Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Hey guys!

That's right, Sphire, it's Jewel Palace and not Diamond Palace. I knew it was a precious stone somewhat...heh!

Mabel, I'll be sure to avoid Sithee Vinayager at all costs! And from what it looks like, that red saree on display won't get bought until they learn a thing or two about service!

Hey guys,

I just remembered that I took some photos of my friend's temple wedding last year. And it shows most of the temple rites - if you can make sense of it. But it's not a Ceylonese wedding though.

Let me know if you think it'll be useful to you and if you'd like to take a look. I'll email you the link.

Hey Rany, yes I think that would be really useful. Please email me the link. My address is [email protected]
About Sithee Vinayager. My friend told me that she has received good service there but from a different sales woman. I pointed out to her the one that served me and she apparently has a reputation for being lazy! Have you found a videographer yet for your temple ceremony? I have an appointment next week with Xtelier so Ill let you know how it goes. Im caught in a bit of a dilemma. I dont want the traditional sort of video for my wedding but Im hoping that a chinese videographer will know what are the important buts to film.
SPHIRE: HEY...that indian expo would have been good. Too bad I missed it.Does that North Indian lady you bought from have a shop in Singapore by any chance?

I'm new here. Glad i found this thread. Need help...I'm catholic and FH is Hindu, so we are going to have a temple wedding, church wedding and banquet.

I dont know what to expect for the Hindu wedding. Some questions:

- DO i have to wear the flowers and gold on the head and pleat my hair?
- Has anyone heard of this makeup artist called Arase from La Vien ROse in Peninsular Plaza?

Sphire..Saw your interest in Hyatt. Which ballroom are you taking? Did you check out the Hilton? They have a new ballroom on the 24th floor and you can have pre-dinner cocktails by the pool....

Hi Rany, could u email mi the shots too.. thanks. [email protected]

Hi Mabel.. sorry dear. The lady does not have a shop in Singapore. She is back in india.
She was suppose to email and send mi some pictures of lengah and suits. Till now no news from her. Once she has contact mi, I'll update u.
Mi too hv the same thinking of VG and PG. I wanna do away with traditional shots but afraid the chinese may miss out those important moments. If you have any good rec for VG and PG, do update mi.

Hi Chick. Welcome. I think if u are going for the very traditional marriage its a must to adore like an indian bride with pleat and flowers. But u can also choose simple designs.. not too sure.
I havent check out Hilton. Did receive a quote from them. Peaks not fantastic. Food selection seem excellent.. imagine got turkey also. Taste also donno. May go down to take a look. When is your bid day?

Hi Chick: when it comes to the traditional ceremony, I think most brides do have their hair in a plait and have flowers. Not sure what you mean about gold in the hair though, do you mean the ornaments? I guess you can always modify for the look you want. Just as sphire said, you can choose a simple design. That is certainly what I am trying to do. I personally sunscribe to the less is more school of thought. But I have to balance pleasing my mother in law, who has a more traditional outlook of things
So I think go for a trial with the artist and see how she does. No I have not heard of the artist you mentioned.

Hey Sphire, Mabel,

You've got mail!

Mabel, we're not doing a VG so sorry I can't help you there. At most, we'll probably get one of our friends with a DV cam to double up. I know what you mean about missing vital points in the ceremony. Hey, I recall reading on the thread (it's probably in the archives) someone mentioning a VG named William Saravanan. I can't remember who it was who was talking about him but she had good things to say about his work. Maybe you can check him out too.

Chick, welcome onboard! I reckon with the hair, you don't have to pleat it if you don't want to. I'm going to wear a chignon (local terms = a bun) but I don't know if I should wear jasmine flowers on my hair (i don't see it going with the bun!) or other flowers or just one big bloom like in this pic:
374964.jpg

Gold > You can go minimal. There'll be some amount that you will probably need to wear. But the rest you can use lavish costume jewellery types.

I suppose a big part of the question is if your in-laws are traditional and will insist on you going the whole nine yards in looking like a typical indian bride.

