LASIK at SNEC

michelle_

i tot of going thru the lasik too. my vision it's around 8.5/9.0 cannot remember. Any idea how much it will cost?

winterluv

yes...6/6..but pretty dry still need to put eye-lubricant...unlike my colq they did it in TTS Hospital..1 yr earlier than me..n now need not put lubricant...but astic still comes back

winterluv

yes...for e eye lasik surgery i paid $2.6k for both eyes and SNEC offers free interes instalment if you pay by one of their recognised credit card company. There is subsequent follow-up checkup etc.. which I only went back for 3-4 times only and closed files leow...my colq. they went to TTS Hospital under the senior consultant, was 4-5k.

michelle_

winter,

is it painful? and do you need to go down for check up before the surgery? I heard that there's no 100% recovery right. any side effect?

idyllic

winter,

I think your 2.6k is just for the surgery alone right, excluding all pre and post consultants and eyedrops? For those interested, the price at SNEC is still around the same now - $1,350 per eye so both eyes will be 2.7k.

But then do keep in mind the costs before and after surgery too. Pre-op test will be about $150+, follow-up consultants $40 each. You'll need to buy eyedrops, first time around $30 (antibiotic and lubricant), subsequently if you buy from outside about $15 per box for Alcon Tears Naturale.

winterluv

michelle, in fact i was pretty scare but then i went to all the necessary test and was told by doc that i am very ideal for candidate to do the lasik cos' cornea is thick enough and degree too!!! gee..my concern at that time was my eyes are too small to do??? doc said not at all as he ever did b4...so i fixed the appt and till now..i am not regret to..fyi, i am a contact lense users..very regular..and i do aerobics so convenient without the spec..so now even makeup etc. is not a hassle...after i did my lasik not long, there was articles abt blindness case happened in SNEC..really very unfortunate so i brot up this case during my next appt to see e doc. he explained to me and he gave me the ratio of blindness in wearing contact lenses and lasik...in fact contact lense users have higher chances which is true as most of my colq. n friends are having infections due to contact lense...

painful?, no i shall say so..u will be advised to do 1 eye on 1 day..my exp. with the 2nd eye was tearing thereafter o.k...must really listen to the doc advise lor...not to go outside immediately go home after e opt. and to put eye drop etc...i did my lasik in the morning and immediately in the late evening to night...i can see some clear vision at a short distance whereby without glasses i can see clearly one...

winterluv

idyllic, comparing with TTSH, SNEC is still cheaper and in terms of the equipment they used and services by the nurses there are much improved and better....in the end..it still cost cheaper to be at SNEC but need to be a referred doctor...eye drops, antibotics etc..i actually claimed from my company as medical expenses as this is one of the employee benefits here except for the operation which is classified under cosmetics and we are not allow to claim then. All in all i only spent 2.6k just on the operation.

idyllic

winter,

I agree, I believe SNEC's prices are very competitive. I find the service good and the staff efficient as well. Even for the pre-op test where I was whisked from room to room, everything was very systematic, no waste of time at all.

You're very blessed to be able to claim some money from your employer. 2.6k for Lasik is super worth it!

Michelle,

Lasik is an outpatient procedure, no hospitalisation is required. For consultant doc at SNEC, you do one eye at a time. Day 1 do 1st eye, Day 2 checkup 1st eye, Day 3 do 2nd eye, Day 4 checkup 2nd eye. Mine was senior consultant doc, so I did both eyes together, and went back next day for checkup.

winterluv

let me begin, if u fixed e appt for the eye checkup whether you are suitable...u have to be out of lenses for at least 2weeks(around there or 1week, cant remember exactly), and when confirmed by doc suitable, you will fix the appt with them to do the surgery..usually they will advise u to do 1 eye on 1 day and the next day for another...its a day opt...for first eye, better to get someone to accompany u, cos' u be 1-eye-jack...cant see clearly mah cos' cant put on yr glasses too...if u want can la...but funny feeling...u need to prepare a sunglass to wear sunglass to protect from outside, sun-glare or the dust....for the time being still kind of naked mah.....then the next morning will be the 2nd eye....and of cos' can go back myself leow...and waiting for the miracle to happen at night..and to follow instructions..step by step the nurses there very helpful and friendly..they will tell u wat to do etc..

i am very 'good girl' kind..listen to doc advise one cos' i want my pair of perfect eyes with no complication etc..etc....i worry go blind etc..cos' i got 2 girls to take care of mah...i spent so much $$ so must take back what i had lost all these years..perfect eye sight at least 6/6 ...very happy leow...u know the feeling when i sat there for my opti. test during my last appt...i was so happy that i can see them off from the lowest level to the biggest alphabet of cos!!!!....u will shar this feeling when u there...i bet!

