Kebaya tailor shop to recommend?

mr & Mrs: Intan gold is also gold but it is onli 10 (what is the term called? you know in the gold smith they have the 22, 24, 999) The percentage of gold is very little, because of how poor these people were before. There are glass pieces in it and not diamonds :P
To me it is an investment, because I love antiques haha :P also can pass down if I will to have any kids :P

Jess & Mr & Mrs: My msn: [email protected]

Bear: I am getting confused, what mua? I dun want the belt, haha because I am fat kill me to add another thing round my waist kekeke

I think shoes I might get the cheap ones, but the kerosang is the one i am thinking. Itan gold mom got for me earring, bracelet and pendant, so might want this kerosang in intan gold too. but the price is killer!!!! 800 bucks - 2k I was told

Hello gals,

Jess, ur dad has gd taste.. i think when u wear ur kerbaya and u take photos, u will appreciate the fact that the colour is brighter!
i used my kerbaya for my PS, tea ceremony and also to send off my guests aft dinner.. heehee.. my hb said must maximise the no. of times i wear it! :P ya sometimes u need somebody to tell u wat u look gd in... then u will try other things other than wat u usually wear.. initially i didn't wanna have those traditional kerbaya.. wanted one made in organza.

Secret, mua is cotton sarong. U need to tie the sarong properly, gathering it in one hand and then tying it with the other. It is very hard to do so cos 1) cotton muas are very stiff (u gotta starch it) 2) they are pretty long, 3) not many ppl nowadays can teach u how to tie it.
that's why i didn't opt for mua though i had a lot of them handed down from my late granny. Since mua is stiffer, u might appear even 'fatter' at the hips. finally u need to use th belt to hold the mua together or else it will drop. alternatively u can do wat i did, get the mua tailored into a skirt so u dun have to tie...

yo bear!

oh oh that is the cotton sarong, for a while i was thinking MAKE UP ARTIST? kekeke

I might get them to make it into with a casing with string inside easier to tie, if not then i might just tie it

Thankfully I am not fatter at hips
no worries on that but i prefer stiffer fabrics because soft fabrics drapes on you showing the fats more I think

Bear do you have msn?

sorry gals, i tried to install msn in my office but failed...heehee, but hope you gals have fun chatting over there.:-)

so intan gold is better than 24K gold?? *scratching my head..

do you gals know where can get the tranditional beaded shoes? if price not ex...i can consider buying since even if i buy the modern crystal one, i doubt i will wear it often

mr & mrs
i think intan is onli 10k gold
it is not better than 24k

traditional beaded shoes huh? hmm at arab street, at the mosque area there, there is 1 shop that does traditional beaded shoes
i saw the cost 400 - 800 bucks per pair
worth doing it? not sure man i am not wearing often :P

mr & mrs,
u can try Kim Choo for beaded shoes

bear,
i've never seen any kebayas made from organza leh..
taht's interesting

haha.. silly me..
that's silk organza ah?
aiyoh. I think i only see it on western wedding gown to know.. haha..
thanks Secret!

jess
i think bear one is, from the picture
maybe ask her for more clarification
because from the picture it seemed like the one i saw
kekek :P :P

Secret, u can try tying it.. hope u find someone that teaches u how to tie it.. wait drop!! heehee.. that was my biggest fear. u need to try the mua to understand what i meant by looking fatter..
i agree that thin material can hug curves.. but thick material adds more width.. heehee.. dunno how to help u there...

Mr & Mrs, u dun have to instal MSN.. can use meebo.com, ebuddy.com, iloveim.com. I got my beaded shoes from some pasar malam... for $15...

Jess, ya there are organza kerbaya.. for that type of kerbaya, u would need another bustier top inside cos organza is very very translucent. So far i saw it in this shop in Joo Chiat complex and at my designer's.
very modern...

And no, mine isn't silk organza. My top is made of a type of material called Swiss Voile.. not cotton. it is cooler than cotton, but equally prone to creases. I also have one hand me down from my granny that is made from a type of material that is no longer in production. very very precious now. my designer was actually willing to make a new kerbaya in exchange for that kerbaya!

Secrets, only my skirt is silk... and organza kerbaya is more expensive than even my Swiss Voile kerbaya... was quoted 1.2K for the top itself.

hi bear
I have seen that the shop did modify it
with a casing attached and then tieing it easier :P I might do that

Oh your price is for both the sarong and the kebaya, I have seen the silk organza one and was quoted 1k for the kebaya only :P however your pictures does give that kind of effect of silk organza
I think it is the pretti-ness of your sarong reflecting it out

By the way Bear when was your AD? over liao?