Hi Rany..
.. No mi din rx ur mail.
It was Shantair toking abt Saravanan. She had passed mi the contact. Havent seen or communicated with him. Anyone wants?

Hey guys..Thanks..

Rany - Like the chignon...but i am not too sure wat my MIL is going to have to say about that..hehe..And does it have to be jasmine flowers? Which make-up artist are u going for?

Mabel & Sphire - Which make-up artist is good without being too traditional? I saw some comments about Shanthi from Stylemart and someone called Menaka..Do you have their pictures or contacts?

Sphire..Are u taking the Chinese banquet from Hyatt? Not to throw cold water, but a lot of my colleagues n friends said the food's not great at hyatt...But then again this is subjective..and also dependent on that particular day. I liked the grand ballroom at hyatt but its $100 more than the Camelia room i think..
My dinner day is June'07 and i'm still scouting around for venues..

Hi Chick.I'm decideing between Shanti and Menaka. I hv both their contacts. leave mi ur email if interested.

I'm still considering Hyatt. Package and everything else fantastic. But grand ballroom color and pillars put mi off. I considered a mixture of indian and western buffet. Hyatt is well known for their indian food... but chinese..heard not too good. Going dwn to marriott tomolo. Also considering Hilton, Holiday Inn Park View and Novotel Clarke Quay.
Marriott -- Food normal. Ballroom heard not so nice. But still go take a look.
Hilton -- indian banquet spread good and different. Donno how ballroom look like.
HIPV -- Food from their famous Tandoori Rest. Ballroom setting not pleasing.
Novotel -- Heard ballroom really beautiful. Food.. donno

I think wedding saree cost >$500

Hi Sphire, my email is [email protected].

Hyatt-thot grand ballroom has no pillars? Me dun have any info on western/indian menu, you are right the feedback i got on hyatt was on chinese food..btw, can you share with me if the pricing for chinese and indian food is the same? Did you get free flow of beer? If ok with you..can u share?

How many guests do u have? Hilton has a 3 ballroom. 2 on the 3rd floor, one on 24th floor. 24th floor is the new ballroom, its not fantastic, but better than the ones on 3rd floor i think...

Hey Chick

Yup. The prices are the same. Hyatt does not provide free flow beer. But under their wishes... u cld choose 1 bot wine for each table. There is 4 pillars in Hyatt's GB. 2 close to enterance. Hence not an issue of blockage for your guest viewing. BUT there is 2 pillars somewhere in the middle. This is so disturbing. And the dull green wall is a no no for mi.

Expecting abt 300 to 400 guests.

You've got mail, lady.

Thanks for the info on Hilton. Will go dwn and take a look.

Hey Sphire! I just tried sending you the mail again. Let me know if you've got it.

Chick77, I haven't quite made contact with any make-up artists just yet. I am toying with the idea of approaching a MAC make-up artist from the Robinson's outlet to see if she's done weddings before. But the problem there is, they prob won't know how to style my hair. So I might have to engage a hairstylist separately. And that could be costly.

The other option is Shanti from Stylemart - again, I haven't made contact just yet.

As for a wedding saree, I've budgeted for between $800 - 1000. My fiance is in shock. Heh!

Hey, I'm just doing a curious poll. Where's everyone getting their wedding bands from?? In the Indian temple tradition, can we get platinum rings? Or does it have to be gold??

And is anyone going to do an ROM at their temple wedding? How does that work??

Hi Rany: Thanks for the mail. Was the wedding a ceylonese one? Anyways..Ive already done my ROM and my fiance and I won out and got platinum ones (despite relatives grumblings that the ring looks like "silver")
As far as ROM at the temple wedding, people I know usually have the temple ceremony first and then have the ROM in that hall itself right after the traditional ceremony. Ive seen that done several times. In some temples like Yishun Mariamman, the ceo of the temple is able to carry out the ROM herself.
As far as the make up thing, yes, I too contemplated getting someone from Bobbi Brown to do mine. But the problem I worry about is hair and also tying the saree.

