Indian wedding Services in Singapore

hey Rany - my ROM is in May. will def keep u updated abt the trial. gg to settle my outfit this week so will go for trial after tt. she wanted me to get my outfit first b4 doing the trial. im not sure of what she provides for the wedding. thot i saw some post b4 that said she doesnt provide accessories.

I was supposed to go to india to shop too but now i cant make it.
so sad.. but no choice so gg to settle everything in singapore! Little india here i come!!!!

go girls!!!
*waves pom pom*

everyone preps are drawing close to the big day liao!!!

remember to destress too!!
drink lots of water and use those masks at night to keep skin radiant...

budget airfares to india not that ex...but then the time is another factor...
oh well, at least there is little india and so many helpful BTBs to share their sources.

hi gals... had typed out a long reply yest only to have lost it somehow.. so it didn't get posted...

just wanted to thank SK and Piggy for their recommendations, will deff check them out and let you guys know how everything went in 2 weeks time.. there were sooo many preperations to do even before going.. not funny.

SK, i've been walking around serangoon alot looking at the gold shops.. mum wanted me to take a look at the stuff here because we heard from some friends that some indian selection u get here you won't get even in india.. must say, saw lots that i liked but am waiting to see what i can get in india before purchasing any.. keep in mind though that the jewellers in serangoon road all have different prices for gold.. the range is between $30 - $34 per gram so walk aroung alot before buying.. Also some of the shops with cheaper gold prices might make up for it by marking up their workmanship cost so be careful of that ya.. my fav is chandini but their workmanship prices are rather high...

talking abt tickets to india.. i managed to get my tickets at $620 with indian airlines but after adding the return airfare to amritsar the ticket went up to $750 which is still very reasonable.

All the best with the trial SK, would love to know how it went...

Also, Chick how did your trial go? was it any good?

Hi Nec - what style is your lehenga (skirt)?

Went shopping for evening gowns for FH's brother's own wedding and realised truly elegant gowns are hard to come by. Lavender at Stamford Hse is only good for bridesmaids/tea dresses, Love On Earth by Celia Loe is quite auntie-fied and only Daniel Yam has quite decent evening gowns. Anyone has any recommendations for western EG?

p.s. I think nothing beats a good 8 hours sleep to look radiant...and a course of facials of course..;)

WOW Ladies ... mi really lost and confused with the postings..kekeke.

SO who goin for trial and who's the MUA?? Anyone trying Shanti?

Those who are outfit hunting, all the best. Saw a tailor opp Menaka shop (beside music sch). They seem to be trendy in design. Also looks like they are selling sarees. Mi wanna take a look the next time i'm there...kekeke

I'm going to see Menaka on Sat. Not for trial but just to see some bridal photos 1st. Her AD charges is $380. I called one MUA yest. I got her number from another forum. Think she's north indian..her shop is at katong. Karuna's Beauty Salon (I think). I find her charges high. AD is $250 + $200 for rental of accessories.
Let me know if anyone interested in her number.

hi kismet....i guess u r rite. nd to go dwn to serangoon road to check out the shops and pricing. i might b going dwn to india most prob in june. have u got a make artist for your wedding ?

kismet - thanks for the advise...I do have something particular in mind which i've seen in Serangoon before. Will be sure to check a few stores. Its a good thing you looked around here before your trip. Do also go to reputed jewellers in India. I've been told that many of the smaller shops in India try to pass 16K or 18K gold off as 22K. It'll be nice if you get something to match your outfit but also something that you would be able to use after the wedding

Yes there are too many posts...cant catch up with them...hehehe

I just collected my EG from JB that i tailored for my reception. I am happy with the way it turned out...Got the matching accessories from the MUA and confirmed everything with her. Also went to Kotaraya Shopping Centre and ordered my door gifts. I have chosen those woven kind of metal container(with chover) with potpourri in them. This container would then be wrapped in a net material and tied with a ribbon. Hopefully, it can delight my guests...

Bought my gold jewellery yesterday...I have to say that gold prices are not cheap!Nevertheless my mom insisted that i buy a gold set to wear on my actual day...

Hi SK,

Gold prices are crazy but have no other option rite...we hv to get it. I went crazy shopping for my jewellery...first wid my in-laws...then wid my mum & relatives.

But the great thing is that these days we get to pick our own stuff...

So whr did you shop and wat kind of a set did you get.

piggy - For my ROM i had Rashidah from Reflexions (spelling!!) at Peninsula who did my hair and make-up. She helped me with my saree. You could check with her. She ties sarees really well. As for the gold, its hard to describe but its one of those bombay designs? The necklace and earrings come as a set and got bangles to match. Got it from the shop at the right most corner of Tekka (cant remember the name.