apple68

hold on .. i am a bit confused now..

i made my 1st appt which is next month.. i thought i am just going for a check to see if i am suitable.. then schedule another 2 day op for LASIK..

u mean, my 1st appt, i straight away do LASIK? eh... if really like that, i havent prepared myself mentally...

oh gosh.. It's my eyes...

scared stiff

winterluv

when u called up, they surely tell u must prepare yourself..isn't it...this was what happen...btw, my relative just dumped me his name at SNEC and not even his DDI no....I have to call in myself..infact, i checked it out first in their web site....

btw, if you are confirmed and ideal candidate, they will also hand you a Video CD to watch to understand the whole process...very knowledge one..at least u are self mentally prepared what is next etc. etc. during the operation. should watch and not to be afraid

idyllic

apple68,

No, you won't be going for the surgery straightaway at the first appt that you meet the doc. The doc will first assess your suitability for Lasik. If given the all-clear, you will be allowed to book another date for the actual thing.

apple68

Thanks all for your advice

I like to know several things, of course, the answers would be better answered by SNEC staff.. thought since you gals had done it before, thought u might shed some light for me

1. how soon or how far, is my 1st appt from surgery date? any case, you can do it almost like next week or surgery date depending on your doc?

2. my mum is rather against me doing LASIK now as i have a series of events lining up in the next few months. She think that my eyes would not have enough time to recuperate.

my 1st appt is next month on the 12th. So i am thinking if I am suitable, I like to schedule LASIK on the may 10th-11th (best time to take MC since my partner at work is away).

but since i have a business trip to USA in the early June, my mum thinks it is not okay. Besides, my wedding photoshot is in July 19th.

How? Am I worrying too much?

apple68

I was surprised SNEC sent me this package by post. Consists of a list of things to take note and a VCD. Ya, I watched it with my mum, and she still thinks not very good to do at this time...

omomom

Hi apple68

I think its pretty normal to plan well and give some considerations before going for LASIK.

1. I waited 2mths after my pre-check for my operation, as Dr Wee was so fully booked. However, another friend did his op barely 1 week after his pre-check as somebody else gave up his/her slots at the 11th hour. So it depends on the doc's availability.

2. There wasnt a great change in my lifestyle after my op. Everything resumed back to normal the very next day, except that I need to place eye drops very often for the next 1mth. I started jogging 1 mth later began to engage in contact sports again after 2mths.

I had my 2nd eye op on 31dec 04, and Dr Wee and his nurses were joking if i was prep to cheong for the countdown that very night. "just becareful and dun get yourself knocked in the eye" - thats what he told me.

starmed

apple68
I understand both u n your mum's worries..
I've done LASIK in 1999. U can say i'm one of those so called 'pioneer' batch..haha.. my surgeon was Dr Chan W K. Think I last saw him on TV abt LASIK docu, he's already a senior or head consultant.. some very senior post...
to think he was still a consultant when he did my eyes.

Till now, I can say i'm one of those lucky ones who dun suffer any side effects at all.
Side effects differ from individuals. So u can't really predict u see.. still I can say u won't regret if u go ahead wif the op as the freedom of not wearing specs or contact lenses is simply too good.. it's also hassle free..

pps

hi, starstar, any regressions so far? can you still see clearly compared to few years ago when u did lasik?

starmed

pps
nope..there's no regression or anything...
so far so good... well.. must keep in mind though abt taking care of your eyes lah... not to 'spoil' your eye sight again..
things like dun read in the dark etc.. still applies..

eteh3

i just went for my pre-consul with Dr Chan T.K.
how is the pre-con for the rest of u?

i went to do all the test, then see him last. all he said to me was i'm suitable & very gd candidate as i've very thick cornea.
did other docs say anything else besides whether u are suitable or not?

coz i made my op appt in late may. so the next time i'm gg to see him is only at that time. is this alright? or shld i speak to him again?
feel there's nothing he told me except i'm suitable.

touraco

hi eteh3
i did my lasik with Dr Chan TK last Nov.
i went for the pre-con test and make my appt the next week for the lasik. i am going for my follow-up exam this friday.
i don't think you need to speak to him again unless you have other concerns or clarifications.

eteh3

hi touraco,
so ur pre-con test also very simple only lar. basically they assume we've read up whatever necessary then go to them issit?
coz just do the test then done.