Hey Mabel,

Sad to say, but no, the wedding isn't a ceylonese one. It's a regular Indian wedding.

About the ROM, so you mean the signing takes place at the Mandapam/dias after the thali ceremony concludes? So the guests are still seated to witness the ROM signing?

And great news!! Alright, great but expensive news!!! I was flipping thru one of the bridal mags yday and came across a make-up pkg by Bobbi Brown. Apparently, they've got bridal pkgs too.

Timeless Beauty Pkg - $1000
- One trial session for make-up and hair
- wedding day make-up and hairstyling (two looks, one for day and one for evening)
- $500 bobbi brown gift voucher

Perfect Beauty Pkg - $1500
- one trial session for make-up and hair (photoshoot)
- wedding photography day for make-up and hair
- wedding day make-up and hairstyling (two looks, one for day and one for evening)
- $700 bobbi brown gift voucher.

As for the person tying the saree, I reckon we can get Indian make-up artists to do that. Of course they can't be charging as much as they usually do because they're only being engaged to help tie the saree.

Does anyone know yet how much Shanti is charging for AD (morning and evening)?

Hi Thanks for the details about the Bobbi Brown package Rany! It is pretty $$$ though. Last year, my mom and I spent a bomb on makeup there and I got 6 free makeup lessons which I have yet to use. I;m tempted to go use those lessons to learn how to apply makeup properly..maybe I can do my own makeup on the big day!!!! Thats very ambitious though.
Anyways..just wanted to tell you ladies that I went to STYLEMART today and was so so so so impressed with their service!!!! I really can't say enough good things about it when I compare it to my recent experiences at other shops *ahem*

Oh yes....about the ROM...yes, the wedding that I went to last year, they couple had their wedding first and then on the same stage right after the ceremony, they had their ROM. So the guests were still seated at the time.

Hi Rany. Thanks. Rx ur mail.
I've seen many couple have their traditional wedding, then solemnization on the spot.
Bot all ppl sit and wait for the whole event to end. Even before the thali is tied, they're already attacking the food.

I hv to ROM first beofre my traditional wed to settle my love nest.

Hv anyone attended wedding banquet at Suntec?.. My fiance was suggestin suntec... since its always our hide-out. Wht do u girls think?

Went down to a few hotels.. dont really like somethings abt each hotel.
Went to Novotel and Holiday Inn during the weekend.

Novotel din give mi the hotel image. It looked more like a function room within a shopping mall. Holiday Inn ballroom looked grand when I entered. BUT hopes crashed when I turned right and saw the extension. The pillars failed greatly.

Hey chicks!

Thanks for the heads up on the solemnisation procedures at the temple.

Mabel, I didn't know they had CEOs for temples!! Wow...talk about corporatisation!!

Sphire, yes, don't you just hate it when guests start to pick up and leave the hall to get first in line to feed their faces even BEFORE the couple ties the thali???? How outrageous is that???

I have half the mind to have a friend emcee and inform guests at the start of the ceremony to remain seated until the ceremony ends, have my big bulky male cousins to be bouncers and keep the doors to the hall closed, and to instruct the temple or caterers to not feed anyone until we're done. Grrrr.....

But coming back to the solemnisation at the temple, does this mean that after the iyer has concluded the ceremony he will exit the stage and that's when the JC will come on stage and take over with the solemnisation? Alright, stupid question but bear with me pls: does the JC sit on the floor like the iyer? Do the bride and groom still remain seated on the floor/mandapam?

Sphire, although I haven't quite attended a wedding banquet at Suntec, here's a link that might help. http://www.suntecsingapore.com/services/wedding/wedding.pl?id=15

Mabel, I read your blog and whoa, that was really great service you got at Stylemart. Can I ask who it was that served you? And were the wedding sarees very expensive? Mind if I ask what the damage was i.e $$$?

