LASIK at SNEC

Just to share for those who are concern or worried doing LASIK at SNEC. Im one sucessful op patient as well. I had high myopia of 800 each per eye with some astig but now i had perfect eyesight by Dr Jon Goh. He had been very attentive as i had allergic to a antibotic eye drop that causes my eye pressure to shoot up high giving bad headache which he takes special care into it. I did it in may 05, no problem and still perfect eyesight. =)

wow.. if want Dr Ang to do my op, must wait till sept? I can't wait so long, worry I'll get cold feet again and opt out hehehe..

Sept? That's long... Unless you can get dates where ppl opt out/change dates...

I only know I called them several times and they finally gave me a date...

That time suppose to be on May but they only have dates for Jun...

Because Dr Ang is very popular and has many patients, I would suggest that you email him before the assessment to get him to reserve an earlier date for you. This will help to shorten the waiting time for surgery.

Indeed very popular... But even I called him, he can't control the schedule as it's the surgery room availability... So I kept calling the surgery hotline... And it's works...

acty i am not terribly happy lor. I was told that the waiting was 1-2 mths before i went for assesment, which i was ok with. But now turn out to be 4 mths after the assesment. Now I'd kenna the gst hike, and i am not happy cos if they truthfully told me the waiting time, i'd have considered otehr options. it isnt the amount of money, but it is a matter of principle. i don't see why i shld be paying more because of his huge backlong and heavy patient load. i wrote to ask him abt pushing it forward...afterall my appt was made in early may and gg by what was told to me, i would have been able to beat the gst hike lor...

Hi HydrogenRainbow

I would suggest that contact him directly to try and get an earlier date. Dr Ang’s super nice- he made special arrangements for my friends to have their waiting time cut short. He even operated at special times to accommodate my friends. Most of my friends had their surgery done within 1-2 months from the assessment.

Let him know directly you want op earlier and I’m sure he will try and help you. I don't know of any doctor who gives such personal treatment. Don't worry- I'm sure he will be happy to help you out if you let him know your want to do op earlier.

thanks for advice, pokerdot. i sent him an email asking him if he can push to late june, before the gst hike. but i am not sure if staring at excel spreadsheets day in day out will be too taxing on my eyes....i kinda asked him for advice on that also.
special times? what do u mean? do u mean someetime in the late evening or sth?

The doc that I made appt with was within 1 month. Pre-assessment + Op can be done on the same day! That's the only good thing with private clinic hehe..

Hi HydrogenRainbow

Some good news. My friends who just saw Dr Ang also asked him about the GST hike. He reassured them that as long as they are seen before the GST hike, even if their surgery is scheduled after the GST hike, he would help to absorb the difference in cost, so that the total cost would essentially be the same. You could discuss that with him also.

My friends got their surgeries done within 1-2 months. Many of them contacted him before the assessment and they let him know their requests ahead of time- this helps a lot. If you request to have your op earlier, he will try and make arrangements for it. He was also prepared to operate on my friends outside his regular operating times.

BTW, my friend tried to email him recently and couldn’t get thru. She called him and realized there is a typo error on the card. His email address should actually be [email protected] (without a dot before @). A faster way is to just to call him directly and speak to him.

ok thanks a lot for the good news, pokerdot!
i actually pointed that out to him in the email, but he hasnt replied. but now I know that there is an error in the email addy

hehe my bf will be doing it under him in 2 weeks time. scheduled for 14 n 15 jun. for me is still qtn mark. not cfm yet tho most likely can do between 20 jul-20 aug when i am free

Cool... Mine on 13 & 14th... Kekeke...

I believe your bf will be able to feedback to you on the whole process... :D

yeah
but experience wise i think it;ll be diff cos he's doing ladarvision while i am doing planoscan. for ladarvision you'd experience bluriness for a week or so. i dun think that will be the case for planoscan.plus he has worse myopia.good luck for your op! rem to post! :D

I am supposedly to meet up with Dr Ang for pre-operative consultation too. But i couldnt make it on that day due to fever. He called to follow up, and before that, he called twice too.
I was a little taken aback initially that a eye surgeon like him bother to do so.

Hi Ceil J

Dr Ang also contacted me before the assessment to ask me to go a bit earlier so that I won’t have to wait so long, because his clinic gets quite crowded towards the later part. It was very nice of him to do so.

I also had to reschedule my appointment and just called him directly. He was very nice to help arrange everything for me. The other day I wanted to go down to see him and he just squeezed me in. It’s much easier and he’s much more flexible than calling thru the normal appointment line.

