Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Hi.. my updates so far this week.. Very tired but prep have been very fruitful..

Bangles>> went to Exclusive Creations which they quoted me about $50 per hand.. but the bangles really nice lah… no doubt… Finally bought my bangles from MKM Costume jewellery.. Usha was there to match the colors for me.. MIL wanted more multicolors for me cos I’ll be wearing orange/green saree for the engagement saree and the Kukomon red for the wedding saree… Took the simple ones which only cost $60+ in total. After that MIL still not happy so she decided to re-match the bangles at home. She said will get some simple gold bangles to add on the collection.

Saw one set of orange accessories set at the shop which I wanted to wear it with the engagement saree but cost me abt $130.. MIL said she will bring me elsewhere to get.. Needed one set for both the sarees on AD as the MUA does not have a nice set to match for me.

Sisters’ Clothing>> Bought her a simple Punjabi suit at Tekka. So my family baju all settled.

Sister-in-law clothing>> SIL wanted to get me some bangles but in the end still could not decide on the designs.. I bought her a nice Mango yellow saree topped lime green trimmings and sequins from Jewel Palace yesterday.. Fell in love with it the moment I saw it.. so insisted that SIL should have it although she complained that she had too many of the new ones that she bought from India and have not worn them.. so she didn’t want me to spend the money.. Anyway I got a HUGE disc from the shop.. at first I asked the man for disc.. he said was fixed price @$199.. They do not give disc..But when I paid at the cashier… he mistakenly keyed in $119 for the saree… I was puzzled when I got some change from him.. then I realized the price when I saw the receipt… by then I was far from the shop.. SIL said God was on my side..hahaha..;-)

Saree Blouse>> Wanted to sew in JB but no time…So we had to give it to a tailor in Singapore…collected yesterday after 1 alteration… MIL love to sew the blouses from this man cos he’s very accommodating and he can help to rush last minute job within 5 days (provided the design is simple)..can’t remember the name of the shop.. its at the corner of Kerbau Road.. Price is good.. 2 saree blouse + peti coat= $76.. dun know if he gave disc to my MIL.. Finally one more item off my prep. List

Wedding cards: collected from JB on last Sunday.. but since FH have a huge family so MIL has started house to house distributing these 2 days.. Have mailed out some and I also gave some to my colleagues and friends. Will present to my family this weekend… Also I bought some bangles for the giveaways for the ceremony.. More things to buy this weekend…

Studio pix: Have gone to LOOKS to select the frame design for the portrait.. MIL saw the pics and complained that most of the pix selected for the album very pale.. aiyah.. BIG mistake lah…very hard to pleased her… she called bubbly to complain non stop… hopefully they can do more touchups to look better in print.

Accessories set: went scouting for the right set for both the saree cos I don’t want to use the temple set and Bubbly quoted abt $120-130 for rental of the Bombay set which we saw at her shop.. the design is nice and it matches perfectly… MIL wanted to think abt it… We walked several shops and finally found this right set at Mishkaat Jewellers @ Tekka Mall.. They have very elegance range of costume accessories… this one caught our eyes immediately…the necklace had combination of gold-coated light orange stones and red beads.. Matches both the sarees perfectly… this was a second-hand set and normally they rent it out at $110 the whole set with the nethi sutti… Wanted to rent it but in the end decided to buy it at $200 which is a good deal considering that I can wear it for both the sarees.. Took some pics with it and FH also agreed that I look good with it…MIL even joked that I can rent it out to my cousins or friends @$100 after the wedding… ;-p

We went to the other shop @ tekka mall- Shri Narayana Pearls… but they do not have the latest designs… the new stocks only comes in 1st week March..

Sewing of Lenhga suits: MIL actually bought a lime green sequins material, planning to sew a lenhga suit for me for the bangle ceremony.. in the end we bought it off the shelf 10 days ago…. But we don’t want the material to go to waste so we thought just get it sew for other functions… Checked around tekka, most tailor will charge between $120-150 for sewing a lenhga.. the cheapest we found was $100 from this alteration lady at 2nd floor tekka.. So we decided to make a trip to JB while collecting the wedding cards… MIL brought me to this tailor located at Plaza Senai.. he has very nice lenhga magazines designs to choose from… Charges was extremely cheap… only $120 RM.. S$53+ and sewing Punjabi suit charges about RM $60.. so gals.. if you want to sew nice designs.. can try this shop..