I agree that the Bobbi Brown pkgs are ex. But considering that the pkg price can be offset with $500 or $700 worth of purchases, it actually means that we're only paying $500 or $800 for their services. Not all that bad a deal if the bride happens to be someone who'd use those vouchers. But I can't quite say I'd have a use for a voucher that would cost that much. I mean, it's not like I buy cosmetics all the time! So yeah, weighing all the pros and cons, it won't really work for me either.

Hi Rany.
For both my uncles, tables and chairs were set below the stage for the solemnization procedure. Hence once the wedding ceremony is over, the JC, witness and couple that their respective positions.

Well, the announcement wld be of help but not much I suppose. But its okie. Personally I feel that ppl who really meant to give their heartfelt wishes to the couples will always remain to witness every precious moments. I dont mind ppl who care more abt their tummy to disappear. Stop the caterer from starting the food stand. So those who are down before the whole event ended will feel bad *If they hv senses*.

Mabel... WoW!! Cn c that your wedding preparation is picking up speed. That was a very good service u hv rx frm Stylemart. So u got a lenga?.. Wht colour did u choose?... Whts stylemart price range like?

Where is Gemini printers? It is the one at the Arcarde?

Hope u recover speedly from the rash.

Thanks so much for the contact Sphire. I really appreciate it.
The lady who served me was Nisha. She is a very patient lady and when someone serves with a smile it really makes the experience so much better.
Yes, the sarees were expensive. My suit was heading towards four figures
But it was love at first sight.
Gemini printers...that is opposite KM wedding services, I think near belilios lane.
My wedding is a pretty small affair by indian standards. about 200 guests. The temple hall is small too. So I think the guests would stick out abit if they upped and left to eat. Ill be watching out though. Maybe the videographer will film the runaways.

Speaking of which, I still have not found one yet. I met up with one today and he has really good skills but out of my budget. I need something more basic. so the hunt is still on.

Hi Mabel. Hope u get ur VG on time. Probably you cld ask ur PG to rec u one.
Probably get ur MC to announce that food will not be served in the next 1 hr. Then no one will move.

Hey Mabel,

That's really great progress on the wedding planning!!! Don't fret, girl, you have plenty of time it seems. Still 2 more months.

Speaking of rashes, is really Specimen A?? You poor thing. So you're going to have to take medication for this right up til your wedding day??? And what does Specimen B look like?? Is he as cute and furry as A?

Alright, I digress. Did you get a lengha or saree from Stylemart? Can I also ask which temple hall are you using? Will you have a temple reception after the temple wedding?

My mom wants a temple reception after the wedding. And a banquet the next day. We're trying to get her to compromise having it all on one day ie. temple wedding and reception in morning, ending sometime at 1pm. and then a dinner banquet that same evening. We're stretched for time because my fiance's friends and family are flying in only for a couple of days for the wedding. So we don't want to take up too much of their time here.

Have you girls attended a wedding like that where everything (traditional ceremony, temple reception and dinner banquet) is done in a single day, and where the afternoon is free???

Sphire, what about the solemnisations u saw at temple weddings? Is it like Mabel's uncles' weddings too?

HI Rany.. opps! They're my uncles...kekeek. One of the uncle held his morning wedding in Sri Mariamman Temple (Sth Bridge Rd) and had his soleminization in the temple inself. Evening he had his banquet in Fort canning.

Just a suggestion. Why not have ur morning wedding in Temple and solemnization during banquet? I actually wanted that. But HDB said I got to produce marriage cert to apply for house.

Hi Girls. Thanks for the encouragement. I feel thankful to be able to vent my feelings here. My fiance and I get precious little time to talk and i dont really want to waste that time moaning to him.So it helps I have some outlet.
I shall put a pic of specimen B later! Yes, he is as cute and furry than specimen a. He is a tuxedo cat..so he always looks dressed up.

My wedding is at Sree Mahamaraiamman Temple Yishun. I love that temple. Been going there since its original location in Mandai. And I love how it is pink and feminine looking. The mandapam is quite stylish too and was impressed when I went to have a look. There is a hall downstairs where we are having the reception right after.
Rany: I got a lengha from Stylemart..plus an extra sari for fun...not fun for the wallet, just fun for me. ;)
I personally have not attended a wedding where everything is done in one day when it is a temple wedding, but certainly have when it comes to church weddings. My cousin had his church cermony in the morining, A light brunch at the church hall, and then dinner in the evening.
What about u gals...have u all decided your locations yet?

