Indian wedding Services in Singapore

hi girls!! remember me haha.. well, i m still gettin used to workin life. Hi Shantair! I love the 1st gown too!

My wedding is in 4 months n i still have so much to do!!! ahhhhhhh!

We are currently looking for a good interior design place to get our home done. It's a premium flat. Does anyone have any recommendations? Pricing reasonable as well.

Hey all!

Infinite - Thanks for your mail. Was really helpful.

P B - Thanks too for yours. Really appreciate it.

Shantair - Definitely the first one. If you are tall, busomy and have a slender figure, the second one will work really well too. I see you are leaning towards the medieval look.

Mabel - Hey girl! Just a few more weeks, eh? Hang in there. Take one day at a time and keep the kitties at bay. ;)

Sarah - Of course we remember you! Welcome back! Sorry though, I can't help you in the home reno area.

Thanks ladies for your opinion. I love the first one as well ...hehehe.

PB , since my wedding venue is a castle , i decided that the princess look would be quite appropriate. I always wanted to wear a tiara and it looks like my dream is abt to come true.

Hi girls!

Its been awhile.. 4 months to my wedding and loads to do as well!

I have an extra sherwani (size 40) that I got from India. It was meant to be for one of the prelimiary ceremonies which we've now decided not to have. Please send me a PM if anyone interested. Its brand new and still in its orginal packaging. Selling at cost.

Hi bridezilla, welcome back. How was the India shopping? Good deals?

Hi PB, can send me ur pics 2 as well?

Hi Shantair have to agree with the rest..1st one. Good u r in high spirits..keep it up gal..

Hi Sphire, shame on Intercon. Cant believe they treated u that way. We got the same treatment at a couple of places 2, with people repeatedly asking us if we were doing chinese sit-down after they saw us..Irritating! How about Oriental?

Hi Mabel, hang in there..

Hey everyone!

Bridezilla - welcome back! How was your trip? Did you manage to get all you need? Sarees, invites, etc?

Just been to Di Gio Bridal and Felin* Bridal yesterday. Must say, Di Gio has great service and classic gowns. But gown rental for photoshoot only is kinda pricey.

Felin* on the other hand wasn't so accommodating and forthcoming with their service. And to be honest, I was quite annoyed at times because I was given lines like, "Oh, actually it's abit strange that you only renting for photoshoot leh" to which I replied "Well, that's because I'm not getting married in a church. I don't think that's strange at all." And at some point she also said "We usually let customers try 1-2 gowns only". To which I was thinking, how the hell do you expect a customer to decide on the purrrrfect wedding gown based on just 1-2 gowns? It's a shame the service sucks because their gowns are pretty if you like lace and embroidery works.

Btw, did anyone ever wonder why is it that at ROMs or solemnisations, the bride and groom's backs always face the guests?? Shouldn't they be facing the guests (since they are the focus here!) and the JP's back is towards the guests?

Yo ladies... mi back. Seems lik I'm gone for a long time...actually only for a day...kekeke
C lots of familiar faces back. WB everyone.

PB - Thanks for the pics. U had a concert?

Sarah - 4 mths? U must be really busy wif preparations. Hows work life? Cant help u much with the hse... sorri.

Shantair - U r making all of us jealous...kekekeke. We would hv to call u... your highness. Ur dreams were meant to come true.

Bridezilla - U hv been MIA for a long long time. Hows india? U too 4 mths? All the best girl. I wld love to c the salwani... but my FH is really small size. Thinkin of getting him the largest in kids size. Tht wht he bought for his sis wedding.

Chick - Yes intercon is really bad. They really flopped on their cust serv. U shd tell them that if they r not aware, indians do eat chinese food.

