Indian wedding Services in Singapore

infinite - you are most welcome!

Meeting with Yasmin got postponed because she's not well. Have to re-schedule next week. Will let you all know how it goes then.

hi ladies, glad to hear the thread is going so well

infinite- my dear sweet bride. I hope all is going well for you. I was just going thru our old pics at our prom during the weekend...and gosh now all of us are getting married...it kinda really made me feel emotional u noe....hope God blesses you with every happiness on your special day

apryl- u went to delhi gal? i dunno if u read my posts on india but i did forewarn tt it is expensive but after going to delhi, everything in singapore kinda seems to suck

i had the same probs when i went to india...the shops went on strike n there was alot of violence in the streets. My parents just went back to delhi to pick up my outfits. once again, delhi is experiencing problems. my advice to most of u is now is a very bad time to go....there has been alot of fights and riots.
where did u end up buying ur lengha? i got mine at CTC mall and i really fell in love with what i got....my saris i bought in karol bagh and chandni chowk...other places were just too expensive. where are u planning to get ur costume jewellery? i need to get a few things too...maybe can meet up and go together ?

ladies i need some advice. do u think saheli's henna designs are good? i'm thinking of asking her to do my henna....do you ladies noe others who are good? also i need a recommendation for a shop that does bleaching and waxing services? and where the eyebrow threadign is really good? i get my eyebrows done at Sounique on serangoon road but just want to noe if there are better places.

i got my invitations printed in KL and i'll take a pic and upload here next week. less than two months left for the wedddin...i 'm major panicking now....
i haven't gone for my trial makeup yet...i'll see how the mediacorp artiste goes. if really bad, i'll go back to shanti. apparently this MUA did for MS vasantham. i hope she's ok man....

PB - 2 more months...kekekek. Relax lady.
Not too sure abt a good plc for bleaching. If u knw.. update mi. Mi wanna go too.
For waxing, check out STRIP. There's 1 in holland V, cathay, shaw, wheelock. They r really good. The regrowth is slower than many other places.
I've tried quite a number of shops in Serangoon for threading. Find Menaka is the best. Even my chinese colleague thinks so.

Its feel so good to be back...but i still haven adjusted to the time here...woke up at 4am cos i was hungry...Congrats and all the best to the soon-to-be brides!!! I am going for a wedding tmr evening at Sri Mariamman Temple.So i am going to see how the hall looks in full wedding decoration...Hopefully i wont be disappointed...I will try to take some pictures with my mobile ok.Thinking of wearing a gown for my wedding reception followed by a saree...but don know what colour saree to buy...Any suggestions ladies?

Think paneer is in his 30s...

Bridezilla, Sarah, Infinite - So excited for you girls!!! Try to get as much rest and take things one step at a time. If it gets too much, DELEGATE!!

PB - I would recommend STRIP for waxing too. You can try Chin Lee at the Wheelock branch. For threading I go to Rupini's (Harjinder). She's OK. Never have tried bleaching. Would love to see your invitations!

Jini - Thanks for the suggestion on the dots. Probl is I'm very bad at picking out things for myself. Hee!

SK - Some really useful pictures you've posted. Love Post #4, Middle pic. The dots look good on her and the white/off-white dots go well with her skin tone. But if you look at the tan brides, the white/off-white dots stand out starkly. So I think I'm going to opt for the white dots to be replaced with beige/gold or some colour that will go better with my skin tone.

I could be wrong but a rakodi is that plait of jasmine flowers that's placed on the hairplait (or hair extension). Is that correct, girls?

Apryl - Great progress you've made there. Re. Oriental, from what I understand if the Garden Suite is taken up, and you want a poolside affair, then one of the other available function rooms will held for you for contingency. Not necessarily the Garden Suite.

Chick - Dots are not a must but like Sphire said, it does enhance the whole 'bridal' look. But go with what you're comfy with, girl. But re. your friend's exp with Shanti, I would have freaked out too. It's a relief she had 6 hours to fix the situation.

