Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Babli..dont worry.......im as last minute as u are...my traditional engagement is in 2 weeks and i have not even engaged a photographer..still happily smiling away....other than for paying deposits to book a few things..i have not tried anything like gowns etc etc.....and my house reno also havent started..am so dead arent i? kekeke

babli - i am thinking of cancelling william's booking too...wld you mind giving me baldev's contact....my email add is [email protected] you can post it here at this forum....

angelic gal - i think william deserves it... i am going to cancel his bking too...actually i saw his photos taken during my fren's function...didnt hear anything adverse....but i rather not take chances....i engaged moorthy wedding svs for my ROM....photos were ok but old fashioned....

hi babli! - i know who you are now...
Congratssss dear... i have not seen u in a while!! had no clue ur getting married! congrats again! and dont worry too much.. everything will fall into place.. where are you getting married? not in Singapore? cld u also give me Baldev's contact by the way? What about your outfits? are u purchasing from Singapore? my email id is [email protected] incase u want to contact me there with Baldev's contact details.

HAlloooooooo....am happy today! finally got a sample of my wedding card... but am getting the jitters ..its like theres no turning back...i mean so many years go by..u see sooo many cards...and BHAM! theres one with ur name on it! whoa..i dunno what's wrong with me like...i was waiting so long..and now when it's finally happening..i am scared! Any gals here feeling the jitters?

STrawberry--my dear...at least u have a house to reno..i am a lost soul..hahah..we havent even gotten a place and the wedding is in 3 mths! well..hmm..u know..i guess if we arnt too fussy and extremely lucky..things can be done quite quickly..so 2 weeks should be ok..just start!

Tweetygal and Sha82...u've got mail!

SK--how does it feel to be married? and how was honeymoon? hope ur having a ball of a time!

To the rest...have fun while it lasts!!!

babli- I totally understand how u felt when seeing ur name on ur card. I remember i had that feeling when some people from Singtel called and they were saying "your husband"..... and i was like my husband?????? heheheh!! I mean i know im engaged to be married but when u actually hear from someone else, u get a moment of ????
Also we got a home and was getting furniture and the guy at the shop said "your house" and i was like ??? again. And this time i dont have to ask my mum anything, cuz the decision have to be made by ME! cuz its my home,a nd i have to be more responsible! haha!
Its like u go thru all this prep and u know u r getting married, but everynow and then i get this moments of "oooh it my turn!"
Quite scary, but also nice, cant really explain it!! hheheh
Any girls who has felt this way too???

Celeste- your entire post seems to be a reflection of everything i feel too! i just got engaged in June and find it so hard refering to my fiancee as fiancee instead of bf! and so many ppl refer to him as my husband already.. it just can't sink in that its ME getting married ALREADY.. u always see others get married.. bt ME??? really? i feel like i am in a bubble... i cant explain it either... bt somehow i feel its still not sunk in that marriage is on the cards for me! its still about a year away so i hope thats enough time for it to sink in! hahah... bt ur right Celeste about it being an undescribable feeling... when is your wedding?

Oh boy!!!! Celeste and Sha82, you guys have simply reflected my feelings since the past few months...from the fiancee to husband...and starting to refer my house as mum's house and the new flat as my house...oh boy...this is soo weird....

Well am now all so excited as my ROM is next Sat!!! Almost done with all my preps so far...

My ROM is on sept 23rd, so abt a month away!!
My customary wedding is on Dec 15th. But think after sept 23rd will be MARRIED rite?!! oh my....
The other day i came home and could smell my mum's cooking, then i was damn!! when im married, there is no one to cook for me when i come home, and then the laundry all?? No i just throw them in the basket and it gets done, nicely iron and put back in my room. Button come out, my mother sew. When im broke i jus have to pout a little and my mum gives me some $!! Then the fridge is always packed with wholesome goodies and i just open and take!! My own home have to pay for groceries!!! oh dear!!! i feel so broke already!!! And suddenly me and my husb to be was discussing abt broadband lah, cable TV lah and all those stuff, and i realise so expensive ah!! oh my God!!!
And worst of all!! this year diwali i wont get ANGPAO!!!! cuz i ROM already!!! Oh no! one kind of feeling!

