Indian wedding Services in Singapore

<table border=1><tr><td>Bride</TD><TD>Banquet Date</TD><TD>Banquet Loc</TD><TD>Banquet PG</TD><TD>Banquet VG</TD><TD>Banquet MUA</TD><TD>Wedding Date</TD><TD>Wedding Loc</TD><TD>Wedding PG</TD><TD>Wedding VG</TD><TD>Wedding MUA</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kayla</TD><TD>31/03/07</TD><TD>Orchid Country Club</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>MUA</TD><TD>28/03/07</TD><TD> Sth Bridge Temple</TD><TD>Paneer</TD><TD>Paneer</TD><TD>Susiee</TD><TD>Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rany</TD><TD>02/06/07</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD>Jonathan Ho</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Shanti</TD><TD>02/06/07</TD><TD>Yishun Temple</TD><TD>Jonathan Ho</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Shanti</TD><TD>Di Gio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tweety</TD><TD> 02/06/07</TD><TD> Khalsa</TD><TD> Ramesh</TD><TD> Sree</TD><TD> Menaka</TD><TD> 02/06/07</TD><TD> Khalsa</TD><TD> Ramesh</TD><TD> Sree</TD><TD> Menaka</TD><TD> Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chick77</TD><TD>30/06/07</TD><TD>Raffles the Plaza</TD><TD> Edmund Leong</TD><TD>Yap*ies</TD><TD>Shanti</TD><TD>17/06/07</TD><TD>Tank Rd Temple</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>Shanti</TD><TD>Z’Wedding </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kismet</TD><TD> 29/06/07</TD><TD> SSC</TD><TD> PG</TD><TD> VG</TD><TD> MUA</TD><TD> 01/07/07</TD><TD> SSC</TD><TD> PG</TD><TD> VG</TD><TD> MUA</TD><TD> Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvannia</TD><TD> 06/07/07</TD><TD> Khalsa</TD><TD> PG</TD><TD> VG</TD><TD> MUA</TD><TD> 06/0707</TD><TD> Khalsa</TD><TD> PG</TD><TD> VG</TD><TD> MUA</TD><TD> Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Brokenbudgie</TD><TD> 14 &amp; 15/07/07</TD><TD> Fullerton &amp; Oriental</TD><TD> Vivid Shots</TD><TD> Siete Films</TD><TD> MUA</TD><TD> 14/07/07</TD><TD> Fullerton</TD><TD> Vivid Shots</TD><TD> Siete Films</TD><TD> MUA</TD><TD> Amanda Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>SK</TD><TD>23/07/07</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD> Tsang Studio &amp; Jayce photography</TD><TD> VG</TD><TD> Yasmin </TD><TD>22/07/07</TD><TD> Sikh Temple</TD><TD> Tsang Studio &amp; Jayce photography</TD><TD> Damon Low </TD><TD>Yasmin</TD><TD> French Bridal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Debbie</TD><TD> 08/12/07</TD><TD> Yishun SAFRA</TD><TD> PG</TD><TD> VG</TD><TD> MUA</TD><TD> 08/12/07</TD><TD> Yishun SAFRA</TD><TD> PG</TD><TD> VG</TD><TD> MUA</TD><TD> J&amp;M Design </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sphire</TD><TD>08/12/07</TD><TD>Oriental</TD><TD>Edmund Leong</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>Shanti</TD><TD>07/06/08</TD><TD>Tank Rd Temple(tbc)</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>Menaka</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</td></tr></table>

Sphire : OOh... Rental is $350.. Well... But where shall i get lengga material which are real heavy.. I've seen around style mart and jinders.. its like $1000 over.. Are you talking about materials in Arab street?? but the outfit in arab street do not have the same effect as an indian bridal wear... unless we bead it soo soo much... hahha... but actually its fun hahaha.. designing our own bridal wear... *winkie*

Tweety : What time is your bangle ceremony? If Its in the evening you can ask your henna artist to come in the morning... so you can have henna on too on your bangle ceremony.... or else... on the 30th May (night) so you sleep on with the henna..for a darker color result... and do your mani / pedi all before your henna...
Its best not to touch much water after using henna..

BEST :
Henna : 30th May (Night abt7pm)
Mani / Pedi : 30th May (Morning/Noon)

Some tips for you :
The mehendi / henna paste dries within 20-30 minutes.
Gently tab lemon-sugar mix on the design.
Do not wash your hands.
Keep the paste for 7-8 hrs.
Do not wash your hands/feet, just peel off the paste from your hands with spoon or spatula.
To remove stickiness apply baby oil and clean your hands and feet with paper towel, but do not wash your hands and feet.
Put 12-15 cloves on a pan &amp; warm up your hands from far with the cloves steam – smoke, for 10 – 15 minutes.
To get better color apply Vicks balm or Tiger balm on your hands, but do not wash your hands.
The color turns orange in the beginning &amp; later turns to Burgundy after few hours.
The color of mehendi also differs on individuals which depends on one’s body heat and how well one takes care of mehendi.

