Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Angelic Gal - It is based on individual opinion actually. I feel that Mix Printers have more varieties when compared with Gemini Printers. I am someone who prefers small and simple but elegant looking cards.

Address of Mix Prints: Mix Prints
18 Up Dickson Rd Singapore 207477
Telephone: 6392 4156

Just beside Woodlands Restaurant.

Does anyone know how much Saheli charges for henna on hands til forearms and on legs? She does come to our residence rite? Inclusive of transport charges what are her rates like?

hi joelle....
tks alot n nice henna n bangles!yup 4got that u juz got married..keke..photos wldn't be out soo fast...who was ur PG n VG? do u hv the contacts of any decorators? cld u email me [email protected] a million!

Jan : I havent got the time to give her a call yet.. coz i wanna get my lengga then go for a trial...
Maybe in a month or two..

Chick>> Oops.. sorry i missed ur question on the bangles

Here u go:

1. Yes, we can't remove the BGs once the aunties or “Sumangalis†have put on for you at the BG ceremony.. So u need to make sure that the BGs are matched before the ceremony..

2. i had a "bridesmaid" which is my hubby's sister to help arrange the BGs for the aunties to put on for me such that at the end of it, the BG are exactly the set that u have matched..

3. These will be worn throughout till the temple wedding day and continues till the 3rd day of the marriage..
Eg: BG ceremony 1 May (u put on at nite)
Temple Wedding 3 May
Thaali chain changing 5 May (time to remove the bangles)

4. That is why u need to have someone to take care of you after the BG ceremony. Remember the ceremony is to meant to be a beautification ritual..
U cannot do any excessive washing and stuff.. I think I told that to Kayla… like no touching broom and pots and pans... cannot cut your hand and stuff.. will create bad luck for the marriage… so be careful..
Just sit back and Be a “Tai-Tai†for 5 days.

5. Either ur Mum or sister should stay at home to help u out.. if they can’t cope then maybe need to get a part-time maid to help with the cleaning.. also, wash ur hair will be tough with the bangles and u can’t break the glass BG.. i cheat a little.. all metals and gold ones.. only 2-3 are glass... For me, I actually have a “male servant†which is my hubby’s cousin brother.. It was so fun helping me fetch things here and there, doing chores for me.. hehehe

6. Of cos.. this also means that u are sort of being “Imprisoned†at home..
only actual wedding day, the aunties will come and fetch u with the wedding car.. Meanwhile, once after the wedding day, u need to stay at ur new house/ our ur In-laws place (if u are staying with them) till the 3rd day, they will string ur Thaali with a chain to replace the thread.. BG then can be taken out. For this period of time, again u cannot step out of the house with the BG. Bad omen to do that.

No, u cannot remove them after the ceremony and put on other bangles u have bought specially to match ur engagement saree or change to the set u have matched for the wedding saree... (if this is what u intent to ask)...And u cannot add on more BGs after the BG ceremony.. I'm not sure if other pple have "cheat" along the way, some may have remove them behind closed doors and rematch the BGs after the ceremony but before the wedding...

8. Btw, during the BG ceremony, u need to wear odd number of BGs… think ur mum should know that.. so when u match the set of BGs , 1 hand can be in even number, 1 hand in odd numbers.. so u will end up in odd numbers in total. These includes all the gold bangles given together to wear with the glass and metal bangles. Eg: 21 BGs on left and 22 BGs on right.. I worn 42 on left and 43 on right.. I look like “ultramanâ€â€¦

9. Again, when the aunties / Sumangalis are presented with the BGs to be worn on you… remind the bridesmaid to give each of them odd numbers but still in matching set.. eg: 1 for the left hand but 2 on the right hand…

10. Before the aunties/ Sumangalis “queue†up to wear the bangles on you, please remember to get ur mum to count the number of aunties in queue.. such that there is enuf for every one. I have abt 19 aunties putting for me.

11. Do measure how much far/deep u can wear ur bangles for ur arm.. this will help u gauage how many bangles u can match for each hand... Also try the bangles before you buy.. in case both hands need diff sizes cos the right knuckles are usually bigger than the left.. (if u are right-handed).. This is to prevent u from cutting ur skin when the aunties wear them for u..