Secret, okok... try it first, makre sure u are comfy..

Wat price? my kerbaya and sarong is 1.2K.. kerbaya is $800. I nv seen a silk organza kerbaya before.. dunno if we are talking abt the same thing..
heehee..

Yups AD was last Oct.. thank gdness it is over.. as much as i enjoyed everything, i could do with less parental hassle.

bear :P
hehehe :P i have 1 sarong that was made into a skirt :P
we see the tie-ing one how, if will drop i dun want to malu myself

Your price of your outfit was 1.2k mah, I thought was just for kebaya top

The organza ones also quite transparent

any thing to advice on AD?

THANKS

Hi bear & secret,
now i totally confused abt the silk organza.. haha..
Think i'm just basically clueless abt fabrics..
Nvm.. i got my kerbaya, WG, EG all settled.. I tink no need to stress anymore.. hehe..
Opps.. not yet.. it just started! :P

Bear,
why parental hassle?

by the way,
any idea where can get 'cheap' porcelain wares, eg table wares like spoon, of Peranakan style? I saw some in Bebe ruma, but not sure whether it's cheap or not.

mr & mrs: I saw chinatown got
but they are reproductions
they are more affordable
not sure if it is cheap

but real ones hard to find I guess :P
you using those for tea ceremony huh?

hope this helps

Jess, nvm.. if i do see any of those kerbaya i will post it.. is ur kerbaya done? can post a picture? parental hassle ah, means every damn thing they also want to have a say. i dun mind if wat they say is logical, but half the time is a pile of bullshit anyway.. i told them since their wedding, they also handle it themselves, so let me do the same for mine... my mum had a lot to say abt that. and she only says it aft i settle the stuff for the wedding...

Mr & Mrs, sorry can't help u there! i got the hand me downs from Granny...

Hrmm advice on AD ah... i think the most impt thing is to NOT sweat the small stuff.. a lot of ppl would wanna give their 2 cents worth of comments, so u gotta know how to filter it out.. rem they are only worth 2 cents.. 2nd thing would be to rem a wedding is only a day.. but a marriage is a lifetime. Be happy...

As for procedures, i find it useful to have one jie mei to be ur logistic fella. this one only checks ur stuff to see at each location, u got everything u need.

hope it helps.. let me know if u want more info..

well, actually thinking of getting spoons as a wedding favours...like the design oh, but a spoon cost about $3.50, donno whether cheap or not leh.

thanks bear!!!!

Mr & Mrs: I think wedding favour spoon is expensive leh $3.50 and how many you guest you going to have?
I am making my own wedding favour :P I don't even want to spend more than $2 on one, because people usually dont care about favours isnt it :P

Bear: hmm, yeah that is what i do also filter, basically i have fix ideas in my mind if any comments trigger something i take it
if not no way :P

mr & mrs,
$3.50 quite high priced leh.
I noe alot of people going Bangkok to get their wedding favours.
My cousin helping me source for stuff at Shanghai. hehe..

Bear,
yah. My kebaya is done. Mine is bought OTR at Kim Choo. Gd enough for me already. hehe..

475386.jpg

Filtering system to our parents' comments..
I think Secret said it right.. hehe..
I like wat u said.. Don't sweat the small stuff

Hey gals.. issit the latest fashion to find ur own wedding favours? ur hotels dun provide meh?

Jess, ur kerbaya is nice!! the sarong goes very well with the top! u sarong is made into a skirt? or do u have to tie it?

Ya man, i think everything in life we shdn't sweat the small stuff.. waste time and energy.. having said that, it is easier said than done..

Hi bear,
my sarong is made into a skirt coz I don't noe how to tie the traditional one. hehe..

Btw.. our hotels provide wedding favours but coz I'm only inviting close frens & family members to my wedding dinner, so my other guests will only attend my chuch wedding, need to take them into consideration lor.

yah, it's expensive lo for the amount of guests i am inviting. But i thought it's quite nice the spoons....anyway, might drop the idea, hubby budget conscious :-p

Bear, ur kebaya looks very luxurious.. not many ppl will be so willing to splurge. Good that you wear it even on its own !

mr & mrs, like abit bo hua to spend so much on the favours.. dunno if ppl actually appreciate it.

I also considered getting some wedding favours of my own.. but been reading forums & realise not many ppl appreciate the stuff so it's kind of like wasting time, effort & money trying to come up with beautiful things that you think (or wish) others would like.. if u know what i mean..

