Indian wedding Services in Singapore

SK: Hehehe.. u very cute, leh.. i din say that mine is a traditional one, dear.. mine is not the south indian style. it is a Christian wedding and so i guess then Yasmin should be able to handle it cos from what Sphire said, Shanti may no longer be an option

Sphire: Hi dear! so excited that we share the same date.. where is urs goin to be? well, nvamind la, if i really cant get Shanti, i will look around somemore, Ysmin seems to be a gd option too.. thanks so much for letting me know Sphire otherwise I might not have gotten down to calling her to confirm.. bt did she do trial makeup for u? how was Shanti's makeup..i m a bit dark so need the makeup to be less obvious..

Thanks Rany - I was going for a simple yet elegant look and i was glad that Rashidah managed to achieve it

It will be quite a colourful shoot, yes...M excited! There's a bustier off-white gown with floral lace in silver & gold with a scalloped border and a net(see thru) back, a bustier champagne gold gown, a bustier 2 toned orange/goldish gown with hints of pink, with a ribboned side which shows off some skin :p and a maroon halter gown. The outdoor gown is a white halter neck with a long train. My lehenga is a blue & gold one with hints of red & pink...

Sorry, deborah, thought you were having a temple wedding. Do give Yasmin a call to find out more.

I actually cut a small part of my saree to buy the matching accessories cos my saree is soooo heavy. Din want to carry it around in rain and shine...hehehe...Guess i must start doing that!
My hubby's family is leaving for Maldives from Singapore so i have to plan the trip for them...Heard from my hubby that some ladies in his extended family whom are coming to Singapore have bought gorgeous-looking and really expensive sarees to wear for my reception...i am feeling so pressurised after knowing that they are trying to outshine me...Sob Sob...

Hi Rany,
Dear, u can get glass bangles from Jothi Shop, shops around jothi,Little India Arcade and from the shop behind the taxi stand...Dont forget to buy kolusu and metti as well...better to buy the small things first.

Chick / SK/ Rany - Yup hanging very strongly now. Gonna confirm date again this Sat (hopefully).

Deborah - Great to know that we are gonna celebrate the same date years after years. Mi hving my banquet at Oriental. Hvnt done trial. She said call back after outfit is choosen. Mi already confirmed goin with her.

SK - The colours of your gown sound so good. Getting excited for you. Mi too hving 5 changes for photoshoot.Hopefully I could find nice ones too.

Kayla - U hang in there ya. In no weddings the brides hv been outshined. So dont be sad or stressed. U sure will look more gorgeous than usual. Remember to show us pics so we cn scold u for sobbing for no reason.. :P

Sphire: this is getting really funny now. My FH works at Oriental Hotel!! Haha! He's the AV Specialist there..I asked him to have it @ his own workplace cos can get staff discount bt he din want. Most of my church frns and colleagues hv given me good reviews of the place so u shd b enjoying it =)they have got cute wedding favours too.

Hi Rany, yes, that very same black toga gown with the jeweled strap! We share great tastes..;)

Nec - tried to send you a private message but your PM is off. Re: shops, there would be too many to mention but I've made up a list from reading through the archives.

Deborah - Wow... seems like we r clashing...kekekee. The service at Oriental is great. Wedding favours hv changed from cute to horrible since their new themes were established. FH is not happy cos jus received a letter saying that valet parking cupons will not be issued as signed on contract. So many changes. But coordinator is really helpful and approachable. No regrets but a little upset on their full swing changes.

SK - Goin for photoshoot end June. Most probably will choose gown end May or early June. What is your time gap between gown selection and photoshoot?

SK - my gown costs $588..which is pretty cheap considering that all the BS were asking for about 900-1800 just for rental of gown..Your gowns sound lovely...Must be excited about your photoshoot :-)

Rany - hey as usual blur me din take picture. I left my gown at the shop so that they can alter for me and do some touch up on the beadwork. Its basically a bustier with work on the body and its got a pretty long train - dunno how i'm gonna manage..hehe..I'm going down in late May i think to collect it..As for Z, they did refund me some $$ and my FH is still taking his pants etc, so overall we didn't lose much. The only thing is i made the choice not to use my actual day gown for the photoshoot, cos i dont wanna dirty it and have to dry clean etc..dunno if thats the right decision...Btw, do keep us posted on your trial ok..M gonna go for the rupini one next week, she always seems super busy..