12. I bought 1 size bigger for the right so that i can wear it more comfortably... All the aunties had trembled hands when they had a hard time putting the bangles on for me.. i wonder they are afraid that they will cut my skin or they will break the bangles?
(thinking that they are all glass made)...

13. of course make sure u have the vaseline cream/ or moisturizing hand cream next to u when putting on the BGs.. uuhh.. remember to wax ur arms before if u are on the hairy side.. hehehhe

14. btw.. i cheat again..
, ok.. it's more of my trick lah.. i bought 1 size bigger for my right arms right.. but i also put a few big ones for my left too.. cos my wrist is thin but my arms is more meaty...so that i can wear as deep as possible and i could put more bangles.. abt 15cm of BGs i wear for each arms...

15. 1st few of the BGs must be metal cos it will be worn deep into the arms but not too deep cos u will leave the marks.. glass ones can hide inbetw.. but when comes to the wrist portion.. leave abt 2 cm room betw the bangle and ur wrist...u still need to move on hands and fingers.. too tight, u will cut ur skin near the area and also problem with blood circulations...

16. Last thing to take note when buying the bangles.. whatever u buy, ur bangles MUST always match the color of ur wedding sarees.. U can add some other colors bangles to match here and there for the suite u are wearing for the BG ceremony as well as the engagement saree that u wear to the temple. But 85-90% it has to be the same color theme with ur wedding saree.. I had a big headache matching my bangles
cos I had wear too many different saree colors.. BG I wear a orange/red lengha, engagement saree was green/orange, then wedding saree was Kungumam color… So the BG had more red/pink than the orange/green.. I added more gold ones to pull off for the BG and engagement saree so It does not look out of place.

So one more advice.. please don’t wear Full cool color sarees (the blues/green) for BG ceremony and engagement if ur wedding saree is more towards warm color (the reds/pinks/oranges)

Hi Jan> i opt for a different person for MUA and henna.. cos her makeup not suitable for me, but henna is so far ok.. but i would still recommend saheli cos her design is very intricate...
i did not take up from her cos MIL already booked this henna lady.. You can choose diff pattern for your hands & legs.. no problem.. both hands must be 1 set and both legs another set.. Some henna lady may advise u to get the same design so u have a same theme.. but most of the time the people focus your hands more.. legs ar usually under wraps so it's still ok to look diff.. Most importantly.. u must like the design..

They usually charge $150 (includes transport) for up to forearms and calves area... Some people will say that since u have worn the bangles on your forearms, then no one is going to see it what.. so better to skipp that portion and save the money.. but after the bangles removed, u can see the pattern right? it's more for your own appreciation.. so u decide.. Same for the feet.. cannot miss the area around the side of the feet and the ankles..
the more intricate the better... looks very good when u bare feet walking..

Yvannia >> i used Nasir for my wedding day. He's quite flexible and accommodating....

By the way, if u gals booking Khalsa but have not viewed the hall, i have several pix of the function hall (no decoration yet).. just for u to visualise where u should plan ur seating arrangement and work with ur decorator.. let me know.. i can "downsize" the photos and email u.....

one of my "occupational" hazzard and bad habit.. i always bring my digicam everywhere i go.. u never know when u need it.. esp during preparation for weddings.

Oh yes..Like i guess it, it's so hard
to get a floor plan from Khalsa management... so these pix was good help

Sphire - Yeah, feeling like Shanti will do all her scheduling early (half a year before even!) if there seems to be a clash but if there isn't, she'll just leave it to the 11th hour like in my case. Grrrrr!!!!

Chick - Shanti said she has only one set of "temple jewellery" and referred me to the album in Stylemart if I wanted to see it. But strange about the saree tying. She says she can tie leh.

Re. bangles, you have to keep the ones from the bangle ceremony on right thru the wedding and can only take it off 3 or 5 days after the wedding.

Angelic, Tweety, Joelle - The other MUA I tried was Saheli (Shereen). I liked her make-up but she quoted more ex than Shanti. I wanted to try another MUA (in this case Shanti) to make a comparison to see who's style I liked better.

Joelle - Re. Shanti, no she can't do trials on weekdays because she has a full-time job at a bank or smthg. Even though I'm prepared to take the day off from work for this, it will be of no use.

