Indian wedding Services in Singapore

hey rany, wat about Raffles town club? I went for a wedding there recently and it was very very nice
it's pretty reasonable too, $55/pax , complete package. Since urs is ROM, they might lower the price.

Gals i dun think Raffles Town club wld take a small pax for their ballroom unless it's somewhere else. I know they have a private room in their lounge maybe you might wanna consider that and if u dun wanna do dinner u can always cater high tea. Went for a high wedding in Orchid ctry club and it was more lunch then bites.

Also i think u might wanna consider Love tat binds in Fort Canning but dunno wat they offer.

Hello Sheela....welcome to the forum...sorry i cant be of much help as i hv yet to start looking for a VG & PG.

Hi all. Thanks for welcoming me. I think I have settled on a VG. will just meet him to discuss details. Am enjoying all these discussions. Keep them rolling

Hi Rany, thanks for your suggestions. I actually prefer to have a private area, though my FH is welcome to sharing space with others. He says he can show off! Nut.

I did contact Little Bali. I havent been there myself or tried the food, but it does look alright on paper. Have you been there? I'm not sure if it'll be too hot to have a lunch, but i'm sure it will be nice at night.

I do like your earlier idea on having the alfresco area at Vansh cordoned off. I'll have to ask if they can do that.

My FH also likes this place called Annalakshmi at Amoy St. I've been there b4 and remember that the food is good but also that it was small so i'm not sure if they have room.

Sheela, I did a trial with Shanthi for my engagement photoshoot and didnt really like her work, i think she piled on too much. But some other gals think she's good so you might wanna try her..I finally went with Sam Ong..he was great!

Hey ladies

SK - Thanks for the support. Will most probably go for Shanti.

PB - $120 seems to be standard pricing. Menaka also charges the same amount. I'm a mix. So dont really look indian. Menaka has her ways in bring out the indian assets in her makeup. She did it for my eldest sis. It looked really great. Tried LOOKS trial but FH says I looked very chinese n he din like it. So tht's y mi trying to aim for Menaka when indian ritual events are concerned.

Rany - I did check with Shanti for my dates... she said she's avaliable and will meet up end dec or begining Jan jus to meet and finalise. Trial some other time.

Notredame - Lady.. WB. kekeke. For entertainment during the dinner, y not engage a DJ and MC to run the event?

Notredame - I'm interested in seeing Sam Ong's work. If you dont mind, could you share a few pics of the make-up done for your engagement? Thanks. [email protected]
For my ROM, i had a DJ who kept people on their feet until midnite. That's something for you to consider.

Sphire - Hope your trial with Shanti goes well

Sheela - Welcome! Wow! Wedding in India? Do share more on your wedding preps too

I have family in India so they did the arrangements for the traditional wedding. Basically, there u just need to book the caterer and all other arrangements would be done by them.
Having a wedding dinner in Raffles hotel. Have booked Tom Shen as photographer. Friendly guy. Looking for a wedding gown for the night. Got an indian outfit from Bangalore. Am looking for MUA now.

Hey sphire...remember u mentioned that you've got some lobang for mc/dj...care to share how much it costs? I 've asked the company that did my dnd and they are quoting me 1200 for just emcee/dj, games etc for the night, any idea if this is expensive or reasonable?

Hi Chick... The MC is from Stage4 Productions. Now he basically does for company events like product launches. Normal functions are done by Boombox now. The package quotated to us was $2K which incl 4 plasma TVs. Since both my FH and I know this guy since he start Stage4 in small scale, MC is free as a friend. He mentioned that he had actually stopped being MC since they are spinning off to company events. If interested, I could pass you his contact.

Think Boombox charges like $650 for sound system and music.

Sphire - That's a relief that you've managed to book Shanti. At first it sounded like you were still left hanging. But at least you managed to get her.

Sheela - Shanti is a freelance MUA but works very closely with Stylemart. Her no. 9669 7934. With the wedding gown, best is if you have a look at the selection from Seletar. If anything grabs your attention, you can ask them to include it in your PS package. That might save you some $ than renting from a completely different bridal studio. If they have nothing you like, scout around the other boutiques.