What is pending now:
- collection of bangle ceremony Lenhga suit which is under alteration at Selegie centre…
- Booking of decorator… still deciding between Vanan and Raju.. just got another contact which we will meet this weekend..
- FH’s Kurta..he’s very picky… can’t decide which one..
- Thali chain + jewelleries etc..
- Wedding favours: waiting for shipment to arrive next week. Needs packing
- Bedroom set + painting and decorating the room…
- stuff needed to get for the ceremonies…

Meanwhile I'm doing a scrapbook magazine using all the ROM pictures I took last year… getting my designer friend and cousin-in-law to help to brainstorm ideas.. 300+ pix to choose from so need to be very selective… Hoping to rush this in time for the wedding so I can leave it at the entrance reception…

Rany>> You can try my tailor.. It’s at the corner of Kerbau Road.. think its called Visalacy Tailoring..But I will check the receipt again..

So far I’m happy with the service and workmanship.. Whether sarees with stonework or pattu sarees, I’m sure he can handle.. .. just tell exactly what u have in mind.. he can advise you wat works wat doesn’t… Normally abt 5-6 days for simple design.. by then, you can drop by to check the fitting… if fitting ok.. then you can collect… For me I had total 2 fitting cos I was quite fussy about the fit.. and I added buttons inside the shoulder area so that I can hook my bra strip..

Gals.. GOOD TIP.. please take note…Having the bra strip showing now and then when we wear the saree is quite unsightly so I always ask the tailor to add this â€feature†to the blouse…... total it took me 12 days for the sewing of 2 saree blouse… I opt for the square and round design as MIL said that since I will have lots of garlands and all the gold and accessories on my neck… don’t waste time sewing design and all.. He also sew peti-coat .. very fast.. 3 days only..

You can also try Queen’s but the blouse sewing starts from $40.. quite ex..Your wedding in June right..? Give yourself at least 3 weeks of buffer for the sewing..

Re: Greeting cards, can try
1) T-Dragon @Excelsior Hotel .. they are official printers with most of the hotels…
2) Hitech in Ang Mo Kio Techplace 1 #03-01/02. tel: 64589455
3) Jasvy Marketing. 6299 2263. 54 Kallang Bahru, #02-02 Kallang Basin Industrial Estate
* I know both of them print English wedding cards.. not sure abt indian wedding cards.
4) Interactive printers 745 Lor 5 Toa Payoh #04-03 Tel: 63545831
* but their pricing start from S$1.00 for simple design
5) KM wedding services. 6 Belilios Lane. Tel: 6295 1624

You can go JB since you have time..

I printed it from Parvathie printer from JB.. Tel: 012-740 5536. My design is quite simple.. so only cost me abt under S$0.60 even I printed Chinese character separately on some of the cards…. They are just opp Primas, near to the Indian cinema.. very near to causeway…

Make 1 trip to select the cards.. plenty of designs.. he will do the layout on the spot for the Indian text and English greetings as well… then he will send you a softcopy via email 2 days later for confirmation the layout.. before printing will show you the final layout via email.. 1 week later will start printing.. 2nd trip is when collection after 2.5 weeks later. Total I took almost 1 month. You need to actively follow up with him cos he has a lot of S’pore customers as well as JB customers…

GOOD TIP: Please do not choose cards that are too big or too soft.. like those with scroll and ornaments… Posting will be very difficult and it may cost more than you expected… also.. can’t fit in some of the new HDB mailboxes.. a lot of them have the lock and key system for the postman to drop the mail.. they have made these mailboxes much smaller… the postman will end up damaging the card just to squeeze it in the tiny pigeon hole.

Sphire>> Think you should go for the trial with Shanti one of these days… just to make sure lah… Do ask her to include the hairstyling as well…

Angelic Gal>> my MUA is called Kavithaa from Kasanth Impression.. Tel: 93869094…one of my MIL close friend.. price is reasonable.. Her shop @ 80A Dunlop Street… I have the trial makeup pix.. will post later..

