Intercontinental Singapore

eee... how come everyone's coordinator is Jane.
Anyone having Stephanie as coordinator?

Seems like in all the setup ...their centrepiece has more leaves than flowers... wonder why the florist so "niao"... flowers v cheap in cost mah... shd give us more..lol

someone said needs a 6 mins song for walk in? Oh my god, is it really so long? Very hard to find a 6 min song leh..But the passage way sure can complete in 2 min to me.

Can someone pls advie.

Will try to post pics of my bridal suite here...

Melody,generally, the longer your song choice, the safer....can't be 2min cos you'll be walking REALLY slowly along the aisle that day unless you planning to run to stage :p

U also won't want to march in halfway, music end, then awkward silence for the rest of the march-in..

Find a longer song piece, as you approach the stage, the AV technician will slowly dim out the music. This is nicer than the song stopping abruptly.

hi rayne,
waht song did you choose for the march in? Die liao, i originally choose a MArch in song, but is only 2 min plus, no have to find another one again.

Normally, before the door is opened, the song will play already right?>

I chose So Amazing by Luther Vandross.

2min really too short, the march in takes at least 3 mins and above. Have u consulted Jane on the length of the song? Cos that was what she advised us when we went to test the AV setup few days prior to our wedding. Better choose a longer song.

Ya, mine was played before the door opened.

Dear IC brides,

I really need help here. We are planning our AD on saturday night ( year 2008). However, the min no. of tables is 35 and we have a problem to fill up all the tables..

For those with similar experience , is it possible to bargain for 33+2 tables .Meaning to say, in the event we are not able to fill up the gap of the extra 2 tables, we only have to pay for 33 tables.

And is it possible to negotiate for 2 nights stay in the bridal suite?

Thanks to advise urgently.

Dear Charmaine

Sorry to say I dun think so, cos I tried before and have same problem with u. The most is 27 tables, but then yr pricing will go up than normal package.

As for 2 nights, seems tough...

Hi Charmaine,

For saturday like what Ocean Claudia said, its quite difficult.

Tho what they say will be usually you have to buy up to the minimum tables.

As for the bridal, rather hard as its a Saturday.

If I am not wrong its end of the yr right? very hard as most of their weekends are book

Just my thots. You can try

Hello darkwing and Shilo,

Thanks for your reply.

Actually for my case , our friend is transferring her package to us. That's why we decided to pushed fwd our AD to Dec 2008.

By the way, is there any additonal charges for muslim food and vegetarian food?

Is it a must to group all muslim friends into the same table ?

Thanks to advise.

They add on the halal meal on a per head basis.

Their tables are quite big, so you can fit 10 chinese to a table...then add your muslim friend as the 11th person.

Of coz if you have 10 muslim friends who all know each other and don't mind sitting together. then the best way is to put all at one table.

Great! So many fellow brides for the last quarter of the year!

Paisei ah, those who indicate ur email address, do u all have multiply?

35 tables for Saturday is the minimum..

it is tough to bargain as the hotel will get to earn more $$ from another couple who can meet the minimum requirements.

however to prevent wastage of a few tables, you may want to negotiate with the hotel (upgrade food selection or upgrade some stuff) so that the overall profit for them is the same but the $$$ per table will definitely be more.

2 nights for bridal is possible, however saturdays are hard... u may want to just book in advance for a normal price deluxe suite.

Hi, sorry, just browse through all my photos..those pics of my bridal suite has my friends' faces inside...so not convenient to post here...

Anyway, the bridal suite is huge lah so dun worry...big enough to accomodate 20 ppl...:p

hi, mine is a Mon nite. is it safe to buy just 1 bottle of wine per table. i doubt many pp will drink on a mon nite.

Also, can I check how many barrels of beer is enough? I dont quite know how to gauge, our people are not really drinkers too.

Hi Rayne,

Its ok. i managed to view their bridal suite when i went down the other time.

Hi all IC brides,

Where do you all get the remaining wedding cards since hotel only provides to a certain percentage. If banquet falls on a weekend , how to estimate how many bottle of wine per table ?

charmaine99 (charmaine99) : for the wedding cards, you need to prepare yr guestlist before confirming the extra number of wedding cards to buy from the hotel. As for the wines, it will depend on yr guest whether are they heavy drinkers. 1-1.5bottles per table will be a safe bet.

Actually, I told the banquet mgr that I might have 34 tables when I only had 32...so means I would have 70% of the cards based on 34 tables instead of 32....:p

Nearer to the day, I confirmed with hotel that I only have 32 tables...they are ok, not so strict to charge you extra for the cards....:p

yup, they allow, I had flower petals thrown too..provided that the petals are of light/pastel colours...cos they scared that dark petals will stain their carpet...

hello rayne,

Sorry , just wondering whether intercontinental provides the rose petals ( upon request) for throwing during the march-in ?

Because some hotels do provide the rose petals or i would have to buy it myself from outside florist shops?

My AD is this year

Hi lpl, they do not provide the rose petals. I did ask Jane before and she told me that hotel do not provide and we got to coordinate with their florist if we want. In the end, we got from elsewhere.

Hi Skinny Jas & ReneL
I'm holding my wedding banquet at Intercon too on Sept 08 with Stephanie Chua as my coordinator.
Heard that Opulent desire is very beautiful, can anyone share any pictures with me?
Many Thanks =)

Hi ReneL
My bridal studio is Sattine too =D
Are u still deciding which to choose?

Hi fen,

my coordinator is Jane. She told me that there will be a wedding lunch on 8June using the Opulent Desire theme. She said that we can go and take a look at the ballroom between 10-1015am. I'll try to go down and take some pictures. If I do manage to wake up so early (hee!), then I'll share the photos with you.

Hi, all,

I am going down to Hotel InterCon to discuss with Stephanie this coming Thurs at 3pm.

I am looking at my actual day to be on a Sat evening in Sept 2008.

What are the things that I can negotiate with her?

I am quite concerned about the 1 complimentary barrel of beer may not be enough as I have quite a few friends who can drink beer...

Also need to ask for advice about bridal studio? Any recommendations on one which is not too expensive one?? I am not sure about the price range, maybe S$2K+ - S$3K??

Thanks in advance for your advices. :o)

Thanks skinny jas =)
its ok. cos my husband has decided to choose Charming Elegance and we will change the colour of the Roses.
Cos with Elderly around quite difficult to use black tablecloth.

Btw Opulent Desire has a nice red photo frame.

Hi fen,
I'll be choosing Opulent Desire. Meeting Jane next mth to confirm the theme & details. I've some pics of the OD set-up, if u r interested I can email them to u.

I've chosen my gowns from Sattine, what abt u? When's ur PS? =)

poohhug,
The other time I was there to view a actual wedding set-up, saw the waiter wearing all black mandarin collar.

Btw, does anyone knows how many months before the AD we can contact the hotel for wedding cards, food-tasting arrangement etc?

Hi bubbles,
thanks for the info! that means the groom should try to avoid black mandarin collar...haha...

does anyone has photos of 'charming elegance' theme to share?

Hi, would like to check out on the following:

a. normally, we should buy beer directly from hotel, is it? if buy, must buy in barrel or glasses? If we buy a barrel, and cant finish, can we return back to the hotel?

b. Does IC provide the song for 1st dish? Normally, first dish has their own presentation, so do they have a song to go with it?

Hi Bubbles,
Your coordinator will contact you to confirm your theme & no. of wedding invites needed etc and to go for food tasting.

My AD is in Sep and I'll be meeting Jane next mth to collect the invites. Food tasting will be a mth before your wedding.