I really like that he’s so approachable and helpful. hehe

Just went for my pre-operative consultation with Dr Ang today. The lasik surgery is scheduled on 24 and 25 September 2007, but i asked to be put on waiting list for an earlier possible date if there's any cancellation.

Icy baby, my bf's surgery has been resecheduled and it is the same as yours! 13 and 14. *envious* I still ahve 5 more weeks to go till the end of my internship. So sian

Hi, this is my first post here. Would appreciate some advise. Understand that only senior consultant can do both eyes during the lasik. Can Dr Ang do both? I doubt I have the heart to go through the operations twice:P

Thanks thanks

Hi, I be doing my lasik soon but at LSC... any comments about them?
Furthermore, my friend told me that if I do now, when I get pregnant, hormonal changes will cause my eyesight to worsen again and I will need specs again... true?
Help!!! I need to do before committing to do lasik...

I've talked with Dr Ang on operating both eyes at one go but he advised against it. He said, it's safer to do one eye at a time. He mentioned if something happened to one of the eyes during the operation then the surgeon would only be able to operate and rectify the problem after 3 months. But if you do one eye at a time, if something happened you still have one good eye to rely on.
The risks are definitely higher to do both eyes together.

I would be going for my lasik surgery on 18 and 19 June 2007, it has be brought forward from 24 and 25 September 2007.

Mindy

I did my surgery at LSC last month. Now my eyes are prefect. Usually it's not advisable to undergo any type of surgery if pregnant. You better check with them first...

I have done both my eyes... Phew... Right eye recoving ok...
Still waiting for my left to settle down....

I only know it's not advisable to operate during pregnancy as your degree might vary during the time...

Hi Beanniebean, I am not pregnant now but my friend told me that if I do it now. Then If I get preganant next time, my eyesight will get affected and need specs again. Just want to know if it is true

Hi Ceil,

Thanks. I have spoken to Dr Ang and he too said the same thing. Hey my assessment is scheduled on 19 June, maybe I can see you there. All the best to you!!

Hi Mindy, my fren got pregnant after the lasik op but she did not mention about having poor eyesight. When she has given birth, her eyesight still the same perfect. Only when you are pregnant then you are not advised to undergo lasik.

the other fren of mine did hers at LSC under Dr Tay recently. She finds him good. Do remember to ask for corporate plan. Or say someone recommended you. In all she pay ard $2.6K w GST.

Hi,All

i will be meeting with dr Chan TK next week for assessment. any comments abt him? I actually did my right eyes two years back but was with another lasik clinic.. finally got the courage to do my left eye.. I got as high as 1350 degree with asti abt 200.. it is as good as close to blind.. just wonder how many days in total after the lasik we will need to take to rest at home? The last time I did, i took abt 3weeks off to recover OK vision.. i hope not so long this time round...

3 weeks are normal for u as ur degree are too high... My doctor explain that our body needs to get use to the perfect vision, that's y we take longer to recover... It has been 6 days for me but I've not recovered fully.. :D

hmm... I am told that I can get as many as 2 weeks MC... but worried that my boss is unhappy and so decide to come back after one week... wonder if it is advisable

can lasik cure both short-sightness as well as the asti? I have 250 degree and 125 asti on each eye?

Hi, icy baby

I shared your view too..hmm.. seem like I will also have to take at least two weeks off to rest.. it is the healing period that I dread mann.. If I do not have such high degree, i wun ever consider going it..one thousand plus degree, can u imagine? how badly i will have to rely on lens..

Hi,Mindy

I would take leave then to fall back on MC.. normally, bosses dun like MC already and it is eye correction MC u are taking, dun think your boss will be very happy.. just my 2 cts of tots..

Hi, armando

Think your chance is pretty high to have both totally corrected.. last time my doc said those with lower degree and ast stands a higher chance and also can go for 2nd correction if your cornea thickness allows it.. can call SNEC for an assessment.

Hi Ceil,

Any update of your lasik? How u find Dr Ang huh? May I know how long is your mc? I will be doing mine on nx tue & wed. Now it's my turn to be scared and excited :P

Hi maltbibi
Everything's fine. Just waiting for the eyes to heal and stablize. Dr Ang is a patient and responsible. You're definitely in his good hands.

Hi Ceil,

May I know which eye lubricant did Dr Ang prescribe to you? Watson is having promo for Refresh Plus and am thinking whether should I stock up some.

Anyone can advise me pls?