Broken budgie>> Still have not gotten the contact for the alternation shop that does my alternation for legnha… it’s either Harbans Fashions or Peamde Ents. Both at second level of Selegie Centre… let me check back with my MIL.

If you have time to go JB.. i will recommend:
Skyway Corp. Sdn Bhd.
Aras 24-4, Plaza Seni Majlis Bandaraya, JB
Tel: 07-2225586

** i know the shop name sounds weird.. but just call them.. the man is a north Indian.

Joelle - You're always back with so much news. It's a real joy to read!! Good thinking about the bra straps. I never thought of that. Thanks! I've a friend who used to use Visalacy until they moved from their location at Buffalo Rd. Din know they moved to just round the corner. But I thought it was a very opinionated woman with fancy specs who was the tailor and not a man. Will check it out nonetheless. Thanks! Btw, when's ur wedding??

Piggy/Kayla - Thanks too for the info on tailors. Will check them out too!

Kayla - Wah, free trip to Maldives!!!! OK, maybe not exactly free cos you have been tasked to organise their tickets but nonetheless, waaaaah!!!

Chick - The 3pc sherwani (jacket top, pants, and shawl) came up to $600. It's a shantung silk (raw silk) fabric. So I don't know if its a high price becos of the fabric. Anyway, needless to say their stuff is always overpriced lah. If you're looking for a MTM sherwani, Indian Saree Emporium does it too at about $300-400. SK also talked about Vaastram charging the same prices. But not sure if she meant OTR or MTM.

Re. your temple bkg, do you need to consult the astrological charts to decide exactly what time you want your wedding? I mean, we've been told we have a window from 8.30am to 11.30am by the astrologer on our last visit. But does this mean, that we can pick any time we want during those 3 hours?

Sphire - Maybe should bring PIL or your own parents along when doing a booking. The temple staff prob don't take us, young ones, seriously! Did you get the name of the persons you have previously talked to? It'd be good to lay your case down when making a booking, telling them you've got different information from all these different staff and want to know once and for all when do bookings open for 2008. Perhaps it'll be an idea to do this after the Indian new year in April this year.

Re. Oriental, any updates on their decor?

Re. Shanti, feeling the same. Panic. Nmind lah, I think we go for a trial first and compare it with other trials. If it's just not our cup of tea, then we just have to tell her that we're going with someone else.

Anyone - Anyone doing a temple programme to be distributed to guests? Like what is happening throughout the wedding ceremony? Are you printing this with the same printers as the invitation cards? Or DIY? Also, anyone playing recorded music before and after the temple ceremony?

Hi Rany - I think i may have mistaken the name of the shop... i'll check with my MIL and let you know again... It was 1 indian man and lady... Btw, my wedding is 17th March.. Very near... so scary...

as for the temple programme... yes i'm printing it.. i have a copy from my FIL.. just plain text so i'm going to DIY and do up nicely in a booklet form.. More for my Chinese friends and colleagues.. i'll share with you guys once the artwork is done.

Yes... i'm having music performance.. more from the DJ and think my MIL also arrange banga dance... MIL love "song and dance".. she even had it stated in the wedding cards. ;-p

Hi Rajesh,
I am taking my entertainment for my reception from MediaWave...they are professional and have alot of contacts and acquaintances. Will be getting my intelligence lighting, Bhangra and others from them. Most importantly, they will be playing the role of event coordinator on my AD.They are doing this full-time so they really put in alot of effort and time into our events.

joelle - thanks for not forgetting. gosh i wish i had the time to concentrate on the wedding...which is in - gulp - july!
p.s. i think the set is very nice...exquisitely intricate.

Hi galz.. my sista had her MU done with Ahmutha frm pixiez_at_work. shez been a bobbi brown MUA n shez currently the MUA for the vasantham dhool competition judges! she actually LISTENS to wat you hav 2 say abt yr preferences, then advices u accordingly. n she uses bobbi brown products (which suits indian skin tones best!) best part... her prices are really reasonable. will try to post a pic of my sis's trial.. ahmutha'z num : 92715934

Hi Joelle... the set is really nice. hats off to you women, your not indian but u've really mastered all the traditions perfectly.. really amazing!

kayla, how much are u paying for your enetertainment from mediawave? don't mind me asking...