Kayla - I'm a little busybody, I admit it. But could I see some pictures of your ROM in London? Curious to see how you managed the traditional in a not-so-traditional environment. I'm at [email protected]

Sarah - Which caterer did you engage for your temple reception? Do the caterers or temple staff arrange the tables and chairs for the reception?

424823.gif

just thought i'd like to share with you what sort of lehenga i'm looking to wear for the wedding ceremony itself. What do you ladies think? This is what i have in mind.

Hi Sk.. I love it! so beautiful.. Have u managed to find it yet? And even the jewellery this model is wearing really compliments it too

424866.jpg

Hey gals an addition to SK's contributions...hope this ones give u gals an idea on liquid dots...you can change the colours i guess.

PB i'd actually wrote a long reply to ur note on my shopping...but stupid me refreshed the page w/o uploading the reply. Will write again later k. Oh anyway i didnt go to Delhi...was in Amritsar.

SK, the lengah is gorgeous...u'll look great. I just cant see myself in something so heavy though...the clumpsy me wld probably end up carring the skirt exposing my knees or even worst thighs...kekekeke.

Hey Rany, i was assured Garden Suite in case of rain...well no worries. Looks like i'll settle for Conrad. My aunt is singing praises of the wedding dinner she attended there... she is also explaining to me how the bride dolled up for her Sikh temple wedding and reception. I guess i shall rely on such personal input to make my decision. Anyway she's my fiance's relation will start givin in to in-law from now 'wink' 'wink'.

Hey kismet/SK... my aunt also mentioned tat the bride wore a veil tat cover her whole face...r u gals also gonna be faceless....kekekeke just kidding. Tot tat was quite funny but maybe it'll look quite good. Havent seen anyone doing tat since wedding pix of the 70s.

Hi SK, the lengha looks lovely, pardon my ignorance but it looks more like saree to me?? The jewellery looks good 2..

Kayla - welcome back..i think saree colour is really individual preference, depending on what colour suits ur skin tone..I'll will probably go for the warm shades for myself (red/pink/bronze??) as opposed to greens/blue..hey btw, the wedding u r going to for tom..is the bride's name Karthika or smtg?

PB - i do my threading at sivasakthi, she's next to the ladies center blouse place...she's ok..I think rupini's does a better n faster job, but its always so packed...

Sphire - hey where's menaka located?

Sk - The lengah looks really good. Love it. The jewels fit well together too.

Apryl - U goin for conrad? U got to push ur mum to book the plc fast. wht spread are u serving?

Kayla- Like wht Chick mentioned.. depends on individual skin tone. I like orange, red and lime green.

Chick - Menaka is at 02-06, Selegie Center, 63377705. Very pleasent lady.

kismet - No, i haven't found it yet. But i'm going to Delhi next weekend and i've decided to make a purchase if i find anything i like. In fact i'm hoping that i can settle my shopping this trip as it'll save a lot of costs than if i have to travel with my mom next year. Plus the fact that wedding season is going on, retailers should be well stocked with the latest stuff.

Apryl - I know whose wedding you are referring to. I was a guest there. Your aunt might have been singing praises of it, but i thought otherwise. I'm certainly not adorning the veil. The bride's face wasn't even visible. I was joking with my mom that the groom should have insisted that she remove the veil just to make sure he was marrying the right person :p. I personally thought the wedding was overdone. I know the girl's family.
Just for you to note if you are going with Conrad. Thats one of the hotels i was considering. The indian food offered is not totally north indian. So if you are looking to serve authentic north indian cuisine, you may want to take note. Hyatt and Oriental have their own tandoors(clay ovens) but Conrad doesnt. Infact, you will not find any tandoori dish or naan on their menu. Desserts are things like gula melaka (or something)...The couple your aunt is talking about went ahead to book Conrad without first checking the menu. Closer to the wedding, they discovered that there was no naan etc. They had to top up money and the naans were brought in from nearby restaurant Devi's Fusion( or something like that which is located at Millenia Walk ). The co-ordinator at Conrad himself told me this.

Chick - It is a bridal lehenga.

Hi Chick,
The bride's name is Shanti...Maybe she has two names...hehehe...the wedding's in the evening...

Thanks for the suggestions dearies...going for saree hunting soon...

