Intercontinental Singapore

kite~

Hi June,

oh! perhaps when u attended seminar, they opened 3 ballrooms at pacific ballroom thus u might think it's longer. but from what u told me, u hv abt 35 tables, which means they wil open 2 ballrooms for u which means shorter aisle.

Hi ino,

sorry typo error, i was referring to Greymatter. yes they are fully booked liao. too bad.

Yup e bells r lovely. chopsticks nowadays too common. heard HI has new wedding favours, wedding bears! not sure how true is it.

So far, no hiccups at HI rite? like music volume and banquet manager? good experience overall? thanks.

bugbear

Hi Kite, yeah, i guess that's why i feel the ballroom is long. from the banquest mgr, they will open PP ballroom 2&3 to max of 40tables. above 40 then they will consider opening all 3

Yes yes, i also heard tha HI has got new wedding favours...i think i saw the bears from their website. you might want to browse thru their website.

kite~

Hi June,

seriously even u hv 40 tables with 3 ballrooms opened, a over big ballroom will look like very empty n awkard. i rather hv a cosy ballroom w just nice tables amount.

thanks. wil check it out fr HI website.

bugbear

Hi Kite, Ok, i go try and find the link. thought i saw it...maybe i might have mixed up the hotels. BTW, i was in the PP thread and someone from the forum told me that she had 36 tables and PP opened up the entire PB for them. so now i am trying to check out if the ballroom looks enpty. this is also my concern...don wan it to look too empty

kite~

hi june,

yup u shld go down to PP n hv a look n discuss with the co-ordinator. Highly recommended one is called Johnny!!! he is excellent. But PP is fully booked until June 05, u hv to be fast!

bugbear

Hi Kite, i am so sorry, i can't find the link. maybe i mixed up the hotels, but if i ever see it, i definitely will let u know. Yeah, the coordinator who contacted me is Johnny! Lucky me! Highly recommended as in? easy to negotiate? hope he is easy to negotiate...heheh...yup yup, PP is indeed HOT. i asked Johnny abt the ballrooms, he say that for Ocean ballroom, it is fully booked for weekends till March 05. Sigh...i still need to wait for the Tong Shu to be out...ure hope my date will not be taken..else have to postphone to June06...or take HI

kite~

Hi June,

it's ok u cant find the link.

Hi ino,

hey u n ur hubby are featured in the sunday times today! wow u looks so nice in ur gown! btw how did mediacorp interview you all? hehe just curious.

u hv 27 tables n u recovered more than $20k? cos HI not cheap, afraid cant recover bk $. urs is on wkday or wkend?

ingenue78

Hi kite,

aiyo...can recognise meh ah? paiseh leh...
tat gown sponsored by Divine. Their gowns are really gorgeous and romantic with all those beading and embriodery... quite wasted tt the photo did not capture the full gown...

Just helping a friend who was doing an article on wedding cost...so just help for the fun of it all lor. ;-P

Yeah...i'm grateful that my hubby and I have wonderful friends and relatives who came to celebrate our union. Our attendance was abt. 96%.

Mine was on an old weekday package. Saw fr the previous posting tt the price had increased yeah?

I think can adopt some tactics to save cost lor.
1) Invite only close friends and relatives
2) Perhaps go on a 8-course dinner instead of 9-course (which i sometimes think it's too excessive)

Hi Camy,
Sorry. i think i missed out yr email address. Have resent. check yr email again! ;-)

kite~

Hi ino,

hehe at 1st i cant recognise u but then when i saw e word "Hotel intercontinental", i focus more. hehe. then i saw ur full name n confirm its you. :p

wow so good, sponsored by divine ah. so the shooting (u wearing divine gowns) was after e dinner on e same day? cos the sunday time pic showing u n ur hubby counting ang baos $!.

yup wil invite close frens n relatives, we hv oni 30 tables.

yup ours is 9 course dinner? u mean i can reduce to 8 course to cut costs? they wil deduct $ for us? cos never think of that b4.

juzz

hi ino/kite...

for me, i upgrade from a 8 course to a 9 course..like dat like not doing any cost savings hor. But i really like the dishes for the weekend menu leh.

btw, how early in advance do we have to inform our frens about the dinner ah?

kite~

hi juzz,

u mean wkday is by default 8 course meal while wkend is 9 course rite? cos mine is a 9 course for wkend.

ingenue78

hi kite,

nope. my wedding was in Jan. The shoot was on last Saturday. It was a posed shot. ;-P

I'm not sure whether they allow 8 course dinner on Sat. Check with them on the pricing.