Rany - BS earns more from their photography. Hence they r not so forthcoming when u dont wan their photo. Y the couple face the other side... not sure... my FH also asked the same question. So I told him to put a revloving stage.. everyone cld hv a 360degree view of us...kekek

UPDATES
Went to Oriental yesterday. Really love the plc. Price has gone up to $1025 per pax... but she will stick to the price quoted to us. We will be amending the menu at additional cost. Oriental is bringing in more favors and changing their cards. She brought us to the harbour view bridal suite.. the view was marvelous. Hotel has a day room just beside the ballroom for the 2nd change. private cocktail area is just at the doorstep of hotel with a red carpet enterance where guests cld drop their cars for valet service. Toilets at both ends of ballroom. Coordinator was very accomodating. As we walk into the hotel, all staffs who walk pass greet us. Even the cleaner in the toilet. Got to send her our preferred menu.. and wait for chef to quote. Will be doing tht lastest by tomorrow. Anyway.. will still be goin to Regent BS coming Sun.

Hi Sphire..Oriental sounds nice...do you have 1 or 2 nite stay in the bridal suite? 2 of my cousins had their wedding at Regent..food was ok and their advertised rates are among the cheapest so far..

Rany, u really doing ur homewk for BS gal :-) Have u tried the ones at Tg Pagar yet?

Hey Chick - 2 nights stay. Since Oriental will be providing a changing room (as big as a normal hotel room) jus beside the ballroom, we are hoping to change both nights stay to Mar'08 as my AD is only in Mar'08. Families being very conservative, will not allow us to stay after the solemnization as its not considered as married. First dress up will be done in respective houses.. then he will come over to pick mi up... c if I cn get my friends and cousins to do a gate crash. Then 2nd change will be at the holding spare room. Do not need to waste the bridal suite. BUT tht's if I confirm with Oriental and Oriental allows mi to push my bridal suite to Mar.

Rany - Gone down to GHS?

Sorri ladies for the long long repeated thread. Something is wrong wif the web.

For 40tbls, how many 30L barrels of beer and bots of wine would I need? How do I calculate?

Hi Sphire, i went through the oriental package i had and saw that it does not provide any beer and also no corkage waiver. Is that the package you have as well? Quite expensive if you have to pay for beer + corkage. Dun forget there's also hard liquor...

I know 30L is equivalent to 95 glasses and people hve been telling me to budget for 1 bottle per table. It will depend on your guests profile i guess. For my 20 tables, i am getting 20 bottles of wine (probably the 1.5l one), and 2 barrels of beer - of which 1 barrel is free from the hotel. Hard liqour sm1 was saying 10 whisky, brandy..Maybe u can double that??

Its good u get 2 nites..me only got 1 nite..though we begged n begged..hehe..and we also wanted to keep it for a different nite, but couldnt..so cant really enjoy

Chick - My coordinator asked which other hotel we r considering. I said Hyatt. Then when I tok abt corkage, she said cn reduce corkage cost. Hv to fight for a waiver. When my FH said tht other hotels offer free barrel of beer, she said its not an issue and cn be discussed further. Think our fighting spirit must be of full strength when the tm comes. Hyatt offers free bot wine for each table and a barrel of beer. Hopin to get at least 1 barrel beer and waiver of corkage. Dont think I'll be serving hard liquor. I'm still against in serving beer. Dont wan any drama on my wedding night. Both my FH and myself r non-drinkers.
THey r so strigent in giving another night? Did u ask for a helpers room? Probably u could compare a similar graded hotel and fight for the perks. Thts wht my FH and I are doing.. using Hyatt perks and fight at Oriental. If Oriental is really goin to increase my price to $1K per table, I would expect almost same perks as Hyatt.

Hey girls!

Great to see that you've narrowed down your hotel options to 2-3. I reckon that's amazing progress in just 2 months or so.

Sphire - no, haven't been to GHA yet. will find the time on the weekdays next week.

Chick - yeah, been doing my homework with a vengeance. ;) Di Gio and Felin*, the ones I went to last weekend, are actually along the Tanjong Pagar stretch. But I reckon I'll go back there to have a look at a few more before my fiance arrives in just a couple of weeks.