how come last nov do, now still have to follow-up? the nurse say, followup is 1 day, 1 wk & 1 mth after op rite?

how is he? coz he kinda blur blur like tt.
he mention to do my higher eye 1st, right eye...then he talk talk, suddenly he turn to me and ask, 'which eye i say we do 1st?" before he wrote on my file.

touraco

hi eteh3
i was at the clinic for half a day doing the pre-con test and only met him for about 10 mins at the end of the test..
when i was there, there's a lady who talked to me and gave me the dates available before i go for the test.

last friday is my 3 mths after op..i push the dates twice. the doc says i dun have to go back anymore.

he sometimes a bit blur but just remember all the things he said and make sure he do them lor

eteh3

touraco,
so u have perfect vision now?!?!?!
how was the op & what was ur degrees b4 u went for the op?
any side effects coz Dr Chan say i have a high chance of experiencing halos as my iris is very big.

touraco

karen
i don't think can be paid by medisave.cos' it's cosmetic changes.

eteh3
i have better than perfect vision as of last test.
my degree very low...only about 300 on each side. the doc says higher degree do more worth it...hahaha
i didn't experience any halo effect

kimeoki

Hi Karen
Like what touraco said, you can't use medisave. However, 0% installment plan is available for credit card holders of UOB, Standard Chartered Bank, POSB / DBS, Diners Club, CitiBank and OCBC.

I had the lasik op in Feb this year by Dr Wee TL. Perfect vision now with no side effects. Previously R600/L700.

I saw him only 1 month after the 2nd eye op as he said i was recovering very well. My next & last appt is in July. Thinking of skipping that appt to save on the consultation charges :p

Good luck to u!

eteh3

touraco,
my degree even lower ah...
r:200 astig 100 L:175 astig 100. but sick of having to wear contacts or specs..

heard that lower degree the chances of left over degrees is lower...so quite alright.

eteh3

touraco,
i hope so too...kinda scared to go for the op.
although i know many who has done it & very successful.

touraco

eteh3
i was super scared on the day of my surgery. i worried it will be painful, i worried will i move about when the operation is in progress and the longer you wait outside the room,the more scared you become.

then when it really happen, i don't feel a thing. after it's done, i was thinking...that's it?? its funny. although i do feel pressure when doing my 2nd eye,no pain but u feel there is something pressing on your eye like tt.

eteh3

touraco,
really? i very scared this kind of op op thing...i remember my last op, i was scared to death. came out crying....
but this time, cannot cry..coz its my eyes that are gg thru the op!
how long did u have to wait outside b4 u go in for that short 5-10mins op?
did they make u rest in the waiting area after tt?

idyllic

eteh3:
Don't be scared, Lasik is such a quick and painless procedure, it'll be over before you know it.

For me, I can't rem how long I waited outside the surgery room before my op but it wasn't long. The nurse will call you in one time and check some stuffs, then paste a sticker above one of your eyes to indicate that you're operating that eye first. Then come out wait again. A while later go in, put on all the robes and covers for the shoes then go inside surgery room already. Very fast. After the op, sit a couple of mins, the nurse drip eyedrops (I think, can't rem already!) then can go home already! Not much resting.

I just went for my one-month consultation recently. 6/6 vision, woohoo! But doc told me to continue dripping lubricants.

kimeoki

just an advice...after the surgery, when you are home, try not to take a nap. my fren did & that eye became very dry & painful. For the first day, you need to put lubricant (eye drops) every 15mins or so i think. Anyway, the pain went away when she started eye drops again. still, better not risk it right?

eteh3

idyllic,
oh? after op so fast go home liao? but they wrote stating whole thing takes 2 hrs then go home woh.
if wait say 30mins to go op, then go in 10mins out, another 30mins wait then go home. that's like 80mins only lor.

hopefully not as scary as i think. inside the room, the machines look scary or not?
the doc will be inside to adjust the machine to laser ur eye rite?
doc cuts the cornea or the machine does it?

kimeoki,
thanks! coz i wanted to just go home and zzz....

just a qs, after lasik go home can do what?
coz they state not to exert ur eye. but do what also will exert what. watch tv cannot...sleep cannot, play games worse, read book also bad. then stare into space meh?

idyllic

Yah lor, after op very fast go home liao. I can't exactly rem but I don't think the whole thing took me 2 hrs. It's faster than that.

