LASIK at SNEC

Hi strawberry78, its not too late. It may be an even better time to do it now, provided its less crowded. So the queuing time is shorter.

I'm enjoying my new sight too! Hassle-free of specs and contact lens when i'm on overseas vacation in oct!
my post-lasik 6mths checkup be next mth!

Read the postings here. Am very interested to do lasik. May I know which doc is highly recommended from SNEC?

Actually can someone kindly tell me what the procedure is like inside the room? Saw from the news they actually put those 'metal' thing to try to 'open' your eyes, is it true? Won't that hurt?

Really would appreciate if someone can post here.

The metal thing is call retainer. It is use to keep your eyes open so that while the surgery is carried out,you won't blink your eyes.

Hi Mitzi, my doc is Dr Wee Tze Lin and I find him very good. Several of my frens are operated under him too.

And yes, they will place a metal retainer to keep your eyes open. A small force will then be applied to bulge up your eye ball so that they can slice a thin flap from the top of the cornea. The cornea flap is folded aside and the excimer laser is used to reshape the underlying corneal stroma. The cornea flap is then returned to its original position.

Sounds a bit scary but is actually quite a painless process :D

Ya, that's the part that has been stopping me from doing Lasik. I know it sounds cowardy, but hehe.. Frankly am very afraid of pain..

Hello gals,

still considered a new member at this forum. I did my lasik at TTSH under Dr Lee Hung Ming Apr 05. Really glad that I finally pluck up my courage to do that after procrastinating for 3 yrs. With perfect vision, it's like regaining some form of freedom!

For those looking ard for gd Drs, I highly recommend Dr Lee. Price wise is very reasonable considered he is the Hd of the Eye centre. He is a very nice dr who is very re-assuring thru out the whole process. i oso very cowardy one... but he n his team of nurses are really good.

Hi mitzi .. haha i actually find it quite fun and was quite excited throughout the operation. What scare me more was inside the op room, they started to call me by the wrong name. I was like.. shucks! Did u get the correct patient data/info? Haha.

Hey meow, thanks for recommending your doc. I still don't know where to go to do Lasik
Zea paid abt less than 3k for the whole op, pre/post visits included, how much roughly did u pay for all?

Zea, I think I'll faint if I am in the op room sigh.. too cowardy

Gals, after operating on one eye, roughly how long do we need to operate on the other?

Then how do u all actually move around with one eye that is blind, the other with shield? :p

Mitzi,

I paid abt 3.5k, pre n post n medicine. I think fees varies with the seniority of the consultant/dr used. I think consider Dr Lee as a Hd of the eye centre, the charges are considered very reasonable. To get one of the same exp n seniority at other centres/hospital, think it a lot more than that rate. I think u can see that diff if u ask for Dr Chan at SNEC. I check his rates n it will cost abt 6.5k.

I do have some side effects in the first month of op but right now, it's perfect vision, no halos. Dry eyes onli happens when I tire my eyes out.

I did my eyes on consecutive days. U can even do it both on the same days if u want. U will not have probs moving ard with one eye blind. In fact, after ops, u r supposed to sleep as much as possible to speed up recovery. Dr Lee even prescribe two sleeping pills for patients who have probs sleeping. Becos, once u sleep, u won't feel the scratchy feeling on ur operated eye. By 12 hrs after ops, my operated eye was quite well oredi except the vision is not so clear yet.

Meow, thank u so much!!

I just called SNEC and asked about some information, the lady who spoke to me was very helpful.

I'm about 70% sure that I want to do Lasik, just that I am really afraid of the 'retainer' part haha.. And of cos, scared that there'd be pain during the op

But I also know that it'd be worthwhile if I can have perfect eyesight after that. Of cos, hopefully no side-effects.

U are welcome mitzi.

Dun worry. I was worried as well (otherwise I won't procrastinate for 3 yrs) but turn out it not so scary after all. U won't feel pain becos there will be anestethics. U just have to make sure u stare straight at the red light n dun move ur eyeball.

I think the soft toy the nurses gave me to hug during the ops calm my nerves alot.

Maybe I should bring my own teddy hehe..

When do they give u the anesthetics? It's in a form of eyedrops? Before the op?

I think if I go to SNEC for the op, they'd have the anesthetic as well?

Sorry that I asked so many questions.

They start giving u mild numbing eyedrops before the ops (same kind used during pre-ops tests) so that your eyeballs will make less movements n dr can make nec markings on ur eyelids under the scope. Thereafter, when u are on the operating table/chair, after they have put on the retainer, they will put on a stronger anesthetic which is a cooling fluid. In a few secs, ur eye area will be numb. After that, they will put the suction ring n turn on the pump to hold ur eyeball still before they cut the flap.

Of cos SNEC will have anesthetic as well.