Joelle - Yup sure will get the trial done asap. That's ur makeup for the wedding? is tht also the accessories u'll be wearing? GOSS! Actually u do look exactly like a friend of mine. Almost thot u were her. But she's indian. So cannot be la.

Rany - Prob I shd bring everyone down in Apr. Shd tell them to be firece too...kekekek.
Good news from Oriental. Oriental has agreed to give mi a choice between the Old and New themes cos mi signed up when the old theme was in place.. So happy to hear that. Still she harps about the NEW themes. But then I dont get the perks of free flow beer/ wine per table.

Brokenbudgie - Saw u in Oriental forum. U confirmed with them already? Who is your coordinator? U goin for chinese or indian spread? Sorry so many questions.

Sphire - yep, confirmed with Oriental during the recent wedding show. Since it's going to be a cross-cultural affair, we've decided on a chinese dinner with a few indian courses thrown in! basically a tandoori chicken dish and a fish tikka...Bethany's my coordinator. oriental's basically been very painless. i'm having a few more challenges with the Fullerton hotel dinner for relatives. the indian dishes they proposed are quite crappy...(like dhal?!)

hi.. need some help people. I have 4 candelabra's which i will need floral arrangements done for. does anyone know of any cheap florist.. my costs are going out of hand, would really like to keep this low. please help.. thanks...

also does anyone know where to get cheap candles from?

Anyone knows of any hotels with fucntion rooms (200pax max) BUT low-mid range only. Function room rental should be below $900 & can cater outside indian food? Any country club function room?

Harlow ladies ... been busy . wow so many updates .
Angelic .. i did mine in Citybay view hotel which is @ bencoolen street .
Prices are reasonable . I catered outside food .But then again , my ROM was done in 2005. Prices may vary . Do check out with them .

Kismet .. tried Ikea?

Joelle .. u look great !! haha

Kayla>> good thing you can get some help from the wedding co-ordinators.. wish i have the luxury to do that for my wedding.. have to keep to budget so need to DIY myself everything... actually i found loads of fun organising the wedding.. especially learning all the new traditions and cultural.. most of the time we don't understand the meaning behind certain traditions and customs.. this is the best time to ask questions.... i'm lucky that my in-laws are patient people.. i even volunteer to help my my cousin-in-laws wedding...

brokenbudgie >> Of cos i did not forget you, gal.. we are in the same boat.. marrying off to an Indian family.. i'm still going round with the invites.. so will collect my lengha from the shop at selegie tomorro.. will find out more contacts for you...

Time is not on my side when i started organising the wedding as there were 2 indian funnerals my IL need to attend in dec/Jan.. so everything is so rushed... i need to focus on what to be done.. so good planning skills is very critical.. i wrote a daily journal filled with "to-do" list every day... i'm surprised myself that i can stick by it... Wish i can do that at work! hahaha...

The only thing that i did not complete faithfully every week is exercising, my 2x DIY mask and weekly facial/massage @ the spa... so tired everyday by the time i get home... only have time for a good mani and pedi fortnightly.. Dieting somehow got into the "to-do" list.. i had turned vegetarian since 10days ago and eat before 7pm everyday hoping to lose enuf for the AD...

think you are very lucky... able to organise the wedding in a hotel ballroom... My IL have a huge family so we need a function that can hold abt 1200pp.. will go broke if i hold it in a hotel ballroom.. i can't skip the Chinese dinner as well.. so will do it in a restaurant with a smaller crowd and make my parents happy...

Any challenges faced marrying to an Indian.. ? don't mind if you can share with me... i have plenty to face on my end... email me lah.. [email protected]

Kismet >> Hi.. are your candelabra for the AD or? where are you going to place them... sorry quite curious to know...

As for the florist...i have one that i used her for my events... Not the typical upmarket florist shops so charges should not be very high... Her name is Zanna, 98275492.. she has a shop in AMK or Hougang.. i can't remember.. you can try to enquire if she does this arrangement..

