Intercontinental Singapore

How are your wedding preparations going? I've finally managed to sign my contract abt a week back. The only thing I'm doing now is to try and finalize my menu then will sit back n relax till next year.

It's definitely good news to hear that they're changing the goods. All thanks to the change in the hotel name but the name "Inter-Continental" is great!

Hi all, I hv just checked w Anja last evening and she confirmed the changing of name. however, she said they will still use the existing cards... think they r stuck with lots of stock...

did u gals hear from Hellen personally that cards will be changed? i really hope they have some new designs

how to add those icons ????

aiyo...me still "icon idiot" leh !

As for the cards, I checked with Hellen herself leh. She says so that they will b changing new designs.

Jerlyn, did hellen really say so? that will be great.. i trying to get hold of her but not able to. Anja kept telling me cards will not be changed..

my dinner is in early jan so collecting cards next mth for printing... really hope new ones will be ready soon

Starlet,

Yup..hellen did mention abt the change. But dunno when the new designs will b out. As mine is Dec 03, she syas that I will most probably hv the new choices.

However, I dun think there's suff time to change the cards for ur selection as u r collectg next mth ! Sorri...dun mean to dampen ur hopes..but I think the new cards will onli be out in 03.

hey gers,

so funny, with all the cute icons flashing ard
10131.gif
...it really cheers us up, yah
10132.gif

yeah, i'll update u if i found more site
10133.gif

wow! so happy finally make it. thanks jbride.
all those icon are so cute!

I'm new here, seems like you gals are having a great time here!
10139.gif

Gals, may I know is it very expensive to hold your wedding dinner in HI?

hi min,

welcome
10147.gif
..all gers luv these cute icons
join us for the fun...

the banquet for next year's weekend package cost $716+++...ard $830 (after adding 5% GST, 10% service charge & 1% cess)...as i dun intend to have food tasting & invitation cards...

hi min,
a very warm welcome to u!
10153.gif

there are a few weekend packages to choose from.... can range from $800++ to $1,300++. it really depends on your budget and preference. the weekday package will be relatively cheaper.

you can pick up a brochure from the reception for more info.

Hi jbride,

How do you do? My wedding will be May next year. I'll be having a lunch with dinner menu. So can give you feedback and tips after my banquet. ;p

Yup, I was told that menu can wait till abt 2 to 3 mths before your banquet to confirm. But since I more or less know what are the dishes I want, so I kinda confirm my menu first. If need to change, can change later.

Hi Min,

I think it's reasonable to hold wedding banquet at Inter-Con. The package is quite comprehensive. There are some hotels where you have to pay additional for beer, cover-seats etc. So in comparison, I quite like the package by Inter-Con.
You can talk to Hellen to enquire abt the packages. She's a very pleasant and nice lady.

hi jazz,

have u tasted their dishes? can share with me the dishes that u intend to select?

yeah, i agree with u that the inter-con's package is quite comprehensive...they've included most of the stuff that we need

Hi Gals good day!! I'm back, I only access the internet during office hour. /image{pcomputer.gif}
So during the weekend didn't get to chat with you girls.

Hi Jazz, hi jbride, hi Blossom. thanks for your words.

I live quite near to HI, live in Rochor Centre. I alway go shopping in Bugis. I like the hotel very much, very nice, very grand... but the price is quite high for us. I think we'll look around for another hotel then.

Jazz, u mean they are giving away free beer?
And you are having a lunch with dinner menu, hey this is something quite "in" now. I personally like this idea very much. Actually I did suggest this idea to my hubby before but he didn't seem to like this idea... He worry tat those people that attend our wedding may thought tat it is going to be a buffet lunch, and we'll make a loss in the hong bao...
Jazz do you have is worry too?
Can you share with me more about your package?
I think I'll try to convince my hubby again lor.

I'm so excited for all of you here to have your wedding in HI

o.k me now going for lunch, will check back again later

Decbride,

U mean she called to inform u that she's leaving ? Anyone else rec her call ?

Oh no... she's a veri nice lady. Leaving the hotel so soon ? Has any1 dea; with Anja b4 ? I hv always deal with Hellen. So sad...

Also rec'c confirmation that Hellen is leaving and today is her last day. She said that she is leaving to further her studies. Anja will be taking over for my wedding. Met up with her once b4 Hellen joined and frankly, I was not impressed with her. She seems very young and not that experienced. When we were having the meeting with her that time, she was SMSing someone on her HP! Hopefully she is more professional now....sigh....

oh reall???? dunno how man ! hellen supposed to come up with our revised ctt for us to sign but now...

I hv heard similar comments abt Anja, so dunno who will take over now.

Any idea if new dir will be recruited ?

Worried

oh no... another change in personnel??? u gals better be careful... i always believe that having one person to handle through will lead to less problems...
10232.gif

I heard tat Hellen is leavin too... but i tot her last day is tomolo??
I am dealing with Anja, so not much diff for me. But I guess they must be really busy as they are gonna be one staff down.
Ya, how come got free beer hah???Please let me know why got free beer leh.