No worries, I can understand why. I asked Dr Lee tons of qns n he was ever so patient to answer them n re-assure me. He was also very professional in giving advice and help me make a decision on which lasik surgery is best for my condition (myopia n astig n high sensitivity to light). I heard that SNEC usually rec wavefront lasik for conditions similar like mine (my frens went for that). But Dr Lee told me no need to go for such exp procedures and he is confident that he can correct my eyesight with a normal lasik procedure.

Oh, meow.. seems like he's highly recommended too.

I really don't know which to choose sigh. Guess I need more recommendations. Anyone? Hehe, now I have Dr Wee/Dr Lee :P both from different hospitals.

mitzi,

dun worry. I know that difficult feeling of deciding which doctor to go for.

Best u take time to research for a doctor that u are absolutely comfy with. I took abt half a year to ask ard, checking rates etc before deciding.

Hi Mitzi

To ans your earlier qn, I did my left eye on a tues and right eye on thurs within the same week. The operated eye will not be covered/wrapped. In fact, I could feel the immediate effect on the operated eye the moment i stepped down from the op bed. It was much clearer than the un-operated eye, and of cos the vision became clearer towards evening.

The 'retainer' part is not scary at all leh. The only pain i felt from lasik was after i woke up from the nap i took, hrs after the operation. My eye became so dry that I could feel the burning pain. But after applying eye drops, the pain went off.

Meow, thanks. Ya, now headache choosing the doc..

Zea, I called up and asked the nurse, she told me after the op, I can actually still wear my spectacles if I want, it's ok. Only after I feel that I can depend on my operated eye, then I stop wearing the specs.

After talking to u gals, I really really am very motivated to go for the op. Hopefully can be successful. I think I shall go for the pre-check first and then decide on everything else

Hi mitzi, nope, Dr Wee din prescribe me any oral meditation, just eye drops. Overall, its actually quite a painless process, a v hassle free operation. You dun even need to change into any op suite, jus wear a disposable coat over your home clothes :D

mitzi,

actually after ops, u shd rest ur eyes more. Dr advise me not to look at TV/computer for at least one day. I have close to 700-800 degrees on both eyes + astig n i didn't even touch my specs after one eye was operated. I cld see well enuff with the operated eye n most of the time, I just sleep even without taking the pills. so u dun need to worry too much abt not seeing clearly without glasses.

as for after care, I read somewhere that someone use goggles to prevent water from gg to the eyes. erm.. Dr Lee told me not to do that to avoid pressure ard the eye area. I went to salon to wash hair 2 days after ops n told my hairstylist to be extra careful not to splash water n kept my eyes close most of the time. After one week when doc checked to confirm the flaps had healed nicely, i started washing hair on my own at home. Just some tips for care after ops (which Dr Lee offered). He said it's impt not to squeeze blink ur eyes during the first week after ops. So must have sunglasses on when u are out to prevent u from squinting ur eyes in bright sunlight (also to prevent dust from getting into ur eyes)

I agree tat this is a hassle free ops that I never tot I cld get by that so easily. Good luck for ur pre-test!!

Wow, thanks so much to u both meow and zea..

Seriously feel rather scared to go for the op kekeke.. maybe I worry too much. Scare of pain and also worry that it might not end up well
but I guess it's really worthwhile to go for the op.

I'll call up tomorrow to book the pre-op and see when I can actually go for the check-up.

I've booked my pre-op check up next week. Meaning I gotta wear my ugly specs throughout CNY

But that's the only time I'm not working, so wear specs also good.

hi, can i ask.. if the degree of the eye keep increasing.. is it possible to to lasik also? after so many years.. my degree keep increasing..

Meow, yes. Partly cos SNEC is the more common place that ppl go to for Lasik. Hopefully all is well.

I'm very terrified, worry that it might not be such a good idea afterall. Right now, just the hassle of wearing specs/contacts. If end up not so good, I'll regret forever

This is really a tough decision.

Hi kat

From what I read from the forum, if you have increasing degree, you can't go for Lasik.

That's the info I gathered.

I m also thinking of going for 1 lor.. cause sick n tired of waking up early to wear contact lens...

but i got high astimatism... wonder if i can still do?

hi mitzi, that's means i muz have a stable degree before i can go for a consultation? hm.. that's bad news for me..

Hi Kat, i also heard that unless your degree has stabilized, if not its not advisible to go for lasik. Cos after lasik, ur degree will continue to increase again.

However for those who have stablized visions before lasik, the docs said that the vision will remain stable after lasik.

hi mitzi,
Dun worry too much. Must trust the dr to do a good job.

kat-thi,
yup, if ur degree keep increasing, no pt gg for consultation or lasik.

Jus Mi,
how high is ur astig? I m not so sure what is the limit for astig but mine - one is ard 150, the other 200+ n now both are corrected.

Hi, i am a guy actually.