Cheap Candles can try concourse since there are a couple of wholesalers for decorations/ artificial floral arrangement/ gift bags etc.. not sure you can get any there.. You can also enquire if they can help to deco your candelabra

Joelle - Thanks for sharing your MU trial pics with us. Good going with the accessories. Love the last set. I guess the pinkish eyeshadow is to go with the colour of your saree, isn't it? 17 March is really quite soon. You must be soo excited!!

Oh, what I meant with the music was music on a CD to play at the temple just before the musicians come along when the wedding start. And after the musicians are gone after the ceremony. Because usually after the ceremony, people will stay in the hall to wish you congrats and stuff on stage right? So just thinking if anyone is going to have and recorded music playing in the back?

Sphire - That's great news with Oriental. Phew! That's one less headache, isn't it.
What do you mean you don't get free flow beer and wine? Is that because you want to use the old theme??

Kismet - Yah, Ikea has cheap candles and Spotlight too. Ikea's having a sale now but not sure if candles are on sale.

As for a florist, you can try Sheau Yann. She's a freelancer. Her works have been featured in the local bridal mags. Give her your budget and see what she can offer. Her no. 9761 2539. I used her for my ROM and I was pleased with her arrangements.

Or instead of using a florist, why don't you try hanging strings of pearls around your candelabras? That can be quite classy.
You can get them cheap at neighbourhood accessory stores like Aries and Chameleon.

Angelic - There are rooms that size at Orchid Country Club in Yishun. But not quite sure if can cater Indian food.

Hi joelle,
Think u got me wrong...i mentioned event coordinators, not wedding coordinators...I pretty much did all the planning and scouting around myself. The people at Mediawave will only help me with running the events. as in tell me and hubby when to make the walk-ins, when to go for the photo-taking sessions with my guests...etc. Good for u that u are enjoying your wedding preps and its impt that you get involved in these things as you are new to such traditions

hi kayla,

the event coords you are talking about...are they able to rent a dance floor kind of thing for outdoors or indoors?
maybe i'm asking something really strange... :P
cos i've seen pics of my bf's relatives weddings back in india, and they have this rented dance floor thing...with DJ/lights...

would love to have this here too...but wondering if such rentals exist!!

Hi Joelle - that daily to do list is very important to know where you are at. Especially with your event so very near...!

Re: losing weight, more than one person has told me that one will lose weight naturally, with the stress and the running around.

Rany - The free-flow of beer and waiver of wine corkage is for those who signed up during the week of The Oriental's wedding show...actually i'm glad they let Spire use the old themes cos the new ones are so-so and rather limiting.

Nec - welcome...that makes quite a few of us chinese girls doesn't it!

Hello gals,
Joelle- yr set is beautiful
Tks for yr input. I've booked my ROM venue at City bayview hotel. Now thinking whether to book mayura or samy's curry for food!

Is Pandora tomorrow deco's good? Any comments. Any other deco company u gals know of?

wow, brokenbudgie, more chinese gals?

indian guys are just irrisistable eh? :D

hi angelic gal,
what kind of deco are you looking for?
pardon me, but i only have to florist kind (normal singaporean wedding) type in my mind...is there a traditional indian deco for weddings??

sorry, very new to this... :P

Hellow everyone .

Change of plan . We have decided to do hold the wedding in the morning . No reception as we figured out it will be pretty tiring for us .

Booked a community club yesterday .
Nice and cozy place . The hall has just been renovated . Most importantly able to have a capacity of 1000 pax . Hopefully the guest list doesnt exceed the number.
I think i need a to do list as well .kekeke

Lisa : If you dont mind, What services did u engage from pandora ? and how much did it cost you ?

ladies, need to vent here. Had another showdown with my BS yesterday. They are so super inflexible, its unbelievable. Asked to reselect my gown, they want to charge me $300-500, which i said i would pay, but they have the cheek to tell me that i can only see and select from the rack, cannot try! Other horror stories as well which i'm not going to elaborate on. I'm seriously considering signing up another package. For those who havent selected BS, DO NOT CHOOSE Z'WEDDING.