AnywaY, Who is your henna artist?

Suhana - Tks for the advice. I am taking Menaka for both MUA and henna drawing. If I am not mistaken her daughter will be coming down to do the henna artwork.

Wow just 2 days of being away and so many new posts and BTB's
This weekend was a hectic one.Had to clean,scrub, mop and paint my entire house after the tenants left it in a mess.with blistered hands and a body at breaking point here i am

Joelle-Congrats on your wedding and getting the MRS status.May you have a blesed wedded life ahead

Jan- I also paid $1365 and $500 deposit

Sphire- Mandap is a must for us. Dun wanna do it on stage. Thought of placing a dias on the stage where pics can be taken...maybe cake cutting n champange.Still not sure abt the itinery.mandap is to be placed at the extension of L2 hall.

tweety- You've got you PG n VG. Have you seen their works?Whats the cost like?

Suhana- The henna was really beautiful. How long did it take to get it done?

Kayla-Best wishes for a blissful wedded life

Ladies-Anyone with pics of your trials? Pls send them to me at [email protected]

Does anyone know how i can put a ticker timer here?

hey everyone.. is there any lastest color trend going on for bridal lengga??

I only know for wedding, usually brides wear red/maroon/gold...
But can we wear other colors instead??

Like a few years back i think e trend was all bronzey colors.. hehehe

Henna artist is from
Saheli...
You can contact her at :
Shereen- 91816422 / 65813732

She does bridal make-up too.. for punjabi n south indian weddings..

Suhana-
On Zee Tv,Sony entertainment and star plus i see thm in shades of orange alot these days ;)

Entertainment- you can try belly dancers too ;) sumthin different

Orange.. ahak.. nice.... Something different...
Its been so long since i have watch Zee tv and Sony.. haha i Guess i will get back watching it and have a better idea.. ;)

belly dancing is something unique hehehe... it will be good..but ..
my family wont agreee it in a muslim ceremony...

anyone have a idea where i can get rose petals... i heard they do sell the fake onces which looks very real..

Really nice shots
lehenga is nice too.
Just a question.I'm not as lucky as many of you and have pimple scars and blemishes.
Will the MUA be able to give me a flawless look with her skills and make up?

Angelic : Yes the outfit is from Saheli.. She didnt bring her outfit that day.. so shereen made her wear a orange lengga which is closer to her actual day outfit.. She was saying that ... the lengga is nice right.. very Bright looking ..I love her eye make-up..Looks very sunset hehehe

Yvannia : For Pimple scars n blemishes.. i think your MUA will put something else before the foundation... coz my cousin too have the same problem.. its like a green color base .. then the MUA actually blend the Foundation very well in.. so it doesnt look very cakey.. and looks flawless..
but in your case.. i think u must must go for a trial first.. so your MUA will know your skin well and no mistakes on the actual day hehe..

Suhana - Tks dearie.

Yvannia: PG and VG was booked by my FH. I did view the PG's work. His pictures are very clear and the essential moments are well captured. He uses digital camera. His wife is actually the owner of Spa Alangkaara. He is charging us $70 per roll.

As for the VG he was recommended by Kuna (wedding decorator). His name is Sree and he has taken VG for our local tamil radio station. He charges $450.

Tweety-Thnks i might need the contacts of ur VG n PG

Angelic gal+Suhana- Thanks for the info but have you gone for trial and seen the outcome yourselves?

Does anyone know
if the inhouse caterer for Khalsa provides seat covers and table skirtings?

are we able to coordinate the colours?

is there any extra charge for that or does it come with the food package?

Yvannia - Not to mention. I will get their contact numbers for you.

The inhouse caterer do provide skirting for the tables. I have seen biege and maroon colour so far. Their chairs do not need cover actually. You can check with them. All these are included in the food package.

suhana - If u wanna material similar to the ones posted, will cost u abt $1K. Mi thinkin of doin up with saree. Something out of the box.

Sphire : ahak Saree.. but saree are so simple for making into lengga unless if its the heavy beaded saree.... more of the northern indian.... if its the normal saree material.. i think it will look too simple for wedding...
Yeah all the good onces are like so expensive hahahahha....

