LASIK at SNEC

actually, it's very interesting to find out which doc he went to. cos he's a lasik doc himself so he will know which doc is the best.

my degrees still not stable yet? but really wi to go for e op cos my degrees really on e high side.. scared of e implications hi degrees will bring..

I just booked a pre-operative assessment appt with Dr Peter Tseng in about 1.5 weeks' time. Feeling quite excited, and am praying that my corneas will be thick enough for Lasik! My degree is about 600 each eye, no astig.

Anyone going for the assessment about that time also?

I had my lasik done by Dr Chan TK too last november. He's pretty good, he will tell you step by step what is going to happen.

I just had Lasik done at SNEC by Dr J. Thean a couple of days ago (Mon & Thur to be exact).

Am experiencing dry eyes at the moment, understand that a lot will have this dry eye issue for a while, how long will this dry eyes go away? can share your experience with me.

Also experiencing Halos at the moment esp at night & Night vision is like in dreamland.. kinda misty, do any of u had this too , est. how long then will it go away? can share your experience with me.

Any by the way, anyone can enlighten me how long after the Op then can i start or rather apply my eye serum for dark circles. (Understand Eye makeup is 2 weeks)

Thanks, Yvonne

And btw, what brand of eye drops are you all using to wet the Dry eyes. Did u all buy back the Refresh that was given by SNEC or did you all purchase other brands?

Cos for me,the Refresh will cause the vision to be a bit Blur for a couple of minutes after applying.

Thanks for the Advises

Hi Yvonne

- I bought refresh also, visions also became blur for a couple of minutes after application but i thot it was normal to me then, cos the eyes were wet.

- My dry eyes and halos were with me abt 1 month.

i only have dry eyes for a abt a week and i dun experience any halo effect at all.

i only start applying eye cream about one mth after the ops.

Hi Hayashi,

Fyi, Lasik Surgery cannot deduct under Medisave.

Total for the Lasik is about $2770 - i don't have astigmatism (Can pay by instalment if hv certain credit cards),

Pre & Post Cosultation plus Medication around $430.

You intend to go for Lasik too?

Hi Touraco / Zea,
Thanks for the advises.

hiz,

I'm tinking of trying out LASIK soon, but i still have abt 10 mths stock of mthly disposable contact lens. Does anyone have any good suggestion how i can finish up without wasting OR exchange the lens for something else, so i can go for the LASIK op soon?

i just done lasik 3 days ago at SNEC by Dr. Chan Wing Kwong (Monday 20feb left eye and Tuesday 21feb right eye).

I opt for the tissue saving procedure as well and today is my 3rd day (left eye) and 2nd day (right eye)after the surgery.

I do not need to put any eyedrop (Tears Naturale Free) anymore as my eyes werent dry or irritable, but Dr Chan advised me to continue putting the antibiotic eyedrop (Tobradex) for a complete 1 week for both eyes and after that discard any unused solution.

so far so good and i am very happy with the result.

those of you who has any doubts or any questions, i will try my best to answer them for you.

freedom of sight is so marvellous!!!

Dr J Thean is a good surgeon also,so is Dr Chan Wing Kwong and Dr Wee.

Huh...No medisave deduction...What if I use cash to pay and not credit card,still can pay by installment or not?

I know MT.E having a promo for citibank cardholders.But,I reckon,SNEC will still be cheaper than MT.E

I still have about 1/2 year of contact lens left,but,most likely i will go for the consultation first.Probably will go to Dr Wee for the consultation.

Hi Hayashi,

Yup, no medisave deduction.
if pay by cash, don't think can pay by instalment. think have to pay in full.

Hi Hayashi

I cant really remember the details but i ever read somewhere that if both your eyes have a degree difference of > 300, it may be treated a medical condition and hence, medisave deduction will be allowed.

Perhaps u can call up SNEC to find out more.

hi touraco,

Wat do u intend to do with those "dusty" lenses? I can't possibly waste my lenses coz they cost at least $300; they're toric lenses. Sigh... looks like i've to wait till end of the yr for the LASIK. Really wish can immediately regain freedom from spec/lenses...

littleo2,

that's what i intend to do also,wait untill i finish the contact lens.But,we can still go for the consultation first.

zea,

I will find out which day is Wee Tze Lin clinic day then make an appt with him.

is it a MUST to wear glasses for one whole week before the first consultation to check whether the eyes are suitable for Lasik? - thanks

i'm new here. just wondering if anyone noe if i can go for lasik. My degree is 1200+ with 200+ astigmatism for each eye.

