Intercontinental Singapore

rainbow79

Hi Babyjio,
What a great pity.
I will be choosing the theme: Whimsical Magic.

Intercon is def good in ambience and food.
Only drawback is that many people dun know it is a 5 star hotel and commands $1000+ (with gst + tax).

090308bride

Hi sweetpetals..

Me and hubby have decided on Inercon too! Its really so pretty. I will be going down tomorrow to sign the contract..
heard that if you sign now, you will get a deluxe room stay within the 6 months after your wedding..

So sweetpetals.. when is your big day?

rainbow79

Hey Bridebride,
when are you holding yr dinner?
I din know about the deluxe room stay.
My planner did not tell me that.
Going to check with her on it
Hee...

090308bride

I will be holding on the 10th of March, 08.. still a year away.. just sign today.. a burden off my chest.. got to concentrate on my house renovation now.. headache..

blythe15

Hi BrideBride
Can I check with you why did you chooise to sign now instead of waiting for the wedding showcase in June? Are there any difference in the perks given? Understand that if sign during the Wedding showcase will get free stay at intercon bali/bangkok etc....

090308bride

hmmm. blythe15.. to me, getting the date is more important.. by June, maybe the date that I want has already been taken up.. furthermore, you still have to fly over to Bali/ Bangkok in order to stay there.. The cost will the same as having the deluxe hotel in Singapore..

rainbow79

BrideBride:My AD is in Dec'07.
Ya, most impt to get the date first that why I signed up last yr.

Hmm..must ask my planner on the deluxe room stay.

chriszwendy

hi bridebride,

i jus received the package from intercon too... may i ask what are the perks that they have offered u?? cos i do not know what to ask for!!! hehe... u can also email me at [email protected]
thanks a million!!

090308bride

Hi Chriszwendy.. I think they are quite inflexible with their package. Tried so hard, but not much things you can squeeze out from. But nevertheless, I still decided to go with Intercon.. isn't it just too beautiful to KIV the place? :p

sea_blue

Wonder if anyone is in the midst of choosing their ballroom theme? I am quite inclined towards the Opulent Desire theme but am quite worried that the photos would turn out too dark. If anyone has pictures or has attended a dinner in that theme, can give me some advice? Thanks!

sweetpetals

Hi BrideBride,

My date was taken so now still choosing other date before signing up with InterCon... so anyone going for the wedding showcase?

rainbow79

Hi sweetpetals,

I think I will most prob go to the wedding showcase to see see.
Can someone remind everyone as the date draws nearer?

Which date you were aiming for initially?

090308bride

I am thinking of having chocolate fordue during the reception.. what do you gals think? I think it will be interesting .. isn't it?

090308bride

Sweetpetals.. I heard that on the 11th of April.. they will have a wedding on one of the theme that you like.. I will be going down to take a look.. kekeke.. so that I can have a rough idea of how it look like..

chriszwendy

hi BrideBride,

hmm... thanks for your advice... can't imagine they are so rigid when it comes to offering perks to their customers... haiz... considering the fact that intercon's package is really on the H-I-G-H side lor... hmm.... if i hold my wedding dinner there sure 'lugi' a lot... wahahaha....

rainbow79

Hi Chriszwendy, yes the cost is very high but fortunately the min tables required not as many as some hotels like Mariott, Oriental, etc which requires 35 tables min and also same price as IC.
So must plan carefully lo, but relatives wise cant siam from "lugi" lo...

sweetpetals

Hi Rainbow,

My preferred date was this year 15 Dec but was taken..

Hi BrideBride,

I have checked with them the next wedding will be on the 26 April instead.. 11 April there is no wedding event. Wow.. chocolate fordue for your guest is nice. You intend to serve during cocktail or as buffet dessert?

Hi chriszwendy,

I believe your relatives and friends do know that InterCon is a 5 star hotel and will give based on the hotel rate.Have you seen the ballroom? Believe you will like it very much.

rainbow79

Hi All ladies,

Yes, the newly renovated ball room is really breath taking and beautiful only that the march in is straight in and rather short. :p

Sweetpetals: 15 Dec is sat lor..but that is not my AD..ha ha...

BrideBride: So much goodies for yr guests hah...u know the cocktail drinks are gin tonic, soda, etc..not those typical soft drinks leh...

Btw, shall we exchange ideas/ information where to print our wedding cards, wedding flavours?

chriszwendy

Hi Rainbow:
Well, I've actually yet to go around other hotels like the ones you've mentioned to take a look or to request for the packages... but is it true that the packages are as expensive?? Oh no... I'm so outdated... haha... prob should invite more frens then.. wahaha.. when's ur wedding?

Hi sweetpetals :

Oh yes dear, I met up with Michelle yesterday evening... nice gal! We stepped into the ballroom and i think its beautiful too... the not so impressive area should be the reception area, i would say... pros and cons to it.. it looks a bit small and old... but then again, it might be a good thing that it is small, cos then you'll be able to contain all your guests together instead of all of them dispersed around! :)

rainbow79

Hi Chriswendy: My AD is in Dec'07.
Ya, the other places I mentioned are also 1k per table on weekend but maybe the perks thrown will be better than IC??
Michelle is a nice gal but cant give many perks to us.
Ya the reception area is pretty small but also good for yr guest to mingle and you to catch up with yr guests cause I have friends who complain that they only can tok to the bride/groom for 10mins the whole night...ha ha ha so dun plan too big crowd too..
My another headache is also putting friends of different pair/group in same tables.