Hi Juzz,
I informed them about 2 mths before my wedding. but i think a lot of my frens knew it a couple of mths back already.

kite~

hi ino,

oic. e shoot was on last sat. wow at 1 of the HI's shopsuite?
very nice. no wonder i find that ur WG looks different. hehe. nice pose!

k thx wil check it out w them.

bugbear

Hi Kite...

Hi Ino...can also send me your photos? my email is [email protected]. You are really lucky. Have ur wedding at HI and can still recover 20k :D Wah...envy you...gown sponsored by Divine. I heard that they have very beautiful gowns...and of course they costs a lot.

juzz

Hi Kite,

Ya...by default, the weekday menu is only 8 course and weekend 9 course...but the dishes are very different leh..the 9 course dinner seems more yummy...

ingenue78

Hi June,

I think you have seen the photos already. Tot i've sent you a link to my Photoaccess album. ;-)

Hi carrots and bell,

sent!

kite~

hi juzz,

yup wkend one seems better. but if i want to reduce fr 9 to 8 course, not sure allow anot, wil check w HI.

bugbear

Hi Ino...yes yes...i have seen it already...i thought it's a different one
You look good!

Hi Kite, think for weekday 8-course enough already...cos ppl would want to leave early to rest and prepare for work the next day.

carrots

Hi Ino,

Thanks for sending the photos. You look lovely in the photos. I especially like the outdoor ones and your actual day ones.

Where did you get your white wedding shoes from? Me looking for a 4 inch one but still cannot find one that i like yet. Saw your shoes in the photo and think it's quite nice.

Which photographer did you use for your outdoor photos?

bugbear

Hi Kite, no lah...won sound cheapo...most hotels usually cater 8-course for weekdays...cos ppl will want to leave early as the next day is still a working day mah...so nothing to be worried abt being cheapo...I think more important is the quality of the food...not the number of dishes...anyway, for my case, i am usually full by the 4-5th dish already...maybe bcos i am a small eater...but reckon most ppl will be full by the 7th dish...cos it's usually the rice or noodles

ingenue78

Hi carrots,

My wedding shoes is actually champage in colour. I got it at Metro at about 50% discount (original px was $100). It has intricate silver embriodery on the shoes.

My outdoor shots (those taken at botanic gdns and fullerton)was taken by my BS, Everbliss.

Hi Kite,
aiyo...where got cheapo? Whenever i attend wedding dinner, i always groaned at the fact that we have so many dishes to go coz i'm usu full halfway thru' the banquet. ;-P

bluryo

Hi Ino,
I would like to take a look at your pictures too. Pls send me the link at [email protected]

Hi June,
It might be too late if you wait for the Tong Shu, why dun you get a master to calculate the dates for you?

bugbear

Hi Sleepy, doesn't the master requires the tong shu as well? i went to the guan yin temple and the uncle there say that they will need the book
U have anyone that i can ask for assistance without waiting for the book? thanks.

kite~

Hi June n ino,

hehe maybe i m a big eater. haha stomach always just nice after the 8 course.

ok anyway hv emailed to Adeline. hope she wil reply to my email.

