hamburger lights' for certain places in the house instead of buying 'nice lights'... so... anywayz we thot he was very good and the prices also quite alright. also got our downlights double auzzie ballast double 13W for $24. I suppose it's not rock-bottom prices, but I guess such things, one cent money one cent goods eh...

pst

kimmie

Hi anybody has comments/experience with Light Arcade in Balestier Road? We went down to Balestier stretch and so far the shopowner there has been the most helpful. Just wanted to know in terms of pricing and after sales installation, do they provide fair service?