Suhana - Yup... got to get heavy beaded ones. Think and probably get like $200.. tailoring another $200. Less than $500 u cn settle a MTM lengha. Its abt $150 more to the rental ones. U get to design and keep it.

Hey Suhana if you're looking for nicely embroidered sarees to get ur lehenga done, u might wanna check out Haniffa L2 on the main road. They have very pretty sarees there and will be having their New yr sales in april you might get a good deal there

Happy blessed Day to all, i am getting married in July 07 in my church. looking for a crown and necklace like the attached picture, anyone to advise me pls where to buy? also i am looking for hand wrist flowers or flower crown for photoshoot session, pls advise ladies, thank u!
467676.jpg

SK - Thks for putting together the list again. It's so exciting seeing everyone's info up there. Our list has grown again.

Kayla - It's your big day tmr!!! If you're reading this, a big shout out to you and sending our best wishes to you and your hubby.

Joelle - Thanks so much for answering my questions. You're such a dear to read so far back and really address all those questions. Thank you so much!!

Re. Ananda Bhavan, gee, that really sounds bad!!! How can anyone rectify a mistake like that??? Although a compensation won't be able to undo what they did, I do agree that you should demand a huge compensation from them for causing you such distress and for the guests, a deep disappointment!!

Jeinthi - Does the place you are renting your gown from provide accessories? They usually do so have a look at their collection.

As for my updates, have just booked Shereen (Saheli) for henna. Happy!

Re. MUA, Shanti called back today to tell me that the EARLIEST she can fit me into her busy schedule for a trial is 13 May!!! My wedding is on 2 June and my photoshoot is scheduled sometime 28 May for god's sake!! How is she expecting me to go until then w/o confirming an MUA for my events??? I told her that by 13 May, I'd risk having the other MUA I went to have a trial with and am KIVing booked up by somebody else. She says she understands and if I really like the other MUA, I should go with her but I told her I need to have a trial with her (Shanti) first before I can make an informed decision. She agreed but she still didn't fit me in earlier.

Apparently on some weekends she finishes her shoots about 5-6pm. So I offered that I would be available and happy if we have a trial in the evening after her shoot. At first she said she doesn't want to because the lighting conditions won't be right. But I told her I wouldn't mind it because even if she did it in the day, it's not like I'm going to go out in the outdoors to look at the result. But she persisted with her line of reasoning. Then she added that she'd be too tired to do one in the evening because the photoshoot would be exhausting.

Somehow I feel like I'm not impt to her, my wedding is not impt to her. Like she can take it or leave it kind. Not that I should be impt but wouldn't a customer want to feel a sense of importance, being given the due attention? I feel like I'm being played, if you know what I mean.

Hi Tweety and all BTB,
Here's my experience from "AUNTY" Joelle
:

1. When i did my bangle ceremony, i had my henna in the morning.
If you intent to get the henna on your bangle ceremony day, please ask her to come as early as possible.. abt 10am, cos by the time they finish both hands and legs it will be at 1pm. i started late at 12pm so finished at 2.30pm.

2. It also depends how extensive you want your henna designs, like up to half the arms or calves.. i only opt for up to the wrist and ankle with simple Arabian design so it's quite fast.

3. It took only 15 mins to dry for me cos my body heat was slightly higher.. partly because i was ovulating (hahaha..
sorry I do keep track of such things..) and I also cheat abt lah…
I was sipping a hot pot of tea when the henna artist was working on me.. so eventually my body heat helps to dry the henna in under 20 mins…

4. Also, cos I only have less than 3.5hrs to dry them well.. Because Bangle ceremony is always done in the evening abt 7-8pm cos that is the auspicious timing for all.. they never have it in the day cos you need married women to do the rituals for you.. They are usually your in-laws aunties, family friends and all…if you read my earlier threads... i more or less have described the whole ritual….
Therefore…You need to start dressing at 5pm and makeup and stuff will take at 1 hr or so.. That means shower before makeup but u not suppose to touch water after henna rite? So how?

5.If you can, like wat suhana suggest , do it on the 30th May (night) so you sleep over night with the henna for a darker color result.
Actually by customs you should not do henna before bangle ceremony… but no one practice this anymore cos with all the bangle on your hands, it’s hard to work on the henna…

6. Mani / pedi is best to do at least 3-4 hours before your henna if you are doing on 30th cos real nails will take abt 2 hours to dry, especially they put 1 basecoat, 2 nail coat and 1 top coat on your nails… BUT I cheat again.. (OMG, I’m such a cheater..)
I had “stick-on tips†nails so that they look uniform…they look slender, nice and shapely. of cos the manicurist will shape it such that it look as though real nails...You can opt for acrylic nails but they are slightly on a pricey side and very bad for your real nails..