Hi Sphire..sorry i dont get yr question..U r asking if hotel will reduce corkage charges?

As far as i know, most hotels will not reduce corkage charge, but u may get corkage waiver for all/half ur tables. If u can get corkage waiver, then my suggestion is to go outside and get wines..

How's everyone doing? very quiet in here....

Chick - My coordinator did mentioned that she'll be able to reduce corkage price. Probably got to fight for waiver. Hows ur preparations coming along? BTW hows the DVDs coming along?

Everyone seems real busy.

Hi Sphire..actually i've not done any other wedding preps since finalising the venue etc..not so motivated, feel like its a long way more..hehe..though i shld b looking for PG n VG alrdy..Actually had nightmare last night..i forgot to buy wedding shoes n jus realised as i was about to walk down the aisle..stress!

You should ask for waiver if possible. Otherwise need to compare prices and see if its cheaper to get from hotel or outside.

As for dvds, just got them back from my colleague. So i've got 1,4,5,6...U interested? I can pass it to u smtime...

Chick - tht's a terrible mightmare... forgot to mention tht. Luckily its your shoes...kekeke Y do brides buy expensive shoes? No one will notice right? I'm thinking of jus get a simple one from Charles and Keith, or departmental stores. I'm size 4. Most shops dont hv my size. Hence if I c something I like and reasonable, I thinking of jus buying it. My BS adviced mi to get a silver shoe cos it matches most outfit. What do u think?

Hi Sphire..no cost. most are my current dvds, wldnt watch them twice..M not sure if i'll b going to jb tis sat, but otherwise m free. mayb PM me yr contact details..we can mt smwh.

I think silver's a great idea. was thinking of that 2, can use it with the sari as well...Wow, u hv such small feet, at least no need to compete with the masses for size, m a size 7. also dun intend to spend much on wedding shoes that i mite not wear again but then again when time comes i mite fl that since we've spent so much already..just go the xtra mile n get fancy shoes :-) Btw, are u gonna get the shoes now already? Have u selected yr gown already? My appt is only in Sept, jus wondering if its too late....

Chick - 7? At least u could get shoes at more locations. I stuck at a few shops only.

R we suppose to get the shoes first or gowns? Cos I thought we r suppose to bring the shoes when trying gowns. So I thought tht if I c anything I like,... jus get.

Will PM u my contact. Or prb will meet u next week.

hey girls!

how's it going?

Sphire - What a nasty dream!! But I think silver strappies should go well with most outfits. I reckon a bronze/gold one too becos most wedding sarees tend to be a warm colour. but I don't understand it too why brides would cough up $200-$400 for a pair of shoes for their wedding. I'll head straight to Charles and Keith, Vincy (how do you spell it?) or one of the local shops for a reasonably priced pair. Oh, and you also mentioned a coordinator. Did you hire one? Is he/she useful? ;)

Chick - I'm a size 7 too.

I recently rang up Shanti and gosh, she does sound passionate about her job because when I told her we only intend to have 1 outfit for our outdoor shoot, she grew concerned and tried to change my mind (for the next 20 minutes) and then when she learnt that we won't be doing any studio shoot, she spent the next 10 minutes trying to change our minds again. Hahaha! But she sounds nice. Opinionated but I reckon that's because she knows what she's talking about and because she's passionate about her job.

She has mentioned that Stylemart will be coming in with new shipment in Sept through Dec, if you girls are interested.

Hey girls,

I was thinking we can make a meet-up over coffee out of your exchange of VCDs. What do you reckon? And then we can blab to our little hearts content about our wedding plans. Let me know what you think.

Hi Rany..sounds like a great idea..I'm good for coffee..Wow, u're pretty fast, already spoken to Shanthi :-)

I am kinda losing steam..still yet to do anyth bt PG, VG and MUA...U visited more BS? Decided which one alrdy?