Was wondering if anyone knows of shops that sells nice bridal costume jewelry sets?
Ive been to M2M and V2. Any other suggestions?

hi gals...have been MIA for a long long time...had been bz with my rom preparations....i juz got rom 2day...n i really agree wit all u gals out there...it really feels wired now that our status has changed from Miss to Mrs....from botfriend to husband...keke...me going to get my flat next month...havn't even started looking for a contractor...my wed is on dec 1st and have not even chosen my wed cards,pg,vg n mua...me like so lost n yet not starting on anything yet...sigh...
any way could somebody share with me baldev's no...u can email me at [email protected]
tks gals...

I got ROMed on 18/8. Was a beautiful nite. All our months of planning was paid off (most were last minute). All my guests were amazed w the deco & our belly dancers some of them were on their feet dancing w the dancers. fd was good. Our programs also went well but time was too short though. Emcee was keeping everyone laughing. hehehe. I had a fun nite. My guests were all thanking us for thinking out of the box!

Hi Girls, Anyone know, who can come over to our place to tie saree for us? I know this lady KUMS but she cant make it on the date i need.. Do u galz have any other number?? How much will they charge for a saree tying and coming to our place?

babli - many thanks for the contact....will have to discuss with FH....

Has anyone had a hen party before?....any ideas aor experiences to share?...

Hi Ladies.. been MIA for really long time.

Tweety - Sorry for the late response. I'm only hving my trial with Shanti this weekend. No pics to show yet. Hv booked Sara for my engagement, 5 Dec. Me getting real worried after hearing comments on him.

Hi All...

I am getting my ROM done in December. I would like to find out where is the best place to hold the ROM Reception. Preferably an Indian Restaurant. Any Recommendations?

Congrats Angelic!
really glad that it went perfectly for u....u must be so relieved and happy! u had a theme for your ROM? who did u use for wedding decor??? it sounds like it was a very fun ROM... how do u feel now that ur a wife
???? i wld love very much to know more about your ROM party and decor...

sphire - no probs dear....i am also getting worried....my wedding is on 1 Dec...pls let me know of yr trial with shanti....if possible, pls share photos....she said she'll have a trialin oct for me...sigh!!!!

Hi swarna & sha,
Thanks for yr wishes. Deco done by pandora tomorrow. we chose the colour theme & told vanan exactly how we want it to be. so vanan did a gd job overall...everyone went wow at the deco. hehe.

Hi Angelic! Wow.. sounds like u were very pleased with the work of Pandora. U have just given me some hope. Wedding deco arrangements have been worrying me alot.. Would it be possible for you to email me the contacts for Pandora? And the name of the person who arranged the stuff for u? Vann? I'm excited now and cant wait to get in touch with him! You can email me at [email protected] Could u also let me know how much the deco cost u about and roughly what th cost included? thanks a ton Angelic!

Thanks Angelic! I saw the pics.. looks gooooddd!! i am guessing urs were the first few pics in purple and black.. absolutely gorgeous! no wonder all ur guests were impressed!! its an excellent colour combi to start with! i have sent him a message on friendster asking for his contact details and providing mine. Hopefully he gets back to me soon... Thanks again Angelic Gal! on a separate note, how has life changed now that the ROM is done?

sha82: Thanks! Purple is my fav colour & black is my hubby's. So we combined these two colours, asked for intelligent lightings to give a club atmosphere. We also dimmed the lights in the entire room. We also asked for the dias chair so that we can take pics there itself instead of going table by table. In the end no choice we had to go table by table coz the guests didn't want to get off their seats. hehehe.

We had smses after the event saying they had a wonderful time & thanked us for everything. We were so happy that none of the guests left early...Our parents were also supportive & never interfered in our plans. So that's a gd thing!

The deco in all cost me $4500! yes its expensive but I dun have any regrets. Money worth spending.

Life has not changed after ROM. I'm still staying with my parents..so no diff.

Hello gals,

Angelic congrats on being legally married.

Tweety my frens had a hen's nite for me wic was the Saturday before my wedding...i didnt know who to expect there but many gal frens from everywhere got to hear abt it (work, social, overseas frens) took the effort to be part of it.