Hi Rany,
Sorry dear...i don have the CD with me at the moment...i left it with my in-laws in London together with the album...will ask my hubby to bring the CD since he's coming to singapore in 3 weeks time...

Basically, the ceremony was very simple...I got married at Redbridge Registry of Marriages. The one is singapore is WAY BETTER. At least here, they have a beautiful setting to take pictures but over there, we took pictures at the field in front of the building...pictures were plain looking...Luckily i wore a peacock blue-mustard saree. the colour made me stood out from the crowd. since it was a weekday, we had the ceremony during lunchtime so everyone was wearing their black suits...only me and the oldies were in sarees...i was told it was a tradition in London...i din believe it! they could have at least worn white...We later on gave a dinner party at an indian restuarant...i wore a pink punjabi suit cos i was tired and was having a bad headache from standing in the cold earlier on during the photo-taking...Never have 2 functions in one day...The same crowd came in with their office attire...Wah cannot tahan man!!! I was a bit upset over them...then i tot to myself...what the hell...the most important thing is the ceremony and we got thru it well...And i am thinking of doing another ROM in singapore, just to take pictures in the beautiful settings...or maybe have my outdoor BS at fort canning...hehehe

Hi PB, I do my threading at Jaswinder at Katong Shopping centre. Really am very very happy with her work, she's really careful and professional. Used to go to Meneka and was happy with her too however she was always way too crowded coz shes soo popular, so many times I had to wait for over an hour for my turn. Though this is deffinately not Menekas fault, in fact shes really warm and loving and tries to satisfy each customer. I just don't like waiting for too long plus serangoon is out of my way, katong suits me alot better too. Let me know if u want Jaswinders number. Cheers

Apryl & SK.. hmmm.. was this wedding held in July in Central Sikh temple coz if so i was there at the same wedding too. Otherwise this wedding i attended in July, the bride wore a veil under her duppata to cover her face. Alot of people really liked it but it really wasn't to my fancy hehehe. Wasn't invited for the reception so have no idea where it was held.

SK, mum's in india now but not for pleasure. I don't know if shes gotten a chance to go shopping as yet but if she did, will let you know where she might have gone. Also have heard wonders abt CTC mall, most of my friends plus my sis got their wedding outfits there.

jsut a note about Conrad. its one of the hotels im considering too. the coordinator seemed v friendly and accomodating. so its one of my top few choices.

can i ask u grils a qn about the parasam? How is the procedure like? most prb ill be doing it at home so do i just stay in my room all dressed up and wait? n how many saris do i have to wear? i heard its 2. cos one of it is from the groom's family. is it so? im super blur about these procedures. thanks!

Kayla - Tis a great idea to renew vows. Probably u shd capture some shot in Sg as well. Mi ken to c ur wedding pic too.

Kismet - Yup Menaka is always crowded. But I normally go with my collegues... jus sit chit chat.

Lisa - Mi hving my engagement at hm too. Not sure whts the actual procedure but there will be 2 sarees I think.

Hey guys,

So the Sikh brides wear veils too? Like the white ones in the western culture? According to Ceylonese traditions, the bride has to wear one too. And the groom, a turban. But my fiance has put his foot down about us not wearing any headwear. Am relieved!

Kayla - Wow your peacock blue saree sounds gorgeous! As for a saree for your reception, like the girls said, depends on your skin tone. If you're fair, you can carry off the vibrant colours. But in my opinion the pastels and beige might have you looking abit washed out. You need to go for the darker shade. I'm still trying to figure out my own colours. Hehe! I'm a tad bit dark.

Actually, we're having all 3 events on the same day. Temple wedding followed by ROM followed by temple reception. And in the evening a banquet. Hee! But ours is on a weekend so we're making sure our guests don't turn up in office attire. ;) But hey, it's a fab idea to get photos done in SG.

SK - The lengha looks gorgeous!! You definitely won't have a problem with guests or relatives trying to outdo you! ;) The fabric looks rather heavy though. If you're petite, it might envelope you, if you know what i mean. But if you're tall and you have the frame, go for it. My 2 cents worth.

kismet - Would love to hear if your mom has any ideas on where to go for shopping. I plan to check out CTC Plaza. It's apparently a one-stop shopping destination for brides. I leave on Saturday. Will keep you posted.