Kayla - cheer up...Brides usually glow on the wedding day, have good rest and dont stress. Easier said than done i noe :-)

Sphire - hey so is your sis confirming nasir and don for her wedding?

Sphire 80

hehehe.. ya, so funny,e way our paths are interwined.. hehe. Hmmm.. my FH did mention that they have established new themes bt recently he brot to my home a very cute favour- it is a cute short bottle with a few pearly coloured choc eggs inside. closed with a cork. quite cute to me. did they show that as an option to u? check out the march Style: bridal mag. their deco for oriental looks, very.... well, oriental, la.. but classy.. =)

Maybe u guys can stand ur ground and see whether they will give u what they originally promised. trust me, k, my FH has seen the nastiest of couples get their way, full swing of mood tantrums and diva drama rama.

BTW, Shanti called me. She said she will work around the situation n get back to me on the make up thingy..well, i've prayed abt it and left it to Him. Whatever the outcome, it will be God's best choice for us both. =)

BTW, ur nickname sounds very familiar.. did u use to chat online before?

Hi, raspberries!

Yes, we'll be having e ROM solemnisation & church ceremony done by our pastor @Yishun Safra Club itself since we don hva church building.

Trusting the Lord for excellent weather since i really wana hv an outdoor event.heheh.. it's my worse nitemare to have it indoors.

DIGRESSING starts HERE....original dream was Sentosa bt super not worth it. rent alone was a bomb! also, i wanted a regal affair bt with the beach, cant do that- weather too hot and ppl may nt be coming for sake of distance and humidity is another factor not to mention rain. and i cant wear super high heels as it will 'drown' in the sand.. unless i burn $ for flooring.. aiyo, while typing already i find it so maafan!so imagine if i really went ahead wif it..DIGRESSION ENDS HERE.... :P

The scoop on YISHUN SAFRA CLUB:

1. arrangements- wise: we booked their restaurant n 1 ballroom for the dinner reception and the outdoor area (same floor as dinner reception place)for the ROM/church ceremony. They do have up to 3 rooms that they can open up for dinner reception. A changing room near the last function room.

2. Services-wise: they are ok, la.. but cud do better. our coordinator from YSC is Eujane. very basic deco is offered. i m looking for external vendors to do deco 4me, like florists (any recommendations, gals?)

Their floral arch only has fake flowers and we can't replace 'em with fresh flowers or anything.

Stage background can choose maroon or ivory. if both also u dun like, it will be black col background..as in the wall is painted black. sigh.. ya, i know, very ridiculous to have such a col for backkground, rite? so die-die also must choose either one of their background. :P

They have some flower columns (fake flowers again!) for the aisle, e march-in bit. some flowers near their narrow stage.

They give 30 car park coupons. i guess that's e only perk.. and oh, yah! free champaigne for champaigne pouring.. hahah! most places give that right ;P

3. Food-wise: got chinese n indian food, buffet style for indian food. caterers are Casuarina Curry. $15/head. we are paying slightly more since we dun wan paper cups/plates/plastic cups/plastic forks and spoons.

Someone was telling me SPAM-JOMs is a better venue bt having paid $2.5k downpayment.. it's nt wise for us to back out now, lor.

i m jus trusting the Lord to transform the place into one so beautiful that ppl will leave with pleasant memories. =)

kekeke.. sorry, ponnus.. very long entry by me.

Yo yo... me back again... sorry for my disappearing act again.. too overwhelmed by all the last mintues "to-do" stuff.. don't even have enough time to sleep.. haiz

i kinda of lost count wat else to do.. it has been a disaster ..basically i race against time day by day... some quick updates..

was so busy catching up with room renov.. don't have the time to clear the clutter... my auntie had to come and help me pack everyday and trying to fit all my clothing and toiletries, threw 5 bags of clothings.. very heart pain... built-in wardrobe was not well done so they are gonna to re-built tomorro!! which means that i have to move my stuff out again!

We repainted the feature wall so many times to get the smooth coat.. FH was still painting it just now.. Finally it look acceptable now.. gotten the bedsheets (except fitted sheets) but we had not bought the curtains, carpet and the lights!... i don't know how..