Re. bridal shoot, I sheduled it so close to the wedding cos my hubs is only arriving on 23 May and by the time we do a fitting at DiGio and they get his suit altered for his size, it'll be just nice for the shoot. Fingers crossed the shoot goes well w/o any side-effects for both of us! We are doing the shoot with Jonathan Ho, an independant PG. Only gown and suit from DiGio.

Re. your bangles and henna - I love them!! The henna turned out a superb colour and your bangles are just so lovely, esp the mix of colours!

Tweety - S$2.30 per card is daylight robbery!! Glad you took your business somewhere else! Re. Mix Printers, I'm happy you found something you like there. It's me that's doing my cards with them. Don't mean to worry you but when I was there to proof-read my card yday, there was a customer who came in expecting her cards to be ready but they hadn't yet arrived in SG (they were coming fr Msia). The prob for her was she was leaving for Msia the next day to distribute the cards. She was fretting but she was nice about it, she didn't throw any big dramas. Can I suggest you call Mix Printers 1-2 days before your collection just to chk on the status of your batch? I'll be doing the same with mine too!

Yvannia - Saheli charges $150 for bridal henna for both feet and hands (up to the wrists). And yes, it includes transport. Not sure how she charges for henna up to the forearms.

Argh...yest I went to bayview hotel to pay deposit for the function room for our ROM. We wanted to take a last look at the rooms before paying. Turned out it looked more like a classroom with low celings, a pillar in the centre of the room blocking the view. Now we are back to Square 1 looking for venue. I called up vanan from pandora. He suggested Cafe-at-sunrice (at fort canning). Anyone heard of that place or been there? My ROM is in August & we wish to do it in a beautiful function room, capacity of 200 pple, can cater own food. Any suggestions? I dun want civil service or khalsa..Budget is $900-1000 for rental of the place.Any ideas?

Rany - I better heed your advice and call Mix Printers before my collection period. That's so nice of the customer to keep her cool. What time were you there yesterday? I was there with my FH about 8pm for proof reading. Too many amendments and have to go back again tomorrow.

For MUA has any of the brides tried Rupini's?

these are the rates for Saheli's henna
full design till elbow & half way up leg is: $250
full design till elbow & leg till ankle is : $200
Arabic design till elbow & half way up leg : $200
Arabic design till elbow & leg till ankle : $180

* All the full design is very intricated work.. fine details
* Arabic design,there r spaces in between
* Price state include both side hands and legs and transportation
* If holding henna night:
- Each side of hand is $5 for simple to $10 (full)
- If need additional henna artist - $50

Joelle, thanks dear, you are a big big help! Btw, i think you should collate your experiences and publish book :-)) hehe... One question i have though - you said cant go out of house after the wedding with the bangles on until the 3rd day? I was planning to go back to work on the 2nd day after the wedding..how like that?

Tweety - i tried rupini's on Monday and i'm going with her. Of all the trials i did, hers suited me best. I still looked like myself..but i've heard pros and cons about her, so i think it really varies from person to person...

Rany - hey if she can tie sari, then good:-) My friend who used her was the one who told me she couldnt...but that was like a year plus ago..so maybe things are different now??

Brokenbudgie : If you're looking her from phone, then she will bring her album along at your place.. so discuss it there before doing henna...

Or you can meet her at her place n dicuss it..

Shiney gal, sorry i din take any pics. Think i mentioned in a previous post, i dont like taking such pics of myself..hehe. Uhm, i did 2 other trials, with Shanthi and with Arase who's got a shop in Peninsula Plaza (think her shop is called La Vie En rose).

Sphire..hehe, no choice lah. Got to take leave for church wedding which is 2 weeks after. i got more preparations for that. Temple wedding leave mostly to FH, just ensuring that i look good..haha.

hi people... got back over the weekend but came back with the dehli belly and have been sick ever since..

Welcome to all the new people.. for those of u who don't know me.. i'm a punjabi sikh gal, getting married on the 1st of July.

Chick, Rany, Kayla & Joelle... hope alls good with you guys... All the best Kayla and congrats Joelle.. you put us indian women to shame!

chick, hope the trials are going ok.. i've got to start mine asap!

Anyone here knows which hotel here allows outside caterers & charge rental for ballroom & not per head?

I know only of bayview hotel..Any others?