Rany - Sikh brides dont wear veils, dear. Its just that this particular one chose to. I dont know if i'll be able to find the exact same lehenga but what i like is the colour and overall look.

Hi SK, your going this weekend for work rite? mum just got back from Dehli and according to her, most of the shops have been closed due to the goverments new plans to seal off all illegal shops. If i'm not wrong even CTC plaza has been affected and my mums designer that took her around shopping told her honestly that alot of the stock in the stores had been there for a long long time and most stores are afraid of being raided and sealed so they aren't buying new stock. Basicly dehli's a mess at the moment. There were even riots and stuff going on. I think mum did most of her shopping in Amritsar, but will deffinately ask her tonite and give you the names of the places ya.

Rany Sikh brides don't wear veils however, they used to pin their duppatas very low almost to the point where their faces were hidden. Most brides don't anymore though some still choose too. Hows your preps going though?

Hey girls, me n my FH wanted garlands similar to the ones Jyotika and suriya wore. Cause its thin and simple lookinh. At Jothi store, the guy say he cannot make like tat. Anyone know any place that we can make it? The rakodi at the jothi store was also the big heavy kind. The man said all the sizes were the same. I thought there were smaller and lighter ones?? HELP! my wedding is next weekk!!

Oh no..Dehli is a mess!!!! My poor fren just went there wid her parents and i gave a shopping list. Kismet i guess i'm quite glad now tat i went Amritsar to shop. Read alot abt prob in Dehli when i was in Amritsar but tot it was managable...

SK take care on ur trip. Hope the issues are settle and u have a great time buying ur stuff.

Sarah...y dun u go to the flower shops in serangoon and gte them to customise to ur preferrence. I cant be of much help sorry. All the best. I think Kismet had another source for flowers...Kismet help Sarah.

Hi Sarah,have u tried the flower shop beside Jothi? Also theres a whole lane of the them in the lane beside Tekka Market. You'll probably have to go around and ask them individually though sorry. Would you consider using something that wasn't real? I've seen nice garlands at Jothi that are fake but they look nice too. Really sorry I can't help you more. I've been asking for decorations and not for garlands.

SK, I'm sure you can get some stuff done but just be really really careful ya. Mum's car got stopped by people who were rioting on the street but when the saw the state my grandad was in, they let them go without any probs. Apryl, what did you manage to get in Amritsar?

hi sarah...faced the same problem too...wanted those type of garlands cos they looked so nice...and asked the jothi store and chose the thinnest one there...even that MIL was not too keen and she kept telling the guy to make it thicker and longer! sighs...but they had two versions there and one looked more modern...and i got a shock to see how much the flower bill came up to! never thought flowers and garlands can cost too mcuh..

as for the parisam gals...i jus had it in june...u can get a priest to the ceremonies for u...basically what happens is that the groom's side has to come to the gal's house with plates bearing gifts for the bride and the family like sweetmeats chocolate jewellery and sari...then the immediate family members will sign this marriage document in tamil while the priest does some prayers over it...then u change into the sari that PILs brought for u and also the jewellery...then they will ask u to excange the rings and then do some prayers again b4 that...the silly priest we had made us take out our ROM wedding rings and then excange it again and told everyone to clap when we did...and he was rushing through the whole ceremony cos he wanted to watch the world cup match on later that night! so i found the parisam a waste of time as we already had our rom and found no significance in the rituals being conducted...but both our parents who are tradiotional insisted upon it...if any more qns i'll try my best to help

Hey Kismet....i got three suits stiched indo-western style, i think it was 2 sarees and a few ready made suits for frens n relatives and of course myself. I got a lengha...other then nothing...no costume jewelleries,etc. Didint get time. I went to Singh Sarees, Satgur Collections & Sardar Selections. Well i think things were costly but was glad cos Dehli wld hv been worst from wat i heard. I was lucky cos the first day i went to the shop i picked some stuff and the next there when i returned, it was full of boxes. New arrivals...i got them to show me new stuff and exchanged wat bought earlier for the newer designs.

hey gals, i was worried too with all i've heard thats going on in Delhi...But i just got off the phone with someone from Delhi and he's got a store in an area thats affected. But he said things have cooled down. A place like Karol Bagh wouldn't be affected. So i'm just praying that everything goes ok...As for the thing about old stock, i can understand that not everything is new but from what i've seen, Singapore is no better. Dont really trust what i've seen at the stores in Serangoon. Anyway, i'll only buy if i like something and if its in perfect condition.