How to get an appointment at SNEC? you just called up and they assigned you any consultant that is available on that day? or you went somewhere first to get recommendation?

Thanks for the advice

i called to ask for appt for the pre consultation. they did ask if i've a consultant in particular that I wanted. I told them which doc, then she told me when he's free lor.

But to answer Westin's qs, will MC be given? if not then i've to apply leave.

Just call up SNEC, they will ask you if you have any doc in mind. If not, they will assign you one, and provide you the next available date for pre-consultation.

Yes, MC will be given at SNEC, but it depends on whether your company is willing to endorse MC granted for laser vision correction.

Pls check out the FAQ: http://snec.com.sg/eye/prk_2.asp

Gd luck ppl!

They gave me one full day MC for my pre-operative assessment, even though I was only there from 2.30pm. Shouldn't have gone to work in the morning, haha.

Charmaine Tay:
Other than the power of your myopia and astig, there're other factors of consideration, eg. thickness of your corneas, before you can be given the all-clear to go for Lasik. It's best to book a pre-operative assessement with a doctor and let him assess your suitability.

idyllic,
did u have to ask for the MC or dint need to?
if so, then i also dun come work in the morn liao. just say declare MC. but must really have MC to produce woh. my appt is 2pm

idyllic,
did u have to ask for the MC or dint need to?
if so, then i also dun come work in the morn liao. just say declare MC. but must really have MC to produce woh. my appt is 2pm

cool.....means i can zzzz in for once...

idyllic, pps:
u did lasik oredi after the consultation? which doc did u go for?

Hi pps!

I did conventional Lasik. As it's just been about two weeks since I had my surgery, my doc hasn't done any power test on my eyes yet. However, during the vision tests by the nurse, my right eye couldn't see as clearly as my left. Asked the doc about this and he said it's too early to tell, will do a power test at the one-month mark. He attributed the unclear vision at this stage to dry eyes and told me to put more lubricant eyedrops.

But actually, I don't find my dry eyes that bad. I can go a few hours without feeling any discomfort. My eyes are particularly dry only after waking up from sleep. Anyhow, I've been trying to drip the eyedrops conscientiously.

How're your eyes? When did you have your Lasik?

ok, shall hear from u after yr 1 mth checkup. btw, i'm curious why u chose snr consultant as they charge more. i had lasik abt 3 yrs ago. still having dry eyes, so just use eye gels during sleep. i can't remember my vision but it's around 6/7.5

Well, my aunt had her Lasik done under Dr Tseng and she was the one who encouraged me to get it done. Thus I used the same doctor.

Do your dry eyes bother you a lot in the daytime? Or do you need to use the eye gels before sleep? Any regrets doing Lasik?

For me, I'm definitely enjoying my new-found sight. But I've been having headaches some days, guess it's the glare from the computer at work.

oh, i see. i just use the eye drop once during the daytime and the eye gel b4 sleep. no regrets cos it's very troublesome for me to wear contact lenses and i look ugly wearing glasses. just hope no regression. headache cld be due to eyestrain from computer. how do u find dr tseng? not much review abt him.

Dr Tseng is the silent type, everything 'chop chop'. He doesn't talk a lot but will answer questions if you ask. I would've preferred a more chatty doctor I guess, but he's fine also. Most impt is still his skills.

most docs are like that, they don't volunteer info, always like patients to ask questions. if u don't ask, it's better for them. they want to see the most no of patients within the shortest time.

hi everyone, i did my lasik just last year in march..in snec and my doc was dr. chan wai keong...not bad..very informative if you asked..i was referred by relative and she was also referred by relatives all under his hands...

pps, yea indeed. More patients, more money. My post-op consultations always last no longer than 3 mins and I hand over 45 bucks each time. Baah.

apple68, Dr Theng wasn't my doc, but anyway don't be afraid. The procedure is quick and painless!

idyllic, that's because the doc is a snr consultant. i only paid $40. but as long as u r satisfied with the results, does not matter how much u pay. anyway, money can be earned back.