HI joelle! beautiful henna design n i love the way u mixed the bangles! all that plannin of odd-even number of bangles for each hand and the colour combi muz hav made yr head spin initially, i bet. BUT it has all paid off :D
Cld u pls email me the pics of the floor plans pls. [email protected] thnxxx!

And has anybody tried trials by the vasantham central artiste Ananthi? any comments? i've seen her work, but not totally convinced. I made sum enquiries, n shez charging only $30 for a WEDDING trial! Isnt it extremely cheap?? I feel there's sumthing not right abt her pricing.. it only makes me wonder abt the quality of the makeup products she uses.. how can she afford to charge so cheap if the products are of commendable quality??

Hi jan
how abt trying deco frm a malay wedding consultant? malay wedding decos are alwayz so lavish.. not the kinds with the yellow and gold frills of course..but the white based with chandeleirs kinda setting. Anybody has any recommendations of malay wedding consultants?

And GuRLz! the BOWS bridal fair is starting td! till sunday! ANybody headin dwn?

I'm so scared of bridal fairs...everyone's always pulling you in all directions and giving their sales spiel. But it's good to browse for ideas.. Initially wanted a garden wedding but the cost of a marquee was between 10-15k alone..!

Angelic - any reason why you're seeking a hotel not a function hall?

Kismet, welcome back, take care of yourself ya. Hope your trip was fruitful and you got all things sorted :-))

Yvannia - it din really suit me but she did my cousin's wedding few years ago and my cousin was raving about her. So depends on the individual i guess. Her charges are $40 for trial. Rupini's in $50. Shanthi is $80. But both Rupini and Shanthi will waive it if you take up their package.

Raspberries - BOWS -> i went last year and thats where i got conned into signing up with Z'wedding! It was pretty bad last yr, hopefully its better this year. do you know which are the participating vendors? Last year they had kr*ston and i'm thinking of using them for church catering..and i know they gave discounts etc.

Broken budgie: Thought of doing in ballroom but guess can't coz the hotels dun allow outside caterer!
OCC & safra Country club dates are taken up..so now looking at Sentosa, museum

Joelle - Dear, would appreciate feedback on the tailor in JB.

kismet - Welcome back! Hope you feel better soon.

Those of you who are encountering trial problems, hang in there. I'm sure the right MUA will come along soon. Just don't give up. And if you are not sure of a look, dont book the MUA for the sake of booking one. Different people have got different opinions. What is nice to one may not be the same to another. So please book only when you are 100% comfortable...

Hi Angelic...and there's Fort Canning too, which has The Legends and a really quaint & nice Raffles House venue. Or you may choose Changi's Fairy Point bungalow chalets.. #7 in particular has a huge lawn overlooking the sea..it's where i'm having my sangeet. Visit here: http://www.aloha.gov.sg/

Suhana > The fair is at the bugis open field, juz infront of bugis junction. big tentages.

BOWS 2007

Bridal Designers & Boutiques Pavilion Booth
Bridal Concept A 6B
Golden Horse Awards Bridal B 1
Jazz Bridal B 2
L* Belle Couture (a) A 8B
Seletar B*oadway (r) B 5A
Signoria Nuziale B 8
The Feline B*idal (r) A 4B
Thomson Wedding D’sign A 1
Volan* Couture (s) B 11
Wedding News Couture A 3A
Yvonne Creative A 9
Z Wedding D’sign A 2

Bridal Photography Specialists
In’Vogue Photography A 5A
One Eye Cli*k (c) B 3B
Stefine Wedding A 5B

Hotels, Venues & Caterers
Four Seasons Catering Pte Ltd B 4A
Gustos Pte Ltd A 3B
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel A 10A
Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore A 6A
Holiday Inn Atrium B 10B
Holiday Inn Parkview A 12
Intercontinental Singapore B 10A
Laguna National Golf&Country Club A 4A
Novotel Clarke Quay Singapore B 7B
Starling Group Of Restaurants B 3A
Royal Catering Pte Ltd A 7B

Beauty & Spa
Body Contours Pte Ltd A 7
I-Shu Beauty Parlour A 8A
Statice Wellness Spa Pte Ltd B 6A

Other Wedding Merchants
Nota Design International A 10B
Pine Garden’s Cake B 4B
The Bliss Collection B 6B

Hope this helps gurlz!