7. I wanted to draw simple nail art but my nails are too short and uneven length.. so this was the best option for me… please dun do it yourself.. the manicurist can do a better job…
..To all brides, if you want to look stunning from head to toe, please don’t neglect the nails... Just spend the money.. and it’s gonna be THE day of your lifetime… nothing beats this than having ugly manicure nails.. Another reason is becos Your PG will camera focus a lot of closeups on your hands on bangle ceremony and actual day… most of the rituals required you to use your hands a lot… U get wat I mean…?
oh yeah.. your hubby putting toe ring for you on actual day.. big closeup there u know ...

8. Do not shower 2hrs before your henna... your body moisture stays with u even u have dried yourself well….

9. Same thing…Keep the henna as long as possible…color will turns orange then Burgundy brown. In order to get the maximum result, after henna dries in 30 mins later…Drip lots the medicated oil on both the hand and leg design.. try to immerse the design with the oil..
Yes.. the smell is there and some cannot take it
but it’s the fastest and most effective way to add heat to the design so as to make it “imprint†long lasting… no need to prepare anything or rub anything on the design in case u ruin it..
Let it dry off.. as long as possible. Most of the henna artists will advice u to do this… so make sure u can a BIG bottle of it.

10. I did not “warm up†the hands over the stove or smoke…I was very lucky…
I only keep it for 2.5hrs cos I need to shower to get ready for bangle ceremony that night, it look only ok after that.. next day.. it was chestnut color on the palm.. which means I love my hubby a lot…? LOL..
anyway.. fingertips portion will be darker.. cos blood circulation…

11.Question: how to ensure henna will turn out good on actual day? No washing under tap water, not detergent and stuff that is slightly on the alkaline/alcohol base cos it’s harsh to the skin and the color comes off easily..
Hand cream is so far ok, as far as I know…if u want, every day drip a few drops of medicated oil on your hands and feet just to preserve it well.. I drank Brands of essence for 2 days to keep body temperature high..

Dun like the taste? Sip some red wine which does the job too.. if you can drink a small glass prior to the henna will be best.. helps to bring up the metabolism and keep ur temperature high temporary....but dun turned out to be a drunkard...hahaha…

12. As usual, I could not sit still so was taking some pic on the henna lady working on me.. Tot i could post it on my webpages..
... got scolded cos I moved abt quite abit and almost ruin the designs..
... so u need to focus when she is drawing u.. cos u need to “work†with her..on how u should move ur hands and legs.. U can special request ur PG to take some “artistic†photos for ur henna process for good memories… (cos I did !)

13. After henna done , try to rest urself down at a comfy couch.. should not move around too much cos it will crack and drop off easily..

will post my DIY pics later

Hey hey Rany...

I'm always ready to help anyone that needs help for preparation... cos i also learnt alot from u guys along the way.. this is wat i call: SISTA-hood ! oh..make sure u double confirm your catering for the temple wedding to avoid hipups.

Why did u schedule ur Studio photoshoot on 28 May... Are you doing this with DioGio? U should do it 1.5 mnths- 2 mths before the wedding...

1. first of all u don't need to stressed urself 1 week before the wedding with a full day shoot (normally bridal shoot is full day)

2. I supposed u are doing studio and outdoor shoot.. u will get tanned when u do outdoor shoot, esp in June... I had sun burn on my back after the next day.. my arms was 2 color tone !
it took 3 to 4 days to go away... especially u are fair... or maybe it's just me??
My face condition was not good neither after the shoot.. sorry.. i dun mean to scare u but pls lots of sunblock and moisturizers...

3. U need a nice portrait photo at the reception area.. it is nice to see your BEST wedding pict there and you can share ur wedding album at the reception, esp for those friends and relatives who will not be seeing u after the wedding..

As for MUA Shanti Trial.. i'm so sorry u feel this way.. "pat"pat"

Can she do a trial with you on weekday? MUA peak hours are actually on Friday- Sunday.. so it will be hard for her to slot you in. If u have to take half day off work in the morning to do it on a weekday, pls do so.. as soon as possible.. need to confirm the MUA by now. I know it's stressful...Who have u done a MUA trial with..? U took any pix on this? perhaps i can help?

Does anyone having the same problem with scheduling Shanti for trial?

Hi Jan,
Don't worry abt the stage being plain without the plumping.. they add more stuff using the backdrop and gave us a bigger more comfy couch so that we can sit more comfortable when relatives come to greet us after the event. The decorator which was arranged by MIL actually give me some "sitting" steps instead of me seated on the floor when doing the ritual. I'm not sure if it is such arrangement for the brides but at least i was feeling at ease getting up and down with the heavy beaded wedding dress and do the ritual properly.