Oh god! Sorry for the boo-boo, Sphire!! That's right, they're your uncles. Hee! But yeah, I'll bring up your idea to my fiance (about having the solemnisation during banquet) and see what he thinks of it. So how goes Suntec, Sphire?

Mabel, my mom likes the Yishun temple too! I much prefer the Ceylon temple but it's a wee bit out of the way - ok, very out of the way. I guess it makes a lot of sense considering the Yishun temple since its just 3 bus-stops away from where we live (chong pang).

I recall going up to the mandapam for a wedding once. But is it small? That's good news for me because my mom has a guest-list that has the capacity to burst to unsizeable proportions. As you might have guessed, no, my fiance and I will probably not know half these people! So yes, a small mandapam is good news.

So will you need to now buy another wedding saree? Or are you wearing a lengha during your ceremony?? And it was your lengha costing you a near thousand, was it?

By the way, can't wait to see Spec B. Is a tuxedo cat a black one with white socks and white underbelly??? Oooooh, they're real cuties!!! I have a stray near where I live and he's a cat like that. I'm like a 6 year old everytime I pass him by: eyes fixated and big wide grin on my face.

Hi Mabel... I hvnt seen Yishun temple's hall. But hv been to the temple a couple of times. Very pure looking. Tht temple is out of the way for mi. I'm in Marine Parade.. my fiance in Bukit Batok. I'm thinking of Tank road temple. They did a reno. Going for a wedding there this Sat. Howmany thousand did u pay for ur Lenga?

Hi Rany. Waiting for the quote from Suntec. The Ceylonese temple is the Vinayagar Temple in Ceylon road right?.. The Hall is big and aircon. Quite modern looking. Its also one of my choice beside Tank Road and Sth Beach Rd ones.

Hey Sphire,

Yup, the Ceylon temple is called Sri Senpaga Vinayagar. That's the one on Ceylon road. I like it cos of the beige and brown gopuram in the front. Very classical looking. The photos of my friend's wedding that I sent u guys the link for, that wedding was held there.

Mabel, Spec B is as cute as Spec A!! In fact, I'd risk the wrath of Spec A (rashes et al!) and say B is even cuter!!!! I have a thing for white socks and underbellies.

Hey girls, I found this website that has a description of the wedding rites and all. Hope it helps! http://www.manaali.com/hinduwedding.htm

thanks or the info gals...am really tired..had a loong day. will update it later. Hope u are both well. And Holly too...she has vanished from the thread!

Hey ladies,
If you are looking for good sherwanis for guys, India Saree Emporium is a good place to go. (Along the same line as Stylemart).
You can choose the pattern from the brochures then choose the material and the embroidery you want on it. Then they will make it to specific measurements in India . The price is reasonable too and the staff are hlepful. So you can pretty much piece together the suit you want.

Hey guys,

What's the difference between a kurta and a sherwani?? And how many does a groom need to have for the wedding ceremony?

I know the bride needs to do a change during the ceremony so she needs 2 sarees. But what about the groom? Does he need 2 kurtas/sherwanis as well?

Hey Mabel, so you're getting your fiance's sherwani tailor-made in India? How long does it take?? And wow, you've even got his measurements down to pat! Not bad, girl!!

Btw, take it easy. It looks like you're suffering from burn-out. Take a few days off w/o doing or thinking anything related to the wedding. Give yourself at least 1-2 days a week until the wedding day. It helps you to relax and come back rejuvenated.

Sphire, yeah, I have to say all this info has been really useful too for when it comes to our turns. Thanks Mabel! Really appreciate it!

I think a kurta is the indian style top that men wear, sometimes it comes down to the knees. Sherwanis are the more tailored ones, like coats and was traditionally worn over the kurta. It fits the body more closely and looks more formal. These days, it can be worn with either churidar pants or a more western straight cut pants.