On the one hand, you want to create something special for your big day - you hope ppl remember.. but on the other hand... if they don't then very wasted... :p

Bear:

the one reason why i am making my favours because my place is My humble house @ esplanade. I saw their choices of wedding favours so boring!! chocolates or stamps?!?!? tung lok
SO the whole family join in the fun in making them
everyone involve and it pull family ties closer :P

Jess, ur kerbaya and sarong are both cotton right? heehee.. i also dunno how to tie the damn sarong.. my granny tried teaching me, but u need to practise it consistently then can tie it securely..

Nevermyne, ya i can wear the kerbaya on its own.. though i will have doubts wearing the sarong.. scared the silk skirt will run... haha i agree with on the wedding favour thingy.. cos to u, its the day u marry but to others, its just another wedding...

Secrets, hrmm i will take the choco lor.. heehee.. on top of wat u are making.. wat are u making??!

Hi Bear,
Hmm... I tink they're cotton.
I'm not gd at fabrics, bought them coz look gd on me. haha.. Then my dad said the price ok. hehe..
The lady at Kim Choo demo the tying of sarong but I just don't get it.
I can't even use chopsticks to bun up my hair ala Zhang Ziyi. haha..

Hi Mr & mrs and nevermyne,
Thanks for ur compliments.
I'm sure ur kebayas are beautiful too.. beat the chinese kwa. hehe..

Secret,
Yah? wat favours u making?

Actually on the topic of wedding favours,
are you gals for edible stuff or practical stuff?
Like cupcakes, chocolates, or keychains, chopsticks etc?
I realised edible stuff, people eat already then throw wrapper away, so there goes ur wedding identity, then practical stuff, people put aside, never use.
Hiaz..
Don't give favours, like wedding not complete.. hehe..

hmm
my wedding favour would be oriental feel
my parents will make pineapples
I and my hubby do the packaging :P
hehe
everyone in happy mood! :P

hmm
mine is restuarant :P
yeah i will give additional i think
now just thinking additional with stamps or chocolates hahaha :P

What will you choose?

haaahaaa, so extraordinary, as in giving stamp? Izzit going to have your wedding pic on it? i think it's nice leh. :-p very unique

the hotel choice is either key chain bear or chocolate or something else lo...i think i will just stick to the freebies...no$$ heehee

oh my goodness!
the stamps with my face on it? and then having people to post it away???
hahaha i cannot imagine that man!!!

The wedding favours are so boring!!! My dad said give chocolates better, atleast can eat :P

Hehe.. I think stamps not so bad lah.. hehe..
Coz seriously speaking, I don't think the guests will post the stamps. haha..
It's for keepsakes.
I'm actually getting the stamps leh.. thot it's unique like wat mr & mrs said. hehe.. My dinner venue is noble house (tung lok like secret's humble house)
That'll be for my dinner guests, I'm sourcing for other wedding favours to be given away at my church wedding.
More personalised ones

jess
hehe i dunno leh, when i went for the show, you know what i do to the stamps
i threw them out.
The older generation people might think, hey dun waste it use it as stamps
the younger generation some keep some like me during spring cleaning trash it out :P

By the way, gals have you all gone for your gown fitting liao?

Hi secret,
hehe.. nvm lah.. given by restuarant so just stick to plan lor. hehe..
Coz not nice not to give favours at dinner.

My gowns are those OTR kind, so my PS date will see how they fit. Last fitting will be a few weeks before my AD.

Wat abt u? U'll be viewing ur MTM gown soon rite?

hee
i think i might use the chocolates :P instead of stamps
jess when is your PS date?
mine has just gone thru fitting

still got changes i think
thinking hard about it

I am a stamp collect so havin a stamp with your wedding pic on it, not a bad idea, it's even cooler if they make it like a FDC, it's worthy oh

mr & mrs: hehe first day cover!!!! no leh their stamp is those post office one
i think it comes in 4

in a sleeve

if i am not wrong :P

mr & mrs: hehe put it in the time capsule!!!!!

i wonder what happened to that

how is your kebaya, when you getting it again?
my memory suxs for now

Talking about that, i just collected my top yesterday! excited but donno how to take a pic to show you gals as i don't have a cam.

It's good, quite tight when i bend my arms. I did voice out that it's tight but the lady boss say it's suppose to be like that....a bit scaptical abt her comment

hmm
use your hp to take a picture?
how come the arms area is tight? when I bend mine it wasn't leh, that was on my fitting
ask her again!!!!

i agree.. mr & mrs, i don't think it's meant to be THAT tight lor.. must be able to move.. don't allow her to "bully" you into it ok ?

.. also.. it's your money.. you must feel comfortable in it. No point getting something & not liking it - it'll show on your face ! :P