Intercontinental Singapore

blurz_ger

Hi Rainbow,
yah, my wedding still far far away. but when i went around looking for banquet venue, most hotels already have couples enquiring for late 2008 dates. so i decided to be a kan cheong spider and settle on the venue fast. hehe.

blurz_ger

my AD on 31 Dec 08, so will be taking the sat package. good thing it is not an auspicious date, so no additional charges. original package price is $948+++ (very expensive!!!). We are going to change 1-2 dishes in exchange for more perks. still pending some finalization to see their final quote to us.

rainbow79

wow $948 +++ is very exp leh...
for Y2007, sat price starts from $878 +++...(if i rem correctly)...
IC getting popular? but not really leh..many still comment the lift is old, scenery not as nice as those suntec/marina sq hotels, etc

blurz_ger

hmm.. frankly speaking, i think IC is over priced. becoz my AD is on new year's eve, i can't go for hotels along orchard & suntec/marina sq area. very limited choice for us loh. but the IC ballroom is really nice. I would say nicest among the hotels i have visited.
didn't get to see the wedding suite though. have you seen it? nice nice? :D

sea_blue

Hi Blurz_ger!

Welcome! Wow.. quite ex..but I guess all hotels adjust their prices on a yearly basis..

So far my coordinator has been really nice. Very fast with her email replies..

Never got to see the wedding suite too. Think now it's like going to be on the higher floors instead of the 3rd floor suite that they offered to wedding couples last time. Did you manage to get any extra perks out of them? I tried but failed miserably...

Just curious..how much extra is per table for an auspicious day?

blurz_ger

hi sea_blue,
Who is ur coordinator? My FH liaise with Michelle. She is a nice lady, feel comfortable with her. She mentioned that the suite will be executive suite (3rd in category after presidential suite & ambassador suite). Certainly not the 3rd floor suite which they call Shophouse suite.

For the perks, we increased invitation cards from 60% to 70%. We planning to change some of the dishes in exchange for beer/wine. Still in the process of finalizing. Hopefully they allow us to do that. If not there will be big hole in pocket. :p What perks did you manage to get?

Think this auspicious day charges started in their 2007/2008 package. Last time dun have such things. Auspicious day additional $100 and Very auspicious day additional $200!!! Crazy rite?

rainbow79

Hi blurz_gel, is the additional charge per table or 1 time payment for all tables?

Good idea to exchange the food for the beer/wine cos IC does not give perks such as 1 bottle per table as compared to some other hotels....and 1 bottle is at least $30+ for the lower range lor...

I guess I may need more invitation cards too as I have many individual card to send out and it wouldnt be nice to use alternative cards for different group of people.

sea_blue

Goodness...that's crazy!

$100-200 additional for auspicious day???
If I had that much extra cash...I rather use it to upgrade the menu or go for an extravagant honeymoon!!!

Yep..when I booked last year, there was no such stuff as auspicious date additional cost also.

My coordinator is Stephanie. So far so good..

I got the usual stuff that most BTBs would have have gotten too... like the 70% invitation cards.. cannot really remember also. So I am expecting a big hole for wine or corkage..

rainbow79

sea_blue: yr wedding next mth rite?
how are the preparations?
excitied? btw, where did u print yr wedding invitation cards?
any wedding photo to show us?

blurz_ger

The $100-200 is additional per table. good thing my AD is not on auspicious day.

The beer and wine is quite expensive compared to other hotels, so we were thinking of exchanging some dishes. Coz guests give the ang bao before they eat, thus the food just average can already. Not like they see abalone being served they will top up their ang bao. haha. and i guess the couple won't even get to eat much of the dinner.

Actually wanted to ask for more invitation cards (like 75-80%) but failed. they will charge $3 per piece of additional card.

Anyone managed to get any other perks besides invitation cards? more complimentary carpark, room for coordinator, extra nite of stay, beer/wine?

sea_blue

Blurz_ger,

I want to see the wedding show too!
Just kaypoh lar... partly coz I want to see Chrisling's presentation

But it feels kinda stupid to pay for it lor..

blurz_ger

hi bk,
i haven't signed. asked my coordinator the perks they giving during wedding show but she say they are still discussing internally. so far they only have the free stay at IC Bali, Bangkok etc. and all tentative bookings will be released 10 days before wedding show. don't think i will want to wait in case during the wedding show they can't give us what we have already negotiated. somemore my case is more complex as we asked to change dishes for more perks. :p

blurz_ger

hi sea_blue,
i am more interested to the see themes setup. but they only have 1 ballroom leh. means will only setup one theme for us to see? what else to expect for the wedding show huh? so far i only been to the style wedding bash thus dunno what to expect. :p also wondering if i go halfway during the show, can dun pay for the tickets? :p

rainbow79

Hi sea_blue and Blurz_gel, can we exchange our AD thru private posting cause I am not so comfortable stating my AD in public lah...