Honestly the nite cant be discussed here...kekekeke...but suggestion from my experience is...start the evening at a chill out place, mine was at Wala's Holland. Mingle wid ur frens and one by one i started receiving gifts and they were stuff i had to put on....gloves, crown, sash...then the party moved on to a private place whr..hmmmm interesting stuff but i was just too shy though i tried to be bold...i just cldnt....moved the party to New Asia private area and everyone danced and the finale was just too embarrassing but i think the crowd in new Asia had a ball with me as their entertainer...

Another suggestion is takin ur party out of town...either to Kl or BKK. My hubby had his stag in Bangkok with a grp of 20 guys...dunno wat went on there but dun wish to know cos i'll have to tell ;);)

My inital plan for a get together was to organise a spa cum mani pedi evening with the ladies closer to the wedding but after tryin to put everything in order, i gave up the idea (no time to arrange )cos i had so many events plus had so many guests from overseas. Ended up havin Seafoood dinners one nite, Gayatri's lunch the other nite, drinks at the Loft one evening and finally dinner at Satay Club before everyone left.

I'm so much of a story teller...sorry to have bored u gals.

Will think of some other interesting Hen's party ideas and post later.

Hey Angelic Gal,

Where was your ROM held? saw the decor gal..it was absolutely marvellous...
btw, the idea of belly dancers seems interesting..where did u engage them and how much did u pay them for? kekee

Anyone has any contact for dhol players or maybe and arcapella group? I plan to use them as accompaniement while I enter for my ROM..kekeke What are the general rate gals for engaging these groups for just like 15-30 minutes..

My ROM is this dec too...wedding next year...im having my traditional engagement in 2 weeks and feeling soo jittery all of a sudden...kekeke

Angelic Gal - Saw your earlier post tht u mention Nasir is not in town. Do u know when is he returning?? I'm looking for him. Gonna book him for my engagement.

tweetygal - Sure,.. will keep u updated on Shanti. She gave mi an earlier trial cos I've kept pushing her since the beginning of the year.

Sphire: I booked him & paid deposit but in the end he msg me 1 week before after I talked to his daughter that he can't make it for my ROM. I had to find a PG last min & I'm not really satisfied with the PG but I didn't have any choice as most PGs were already booked! nasir said he'll call me when he's in town which should be this week but no call from him. That man also no ethics at all!

Angelic - Hv u got a PG? Probably something really important cropped up for Nasir. He took shots for both my sis engagement and bangle ceremony. I must say tht he is really efficient and dedicated. Did u ask him if he could recomend any other PG? Hv tried calling his mobile ample of times. Its seems to be switched off. Will contact him again next week.

My PG quite old man...he uses film camera not digital so I dun want to recommend him as I've not seen my own pics yet. Another man you cld try is Ramesh-Hubby of Spa Alangara's owner. I saw his portfolio...very nice. His No:96756242

Yes his Hp is switched off...he's uncontactable!
nasir gv my number to 1 of his man but all not free! he said he'll back on Monday but his HP still switched off. Everytime I ask his daughter, she keep saying he'll be back for my ROM.In the end he can't keep his promise. I want my deposit back frm him. let me know if you can get thru him! Thanks

Angelic - Yup hv spoken to Ramesh before. Thinkin of engaging him for my temple wedding. Also will consider him if Nasir is unavailable. I still prefer Nasir's work thou. Will inform u when I reach him. Probably he'll be back next Monday.

Shan - Mi getting stress. abt 3mths to go.. still trying to settle PG and VG. Sian.
Now looking for a good and reasonable tailor to sew my junior bridesmaid gowns.
Gonna start on Hse hunt soon too ( I suppose). Meantime, sitting around not doin anything.
Hows your preparations going?

I just read that post about William saravanan...OMG ive booked him for my wedding and engagement as well!!Shoot..!! What to do now? Ive already had a bad experience with a photographer for my ROM and i cant survive or afford another one especially on my big day! Piggy can i get Baldevs contact off you...please help piggy (smaghy)!

Sphire - Oooo the property seems to be on the rise now ? what flat are you going for .. and where?

I have confirmed a few things for my customary wedding.
My venue - In a cc. Initially wanted temple as it was a morning wedding but due to food preference .. decided on a CC .