Sorry i cant help about the flowers but has anyone tried approaching non-indian florists to see if they can help? Sometimes the indian shops are set in what they do but try non indian shops and see if they are willing to do what you are looking for?

SK, Kismet - Thanks! I get it about the veil now.

SK - Good luck with your trip and I hope you score some good buys while there. And keep safe!

Kismet - Progress is at a stand-still because currently there is a standown with my mother. Long story lah. To cut it short - she has been difficult beyond all comprehension and we are going to deliver some ultimatums by the end of the week.

Sarah - Yep, there's some florists in that lane opposite Tekka. Same stretch as Nalli's and Rupini's. Don't fret, girl. Just one week to go. Try to get enough rest ok?

Infinite - Gee, how much do the garlands cost??? How are preps going? Gosh, this is so exciting!! Hope all is well at your end.

Hi Sk, spoke to mum, she went to a mall near Rojori Gardens called Lifestlye. Another place was Bombay selections and of course CTC Plaza.

Hey Rany, sorry to hear abt the hurdles with the wedding. I know where your coming from though and its very difficult. Problem is, mine is not only from one person but from a few. Full on planning hasn't even started and I'm already exhausted. Hang in there ya, really hope everything sorts out soon.

Oh yes SK, thanks for asking abt my grandad, he's not doing very good, a majority of it being old age and he suffers from a mental illness, very painful. Mum took him to India to visit family and temples one last time but he couldn't cope very well. He's better now that he's back home.

Hi Sarah,
I too want such thin garlands...they would really reduce the burden on the bride...I usually buy flowers at the shop in front of Jewel palace...think a lady would be standing there in afternoons...i went to enquire abt the garlands before...she told me that she could make the rakodi lighter by putting lesser stitches...convince her to customise according to yr needs ok...I am trying to find their namecard, will give u the number asap ok...take care and don worry so much dear...

Hi Sarah,
here's the contact no for the flower shop 62951803/94874797...U can ask for Mr Velu/Mrs Kalyani...Maybe u can try beauty salons in serangoons which could have other flower shop contacts. If u really have the time, maybe u can make a quick visit to JB and enquire around there...Good Luck!

You can actually not have the Rakodi if you dont want it. I have seen some brides having little decorations on their hair plaid instead. Of course, it makes your head lighter... check that out and maybe you could ask your MUA for advice.

Kayla,
Your wedding is at south bridge temple too right. Have you been to speak to them ? The staff in the office are awful and the temple itself has strict rules on deco...

Hi Jini,
Oh no...really? i had my doubts on the decor cos when i went for a wedding last sat, there was absolutely no decor! I tot that the couple wanted to save money...but then again, the venue is newly renovated so everything looks good in its original condition. Can u tell me what are the things they don allow us to do? I will speak to them soon in person when my FH comes down at the end of this month...As for the temple staff, they werent that awful to me even though i changed my wedding date once. But i will look into what u said abt the decor...

Hey Ladies

Feel so down now. My mum told me to postpond my wedding cos all of sudden my sis also getting married. She said 1 yr 2 cannot marry. FH has been very supportive. Now waiting for Oriental to get back to mi. Trying to push my dinner to March 8 and goin to c a date in June for AD. Sis is getting married this June. This is so unfair.

Hi Sphire,
I understand how u are feeling gal...there must be something to help the situation...maybe yr mum feels that yr AD and banquet are too spaced out...its an old superstition that 2 siblings cant get married in the same yr...