Hi shan: i havent engaged pandora yet. got to know abt them cos they decorated the temple for my fren's wedding. was v nice n modern. but pricey. think it cost her abt 6k.but they decorated alot of areas.

Hi nec.. welcome to the group... your hubby is a north Ind or South? How abt you brokenbudgie?
Mine is a South.. my TALL DARK and not so handsome prince..

Chick.. Cool it man... take more deep breath.. Now i don't understand they are so touchy abt the gowns.. you did sign up and given deposit right.. so you have the right to try them otherwise how do you know if you fit them well...?

Brokenbudgie>> collected my lengha suit from alteration.. the shop was indeed Harbans Fashion.. But sewing a simple lengha start from $120... not worth it.. still the JB shop is better... MIL just collected the suit from me yesterday.. i have not got a chance to try it.. will let you know if the workmanship is good..

Hv been MIA for quite awhile. 2 days MC.. tonsils is reducing my lifespan...

brokenbudgie - Great! Another Orientalica..kekekke. My coordinator is Yiwen. Yup although Oriental is pricy, the service and confidence they provide is really priceless. The free-flow is only for the week? So calculative? My coordinator mailed mi the new themes pic. If u wan, cn email to you. They also featured Oriental in the latest Style Wedding mag.

Kismet - Check out ikea for candles or concourse.

Rany - Yup.. Oriental headache is over. Mi don get free-flow course i booked earlier.
Mi get to use the old themes cos when I signed up, the old themes were in plc. Waiting for my gown fitting end of this mth... cant wait!! Mi will be playing songs for the temple wedding before and after ceremony. But still a long way. So hv not consolidate.

Nec - U cld rent the dance floor equipments from event coordinators. If u already hving DJ and sound systems, its only lightings that are needed. If u wanna more dramatic look, u cn also go for scanner lights and smoke machines.

Angelic - Great tht ur venue is settled. Did u check out with the hotel for their inhse deco?

Chick - R they allowed not to let u try the gown? $300-500 is alot of $$!!! It's not fair to u! If u really wanna change BS, think u cn bring up this matter to CASE! U shd! I also fell in Z'wed trap.

Joelle - Gal really got to say this to u... Proud of u!! U shd write all your findings in a journal and show it to your kids in future. I wish there is really a book to tell us the meaning of different rituals.

Chick - Geez!! That's utterly ridiculous!!! Demand to see the manager and yeah, like Sphire says, threaten to go to CASE with it.

I really cannot understand the reason for a $300-500 top-up just because you want to go with another gown in their selection. Unless maybe that gown has more beading or is alot more prone to wear and tear (e.g if it's got lace that can get snagged easily). What's worse, they don't let you try on the gown u want to re-select. WHY???? Did they give you a justified reason because I don't think there can be any reason to justify such a ridiculous act. If you go with another BS, can u get back ur deposit???

Sphire - Sorry to hear abt ur tonsils. I hope it's much better now. Does stress worsen it?

Can suggest some CDs that I can buy for the music before and after the ceremony pleeeese? My knowledge in this area goes only as far as Ravi Shankar and stops there. Heh! Very unfamiliar with Indian music so got any recommendations? Much prefer something classical or down-tempo. Erm... no pop songs. ;)

Kismet - Found this link at Ikea SG if you're still looking for candles.

http://www.ikea.com.sg/products/category_display.asp?c0=7&c1=28&c2=34&id=0&ctype=1

http://www.ikea.com.sg/products/category_display.asp?c0=7&c1=28&c2=35&id=0&ctype=1

Hi Sphire,
Hope that you are doing well...Take loads of rest dearie!

Hi Chick,
I am completely speechless dear...It is your right as a customer to choose and wear as many gowns as u want before deciding...I rem during my fitting, my mum, the lady from the shop and my hubby were choosing from different racks for gowns for me to try on. I even tore one fish-tail gown cos the person who wore that b4 me was super-skinny! All the while i was in the changing room...The lady just came and slipped on and off the gown for me. just had to say whether i liked it or not so that they can keep it aside for me. Gal, i think u should reason out with them or else who knows u mite face more problems later. For eg, they mite charge you for alteration charges or for something very trivial!