I just recovered a terrible migrain last weekend.. my face and eyes was so swollen like a pig head.. got a jab at the docs and had less than half a day's rest then had to rush to JB for my lengha alteration and order additional flowers from the florist.. did not sleep well last night cos having chest pain all night.. FH had to stay up to rub oilment on me...then now he's coughing non-stop.. haiz.. i think either one of us will faint at the alter...

My wedding favor is only half completed cos i could not get a suitable bag/box for it so had to customise it last minute from my printer.. the packaging only arrive tomorro morning.. 1200 of it! i dun noe when i can finish packing.. i had to mobilise my aunties-in-law to help.. they gonna take "MC" tomorro to help me pack...

My ceremony sheets are half done cos i had to summarize quite a bit and still making it as accurate as possible.. everyday the printer chasing me.. how to get it done by sat?haiz

Scrapbk project is still half done.. printer can only pass me the prints on Thu.. i had to rush it within that 2 days...

Was hunting for a customised angpow box and some gifts for the helpers...Just managed to buy materials from Arab street today.. Galfriend is helping me to customise the angpow box.. plus 1 table top photo journal, 1 scrapbook cover, 15 customised photocards, 10 handmade pocket journals and 5 handmade jewellrybox for the helpers and the aunties who helped me for all the wedding prep.. Poor friend.. she's got to rush these projects out by Sat..

Have not get my nails done, my saree blouse had to alter again cos i lost weight... need waxing for arms... now FIL said we need to visit 4 temples tomor morning at 7am !!

Too many things in my head now.. and my wedding is in 4 days time ... OMG !

Gals.. please don't do last minute prep like me..

hey, joelle!
first time 'chatting' wif u.. kinda new here myself..deborah here..

oh no! that is so sad! 5 bags of clothes? hopefully they are not gd condition so nt so heartpain.. i once watched Oprah n she said always ask 3 qns with the clothes u hv/buy- 1. does it look flattering on me? 2. is this the image i want to portray? 3. oops// 3rd one slipped my mind..so anyways, she also said everytime we buy smthg new, must throw one old item out so that we dun hv too many things in teh cupboard.

it is my humble opinion that in order to remain sane on ur big day, u have to delegate some duties like getting of stuff u need to give it out to ppl who have the spare time. otherwise u will burn out.

e very fact u are up this late, dear, is bad news..u shd b resting now.. i m awake cos it is my 1 week hol..

hearing ur symptoms is v scary.. chest pains?? my gosh! that is serious, babe. stop stressing out please. rest as much as possible and delegate. delegate. delegate!

wedding favours are best bot cos it saves time and trouble. as mentioned earlier, i m on hols.. and as weird as this may sound, i m going to say it anyways.. i sense ur stress and i emphatise with u. if u need me to help u wif ur favours, lemme know? i'll try my best to join ur aunts n help pack
or maybe i can help u with the ceremony sheets? i dun know.. whatever u feel comfy wif. if u need to email me: [email protected]

What is this scrapbook thing u are working on? why r u piling all the work on urself?? isn there any close fren of urs who can help u with that? u can gv the directions/expectations and let that person work on it for u.

i saw a thread- someone selling an angpao box for $8. if worse comes to worst, jus buy that and do some mild deco, babe. no point burning mid night oil for that box.

I heard nails mus b done ONLY the day b4 the big day.

look on the positive side.. surely along the stretch of temple visiting, u can pop in to one of the many shops and do waxing.. like maybe can arrange the pit stops in such a way that temple no 3 and no 4 not too far away n can go wax while waiting for temples to open in the evening or maybe go after temple no 4?

Joelle, whatever u do, jus dun beat urself up on doin the last min things.. be thankful that u are 4 days closer to the most important day of ur life. be positive and strong, k? will pray for u =) all will be well.. shalom.

raspberriez91 - Mmm.. hv we seen u around here??!! If not welcome on board.. if we hv,.. opps sorry.. mi very blur.

Chick - Dropped by D'sire once. They do hv lovely gowns. Glad u got one that u like. For her wedding its all decided by her FH's side. So not sure if they engaging Don. But dont think they asked my mum anything abt Nasir. Nasir sms mi last night and said photos ready. Gonna call him later.