Actually I didn't really get a chance to see if the machines look scary, haha. Cos once you get into the room, the nurse will immediately help you to lie down on the bed, then the doc will move the machine over your eye already! The machine cuts the cornea. During the procedure, just look at the red dot of flash and follow whatever instructions your doc tells you, very straightforward one. You will feel something pressing into your eye area, but it's not painful.

After the surgery, don't watch TV, don't read, don't use the computer. For me, I just lie on my bed. I wanted to sleep but couldn't really do so cos my alarm clock will ring every 15 mins! Have to drip the lubricant eyedrop every 15 mins mah. Also the antibiotic eyedrop every few hours. You won't be able to fall asleep one lor.

eteh3

idyllic,
so all the while when machine is operating, the doc is always there lar. he wun like leave the room rite? coz feel like we are in the hands if whatever numbers the doc punch into the machine. bit scary..

just lie in bed? only for the day of op rite?
coz i'm doing mine one day after another. meaning for 48hrs, i cant do anything but look into blank space....

heard that aircon makes ur eyes worse rite?
my colleague's bf actually wore sunglasses even at home coz of the glare woh

omomom

Hi eteh3

Its really an almost painless and hassle-free process. The machine does not look scary, but u wun get much chance to scruntinize them either, haha.

For me, i went home to take a nap after the op, but have to constantly apply my eye drops, cos i had the same exp as Kim's friend - my eye became very dry after the nap and it caused pains.

In the evening, i began to watch tv and surf the net a little (not extensive) using the newly operated eye.

eteh3

zea,
so the best is still dun nap rite? else painful..
think i will just keep myself awake & just walk ard n do things...

thanks!!

touraco

eteh3
yah...i try not to sleep..n go to sleep as late as i can at night.

i guess it's the waiting part tt's long, other than that, everything else is quite fast. my doc will talk to me before i go and in and during the procedure, he will keep talking to me too.

idyllic

eteh3:
The doc will be there throughout the op. The procedure is so short, he won't leave the room lah, haha.

The aircon will make your eyes dryer cos of the wind. But I turned on my aircon anyway, cos can't sleep without it. :p

I didn't have to wear sunglasses at home, but the nurse will give you a pair of plastic goggles to wear. Best to wear it whole day on the first day, and during sleep for the first week. This is to prevent you from rubbing your eyes accidentally during sleep. I find that the goggles also shield my eyes from the aircon (which is directly facing my bed).

Zea:
I think the pain may not be totally attributed to the nap. Maybe it's cos the anesthetic wore off? I experienced increased discomfort a couple of hours after the op, was a little painful/stinging but nothing unbearable. I didn't exactly fall asleep but I closed my eyes till the next 15 mins was up (to drip eyedrops). By evening time, no longer had that feeling. The pain didn't return again.

eteh3

touraco,
if sleep late at night, even now, my eyes will have this stinging feeling. so if i do the op & sleep late, wouldnt it be worse?

idyllic,
i've a major pblm of not rubbing eyes. every day, my eye lash will drop. confirm everyday will drop one...so i usually blink until it comes out or rub it or run water to wash it out. so if i cant touch my eyes...i will prob just die with the eye lash inside. arghh...

was that stinging pain like when they first drip the eye lotion to dilate ur eyes? coz i felt that was quite stinging.

so u all wore that plastic goggles home?

touraco

eteh3
did u talk to the doc with the queries before?
i wore sunglasses after the op and wearing the goggles really help from preventing u from rubbing ur eyes.

taking shower and washing your face need skills though.

idyllic

eteh3:
You definitely gotta refrain from rubbing your eyes, cos they cut the cornea to create a flap and that flap will take a week to a month to heal fully. If you rub your eyes especially in the first week, the flap might be repositioned! You'll have to wear the goggles conscientiously, it'll stop you from rubbing your eyes, accidentally or otherwise. If your eyelash does drop into your eye, maybe you can drip the lubricant drops as those can be dripped as often as desired. Or you can ask the doctor what you should do in the event it happens.

The stinging pain, well, it's hard to say if it's similar... It's stinging and a bit of pain, but really, nothing very unbearable. My threshold for pain is moderate, not the super can tahan type but I found this ok. Not to worry!

I wore my shades after the op and in the cab ride. When I got home, then wear goggles lor.

I bathed before I went for the op, so after op never bathe that day already. Next day then bathe but never wash hair cos don't want the shampoo/water to get into my eyes. As for washing face, I rub the facial foam onto my face very gently, then use a wet towel to remove the foam, rather than splashing water.

eteh3

the gal making the appt for me say use the eye drops to wash them out in the event it does drop into my eyes.