Hi Lisa - When u take the escalator up, its on the right (Menaka is on the left).

Piggy - Menaka did tell mi that there are ppl who tie saree, but it cost $20. Too ex. See if any relatives can help out with the saree tying.

mmmm...
maybe we can compile a list of shops and their places?

for example:

Name of shop: Reflexions
Person: Rashidah
Remarks: Does sari/hair/make-up
Venue:

-----
Name of shop: Menaka
Person:
Remarks: AD $380/MUA/Bridal PG ???
Venue:
Contacts:

---

if you girls could list just the shops you patronized or recommend, i'll compile a whole list and post it here...
a section for make up,
sari/tailor/male outfits/jewellery etc..

how does this sound to everyone?

Hey gals thx a lot.

SK can u check wat Rashidah charges for makeup only for my mum n sis. So maybe she can do their make up and then come tie my saree.

Sphire cld you also check on the ppl who charge to tie sarees...if i'm desperate i'll pay. Maybe if u can check wid her too abt her charges for my mum & sis' make up.

Family/relatives themselves will be busy getting ready dun wanna take the risk.

Angelic i rather have recommendations then walk in. Anyway this forum has been so great so i'll heed u guy's advice.

Thank you so much gals.

piggy, i'm afraid i've lost Rahisdah's number. But i think you could look it up the net or go down to peninsula plaza #03-01 if i'm not mistaken. Thats her tying my saree for me in the 1st pic above. Sorry if its too small...

Its been pretty quiet here. How are u ladies doing?

Btw, I've chosen my gowns for photoshoot and i like them all
. M all excited about my photoshoot now.

Make-up and hair trial with Yasmin went well. Am definitely confirming her for my sangeet, wedding and reception. She does great henna too so have confirmed her for that. Sphire, if you still have the table, could you help with updating this column for me please? Thanks!

Brokenbudgie - Why don't you try D'sire for your EG? It's a BS but you can buy or rent EGs. Also depends on your budget. If you're tight on budget i.e under $200, then Daniel Yam has got a pretty reasonable collection. There's also a boutique, not sure of the name but it's on the 2nd floor of Delphi, next to the escalator. A little pricier than Daniel Yam for sure. You can see their display window from the outside of the building.

Angelic - I think you're right. I read from one of the earlier posts that Vanan is from Mayura. Oopsie. Not very sure if Mr Don does modern decor. I haven't contacted him yet. But Sphire posted earlier that his style leans towards the simple yet elegant.

SK - Yeah, the gold prices are just soaring and its soooo not funny for BTBs like us. Hey, great that your trial went well. Where's Yasmin from? And oooh, how many gowns did you pick out? What are they like? I'll try visualising it in my head.
And you know what, small world! I used to go to Rashidah for my threading and waxing. Very nice lady but she always had a high turnover of waxing staff. And sometimes these staff were inexperienced so I stopped going to the place.

I called Shereen and made an appt with her for a trial this Saturday afternoon. Let's see how that goes.

Sphire - I'll also be making an appt with Shanti for a trial in the next 2 weeks. Will keep you posted.

Kayla - Just 2 weeks to go! When does your hubby arrive? Hope everything's under control and you're getting good sleeps at night.

Went to Little India on Saturday again. This time to buy bangles.

Kayla - The store you went to, is that nearer to Stylemart or nearer to the 7-eleven?

I went to the one nearer Stylemart. Don't know what it's called. But there weren't any women there. Just men. But the one who assisted us was good with mixing the bangles and for both hands it came up to $80. Because my sarees for the ceremony are 1) red and green and 2) purple and gold, I think he had a challenging time mixing all the colours together! ;)

Unfortunately they didn't have bangles for my banquet saree so I'm going to have to go back there in a month's time, again lugging my saree. Sigh!

We also went to this tailor, recommended by Jewel Palace. Not sure how the workmanship is going to be like, so we only gave him one saree to do. And if we like it, we'll let him do the other 2 sarees too. The place is called Gallant Taylaring (don't laugh!) and they are at 111a Dunlop Street (Tel: 6392 0752). Above the Famous Curry Restaurant. (again, don't laugh) The guy at Jewel Palace was giving me directions and he said to look out for the Famous Curry Restaurant. And I asked, what is the name of the famous restaurant. You can imagine the look and response I got. ;)

I've got a question. I wanted my wedding saree blouse to have capped sleeves or at least shorter than the usual length (becos I'm rather thin) but the guy was telling me that if I go with short sleeves, it will look weird when I wear the armband because the armband will probably fall below the sleeves and not ON it. So my question is, are the armbands a MUST for south indian weddings? Also, anyone doing puffy sleeves for their saree blouse? I have a soft spot for the girlie look.