Deborah - Saw that mini bottle. But want a keep sake for my guest rather than the draggies. Got to talk abt it to coordinator.
Yup Sphire is my nick for donkey years already. It has always been my chat nick. ... MMM we link more???

Joelle - All the best for your wedding. Dont panic abt your chest pain. Mi also get chest pain once in while. Sip HOT water. It'll ease the discomfort. Like wht deborah meantioned... if u need help, do look for us.

Sphire - They scheduled the gown selection about 2 weeks before the photoshoot. Going for a final fitting on Monday as the photoshoot on Wednesday.

Joelle - Calm down, girl...Take a moment, all by yourself. Go to your room, sit on your bed, close your eyes and take deep breathes...
Everything will fall into place. Dont stress too much about the nitty gritty stuff. You need to get proper sleep and leave everything else to your relatives & friends. And dont worry, you are going to look beautiful on your wedding day. All the best for your big day

Just wanted to check if your tailor in Plaza Seni, JB did a good job with the lehenga? Do let me know.

Hiya babes..

Sphire
yep, iv been around for sum time already, haven been contributing much, jus been readin n readin all you galz' entries n it juz givez me butterflies in my tummy! cuz my wedding is juz in the "letz do it sumtime next year" stage. nothingz been confirmed yet u see.. so reading all of these has been pretty exciting and at the same time itz scaring the shits outta me wen i think juz HOW am i gonna do all of these! and reading joelle's latest entry makes the butterflies in ma tummy fly like crazy!

Deborah
thanx for the info abt YSC. i live in khatib and ysc might b 1 of the potential venues.. im dying to hav an outdoor reception too! but after checkin out some places' costings, iv taken a tiny step back
still on the lookout though. (the part abt 'drowning' heels in the beach does make sense...sigh..)
Your arrangement of havin the rom n church ceremony in ysc itslf n the reception right after that sounds like a great idea! For my case, we would hav to have the church ceremony in the church (probably late morning/ early afternoon), family n frens will then proceed for a small tea/fingerfood/cocktail buffet in the church compound itslf, and then the dinner reception will be elsewhr that nite.
Oh abt the arch that ysc provides, cant u deco it with your OWN fresh flowers? mayb add on to the fake ones or do sumthin abt it? U can talk to florists abt rentin it frm them, debbie. do check with ysc 1st though.. fake flowers jus dun feel right la..

Joelle dearie
iv been reading much of your wonderfully enriching entries.. with jus that many hours to yr big day n that much things to finish, a gd massage would b the last thing in your mind. BUT if u DO manage to squeeeeeze in 45mins, whisk away for a back massage/ a shoulder massage. i knw of a darn gud Balinese massage place along upp thompson rd, beside the prata house which opens till 11pm! do let me knw if u want the number.

To the rest of the ladies
iv much to learn, been thankful for all the brainfood you guys have been contributing! Hav a great mid week!

hey deborah,
thanks for your post, good to hear your preperations are coming along smoothly. casuarina curry is YUM!! :D

joelle ah...
don't stress...
leave it to your aunties/friends to finish up, TRUST THEM.
and relax.

remember to go for a massage or facial or just close your eyes in a dark room and place some soothing music (Even if you don't really like soothing music, it does calm the nerves).

please please take care and rest assured your aunts/friends will do the best they can for you. so no more worrying and stressing out.
God bless.

oh yeah, i've fixed the pm thing liao!!
thanks for the mail...when i've some time, i'll look thru the archives here and try to compile... :P

Sphire - My Fiance is very tall 6'3...so he has very limited choice...He has however picked 2 jackets from the studio. He will bring in a suit of his own and the ethnic costume and of course use his own pants. Shirts have to be his own too. Now have to figue out which shirts of his for him to wear.

Hi everyone! I am so relieved! Been searching for a forum where Indian brides can meet and discuss wedding preps...this forum is like JACKPOT!
HAve FINALLY been proposed to and the wedding is set tentatively in dec07...am in shock..lookin at all the posts here, i realised how early all of u started planning! I have less than 9mths...and hoping to do ROM on 07/07/07...BUT looks like its gonna be tough..have managed to get a JP..i think its the same person as SK's solemnizer? Am Punjabi too, btw...but thats it...nothing else is fixed..and i cant do anything till my fiance comes back from India coz his folks have yet to meet my folks for the "Official" wedding talk..am so excited...have been waiting for like over a year! well am just really glad to have found this forum and look forward to joining in the discussion!