Sphire - Actually i dunno if we need to bring shoes or not when we go try on gowns...I've yet to go visit my BS since signing up..sigh..M really slack i think..haha

Gals, my banquet date may change again. At the moments its on 15th Sept 07 and AD on 8th Mar 08. Hence my fiance said to check if 8th Sept 07 possible.. So all dates will be on the 8th.

When r u gals holding engagement? I'm kinda stuck. Thot of hving it 3 days before AD together w bangles. My mum said groom cannot come. Thot holding it in the morning of banquet. MIL said it'll be tirin and busy. Believe her. Now mum said 1 wk before banquet. So confused.

Rany - The coordinator is from Oriental. The meet up would be great. But kinda busy at the moment. Audits in the office... hence got lots of cleaning up, adjustments and corrdinating to do. Perhaps we could like come up with a tentive date. Shanti does sounds nice. Hope she'll be avaliable on my banquet date.

Chick - cld I hv your email again? kinda confused with everyone else's. Sorry

Hi girls!! Here's an update

*I got my dinner outfit done at Stylemart. Hope it turns out good! I'll be going for the fitting in August.

*I went to my bridal studio to check out the gowns recently and sadly didnt like any of it. And i felt that the service was not very good. I also felt that the amount i'm paying for the whole package is not worth it at all. So i'm juz takin the photoshoot from there. The photoshoot quality is very good.

I decided to source elsewhere for my white gown. Most of the places rent out wedding gown for 1000+. But by some miracle i came across this place (popular studio at jurong) which rents out gowns for between $400 to 550. I went down and found a very simple and sweet gown. I do not wanna spend so much on the gown coz i'll only be wearing it for a short while (for the christian ceremony) and then change into the stylemart suit for most of the night.

*I'm still sourcing for make up artist! Yes, i m so running out of time. But i think i have decided on one. The shop is called looks. Along the stylemart row. Has anyone heard about it??

I went for the trial. The foundation blending and all was good. But bridal make up is so thick!! I think im gonna ask her to do it as light as possible for a bride. I rather have a more natural n sweet look.

*So now almost everything is settled. But he is yet to get his outfits. And we are still looking around for a interior design place.

I envy all u girls who are planning your wedding early. We only decided to get married in Jan this yr and the planning and sourcing for places and all has been a mad rush! :-)

Hi Sphire..its [email protected]. Hey gals m good any fri, sat or sun. Weekday is tough. Sphire u settles on oriental already? guys always need some easy-to-remember dates :-) My AD is actually my bday..hehe...As for engagement is it really necessary to do it? dun thk we'll b doing it..

Hi Sarah..sounds like u've been really busy, but at least its a lot of things settled..Sorry i've not heard of the "Looks" place, but i've seen it along the stylemart row..as long as u r comfy, thats the most impt..Anyway good luck with the rest of the stuff...actually regret making the date so late next yr..i work better under deadlines :-)

Updates, updates, updates...

Went to Regent Show yesterday. Disappointment. Paid $30/couple. They provided soft drinks, little cakes, roasted duck w jelly fish and some funny stale bread... on walk around style. When mc talked abt layout, ballroom was too dark. So cldnt link the ears and eyes. Regent favours was a huge spread and were nice. Some staffs werent really friendly. Bridal suite not fantastic.. view from suite was nothing great. Wasted my time and $$.

Mum says this is not a good month for indians till 17th Aug. So she told us not to do much or sign on anything. But We hv kinda confirmed Oriental as our venue thou hvnt signed yet. Coordinator said we hv to pay additional $5+++ per pax since we tailor made the menu. Now waiting for the vege menu. Then will make appt with chef to go thru the dishes, followed by an appointment with coordinator to settle package.

Gals - I prefer a friday. Will update again on my avaliability.

Chick - Hv sent u my contact. My fiance has very good memories. Its mi who needs reminder and reminder for reminders. Initially wanted 15th Mar for AD as its our courting anni. Buut 15th is not a good day.. so astrologer gave 8th Mar. 8 so happens to be my BD date. So hoping that 8th of Sept is also a good day now.

