JP Mr Phang Tai Heng

ny1998

Hi tssr,

ROM does accept a faxed copy of the signed consent for, not to worry.

I m getting him as my solemniser too in June.

Shirley

princesspig84

Tssr.

He is a nice man! Veri puntual.. but got ppl commented that he speak soft.. but I've mic for him and overall he's good!
HTH!

netfinity25

btw, how old is mr phang??
i will be having my sole and diner on the same day.
Should i start at 8pm or during my 1st march in???

snowiee

no idea how old is he... seems quite old.. but he is super punctual.. just let him know ur timing and all will be fine

anneanne

Is Mr Phang really good? I am gonna have my rom this coming june, kind of rush... he is actually my grand uncle but was wondering if I should get him to be our solemniser too.. if only he is free on that day! *cross finger*

olengjuz

Hey Anne, when's ya ROM? Mine in June too and so is my colleague, both os us on the same day.

Mr Phang is gonna solemnise our ROM. Her's in the afternoon and mine's at 3.30pm at my own house.

Our ROM is on the 9th June.

anneanne

Hi snowiee! I hope he is available later! gonna meet him later!

Hi OJ! Mine will be on the 24th of June. 2pm onwards. hehee!

olengjuz

Congrats Anne! A pity that I was told today from colleague that Mr Phang had rejected her appt cos he got another appt at 1130am at Changi. Her appt is at 12pm at Bukit Batok and she booked him in late March. Think Mr Phang is not being fair to her for turning down her request and accept another party's invitation. My colleague was quite upset/pissed actually even though Mr Phang recommended Mr Koh to her plus absorbing all processing costs & do the amendments for her.

Told my colleague that Mr Koh also not a bad choice. Even consoled her that Mr Koh shall be "our" 2nd choice should Mr Phang cant make it on that day.

It's first of such case from Mr Phang that I had came across.

ny1998

Hi SK, I think there could be some misunderstandings here. I am not trying to speak up for Mr Phang but just offer my thoughts. Perhaps you could try to console your collegue that things may not be like what she imagined.

As we all know, we can choose our own solemnisers but the ROM site does advise that we choose someone nearby to where you hold your ROM, to be fair to the solemniser as well as probably to save transport cost. For eg. no point engaging someone you know is quite good from Jurong to Pasir Ris.

In my view, as long as he/she is under the list of soleminisers, they are authorised and have their professionalism. The reason why ROM expect us to contact the solemniser 1st b4 registering is to ensure he/she will be able to make it for your slot. Considering if a solemniser is very fully booked, I supposed he has a choice and probably has his own committment to reject some cases as he might think its too far away from his other appointments. I dun think he would be able to explain everyone of his committments/ appointments when he does reject any else I guess he would be double busy.

I supposed we need to be more understanding especially when we are engaging quite a popular solemniser.

olengjuz

Hi ny1998, I can fully understand where you are coming from. I am not or have any issue in judging any soleminisers of their professionalism. I am still glad that he's able to conduct my soleminisation on the same day as my colleague, but on the fact that my colleague's JP is Mr Koh now.

It's such a pity that we (coll & I) cant have the same JP conducting our ROM.

ny1998

Hi SK.. its ok la, dun hv the same also ok mah.. not that bad. I guess matters most is who's there to witness your solemnisation.

Btw congrats!

anneanne

hmm i understand that you a tad disappointed that you can ur friend can't have the same JP...

but I guess mr phang have his valid reason for turning down your friend. maybe he worried that he can't rush there on time and delay you friend's big day?

I don't think any JP would just turn down an invitation without a strong reason...

but whatever it is, I am sure you and your friend will have a great time on you all big day!

congrats!

glenda

I am new here. =) we have also booked Mr Phang for our ROM in Aug, so far all our correspondence with him is done by my FH. Hopefully everything will turn out well on that day! hee

hiya all
anyone inviting mr phang or still searching for jp for rom? we recommend mr phang
we invited mr phang as our jp last two weeks. oh, he is great! he is patient, friendly and efficient! when we faxed over our invitation form to him, he replied within 5mins. and u know what, he was half an hour early on the actual day but our guests have not arrived yet. but he still waited patiently and smiling all the way though he still have another 4 more sessions to go. he also try to arrange the time with previous couples in order to slot in ours. he is really great! but he is better in english. he is not very fluent in mandarin, he was quite nervous to conduct in mandarin. but overall, he is still good! two thumbs up for him!!!

snowiee

I agree

he was my JP for my ROM too.

as mentioned many times...

2 thumbs up for him!

and erm.. let me add 2 toes up too...

hahaha...

rjwedding

i got Mr Phang as my JP too.. he quite a nice JP.. very patient and nice to us.. slowly guide us thru the ceremony.. i will recommend him..

ny1998

I just had Mr Phang too last Sat for my ROM. Heard many good feedbacks about him after we actually engaged him. However, I believed most couples used English so he should be quite ok. We used Mandarin and found him abit nervous and not so well versed in the language and it was very short (about 3 mins only). But overall he is ok, very friendly and accommodating.