Hope you are all doing well....I have been resting for the past few days and decorating my home. Am trying to let go and relax
My mum and aunties have taken over the preps from me knowing that i cant take them anymore. 2 of my aunties stayed at my house till 1am yest to decorate the plates for my bangle ceremony. What would i do without them? I am eternally grateful to them...Met up with Mediawave as well and went thru the final programme details for my reception. Still need to come up with the thank-you speech and wedding songs to play during our march-in...Any Suggestions dearies?

hey kayla,

glad that you are relaxing

really good of your aunts to help out like that...so sweet...

what are your program details for the reception, mediawave is doing the emceeing or...? do they provide DJ services? they may suggest songs for your march in..

but what kind of songs to you like? if it's tamil/indian, i really cant help, but if you want something more pop or english kind, i've some songs that i can send over to you...

raspberriez - Not to worry too much. Taking mi for example.. started planning 2yrs ago. Till now, still standing right at the beignning of the plan. Many changes along the way. Move, U-Turn, start again. I'm sure things will fall well for you, dear. We will help you out along the way.

SK - OIC... So FHs hv very little time to sort out their shirts... bad news for mi.. good news for FH. I hate last minute shoppings.

babli - Welcome on board. U hv picked a very hot date for your ROM. Gal,.. adviced you to put on your speedy shoes. My friend is also hvin her wedding on 7/7/7. She was already hving prob with bookings last yr.

Kayla - Gald that u hv got the combat working for you. I've some jazz song plus others that I find could be suitable for aisle. Sent u a few in 3 different emails cos files too big. What theme are u goin for? Probably cn see if I hv any suitable song for you.

Hey Sphire! Thanx...actually..was wondering..coz i called ROM, and the person who spoke to me told me that as long i have a licensed solemnizer for the day, there is no problem to get ROM? Is that true? Coz my FH's relatives will be down from India and Indonesia only that week...so its the most feasible date... your friend had difficulties with venue? or..? I am so frustrated...am the only one planning for the moment...and waiting for input from folks and all...which will only be after next week...

Hey Kayla, are you looking for english songs during march-in? I'll send some across to you gal. Good you taking it easy..thats the way to go :-)

Joelle - hope you are doing well. Good luck with the wedding preps and enjoy yourself!

Babli - welcome! 9 months is a long time, dont stress..

Babli - Yup ROM most important is your solemnizer. U cn only start other paperworks 3mths before the ROM date. It depends on wht kinda venue u looking at. If its a resturant, dont thing tht'll be a prob. If u looking for function rooms or even hotels, u gonna grab fast.

Joelle - All the best for wedding. Rest, relax and enjoy.

Babli - Yup ROM most important is your solemnizer. U cn only start other paperworks 3mths before the ROM date. It depends on wht kinda venue u looking at. If its a resturant, dont thing tht'll be a prob. If u looking for function rooms or even hotels, u gonna grab fast.

Joelle - All the best for wedding. Rest, relax and enjoy.

SK thx for Yasmin's contact.

Welcome aboard babli. I think there are a few Sikh brides here....(forgive me if i'm wrong) its Sk, Kismet, myself and....anyone else i missed out. Feel free to ask. Sk is on the ball and Kismet i think has gone shopping (if i remember rite). I'll try to help but at this pt wid engagement next week n wedding round the corner i'll try to pop in as often as possible. But honestly watever traditions, the gals here are extremely helpful and it all boils down to sharing ideas and contacts. I'm sure you'll get lots here.

Sphire i read tat u're wid Oriental.... I'm havin my dinner reception there. Went to look at the new themes too and gave them lotsa comments, thank god they listened. I actually chose the gold angle as my wedding favour but they dun hv enuf stock so i am gonna wait for more options. But honestly if you speak to them and stay firm on ur plans i think they r more then willing to make you happy. I was initially served by SunSun but she left then Bethany too over and she was great too. Later since i had alot of Indian queries.....full indian buffet spread,...too picky on how it's gonna be served, the pots & pans etc....they got me an Indian coordinator who actually is not from wedding but within the hotel event's area. It's been great so far and i dun understand the part on valet not being provided. Well i hope they dun gimme a shock when i speak to them next week to finalise the nitty gritties.