Hi rany,
I am also thinking of playing some nice melodious songs during the wedding. Need to be given to the temple staff. Thinking of getting compilation CDs from indian music shops....Any suggestions, ladies?

As for me, there's only a month to go for my wedding! Yeeks.....So many things to do. Going to be busy on March 21 itself cos thats when my hubby is going to come. Have to bring him to buy the thali chain and kasu cos he's going to have the thali done in London. It seems their family usually sees how the thali is being done.Thats not feasible in singapore as our thalis are done in factories or somewhere that cant be observed by us.

Finally, i got my Visa! So glad thats outta the way. Still have to book my flight and surprisingly, one-way ticket is more expensive than i thought...Came up with a large checklist of things to get done for the bangle ceremony to the reception. Hopefully it would help me with the last-min preparations.

hi hi joelle,
my furry prince is east indian, from kolkata.
how did you guys meet? how did he propose??
will you be having an indian temple wedding, chinese dinner banquet or....?
as for me, my indian ceremony should be done in india itself...feel a little scared....can't speak bangla( his mother tongue) yet...

sphire,
hope you are well now...mc still with such a detailed post!! power girl!

chick dear,
gosh. read your post and i must say, i'm shocked at their disgusting behavior....totally unethical..

this is really unreasonable of them to want you to top up hundreds for a CHANCE of reselecting...sekully none of the other gowns are suitable how?
like rany and sphire, i think ya shld go to CASE. at least tell the manager that you will be....get their license number/names/address etc to make it as detailed and official as possible.

kayla,
wow, 1 month. gosh...when did you start all your preps? can't wait to see your pics!! hope you'll share with us.
btw, what is thali chain and bangle ceremony?
not heard of these from my FH...

Rany - i'm impressed with the ikea link. didn't know they had a good inventory online. been surfing...fascinating.

Joelle - i'm marrying a sikh fella. Tall, not so dark, and handsome in my books (i'm sure yours is too)! Though he's thin with a beer belly..sigh. Been trying to drag him to gym to no avail.

Shire - could you email me the oriental pics? Thanks!

Hey gals i understand some of you are having a sangeet. For those who are, may i know where it's going to be? Looking for a venue.

wow kayla .. seems like you are almost done with all the prep . excited for ya !! kekeke
i think the song compilation can be done easily @ any music stores in tekka and as well as in JB.

sphire - drink lots of water .

Chick - be extremely fussy and dont give in . I realised in SG, things get done rather easily and promptly when you make noise .

Angelic - Glad that u are done with your ROM venue

Hi ladies...m new here. Was browsing for a good forum page for brides n m glad i found this page.My ROM is in Sept...m looking arn for a gd MUA who does natural makeup...Wld love to get some advice...

Rany - Feeling much better. But throat feels choke at times. Cant scream at nephews (they r really happy abt it). Doc says stress plays a part. Wht to do.
Me leaving the song thingy to my cousin-in-law. Mi dont really listen to songs. Real dummy in that. Probably u could get those 70s popular songs to to-date... esp those featured in wedding scenes in movies.

Kayla - Great to know abt your visa. Not all music shops does the compliation rite? Wanted to jus record 2 songs... Jothi music said must be member...
If u do it, pls let mi knw which store. TQ.

Nec - my mc is over. back to work yesterday. So here mi again!

brokenbudgie - opps! I've lost ur email add. Provide mi with ur email add again.

Shan - Thanks for the getting drank tip. Will do so.

Shyla - Welcome on board.

Hi Gals, thanks for all the advice. M thinking of CASE, ST Forum and even tipping the Life! journalists about the shady practices of these BS..hehe..Ok, Think i'm getting carried away. Anyway we've paid 1.5K deposit already and i dun think its refundable so we'll see wat we can salvage.

Kayla - hey gal cant you get the event planner to get the songs for you? U must be so excited! 1 more month to go :-))

Sphire, so exciting, hope you have better luck with YC. I might pop in there to have a look. Btw, do you know how much the gown rentals are at YC? Hey btw, isnt your sis engagement this weekend? Do keep us posted on Mr Don, right?