Next Saturday, it's back to Little India again to see the caterers for the temple reception, order the invites and hopefully get some sarees for my elder aunties.

hi, ladies..
nice to see so much excitement bubbling in this thread.. well, my name is deborah and my big day is on 8 Dec this yr. mine's a christian wedding bt being held at Yishun Safra Club. food catered by Casuarina n bridal boutiQ i m using is J & M n they are pretty nice folks.. as for EG, using smthg from Stylemart.. costing me close to 1k but since it is a once in a lifetime thingy.. why not, ya?
as for MUA, thinking of engaging Shanti from Stylemart. Anyone has any comments on her services? Spoken to her 2x on the phone and she comes across as being very confident in her work. =) anyone has any reco for venue deco and florists? pls do share yea? =) thanks, babes.. looking forward to ur replies =)

Hi there gals.

Always back with sad news... my engagement gonna change to donno when. I'm least bothered abt getting nice dates so cn remember. This time SIL is pregnant and her delivery is just the same week as my engagement. SOOOO... CHANGE! Told MIL just put a few day before banquet and within family. Quite fedup but its all God's play. Maybe it meant for the good.

Piggy - Checked with Menaka. Tie saree $20, hairdo - $30, makeup - $30 (cnt remember exactly). I think it'll be 1 of Menaka's girls. So hv to book thro her.

SK - Will put up the table soon. To many happenings around mi, keep forgetting to do up the table. It needs lots of updates. Jus a question. Is your blouse alterneck? Keen to sew one in this design but dont want alterneck. Hows your back like?
Tell us more abt your outfit. Keen to know. Any pics?
Where is Yasmin from?

Rany - Yup. great to know more abt Shanti. The plae where u got bangles,.. do they hv glass ones too in nice designs? I'm allergic to the metal ones. So got to be old-fashion n stick with the glass ones... but want nice designed ones.

hey Rany,

Yasmin is local but she's of gujrati-muslim descend. She studied make-up in one of the beauty schools here but is also assistant to Rashidah of Reflexions(for bridal work) so she picked up alot interms of saree and duppatta tying from her. But she's young and has a modern approach to make-up and hairstyles and keeps up with trends and tries new stuff. Thats why i've decided to go with her. Also her henna drawing is very good.

Do let us know how your trials go. I guess you are gonna be busy most weekends leading up to the wedding...

Sk,
Does yasmin do makeup,hairstyling & saree tying for south indian temple wedding? How's her pricing?

Rany, yes normally they will wear the arm bands for south indian weddings.

Sphire - Sorry to hear abt the delay in your engagement. Oh well, maybe its for the better and gives you more time to plan? No worries about the table, take your time...

The blouse for my ROM saree above is a halter neck. Most of my back is bare.
The back looks like this
463129.jpg

welcome, deborah!

I checked with Yasmin. Unfortunately, she's not able to help with make-up & hairstyling for the south indian temple wedding cos she says the make-up and hairstyle for that has to be done in a certain way and she's not able to master that. However, for other functions like receptions & for henna, she doesn't have a problem...

Hi SK,
No probs with the south indian wedding. How's her pricing for ROM makeup & hairstyling?

can share her contact number? Do you have yr trial pics with yasmin?>

Thanks SK

hey Angelic,

I'm not sure of her pricing for ROM. You could drop her a call? Yasmin 91807595.

Unfortunately, i dont have trial pics to share. Sorry gals...

Hi deborah... we happen to hv the same date. My ROM + banquet is on the 8th Dec. Mi hv confirmed Shanti on this date. Not sure if she's avaliable for you. U probably wanna check with her again?

Sphire, sorry to hear about changes. Hang in there yah...

SK - You got so many things settled gal! Good for ya. Beginning to wonder if i'm the fussy one..haha..

Rany - hey gal, me bought my gown from D'sire. Btw, they dun do rental if you dont take up the entire package, they only sell...Hey i checked out a bangle shop + accessory shop near stylemart on Friday ~ its called Style. Was that where u went? They have quite a good collection of accessories as well..Also, which place are you planning to check out for temple caterers? Btw..My FH went to select cards in JB - costs about $0.85 per card, which i dont think is very cheap...was expecting bigger savings..

Rany - thanks, I bought 2 organza gowns and 1 satin toga gown from Daniel Yam in the end.. Had to do some minor alterations but otherwise I'm quite happy with the purchases.

Hi Rany,
I bought the bangles in the shop nearer to stylemart...Thanks for asking dear...I am so exhausted planning for the wedding functions plus the Itinerary for my guests' Maldives trip...Think i am going to have a breakdown! All the late nights and travelling in the hot weather are straining me...I'm afraid that i will look very tired on my wedding day!