Sphire,

That's awful!!! Why is it that suddenly there's news of your sister getting married??? I mean, can't they bring fwd ur sister's wedding so that you can still have the dates you want? I mean, the whole point is that you've planned for it already. And if your sister hadn't planned for hers, then shouldn't your mother ask her to work round your dates??? I'd be so mad and disappointed too.

So your dinner might be pushed to 8 Mar 2008 and your AD June 2008?

Does this in any way affect your housing plans??

hi sphire...so sorry to hear about the bad news..i would feel so pissed with my sister for doing that...but well matters can't be helped now and i truly hope u will be able to push forward the dates and things go smoothly after that...all the best gal...the most obstacles seem to come when we are going to get married!!!

Thanks for all your good wishes. I will definitely be very careful this trip. I have a friend in Delhi who is going to be accompanying me so thats gonna be very helpful. I plan to visit Karol Bagh and if i dont get what i'm looking for, i'll make a trip to CTC Plaza.

Sphire - Sorry to hear about your ordeal. How is it that your sister's wedding has suddenly come up? Is she older to you and thats why her wedding is being given priority?

Hi Kayla
Basicaly no nails or sticking. You can arrange portable deco though. I spoke to a decorator yesterday and am waiting for his pricing. I actually want to change the whole dining area to a garden concept and wedding hall with lots of flowers too... see how that goes...

Hi Sphire,
Is this your elder sis or younger sis.. if she is elder, you mum must be thinking that its only proper to get the elder one married 1st. Dont get upset. You know you can always talk to your sister and iron out your issues..You gotta take it postively whatever way it comes out..

Thanks girls.
Mum told mi to push AD to June 08 not the banquet. FH doesnt want banquet and AD to be too far. So got to accomodate both.
Banquet date is dangling. Oriental said that I cn only change date if someone takes 8 Sep 07. Else I got to pay $5K for penalty. Not sure if Edmund Leong is also goin to charge mi extra for changing date. Hv already cancelled my package with Looks. Wht else????
And YES my damn sis is older. She's jus too happy tht she's getting married, not bothered abt the preparations i've gone thro.
My mum refuse to bring my sis wedding date forward. She said not fair to the groom side. Isnt it terrible to my ILs? Jus so sick over the whole thing.

Sphire,
That's so sad! Your date was set first, this is very unfair to u. It's nice to hear that your FH is being supportive. MIne would have blown up! I really hope that you dun have to change your dates. My opinion is that you and your FH should stand firm and say that your dates were set first and its unfair to change it. Well, i know that might be hard to do as well.. sighzz My heart goes out to you girl..

Sphire - Dont want to sound mean towards your sister or anything but cant your in-laws help in this matter and insist that they dont want to shift your wedding? I mean if your sis gets married in June 07, your AD will only still be in 08 right? Maybe your in-laws could convince your mom to not be too traditional?

Maybe you could try to convince your Mom to have your sister's wedding in March or April 07 then you could still have yours as planned. I'm sure your in-laws will help in this.

Thanks Sk, Sarah - Really unfair. Everyone tried. My mum is too firm. So all gave in. Jus hoping it doesnt change again. Goin to tell my MIL to try make bookin with temple once June date is out. Now only hoping Oriental cn still give mi the date I want. Seems someone else also bookin the date. So stressed. Looks like mi goin to be in this forum the longest...kekeke.

Anyway dont want to ruin u girls spirit. Sarah.. excited for u. Hope ur flowers are settled. Got the thin ones?

Hey gals hello.... Sphire dun be negative...it's all for a good reason... i'm sure with the extra time u'll be able to make it all perfect especially tat u'll be learning from us all. Lucky u. Cheer up.

Sphire...
The indian calender is from April every year. So if your sis wedding is in June 07, your wedding can be only after april 08. If you can bring forward yr sis wedding to before april 14 '07, than yr wedding can go ahead as planned becos its technically the following year already. Thought would just let you know.

Sphire, if your mom is following the indian calendar then you wedding can be held in April 08 rite? That wont be that much of a delay. Which means you dont need to shift your banquet.
Also, on Oriental, maybe you could sepak to a lady called Anu? Cos when i told Yiwen that i wont be going with Oriental, this lady Anu called and did try to get me to reconsider.