Sarah - Good to hear abt ur outfit. Well mi hv been planning for almost 8 mths. My fiance keeps dragging.. still not settled yet.

Hi Sphire, thanks got yr contact. Good u almost settled banquet venue..one load off yr mind :-) Btw mind sharing the indian and vege menu with me please? Are u also getting Muslim food? I will need to get Indian food for 2-3 tables, so mite help if i noe wat to ask for..

Rany, please update on yr availability as well. Hey i was thinking, do u wanna go down and take a look at Shanthi's works as well?

Think the rest are busy preparing for their weddings this year :-)

Hi Chicks - sure. Have sent u the menus. RTP dont hv indian food rite? I'm not taking muslim food. cos my indian food is already halal.

Thts a good idea to check out at Shanti's.

Hey girls!

Great to hear you're all keen on meeting up. I can't make it this Friday but what about next (4 Aug)?

I'll be arranging to meet Shanti when my fiance's here. We might fix up an appt with her on 12 aug (sat). But I guess there no harm in meeting her with you girls before that.

Chick - No choice lah, have to work fast. Since my fiance is only here for about 2-3 trips (spanning 10-18 days each) before our wedding, we have to get as much as possible confirmed while he's here. But no, haven't yet confirmed on BS, PG, MUA. Will try doing that all in Aug when he's here.

Sphire - I'm not having an engagement ceremony either. So you might change your temple wedding to 8 Sept 07? We probably would be getting married within weeks of each other! ;)

As for shoes - most bridal studios will have a sample pair, usually 3" and 4" heels, for you to slip into when you try on their gowns. So not to worry, you won't have to BYO. I think its better to decide on a gown and then get your own pair of shoes. Because the design of the gown is more impt.

Sarah - hey, great progress you've made! And don't worry about leaving things to the last minute or being in a mad rush. You've done really well, girl!

Which BS did you sign up with that you didn't like the gowns? And is your outfit from Stylemart a lengha? Can I ask how much it cost to make one?

Looks like all of you are busy with some kind of preperation. Have not heard from Holly at all recently , I wonder hows she coping with her apartment?
I am busy with my wedding preperations as well and haven't been around here much.
Rany , where is your fiance located? I had the same problem as you when I was planning for my wedding in Singapore. My fiance was in London and could only arrive in Singapore 10 days before the wedding. So I had to do the sourcing , planning and coordinating myself. It wasn't all that much fun doing it alone and it also didn't help that he is caucasian. I had to explain every single thing and most of those things are which we indians take for granted.I could not explain why we do certain things and it made me feel that I am quite ignorant abt most of our traditions. But he was very sweet and tried to read up on the hindu traditions and explain it to me.
Sighhh....all that trouble came up naught.
Anyway , all the coordinations for my wedding are coming up nicely. I left everything up to my wedding planner cos I am also totally ignorant of the western marriage ceremony. But things are falling into place nicely.

Rany- I tried puttin the name of the BS but when i did i couldnt post the message. hmm.. well the bs is at ang mo kio and starts with sel..haha
my sister says that i didnt look long
and hard enough but there was nothin that really captured me and also the service was not as wat i would like it to be. I really liked the service at popular studio by their freelance designer. She is only there on weekends.

Yes, i got a lengha from stylemart. Its gonna be a really short top n the skirt in the mermaid design. Tailoring charges are abt $250. The total cost depends on the cost of the material choose. I think total cost can be abt 600 to 1000 and above. My rom outfit was done very well at stylemart so i hope this will turn out good too. :-)

Hi Gals - Next friday wld be great for mi. I'll off work at 5.30pm. Cld meet up around 6.30pm.

Rany - My Solemnization maybe pushed to 8th Sep 07. Temple remains as 8th Mar 08. Thanks for the shoes thingy. So i'll choose my gown first in tht case. At least I cld match my shoes to the gown.