The lady at the shop said it should be done in about 2-3 weeks. I am getting in done early just in case there needs to be any changes.

I think many grooms choose to wear a verti for the wedding but my fiance feels more comfortable with a Sherwani. And no, the groom normally only wears one oufit.
I am glad you are finding this info useful. I hope this makes life easier for some of you and better yet if you learn from my mistakes.

Hi Mabel, thanks for the tips. Mind if i ask how much a sherwani costs?

Also gals, i have a question. My FH said the day before the temple wedding there;s a lot of rites for the gals. Is this true?

Reason being, I am trying to do my church on sat, temple on sun and dinner banquet on sun..but he said its too rush...any comments?

Sphire..How's yr venue hunt coming along? Settled for Hyatt? I am still looking around for the perfect place that i like and fits my budget..sigh..

Yup Rany agree with you. Mabel really need a break.

Mabel, dont stress yourself too much. Relax, lady. India Saree Emporium is definately a very good place to shop. I surveyed a few shops along Selegie for the Langha. India Saree Emporium was able to show me a grand one with a very reasonable price. For my fiance's sis wedding he also got his salwani from there. Nice and helpful ppl. When I went to a few shops and said my budget for langha is $1000, they showed mi very simple ones. One shop even showed mi a simlar langha that I hv. He quoted mi $800 when I only paid $500.

Hi Chick. Nope not settling for Hyatt. Dont like the ballroom. Went down to see Furama Riverfront. Ballroom was really nice. But KTV outside hotel spoils. Still hunting. Stress.. time running out, still no place. Sian.

Chick, 2 days before indian wedding, there's a bangle ceremony. 1 day before wedding, got thali prayers.

Sphire,

Me also v stress with venue hunt for dinner. We've been at it since May..yet still no conclusion!!!

Can i check with you - how long does the thali prayer take? Does it take 1 whole day?

Btw Sphire, you looking at any country clubs or just hotels? Cos i saw the Legends@Fort Canning, which i liked, but cant meet their minimum requirement for 30 tables on a Saturday..Also saw Laguna National...M undecided...

Chick, Legends is suppose to send mi proposal. Till now havent received.
I'm looking more at hotels. Most hotels do not provide indian dishes.. else they hv pillars. I've enquired almost all hotels in Singapore (except 3 stars). Now i'm down with Novotel Clark Quay (which i keep chasing for proposal), Furama Riverfront (just need to ignore the KTV), Crown Hotel (going to view ballroom this weekend), Suntec (also waiting for proposal) & Raffles Town Club (Love the place. FH says its a club with hotel price.. sure loose lots of $$).

How many tables are u lookin at?

Chick, abt the prayer.. I dont think it takes a whole day. Its just a prayer.. so most prob a couple of hours. Not sure exactly how long.

Hi Sphire, I am looking at about 20 tables, maybe 22 at max. I have the proposal for legends, just the chinese dinner though and maybe the halal one. Do you want me to send across to you?

Din look at novotel, furama riverfront, crown etc. see that furama is very popular in other threads - think its value for $$. How much is raffles town club? I know i cant meet its min requirement..How many tables are u looking at? Btw you have a budget? Trying to keep as low as possible (<15K) but difficult..

Hi Chick. Thanks but dont think I need the proposal as I'm looking at a more fusion menu. My budget is up to $1000 per table. Mine min 40 tables; max 50. Big right?.. Both side families very big and lots of friends. No choice.
Not sure wht RTC min table. They quoted mi $55+++ for a indian spread. Not many hotels provide indian cusine. Hence I have to look at cheapo hotels also. But furama hotel ballroom really nice. Probably since urs is abt 20 to 22 tables, hotels may provide u a nice function room or mini ballroom. Prices differ greatly for different rooms. Check out Crown Hotel, gal. Location in Orchard, but price is real good.

Hi Mabel. Good to hear that u hv taken a break. Relax, enjoy and be happy.