090308bride

hehehee.. just a thought about the chocolate fordue.. but the total cost will definitely make me lugi more money..

Rainbow! Yes! We should exchange ideas.. I have been thinking of the wedding favors.. their special designed small biscuit and cake look really exquisite.. dont know how much it will be.. They can stack the cookies together and make it design like a mini cake.. so cute

rainbow79

BrideBride: U saw the wedding favours already?
My wedding co-ordinator hasnt shown me.

Which package/price of the food will you take hah?

sweetpetals

Hi Rainbow,

I was also looking at Dec 16 as my next alternative date but was also taken. I thought the march in for the couple was a long march in? It looks pretty long.

Hi Chriszwendy,

I also met up with Michelle during discussion, indeed was a very nice and friendly lady. Personally I find that their foyer is still ok.. cause it's only a while that the guest will be having cocktail. It's more enclosed so you and your hubby can really mingle with the guest.

chriszwendy

Hi Sweetpetals:
Yap... I do agree with you... the small reception area indeed has its pros and cons... hmmm... I'm still contemplating between conrad and intercon... haiz... never knew that even choosing the banquet is such a big headache... heehee....

Hi Rainbow:
Hmm... i guess the headache of trying to put friends who doesn't know your 'other' friends will always be a problem to all brides!!!! Worst still, when you've got different small groups of friends!!! I guess this is 'bo bian' one lorz... the best way out i think is, to put your guys friends who are still single and available together with your girl friends who are also unattached together on the same table!!! wahahaha!!!!! For all you know you might be attending their wedding shortly one year later!!! Heehee....

Oh yes.. you said that the march in was rather short?? Is that so?? Cos I've never get to see the entire ballroom without the partitions till date... so I've got no idea at all how long the aisle is really... Hmm... if this is the case then i might not even consider intercon... cos a long march in is definitely an important factor to me... anyone can advise??
Thanks!!!

rainbow79

Hi All, the march in is average for IC compared to other hotels' march in like Ritz carlton big ballroom. I think Conrad's march in also not long?

Bride bride: Is it true the price of per table has increased abt $20 -30?

090308bride

Hi Rainbox.. I am not sure.. cos I book a Monday night.. which is 788+++

hmm.. abotu the march in.. I thought it is really unique.. cos you are marching in from the balcony.. center of the hall.. I like this idea.. which is part of the reason why I sign up..

rainbow79

Hi BrideBride: But yrs is next yr March so can still relax and slowly choose yr bridal studio.

Anyone can recommend printing shops for the invitation cards?

Ya, Michelle showed me the march-in which is from the exterior towards the stage but I find it not long enough which my hubby suggested to do a L-shape march in but Michelle told us that it will not be as nice as straight march-in.

Chriszwendy: I was also very particular in the length of march-in intially too but after considering combination of place's convenience, ambience, food, min tables required, price, etc....you just have to compromise on some things..
Gee, I am getting excitied gradually...

Sure, did not regret choosing IC.

sweetpetals

Hi Chriszwendy,
The other reason why I decided to choose InterCon is also their location and new ballroom. I find that the location is also very convenient for my guest as it's very near to mrt station. When is your wedding day? I personally find that the march in is very long. Cause my friend had her wedding there and I have attended before.. She also mentioned that it's a long march in.

rainbow79

Hi sweetpetals, hee....I find the march-in ok leh...guess will understand the feeling only on that day lo...

So which date did you book in the end?
Y2007? or next yr since the dates u wanted in Dec are taken up...

IC is really very convenient for all guests coming from east, west and north cos it is so centralised and besides a shopping centre somemore...

istarcon

Intercon is the one at bugis rite? Thinking of booking there also. Hows the going rate like on a saturday? There are 4 packages going rite? thinking of the oriental one...

tbkiang

Initially quite interested in the hotel.. But after visiting few hotels, I would say their wedding packages are way too exp. Although the ballroom is nice, but imo they dun have good view as compare to other 5* hotel...

Basically their weekday package is over $900 and weekend over $1000 per table.. even can over $1300 for some auspicious day... faintz..

tbkiang

yup.. but they have calendar stated all the auspicious and super auspicious days. Wedding booked on these days will be more exp than normal.

There are also some hidden cost in the package like beer charges, corkage charges etc
If you are interested in signing them, wait till their wedding show, may be able to get free flow beer, price discounts per table, corkage waiver.

blurz_ger

I have the IC package for 2007/2008 and would be glad to share. Just drop me a mail at [email protected]

I really like their ballroom. Very very nice, but the price also very nice. :p dun think will be going IC coz out of budget. so sad.

roomfulofstars

Do u girls know if I have my own colour theme, will Intercon be able to work it in for me? Coz most hotels seem to have existing themes liao leh...

sea_blue

I think you can make modifications using whatever they have existing.

For example, they only have that few colours of table cloths and napkins...so no matter how you change, you still work around the same few colours. I know you can request for flower colour changes though. Or if you are willing to top up for your own flower arrangements...I would think anything is possible.