Initially when the themes were introduced, they were quite rigid with mix n match but after speaking to them and pouring my ideas, i managed to theme up the ballroom the way i desire. Maybe you shld speak to them and tell them ur concerns. If valet is not provided wat is the compensation...r ur guests gonna get complimentary parking at the carpark???? Since u signed the contract when the valet was provided i think u shld insist for somethin in return.

I heard everyone say that the solemnizer is an impt part. In waht sense? I don't have particular JOP in mind...how do u gals choose?
Tks

Joelle/Kayla/Piggy - All the best for your upcoming wedding
. Stay calm and i'm sure all of you will make gorgeous brides. Do stop by the forum once in a while after the wedding just to catch up. Would love to hear about how things went as well as see all the lovely pictures! :D

To all the new brides-to-be, welcome! I'm sure you ladies will get a lot of help here. Just do give us more details of your own plans too. For those of you who've got details, i'm sure Sphire wont mind adding you onto the table. Sorry, Sphire, I took the liberty of voluntaring your services on the table update. If you are busy, please email me the table and i'll update it? Thanks. [email protected]

Hi Piggy - i'm having my dinner at the Oriental too on the 2nd night. I agree that they've been very accommodating with requests and Bethany's been very prompt with her follow up especially with the menu. Which theme are you going for?
p.s. i'm not sikh..but marrying one..and this forum has been a godsend.

hi galz, thanx for the warm welcome..

Spire- what did u mean by 'U cn only start other paperworks 3mths before the ROM date.' ? (post no.610. What other paperworks were u refering to? is it with regards to housing or.....?
And gals, i've been reading the past posts (from archives dating as long ago as may 2006) and iv extracted sooo much bit n pieces of info! thnx u guyz! Spire, cld u pls email me photos of trials from the various gals/ muas plsssss? [email protected] thanx a mil!

Piggy - GREAT!! Another Orientalica,,.. kekekeke. Wow... detailed to pots and pans ah? When did u confirm your package with them? How come u got the old favors?
When is your reception? Keen to stop by to take a look at the settings. U goin for buffet? Mi goin for sit down. Do u hv valet parking? My coordinator is Yiwen. Although she does give listening ears.. but doesnt initiate or suggest much. Hvnt spoken to Yiwen abt the valet parking at the moment. Hopin to still get the valet. The carpark to hotel enterence is really bad.

Angelic - Your hv to confirm your JP before registering your marriage with ROM. At the ROM webby, there'll be list of registered solemnizers. When u submit your application, u must also incl JP info.

SK - Mi looking high and low for the table at the moment. Cant rem where I saved it.

raspberriez91 - Wht I meant by paperwork is tht of registering the marriage. ROM only allows application 3mths before your solemnization date. If u tok abt hse, u hv to produce ur ROM cert (if u goin for family grant) at the 2nd appointment.

Angelic/raspberriez91 - Sorry gals mi dont hv any trial pics with mi anymore. Computer crashed. All pics were gone with it.

Hey gals! Thanx for all the info..really appreciate it...and Piggy...i sure will need help...am lost with customs...hahah...looking at all the discussions..i feel like convincing my FH on Oriental too!
Sphire- Thanx! Actually, i think its gonna be held at an Indian restaurant with (hopefully) good veg food..my In-laws are mostly vegetarian--am Sikh, they're HIndu...The thing is my soloemnizer is only available between 5-6pm..such weird timing..so dunno what we gonna do...gotta wait for the In-laws n FH to get back from India before discussion..
Actually, the In-laws are in the dark about the ROM plan..they dont know i have a solemnizr ready,hehe...they're actually planning for that day to be the traditional meeting..like a pre-engagement thingy..where his folks and relatives meet mine officially...so am still confused...jeez..
Have all of you gals found bridal outfits of your choice? Dont think i can make it to India..so may end up ordering online...is it safe?
ANyways..for those who havent..found some great sites with loads of pics that could help you with ur bridal outfits..or for other occasions:
http://www.bharatplaza.com/
http://dmi-india.com/showcase7.html
http://www.roopam.com/
http://www.indianfashion.biz/
http://www.kaneesha.com/sari_index.cfm~cid~11~crow~25
http://www.maximstyles.com/home/bridal/popular1.htm
http://www.utsavsarees.com

My apologies if this has been posted before...hope it helps!