Rany, which BS are you with? Need to start the search again at least to find my gown ;-(

Btw gals, i met with Kuna, the temple decorator for Tank Rd. His prices are reasonable except the tent thingy downstairs for the reception. The marquee alone will cost 1.4K. Just wondering if anyone is planning to build a tent so that more people can be accomodated for the reception?

Shyla, welcome. Think we've mentioned a lot of MUA here on this forum. Its best you go and try them out to find what's best for you.

What's the "In" thing for makeup for SOuth indian wedding in temple? I know they used to put dots above the eyebrow. Now we can ask for crystals bt my sis says crystals will reflect in the ohotos & wun look nice. What other options & makeup styles are there??

brokenbudgie - Hv mailed u the pics. The Love Theme looks good on photo.. :P

Chick - Gal... do tell Z'Wed that wht they said is ridiculars and threaten to bring up to CASE. See how they react. So far mi hv no problem with YC. Yvonne herself is very friendly. Got her to make a flower head band for a india bride. She did it so beautifully even tho' told her so last minute.
Yup.. my sis engagement this Sun. Don came to my plc last night jus to go thro the deco details with my mum. My mum lets him decide on everything. So far receiving very personal services from him. Will let u know how it goes.

Angelic - For temple wedding my friend used crystal for jewellery and dots. Pic turn out to be reflective or the crystals dont stand out. I had another friend who used pearls. Althou not as attractive as crystals, turned out very well on pics. Prob when u choose the sets and dots, do ask MUA to show u pics of brides wearing those.

Sphire,
U said one of yr friend used pearls...meaning as a jewellery set or on the forehead as dots?

If I'm using dots, instead of just a round dot, is there any pattern I can do?

Hi ladies!! I'm back from India. As there's so much to catch up on in this forum, i will read and provide my 2 cents worth where relevant in due course :p. Sorry if i forget which bride to refer to exactly. A warm welcome to all the new brides on this thread!

I'll just briefly summarise my trip.
Managed to more or less complete my indian shopping..I've collected my wedding and reception lehengas in Delhi. M happy with the way they turned out. My mom said what i picked up was beyond her imagination and she's so happy with my selections
. I'm now trying to maintain my weight so that the clothes fit right ;p. I also managed to pick up punjabi suit materials for my mom which she loved. I had alot of other wedding stuff to purchase, which i managed to do in Delhi, within Karol Bagh. Some items for the milni, sangeet and oil ceremony. We sikh brides wear specific bangles called the 'chura' and i loved the way mine turned out! They were custom made in Delhi too. Also picked up my FH's turban and accessories in Karol Bagh.

In Mumbai i visited this place called Benzer and picked up a great sherwani for my FH. I managed to get the colour he was looking for and thank God he loves it. The range i came across in Singapore was pretty limited, although some shops do offer MTM. But again you are only able to choose from magazines and they can differ from the actual sherwani that you get. I remember visiting a store in Mumbai, whose catalogue i had seen in Vaastram here in Sg and the actual outfit was quite different from the one in the catalogue. So i'm glad we didn't order it from SG. I also came across a beautiful lehenga in Benzer and decided to get it for my sangeet. It complements my FH's sangeet outfit really well and we intend to wear our sangeet outfits for our photoshoot. This outfit was a little pricey though, but i really wouldn't have been able to get this sort of a lehenga back in SG and certainly not at the price i got it in Mumbai. I also bought some ready-made punjabi suits for myself and my sisters. Also picked up 2 gorgeous lehenga materials for my sisters to wear for my sangeet. (Brokenbudgie, my sangeet is at Khalsa). Also picked up 2 gorgeous sarees for my mom in Mumbai. Picked up some costume jewellery in Mumbai too. Overall, am very happy with my purchases.

I didnt have time to organise my wedding cards in Delhi but managed to visit a printer in Chennai who will arrange for samples to be made for me to choose from. So am glad i have that in the works too.

Now can't wait to have my MU trials

SK - welcome back and sounds like you had a very productive trip. Tell us more re: colours of your various outfits, sherwani, style of lehenga skirt etc etc..!