I am also interested in going to the showcase ...10th June...sunday...must pay $ to go one hah?
How much hah?

Free stay at wherever is not as good as 1 bottle of wine per table leh...

blurz_ger

Rainbow: i just sent again. think the previous one didn't go through coz i didn't put a subject title. :p 1st time using PM so blur blur. haha.

whitetwinkle

hi blurz_ger,

I am an intercon bride having my AD in jun this year... less than a month to go.
Just happen to check out this thread and to share with you what i know with regards to the theme. Though they've only got one ballroom. they'll set up the different themes in each corner of the ballroom so you can actually view all the theme at the same time.
so no worries about not having to view the theme in a single ballroom.
Guess they should be doing the same this time round.

blurz_ger

hi white twinkle,
wow! less than a mth to ur AD.
must be very busy with the preparations. congrats!
thanks for sharing on the themes. will definitely be going to the wedding show. hee.

whitetwinkle

hi blurz_ger,

no problem at all! now's 2 more weeks to my wedding..scary siah.. really busy busy with the wedding prep. alot of last min misc stuffs to do..

Glad that u be going for the wedding show! Do enjoy!!! :D

sea_blue

Better check with your folks first.
I chose it initially and after everyone knew about it, I got endless nagging.
In the end changed to Whimiscal Magic...

We went to see a actual wedding setup for opulent desire before. It's really quite black...the chair covers and table cloths are all black. Only the red roses as the table centerpiece.

whitetwinkle

hi clarinda,

We had wanted to go for the opulent desire theme cos its simply LOVELY!!! and a VERY romantic feel. After going back to check with my relatives and all, so much objections.

Yeah agree with sea_blue, it REALLY black only with BRIGHT red roses... tables and chairs are black... so must really ensure that your relatives won't complain.. *sigh*

blurz_ger

Saw a ballroom setup using the opulent desire theme on fri. Both FH and I think it is really too black. My coordinator told us there is a wedding on 9 Jun using the Oriental theme. Those interested can pop over to take a look.

Didn't manage to get tix for the wedding showcase coz my FH forgot to register for it.
Shall wait for the one next year. :p

vysweetapple

We went to the wedding show on the 10 June, 2nd session. Quite disappointed as they would not be able to organise wedding for 25 tables, unless on a weekday. Thus, Intercontinental S'pore is definately out for us.

chriszwendy

How was the intercon wedding show? I heard from Michelle there were 2 sessions! Must be really hot! Ha... Me too signed up with Intercon liaoz...

BTW, how good were the perks for the wedding show huh??? Mu hubby was asking... haa... Hopefully never lugi much.. haa...

090308bride

I have a wedding dinner of 26 tables.. June.. did you manage to squeeze to 25 tables from them? I should have push down further during then..

blurz_ger

wha! BrideBride, how did you manage to squeeze till 26 tables for weekend? I tried asking for 30 tables but they don't allow. In the end settled for 33 tables.

butterbaby

I went to the wedding show during the lst session. I have only 28 tables, min tables for weekend is 32. Despite the difference, I signed up the package bcoz of the ballroom and location.

Hope by my wedding date, I have that many guests since it is still 1 yrs away if not I will change it to weekday as min tables is 27.

Anybody sign up during the show too? Any additional gd perks included?

090308bride

ooopppssss.. forget to specify that I actually do it on weekday.. their weekend is just too expensive.. especially my AD falls on the very auspicious one.. pai sei..

blurz_ger

haha. okie. so i didn't lugi alot for confirming 33 min tables lah. their very auspicious day package cannot play play. very expensive. :p

090308bride

ya man! so exp! equivalent to Fullerton.. which is quite ridiculous.. but anyway, the dinner for the AD is already book by someone else.. (wow.. real rich.. hahaha)

blurz_ger

haha. maybe the person booked before the new package came out? coz from what i understand, this auspicious date surcharge is something quite new leh.

butterbaby

For the wedding show, the additional perks are:

- 2 free cathay air tix to Bangkok
- 3D2N stay at Intercon Bangkok, Bali or the other place I cant rem.
- 1 Barrel of 30 litres beer / 13 bottles red wine
- Free corkage waive of 1 bottle of wine per table
- 2 nitez stay at the bridal suite instead of 1 nitez

I think these are the additional perks, unless someone got more than this... ; )

rainbow79

Wow, the corkage waiver, more wine and extended stay is already a plus. But I guess that if I wait till the wedding show, my ideal date will be gone.

ollie27

Ya agree man...

Anyone knows if there's any upcoming wedding on a wkend that's using opulent desire?? I need to bring my parents n in-laws down to let them be prepared with the black table n chairs..haha

ollie27

rainbow79: i did, but they gave me a wkday both sides not free to go down. have to ask again then...

so have u decide which theme u'r choosing?

blurz_ger

Hi Ollie,

Can i know what is the date of the weekday wedding using opulent desire?? i wanna go down to snap some pics for my mum to see.