Many of my sch mates have done lasik. I think its pretty safe these days, dun worry. You will be surprised that the process is actually much simpler than u wud have expected. Probably I have gone under the knife a few times in life, hence, i really regard lasik as a v small operation (which does not involve blood), haha.

oops, sorry zea, didn't realise that

I'm still not ready I guess. Still weighing the pros and cons :P Whether is it necessary to go ahead with the op?

mitiz, yeah u dun have to think so much. Perhaps jus go for the pre op assessment first. Not everyone is suitable though, esp those with thin cornea.

I have a colleague who went for her op ONLY 6 mths after her pre op assessment, as she couldnt decide. Sometimes, i do miss wearing specs! haha...

Actually got to ask yrself what is the purpose of going for lasik. The doctors will advise u the most impt point to consider is your lifestyle, like do u do a lot of water sports, etc or simply dun want the hassle of spectacles. Of cos we all know that's usually never the only reason.
People these days have more $ to play with and there is over emphasis on going 'glass-less' to look pretty.

Results vary. Side effects do occur for some, and probability of 6/6 correction drops the higher your myopia is. If there is over or under correction, u might need to go for a 2nd op.

Also, do note that after Lasik it doesn't mean yr eyesight won't deteriorate after that.

If you are not sure or afraid to go for the op, then do think twice. Why subject yourself to such fears rite...

Anyway, though Lasik is well-established now, there is insufficient data to conclude well what is the future for those who have done it. In fact a British study I read last yr says it discourages people from going for Lasik unless really necessary. Then again, there are many studies and none is eexactly conclusive as I've said.

At the end of the day, having a healthy body is most impt.

[Btw, Lasik is not suitable for those with thin cornea or if yr eyesight is not 'stabilized' for at least 1 yr.]

Hi zea and david,

appreciate both of your encouragement and advice. What u highlighted is actually what my friend told me too. Is there a point? What if end up there're complications OR what if your deg come back. Life is full of uncertainties :p

My sis-in-law jus did one eye yday and another eye tmr at SNEC. The pros i feel are:

1) so much more convenient when doing sports
2) dun have to maintain ur glasses/lenses
3) dun have to worry abt misplacing ur specs
4) you wake up in the morning with clear visions

I have not felt any con so far. There may be side effects in the future which nobody knows yet. Although I have perfect visions now, there is no guarantee this perfect vision will remain with me. But as long as I dun have to be dependent on glasses, its great enough for me. Guess its a kinda like a gamble we ppl are taking :P

Hi mitzi,

U have to weigh the pros and cons yourself. Dun be influenced or pressurized by your friends. Every fact is laid out there. Talk to an ophthalmologist (eye surgeon) to decide further.

Complications do arise but so far I don't know of any blindness from Lasik. One of the worst cases is the dislodge of your cornea when a flap is made during the cutting process. But this is rare and in the hands of a good surgeon, it is minimized.

If your eyesight gets worse after the op and it is not directly due to it, then it's really no good of cos. Tt's why one requirement is that yr eyesight has to be stable (within limits) in at least a yr.

The impt point to note is that u should not have extreme expectations of correction as in you want perfect vision bcos many have achieved it. Lasik should be thot of as making u have a less dependency on glasses. Depending on the degree of your defect, u may still need glasses after the op. But it's definitely not as serious as b4 the op. If yr 800 "degrees" can become 100, I think the op is a success already.

The docs I know here have been very cautious themselves. Almost all those wearing glasses never go for Lasik themselves. Ask them why.
Many will tell u their lifestyles don't require it. There's always the good old glasses. Fair enuff. But u and i know that isn't all.

However, US eye surgeons are more gungho and practice what they preach. I know a couple of them who got someone to do Lasik on them!

Hi Mitzi

Some of the SNEC surgeons have undergone LASIK themselves, including Dr Wee.

Good luck in whatever choice you make :D

Thanks guys..

U both are helpful. I'm not mentally prepared that's why all those confusion. Frankly, I dun do a lot of sports hehe. Specs/Contacts are fine for now. It's just that lasik is much cheaper than when I check it out in 1998. Cost about 2500 per eye during that time.

Maybe David is right, nowadays ppl have got the money to spare hehe..

I've cancelled my pre-op check. Will prob give myself more time to think first

Really appreciate both your advice

mi also 1 2 do... but very worry also lor...

Cause i have very dry eyes so i hate wearing contacts... that y thinking of doing lasik

No problem Mitzi, just take your time. Dun rush into it.

If specs/contacts are good for u, then stick with them! Dun go do lasik just bcos it's cheaper now! U must be comfortable after weighing all the pros and cons.

Can read up or ask around to gather more info in the meantime.

Yup, feel more relieved now that I've decided to wait for a while more :p Guess I'm too cowardy

Thanks for your encouragement.

Happy New Year to you guys

Hi pps

Dr Wee din tell me which doctor did lasik for him. But he told me besides himself, 'all' his family members also did lasik liao.

My sis-in-law did her lasik this week by another SNEC Dr, DR Chan.T.K. She praised him as a very careful and cautious doctor :D