Shantair - Ur wedding would be great. Wif a castle, king, queen and professional helpers... sound pretty kewl. U wanna meet up too? It'll be fun.

Sarah - Check this plc out. Wedding Departmental Store at 5 Kaki Bukit Road 2, #03-10 City
Warehouse, tel: 6748 5988. Heard they hv gowns of designs similar to designers goin dirty cheap. Join us too lady.

Dear Sphire,

I would love to meet up with you gals but it would have to wait when I am in Singapore sometime in january 2007. I am in Canada right now and unless you gals are planning to meet up for coffee in Toronto
, it would have to be another time.

Well... will we hv to meet Shanti at Stylemart? or where? I'm really bad at recognising ppl.

Rany - I received a letter from 'Wedding Photo Bridal Couture' boutique to claim a 10% discount on their packages $2988 and above. If u r interested, I could pass it to u when we meet up.

Sphire..lemme call her tomorrow and see if she's free..If yes, we can meet there, then adjourn for coffee smwh..erm not sure where the nearest coffee joint is..is it the mrbean one or smthg? Or alternatively, tekka mall, which is not so exciting...Howz?

Hey girls, apologies but just a thought - can we shift our appt to next sat (5aug)? if it's too much trouble, then we can stick with 4aug.

It's just that my gfriends and I are having problems fixing a date to meet up as well.

I think its better to meet Shanti at Stylemart becos she said her sample works are there. but if she can meet us elsewhere with her sample works, i'm cool with that too.

Chick - Thanks for offering to ring Shanti.

Sphire - Thanks so much for the letter. I haven't seen their gowns yet so I'm not sure if I'd take it up. Do you have other friends who might be interested? If you do, you can pass it to them but if got no one, then you can pass to me lah. I'd be more than happy to have it as an option.

Sarah - I know which BS you mean. It's got broadway in its name, doesn't it? ;) Btw Mabel got her fiance's sherwani from Indian Saree Emporium just a few stores down from Stylemart. You might want to bring your fiance there for a look-see.

Shantair - Looking forward to catching up when you're here in Jan. You can make our mouths water with your castle wedding plans! My fiance is from Perth but he's quite hands on about the wedding plans (woe for me! hahah!). Anyhow, apart from spending time together, those 2-3 trips in between now and the wedding is also useful time for the both of us to source and confirm wedding arrangements and vendors, etc. I know what you mean about explaining all the indian customs and the idea behind each ceremony or each part of the ceremony to your fiance. But there are some things that you can't quite explain and you find yourself stuck. Oh well. But I'm glad because it's not just my fiance learning but I'm learning too. I like studying cultures, and I think its about bloody time I learnt about my own! hah!

Thanks Sphire and Rany! I'll check these places out.

By the way, the looks place right offers like a $200+ package for like the whole works: Menicure, pedicure, henna, bodyscrub, body wrap, bleaching..hmm..waxing..

They also have facial packages. I signed up for them but will only be going for my first facial next month. So i'll update u guys!!

Rany - Sorry dear. Mi cant make it on Saturdays. Probably the following friday?

Sarah- Mabel did mentioned abt good service from Interactive printers. Keep us updated on LOOKS. Might be keen on the package.

Hi gals, i jus called Shanthi up. She wont b at Stylemart cos she's freelance and she doesnt have a portfolio, but she said we cld go to Stylemart and take a look at the pics there and decide. If we want to though, she can make a trip down..

Charges are $400 incl 1 trial make-up.

Next fri (4th Aug) is better for me cos m going to bkk on sat. Otherwise week after fri (11th Aug) also can..How?

Hi Sarah...yeah keep us posted..Btw, have u fixed PG and VG already?

Hi Sphire..erm i suppose trial makeup shld incl hairdo othw how to see the final result?? all the accessories wld be provided by her as well, except flowers she said we need to get..she said got 2 styles for hair, plait n bun...

M ok either week..rany, wat do ya fancy gal?