Photographer - Edmund Leong . Hubby and I decided to go for non Indian PG . We wanted a different look altogether . Had enough of those " we were there" shots . I will go through the "impt part" of the wedding with him sooner to my date . Otherwise, i would luv to see his creative work on my wedding .

Decor and Food - Mount Zion/Mayura .
I am getting a package from there which is the food,decor(including tables and chairs)and sound systems.We have only discussed the skeletal look of the agreement as of date. Havent decide on the colours and other blah blahs ...

Makeup - Menaka .
I have received both positive and negative comments on her . I have engaged her based on what i have seen so far in all her works . =]

Henna - Sutha (a freelancer)
I is love the work of hers . hehehh

Now, i am looking for wedding favours .Have enquired a few online stores .. still deciding . Other than that ... also trying to get hold of hubby to get done with our pre wedding shots . Somehow, we hardly get time to shop together these days .. his working time clashes with my shift work .. or he is off the mainland. grr.
Havent shopped for sarees etc ..yet . I think that can wait. Otherwise .. shopping for home decor is another topic altogether ..

Sorry for the long post .. =]

Been awhile, it is amazing how this site grows. you can almost feel the excitement of the brides.... amazing.

read thru so many posts that I forgot... someone was looking for a person to tie sarees...

I have the number of a lady (81142995) who can tie sarees for any occasion, she comes very highly reccommended (from yours truly) and very reasonably priced.
she can also tie in any style you like.

tweetygal - Shanti's makeup was fantastic. Hv confirmed her for my banquet and as well as for photoshoot. Sorry din take pic, cause last minute couldnt find camera.

Shan - Looks like your preparations are goin well. I've also made tentive bookin with Sutha. Her henna is real gorgeous. Menaka is also my MUA for temple wedding. She is really good too. Who is your VG? I'm lookin for a good VG to replace Naren for my banquet. Me trying for a 4rm in TP. Hopefully cn get one within my budget.

Piggy - Hi there. Its been such a long time txting u.

sphire - thanks dear....now i'm looking forward to my trial with her...having a trial with Daisy (Creative)...will be selecting the best of these 2...hoping for the best...i have booked naren for my VG too...why are you replacing him dear?...Any bad experience?....

Sphire - I havent got hold of any VG yet .
My new home is in woodlands . Anyways good luck for your house hunt!!

Neone got recommendations for VG ?

Angelic - Still cant get hold of Nasir. I only hv his mobile. Do u hv any other contact number of his?

Tweetygal - Got Naren to take video shots for our MTV. After telling him some situations, we still had to tell him to take as better angles. Felt he din hv much initiative and video angles were not as wht we expected. We also realised tht he doesnt hv a steady hand. Not tht he is totally back. If I cant find a replacement, I'll still go for Naren.

any indian-chinese couples tying/tied the knot?

hi, i'm jac

my bf n i are planning to get married in 2008 and are really quite clueless bout going bout it..

we r the laid-back type so r quite clueless bout the customs n all.. still have not decided if we r having the rom first then cutomary later..

then for the customary.. do we simply follow hindu customs.. is it ok?? or should we follow both hindu and chinese??

furthermore money is a little tight.. so has anyone out there done it both hindu-n-chinese-style?? was it costly?? what was it like?? were relatives from both sides invited to both receptions?

so would we still need to wear wedding bands or exchange them during the rom?? or is it just the exchange of the taali?

any feedback/comment is welcome!!

cheerios
jac

Jac-Jac- Welcome!!

Im not having a chinese-indian wedding, but there r some things that applies to all.
If im not wrong, u cannot have ur customary wedding first b4 ROM. Always ROM first by law. That was wat i was told. But hope the brides to be here can confirm this. hee!

And for wedding band, it is usually exchanged during ROM, and the thali is for customary wedding. No rings exchanged at indian customary wedding.
Ur spouse is a north indian or south indian???

Hi Angelic, how have u been?
I have been trying to contact Vanan of Pandora via Friendster and have also given him my contact number. he told me he will get in touch with me bt have yet to hear from him. Do u think u can pass me his contact number? U can email me at [email protected]