Hey Orientalicious...i didnt go with any theme, i infact mixed n match the old n new. I liked the dream theme but cos it was black we cldnt take it.

We discussed with the F&B Manager as well as my coordinator and we played ard with colour. My table cloths are dark gold and chair covers white/cream with red sash. I wanted the gold angel cos i didnt like any of the new favours and i wanted to use the angel as placecard holder anyway tat's not possible now waiting to finalise favours.

The flowers for the dream theme were pinkish purple although i liked tat colour, i wanna go back to basic and use fresh roses (i dunno wat they are called, i think antique it's very dark red almost maroon and really big) because my bf proposed to me and he used this huge beautiful roses as decor in the restaurant, it'll more meaningful to me.

I met up wid the florist personally to come up with the decor. The centre pieces tat u saw remains (round vase with jelly n blue light). The walkway wld have candle stands with gold tassels. As for the cocktail area, i'm going with the huge candle with flower petals all over. I cant remember wic theme was tat but they had tat during the show.

I'm havin a buffet and bites during cocktail which will be served by staff moving ard on trays. Mine's authentic North Indian Buffet and my bf's father is a veteren in the hotel industry...we kind of got top mgmt backing "wink wink".

FIL-2-B knows the indian chef personally... previously from Raffles Hotel. Worked on the contract details from April to July and then signed July 24th-special day, Bf's bday. Initially when i signed wat i gather was they had not done any Indian wedding therefore the buffet wld be served in normal buffet-ware. I didnt like the idea and thank God with so many of us Indians takin interest in Oriental, we got them working....apparently i was told Oriental GM went personally to Rajastha to pick up new buffet-ware. As for sit down dinner (we planned tat at first but gave it up).

Let me see how it is next week and fill you in on tat. Hope my expectations wld be met. I think the good bit was havin an indian coordinator who knew wat we were after and she did alot of button pressing to move things along but i dun think she is doing any other wedding coordination (i might be wrong, not sure).

Keeping fingers crossed tat everything falls in place soon. I hv so much to do and only 2weeks left.

Anyone preparing info. handouts for overseas guests? Any samples to look at?

Hi babli...no expert on traditions but i will try to assist. Gal my solemnisation is also 5-6 actually 5.30 to 6.30. I'm havin a small cocktail get-to-gether at Morten's Bar, Oriental Hotel. It's only immediate family & very close frens. You can hv your solemnisation at 5 to 6 and then move on to dinner. I dun think tat's a prob. Have tea & bites for solemnisation. WHr r you planning to hv ur solemnisation

Sphire - How do u upload the table? I copied and pasted the previous one on an excel sheet but wasn't able to post it back on the forum. I'm an idiot when it comes to computers so if you just explain, i could have the table updated.

Babli - I went shopping in India as you probably would have read from my previous posts. I dont think its a good idea to buy online. For example a sherwani i saw online on the Roopams website was sooooo different when i saw it in person in their store in Bombay. You are better off buying it in Singapore. For your wedding, if you dont mind, you might want to take advantage of the fact that your future in-laws are in India and get them to shop for you.

Piggy - Sounds like you are all set!

I think your idea of an intimate solemnisation with just close relatives is excellent!

Hi Piggy...sounds good..prolly do tea with snacks, then dinner..also close family and friends coz FH's relatives will be down from India then..At the moment, the venue hasnt been decided...but it should be at an Indian restaurant..congrats on ur engagement!

Hey SK..read all ur posts! ur so lucky! wanna go India..thanx for the advice..the problem is they're now in India for a pilgrimage but they live in Spore..they have family there..so i was thinking of gettin the addresses and pictures of lengha..n get them to buy..but u know..its never satisfying unless u pick up urself..else..will buy from here..sigh..dont like the collections here..