Shirley

tssr

can check with you.. is Mr Phang ok if we tell him we want to do our own wedding vows and recite ourselves? think i read that he does the solemnisation very chop chop finished one! hee..

any of u tried?

rjwedding

Mainly english.. but when he saw that some of my guests are old ppl (my relatives).. he speaks a bit of mandarin to congrats us..

olengjuz

Hey ny1998, I ROM last Sat too. Mine's at 3.30pm and when's yours?

I had mine conductedin Mandrine and one of hhubby's uncle actually knows Mr Phang. They even gave each other a warm hug just before leaving my house (ROm at my house).

Anyway, a few coincidences on that day too. Hee...Mr Phang was indeed very patient and steady. He arrived at my house 15mins earlier cos he thought could finish early and head for the next venue. Just like what ny1998 had mentioned, we had similar encounter with Mr phang conducting the solemnisation. My relatives from hubby's side yet to arrive when Mr phang had reached my place yet he still waited patiently and smiled warmly.

Highly recommend Mr Phang!

Hey ny1998, rem I told you Mr Phang couldnt make it for her ROm and recommended Mr Koh Koh Weng instead? She really got no regrets having Mr Koh as their solemnisier too. Guests who have witnessed their ROm commented that Mr Koh did the ROM very casually and candidly. One colleagues told me that "it's as if watching a drama"...a few jokes were made by Mr Koh to spice up the atmosphere.

BTB, you might want to consider Mr Koh too if Mr Phang couldnt make it for your ROM. Mr Koh's Chinese is more superb than Mr Phang.

Hi bubblepearl, no worries. mr phang can conduct in mandarin. ours is in mandarin. is just that he is better in english from the way he speaks. and i suspect he knows he is poor in mandarin so for the vow, what he did is he flash the vow on a paper and ask you to read on your own instead of reading after him. but i guess he also don wish to be a spoiler on such a big day by reading the wrong word or pronouse wrongly so rather let you read on your own. but overall, he is really good. patient, punctual, friendly and efficient

ny1998

Hi SK, mine was on 2 Jun 07 at 12.30pm.

Ya Mr Phang is usually early and quite friendly. Except his mandarin seems abit not so good la but overall satisfied with him. I remembered my fren had one who was quite stern at 1st but soften abit aft e solenisation.

bubblepearl

i just call Mr Phang, think he is overseas leh...cos the ringtone different mah...anyway i drop him an sms..waiting for his reply now

anneanne

i think mr phang is not oversea leh... he is right here in my office talking to my dad... so i think u can call him instead!

snowiee

for the benefit of all the BTB who are considering him, mr phang can speak cantonese also.

he spoke to my hubby's grandma in cantonese after our ROM

bubblepearl

thk anne. Anyway he reply my call on the same day..yup he was overseas but when he call me he was back in singapore..anyway...too bad the timing i want..he is not free..so i book another JP liao..but he sound v friendly..keke

olengjuz

Yup, Mr Phang can speak very fluently cantonese. My FIL and Mr Phang belongs to the same clan and only to realise after our ROM ceremony. Hubby's uncle knows him too. =)

moopo

Hi SK,

I'm also looking for JP but already called a few but all not available on my rom day...

Saw you mentioned that one of ur colleague used Mr Koh, which Mr koh is it?? I saw many 'Koh's in the list... hehehehe! ;p
Can share with me his full name & contact details? Thanks!

olengjuz

For the benefit of any BTB, here's the contacts.

Mr Koh KW can be contacted at 9630 1728. his name cant be found under the list of JP..he's still active. Need to look under the GRC list to find his name.

He's humourous and approachable!

Here's the link.

http://app.rom.gov.sg/internet/reg_info/rom_grassroots_all.asp

JALAN BESAR COMMUNITY CLUB

MR KOH KOK WENG, PBM
CHAIRMAN, CCMC 62925274(H)/ 68706285(O)/ 96301728(HP)

olengjuz

Hi kiki,

You can look into the link I provided posted under Peony Jade's thread. (Under AD's link), I have engaged him and he's very amicable person!

kiki2006

Hi SK,

Thanks for sharing the pic.

we r intending to hv the solemnisation in both english & chinese...do u think Mr Phang will be willing to attend to our request??

olengjuz

Yes, he did our soleminisation using both languages. =) Just let him know.

He's fine with either language or both.

kiki2006

great! thanks SK.

i just called Mr Phang. he gotta chk his schedule before confirming with me.

think he's going overseas tat few days around my AD.
hope he will be available to solemnise for us.