So far, i have collected my toga gown and ordered my door gifts from JB...tried to find costume jewellery for my reception saree but was unsuccessful...bought 3 sets only to find out at home that they dont match with my saree...I am feeling quite frustrated.Ladies, Any suggestions on where to get accessories? My hubby just told me that my ILs are intending to buy me another saree for my reception cos i told them that i couldnt get any matching accessories...wonder if i could express tailor my saree blouse. BTW my hubby is coming next wed morning...Going to be double busy when he comes!And i mite be wearing glass bangles for my wedding after my mum gave me a long lecture on their importance. My mum and aunties would be going to tekka to buy the bangles and Iyer items without me...hehehe...Cos i told them that i want to stay indoors for a while...Hopfully, things will go as planned...I am really keeping my fingers crossed

Chick - May i know how much your gown from D'sire cost?

brokenbudgie - May i also check how much your gowns from Daniel Yan cost?

Kayla - M sooo excited for you!! You should start getting at least 8 hrs of sleep daily dear..Dont stay up too late.Also, can't you bring ur saree alonf to the store to see which set would match?

Rany/Sphire - I got to choose 2 wedding gowns and 2 evening gowns for the indoor shoot plus bring my own lehenga as well. For the outdoor shoot i got to choose a different wedding gown.

Hi SK - 2 were under $200 each, while 1 was around $200. I found the selection at Tangs 2nd floor better than the Daniel Yam boutique at Wisma Atria. Also do check out the dresses that are in the protective bags on the racks because they are more exclusive (and expensive). There is a sale section at Tangs where it's ridiculously cheap - from around $45 - but they may have flaws. Like this really elegant one I saw had some snagged threads at the hip area on the front.

Sphire - That's just terrible news!!! Gee, sorry to hear about it, girl. I can imagine how sian you are of the whole thing, having to push back your wedding day, and now your engagement. I think it's a great idea to keep the engagement small. Saves you the hassle of planning and all that $$. Money you can use for your honeymoon.
But if there's alot of planning that goes into the ROM + Banquet, you might want to consider giving yourself at least 1 month in between the engagement and the banquet. Some breathing space so that you don't tire yourself out with preps, dear.

Re. the bangles, the place I went to don't carry glass bangles unfortunately. Mother suggested I wear 1-2 on each hand to keep with tradition. But I dunno where to get them from. Anyone has got any ideas?

Chick - Yup, that's the bangle shop I went to. I had to check my receipt for the name of the shop. You're right, it's Shop in Style! For anyone who's interested, they also have wedding jewellery sets for rent - choker, tikka, earrings, necklace. He quoted about $120.

We got the menu from Ananda Bhavan and becos everyone says their good, we've decided to go with them. Mother has ticked out like 15 items on the menu. But I think she'll get a rude shock on Saturday when we get the costings from the restaurant and will subsequently downsize the list. ;)

Hey, that's a good price you're paying for your cards! I'm not a professional in this dept but it sounds like a savings to me cos the card I have in mind is costing me $1.50 a card.

And that's great news you got your gown from D'sire. What does it look like? Want to see, want to see!! ;) So what happens with Z now? Do you get your money back? Does your FH get his pants and suit still?

Kayla - I'm with SK. Bring your saree along when you're getting ur accessories. Will your hubby be bringing the new reception saree with him or will your ILs be bringing it? Does your regular tailor express tailor blouses? If you go with your new reception saree, won't that mean doing twice the work? I.e if you go with the saree you have now, all you have to do is just find matching accessories. But if you go with the new saree your ILs are getting you, you'll have to not only find accessories to match it, but also express tailor a blouse.

And hey, you really need to be getting your rest these days. Only 2 weeks to go!! Why don't you delegate the Maldives itinerary to your hubby?

SK - I just love the make-up Rashidah did for your ROM. And the pink borders of your lehenga is just so gorgeous. I can see why it was love at first sight! And wow, that's alot of choices fr your BS. Sounds like you got a good package there. I bet it's going to be a very colourful photoshoot.

Brokenbudgie - I saw that toga gown at Daniel Yam. It's simple but really gorgeous and very elegant looking!! What I really loved about it was the beadwork on the shoulder!!

SK: Hehehe.. u very cute, leh.. i din say that mine is a traditional one, dear.. mine is not the south indian style. it is a Christian wedding and so i guess then Yasmin should be able to handle it cos from what Sphire said, Shanti may no longer be an option

Sphire: Hi dear! so excited that we share the same date.. where is urs goin to be? well, nvamind la, if i really cant get Shanti, i will look around somemore, Ysmin seems to be a gd option too.. thanks so much for letting me know Sphire otherwise I might not have gotten down to calling her to confirm.. bt did she do trial makeup for u? how was Shanti's makeup..i m a bit dark so need the makeup to be less obvious..