Hi Brokenbudgie,
I wanted to do our ROM at fairy point but can only book 3 mths in adavance right? Very risky if we dun get it. Must use tentage right? Can you advise me on what do we need to hold our ROM there in the evening for 150-200 pax? Thks

hi joelle...ok guez wil stick with saheli for the henna..m quite dark so not sure if the effect will be good...by the way could u mail me the khalsa pics...

hi chick.... me considering to take Rani frm Rupinis as my MUA too...not gone 4 a trial yet..seen sm of her work..i sm how feel her make is nice for the fairer gals bt too whitetish 4 the darker gals...keke...m dark too so a little worried...wil gv it a try though...

hi raspberrie...tks gal...wil check out sm malay wed consultants....

hi tweety...tks for the contacts...Khajwedding has very extragavent deco...like it...

anyone took MUA susie?

I think its kayla who took MUA sussie. I only went to enquire abt prices bt found it abit expensive. Heard gd comments abt her makeup though

Joelle - I was just reading thru what you had posted previously and just a couple of questions.

You played Jazz/Bossa/English and Mandrin songs before and after the thaali ceremony? That sounds like an interesting mix!! I reckon I'll be getting my friend to recommend some Ravi Shankar for me to play at the temple. But my concern is if the temple can play burnt CDs cos I'm hoping to compile them all onto 2 or 3 CDs so we don't have to juggle between songs from 30 over CDs. Heh!

Thanks for clarifying about what time we should start. So that's 2 hours in advance? Wow!!! What was the time on your invitation card though? I just find it so strange that my card will say "between 9am to 10am" (cos that was what the temple gave us) but we'll be starting at 8am when no one is in the audience.

Where did you have your saree blouses tailored? And do you have any recommendations for someone who can dry clean expensive sarees like our wedding sarees?

Re. the toe rings, where did you buy them from? Does it have to be pure silver or something? I read somewhere the bride will need 2 toe rings. Is that right? I read that your hubby wore one too. Is that part of the ceremony?

Thanks again, Joelle!

Tweety - It sounds like I was at Mix Printers the day before you. I was there until closing time cos he had a few customers coming in and out of the shop. I felt bad staying til 9.15 but as you said, there were quite a few things that needed correcting. I'm VERY particular. And I think I gave him a headache after all that.

Kismet - Welcome back dear! There's been a lot going on in the forum so take your time in catching up. Oooh, I do hope the Delhi Belly will ease up soon though. Sounds nasty!

SK - Wise words re. MUAs. I do agree!

Angelic - If you're looking at just a venue, I can't think of much except the Glass Hall at Singapore Art Museum and the ACM Empress Place for the budget you mentioned. Have you tried any of the country clubs? Just a question, do you REALLY prefer to cater from outside? It'll be alot easier if you do it at a venue that can provide the food.

Just seeking everyone's opinion. My banquet outfit is a off-white/beige stonework saree. And my decor for the banquet is cream roses and cherubs (I know, eeeeuww, but I did say that the Hilton has really dated and limited decor options.)

So the question is, do you guys think I'll melt into the background/decor, given the colour of my saree? Or do you think it'll be OK?

Btw, we chose for the VIP tables to have maroon table cloths while the guests tables have a light gold table cloth.

Here's a pic of the cream roses and cherub theme.

469144.jpg

Rany, I don't think any bride will ever melt into the background. All eyes will constantly be on you guys..! Don't worry about the colour - you'll be the star of the evening.

Sphire: Hey, guess what? I didnt even knw that we are scheduled at 10am also.. she hasnt gotten back to me.. seems like she is a very busy lady.
I have engaged her for my Photoshoot make up as well so hopefully it works out. since i am a bit dark, didn want to take the MUA from my BS...

No worries, babe.. whatever it is, i m sure God has the best in mind for both of us. I m totally resting in His grace to ensure i make the right decision after the trial.

hey rany, like what brokenbudgie said, the bride will never melt into the background. Do remember to accessorize. Its the overall look thats important and hair, make-up and accessories do the trick more than the outfit alone

I'm now considering having a costume change during my reception..Would like a western gown as well...Chick, is the selection of evening gowns at D'sire any good? Intend to purchase one...