Sad to know that Hellen is leaving, she's a very nice lady. Was hoping that she'll be around to handle my wedding banquet... *sigh*...

But how come nobody informed me that Hellen is leaving? I don't know who will be my coordinator!

No confusion with the beer. The banquet comes complementary with a barrel of beer. For some hotels that I've checked, beer does not come inclusive of the packages, have to pay on top, and need to add gst to it.

Min,

For both my hubby and me, one thing that we'll do is to indicate on the invitation card that it's a 9-course meal or something like that to let ppl know that it's not buffet or a simple meal. I've been to my fren's wedding lunch, and it's quite relaxing, no stress, very enjoyable. To me, the most impt is to ensure that the guest is happy. Banquet will sure bound to lose some money, but if it's memorable, I think it's worth it!

huh!
10238.gif
director leaving again!
must be some problem with the management

i've not even meet up with Hellen & she's leaving...however, anja took over the signing of my contract when ernie is abt to leave...she looks very junior to me but i guess its quite easy to bargain with her
10239.gif
but too bad that she can't make the decision...

let's pray that the new director is as good as Hellen & will stay on longer...

Aiyah, still trying to get a hang of posting the images...

Jbride,

Very very surprised sad to hear that Hellen is leaving. She just joined the company only for abt 2 mths. But our meetings with her has been very pleasant. Sad to see a nice coordinator leaving...

Is there a new director coming? I din know abt that. Nobody called me to tell me Hellen's leaving, or who my new coordinator will be. Wonder what is going on...
10254.gif

Yah...me too ! Didnt rec any calls from any1 to inform me that Hellen is leaving & who's taking over my a/c.

So sad...I hv a pleasant exp liaising with her. Hope that the new pax taking over is as nice or even nicer.

Trying to contact Anja now...

kinda disappointed that hellen din resolve my issue before she left. she promised to do it yesterday but now i cant find anyone who can help me.

also a little upset that she din bother to call me or hubby. i have suffered the bad impact of changes in personnel... pauline to ernie to anja to hellen.... the thing is they only need to serve one day notice so before we know it, they are gone...

hellen is so nice, really sad to see her go. i also wonder why she wants to leave all of a sudden... further studies dun really sound convincing...

huh? change again? i met up w Anja b4... young n not those that can make decisions. For those queries that she is supposed to check for me, she gave me a flat no...

anything wrong w the mgt? i m getting worried..

Hi starlet, have you cfm ur booking with HI? I called up Anja to check if anyone taking over Hellen's position, but her reply is not at the moment, and she will be taking over. but i dont feel safe with her leh. heehee, really hope HI will engage someone more prof. Those who had Ernie and Hellen are really the lucky ones.

hi starlet,
dun worry too much. im sure they will get a replacement soon. just hope that the next person will be as good as hellen.
10303.gif

Managed to contact Anja today. Asked her if there'll b a new replacement & she also gave me the same ans "not at the moment". She will single handedly handle all banquets enquiries.

Gosh ! all other hotels hv so many catering staff & here's only 1 staff to handle all accts. I really hope the Mgt of HI can do somethg abt it. Guessed no choice lor...hv to take 1 step at a time.

i think Hellen really going to further her studies and a friend of mine knows her...

Guess its gonna be tough for Anja for being the only one around to handle the whole dept... No wonder I couldn't get her most of the time...

I think Anja should be fine, I have liased with her... I think she's new but she is also trying to help on watever she can...

We shall monitor... hope its not something wrong wiz the mgmt coz i just told Anja today that I wanna confirm my wedding.

When I was talking to Hellen during one of our meetups, it seems that the management is fine. Heard Ernie left for some opportunities overseas. And it seems like Hellen's boss is very nice as well. Hope that this should help settle the doubts.

Anyway, we'll just have to wait and see. Who knows, things will get better next year?

hi jerlyn,
i agree with u. i think the hotel is short of of staff. i always have difficulty contacting them.

give anja a chance.... we have also been new in a company before... everyone needs time to pick up things mah.

Hi, i hv confirmed booking already n dinner will be held early next yr. agree that anja will be very overloaded.. lets hope they can hire someone fast enough to help.

Ladies...

I finally got to c my revised contract with the help of Anja. Yipee !

Btw, think she's promoted to Catering Mgr...so now she shd have more power to decide on the perks n freebies ! She signed off as Catering Mgr in the ctt.

May i check with u ladies..esp those who have signed the contract - do they specify each n every details in the ctt or will they attached the package say "Romance package" as an addenum to the main ctt ? I noticed that they didnt state free seat covers for all chairs in my main ctt as well as the food tasting.

Are they supposed to list down each n every details ?

Would appreciate your kind advice. TQ very very much !