Sorry i did not have any actual day photo with me now cos i just got wed like 11days ago? only collecting it end of next week or so.

RE: MUA- hehe.. i m one of them who has yet to get a fixed date. she said she'll be away for a while. so i guess b4 she goes away, i have to catch her.

SPHIRE: i think she wants to do trial make up for us at teh same time and let us choose, right? is that what u understand from what she has said so far?

Jeinthi: I saw a few tiaras at Chamelon causeway point but abit simpler pattern than the pic u showed. Priced at $39.90. Do take a look if u like

Rany: Who was the MUA u went for trial with earlier? Good?

Joelle: Was yr MUA also the henna artist? Do you ahve to choose the same pattern for your hands &amp; legs? Meaning can each of yr palm be a diff pattern &amp; each foot a diff pattern?

How long did the stick on nails last? Will it peel off easily?? My nails are short too so considering stick on nails. How much was it?

Yr bangles very nice! U bgt them at "shop in style"?

Rany - Sorry to hear abt Shanti's strong headedness. She was also pushing mi to hv a trial ASAP... now she only gave mi a date May. Lucky mi still hv time to decide after tht. Looks like Shereen also does a splendid job. If I'm u... will also panic.

Debbie - Yup.. my trial is at 10am.. yours right after tht. She is hoping 1 of us drop and 1 of us take. Jus hope the best for both of us.

Joelle - Beautiful bangles.

Piggy - Sorry to ask you this at this moment. Could u provide me with the Oriental indian coordinator name and the dept? Jus in case my coordinator get strong headed. Will not mention unless really need too. Thankx... [email protected]

Rany - seems like 13th May is a tad too late. You also need to see her accessories and decide what other jewellery you will need to match. The last time when i did her trial, din really see accessories in detail. The other thing you need to confirm is if she can tie sari for you. Cos i was told she cant and if you have someone who can do it, then ok...She did mention she was recently promoted and rather busy...So..guess its still your call. One thing i'm finding out is that..there's a lot of recommendations on who's good and not, but you really need to have a trial to find out if that person's makeup style etc suits you as an individual..my 2 cents..

Joelle dear...you never reply my question on bangles..hehe. Do we keep the same bangle ceremony bangles on till the wedding day or 3 days after the wedding etc?

Sphire - regarding ur qn on trial pics, sorry gal, i really dun like to take pics, so i dun have any...I mus be the only weirdo around who doesnt take pics..hehe

Joelle - Tks for the advice. Really appreciate it.

Kayla - Congratulations and Best Wishes!

Rany - Sorry to hear about the bad experience u have encountered with Shanthi. As mentioned by Sphire why not give Saheli Bridal a try.

Currently I had a bad experience from Usha Printers (M'sia). I went to select my wedding card somewhere in mid Jan and confirmed it by paying a deposit of 200 ringgit. Recently she called up to say that she don't have the print for the card I selected and was forcing me to choose something which I didn't like. My FH was damn pissed and wanted to cancel the order. She quickly changed her words saying since this is now a custom made card v have to pay 2.30 sing dollars for per card! The actual price of the card is 80 cents (sing) only. After much aruguments she agreed to bear the costs and was sarcastic to say "since this is a wedding I don't wish to have any unhappiness and will bear the costs". Moreover the proof reading was full of blunders! She changed my mum's name, wedding venue and even my wedding date was stated 2 June 2006 instead of 2007. When we asked her how come so many mistakes she blamed her workers. Even after serveral rectification there were still mistakes. Finally we gave up coz we felt that she is not keen to do a gd job!

But thank god I cannot remember which bride but her post on Mix Printers really helped. I went to the shop last week and managed to get a simple card and the owner promised to get the cards ready by 11 April 07 once i have confirmed my proof reading today.

Joelle-Nice henna

Tweety- Hmm a pretty bad experience but thank god you've found a gd printer at last
hopefully he delivers.

Kayla- 2 days to go! I'm sure you must be really excited.
Congratulations on ur marriage.May u be blessed throughout in another chapter of ur life(",)

I sent a list of MUA's PG &amp; VG i gathered from the forum to my SIL. She gave me some feedback on the MUA.She said she knew pple who had bad experience with MEneka but she said sussie did a gd job whereas meneka's turns out nice at times but not all the time.

It seems that my SIL noes Nasir personally.He was her ex collegue.So i might end up taking him as my VG &amp; PG.SIL said his works are good and has hired him for many of her functions.

I'll be getting my cards printed this week