Hi ino,

btw need to ask you. what is ur invitation card design? bcos so far from what i hv seen, the one with 2 heart shapes one look e best.
thx.

ingenue78

hi kite.
yes. i chose the card with the 2 heart shapes. tot it was quite unique but the printing is very ex as i used hot-stamping. it cost me over $200+

bugbear

Hi Kite, hahah...no lah...not that you are big eater :p you eat little of each lah

Hi Ino...Wah! how many more cards did you print? Do you bring the card u got from the hotel and send to the printer? I thought usually the hotel will supply u with all the cards u need...except that they cannot put it in the contract? That's what i read from the Pan Pacific thread...just return them whatever is left. Same goes for carpark.

kite~

Hi ino,

thanks. just to check with you 200+ is for how many cards? as for printers, HI recommended u or u went to source on ur own? thx.

ingenue78

Hi Bugbear and kite,

I think shld print at least 80% of yr invitees. allow some cards for mistakes. my mistake was printing too few. I printed about 70% only... (abt 180 cards) HI recommended the printer to me. The recommended printer will have all the cards there.

bugbear

Hi Ino...I thought the hotel will already provide cards for about 60-70% of your guests? no? Hhmm...i was thinking that no need to print more, cos sometimes u invite the entire family (relatives) then just give 1 card can already...i always thought whatever the number of cards given by hotel is enuf

kite~

Hi ino,

Hi bugbear,

Yes HI does provide only the invitation cards but without any wordings in it. So we have to send it for printing the wordings n pay by our own.

Ino: Correct me if i m wrong.

bugbear

Ooh i c...i get what u mean now...so they only provide those empty cards...then we have to send to printers to print all the parents/couple names, date, etc...then start writing the guests name...right?

bluryo

Hi Bug Bear,

Some of those ShiFu at the temples just look at the tongshu to tell you the dates. But there are many others who can actually calculate the auspicious dates for you based on the birthdates of the couple. That's why many good dates are already booked for banquets even before the tongshu is out.

It will take a while to calcualte the dates without the tongshu. Some like You Long Zi uses the computer, some do it manually i think... The ShiFu i went to would have taken 2 days if i had wanted a wedding in the Year of the Rooster.

Quick go get your dates!

bugbear

Hi sleepy...can pass me the info of the shifu that helped u with the dates? rooster...next yr ar? good good...then i also faster go

camy

Got the wedding package from HI and realised that the mininium booking is 32 tables. But i don't think my invitation list will hit that number....properly abt 25 to 30. Do u think that they will allow me to book my banquet in that case?

bugbear

Hi camy, you can try asking them...sometimes they will allow for that. U are looking at weekend? 30 and 32 is just a difference of 2 tables...try asking...

BTW, ladies...have anyone of you attended a millitary wedding? Any comments? anyway that we can skip all the tekaning? ;P me and my FH quite like the idea of military wedding

kite~

Hi Camy,

my AD is on weekend Dec 04 and we have signed up with HI min of 30 tables. even though indicated min. 32 tables but can negotiate to 30 tables.

Hi Bugbear,

My wedding wil be a military wedding leh. urs oso? ur hubby regular?
hehe. HI is perfect for a wedding.

bugbear

hi kite...good to hear that someone i know is having a military wedding...nope...my fh is not...he is an officer...so i dunno if we can have the military wedding or not leh...but according to the captain...we can...and his captain is willing to be one of the sword bearer...and my fh bro also a sword bearer...so i only need another 4 if it is approved.
Can keep me posted after your wedding and let me know how ur military wedding went? heheh...maybe i can pop by see see ur wedding then...heheh...*joking*
if i remembered correctly, ur hubby is a regular izzit? that is why you got the permission to use the fire engine as part of ur PS? or did i mix up again?

kite~

Hi bugbear,

oic. so ur fh is an officer but not a regular. yes he stil can try to apply n get approve by his superior. no harm trying!

Mine wil be 10 swordbearers, meaning 5 pairs. HI is just perfect for a military wedding n that's y we specially chosen it for that.

Yes my fh is a regular.

Oh u blur sotong. U mix up w me n ino liao. It's ino's hubby whom got permission to use fire engine lah. I hvnt even taken my PS leh!

bugbear

HA HA HA!! so sorry...i very blur sotong...that's why i need to start planning early...else later i lagi worse...

wah...10 swordbearers...so u will have 5 'gates' to crash then liao...hahah...keep me posted of it ok
with 5 pairs...u definitely need a long aisle. i am sure it's going to be very grand!