Notredame - Haven't been to Little Bali myself. But I do imagine, if you're doing a lunch and if everyone is dressed up in sarees and punjabi suits, it might get a wee bit hot. They have an indoors section though. I think that's airconditioned. But not as scenic as the outside I guess. I haven't been to the new Annalakshmi at Amoy but the old one in Excelsior Hotel had a really nice ambience. It only serves a vegetarian menu if I'm not wrong.

PB & Apryl - I just checked out Raffles Town Club's website. The Lounge really looks classy (although there are no pics of the pte room in The Lounge where apparently they hold solemnisations). Quite affordable with the usual hotel perks. But I'm torn now because we've got approval from the Botanic Gdns to use the Bandstand and because the place holds a sentimental value for both my fiance and i, it's a great draw. But the push factor is in having to get my brother or someone to bring the foldable tables for the ceremony and to put it away after the ceremony before he can re-join the group for dinner at Halia.

Kismet - I found another place that might interest you. It's called My Secret Garden. www.mysg.com.sg I've got their solemnisation proposal if you're interested.

hey rany.. you would not beleive the day i've had. My astrolloger only gave us the dates of the ROM on friday and my FH only managed to confirm it with his parents over the weekend and because it had to be on the 3rd of Jan we had to book today! turns out everything at the ROM office was booked so i had to book through love that binds.. was desperate and had no JP in mind, so just booked through them, paid $200 for a really silly room because my MIL can't walk up steps to where the smaller (and nicer) rooms are. Its horrid..! so instead have deceided to keep the ROM immensly low key with only his and my immediate fam. No one else. Can't be bothered am so put off by the whole thing already. Wasted 2 hours running around Singapore (to get my IC & FH IC) and had to sneak out of work and everything. Will just go to a nice restaurant after the ROM.

On the other hand though, thanks so much for the site MY Secret garden. Looks sooo nice. Could you send me the solemnisation proposal anyways? [email protected] thanks heaps babe.

SK, thanks for you JP, unfortunately I know him but not well so i felt really weird asking him to do it. Thanks though.

Rany - Yup. Shanti was avaliable at the point of discussion last week. Will only meet up with her end of month or beginning Jan. Till then hope no one books her.

Kismet - That's a mad rush! Since you'll be goin to a restaurant after the ROM, y not do the ROM in the restaurant itself? U cld dress up the restaurant a little.

Wow Kismet...tat so much accomplished in such short time. Love tat binds is pretty nice. Attended a fren's ROM there recently. Well the upside is u can do ur photo shoot in the gardens of Fort Canning. Just keep smiling and u'll look gorgeous. The plc can be done to ur perfection...just get PB to do the decorations for u...just kidding. So when's ur FH returning to help wid the preps.

kismet - thats ok, i can understand...The reason i got that JP was becos i didn't know him personally. Although after meeting him at the ROM, my family realised they knew him and he turned out to be my uncle's former classmate. The Sikh community is only that big...

I know its a rushed thing but having a small scale ROM can be a nice too. Only people that matter will be present. And like Apryl said, take lots of pictures at Fort Canning. Its a beautiful place for photoshoot. Get a good photographer if you can and do a mini photoshoot. Even if it turns out to be a small scale event, do take the trouble to dress up. After all, its a big day for you and your FH.

hey guys..i am back.. i'll be landing next monday ...am so so excited. Have done all my christmas shopping for family and friends.

Rany, Sphire...let's fix a date for all to meet.

Infinite, COngratulations!!! GLad everything went well on your big day!!

Welcome to the forum sheela!!!

Holly - Yeah lady... welcome back. Dont think me cn meet up. My sis's sudden wedding preparations is killing all of us. My grandma jus came back home. So really chaotic back home. U girls go ahead. If I cn join you all for a short while, I will.

Hello everyone,
Oh my ! Finally found a forum for Indian weddings.
So glad. Looking around for ideas although i still have got plenty of time.

Hi SK and Sheela i sent you gals pics of Sam Ong's work but i dont know if you got it cos i didnt hear back from you?

Anyway Rany thanks for the suggestions on restaurants. We decided to go with Annalakshmi cos my FH really likes the food and place is small...

Hey all,
Thank you girls .
My wedding is on 27/01/2008.
Plan : Customary in the morning ,Dinner in the evening

ROM was held : 11/12/2005
MUA : Arase from la vie enrose

It was already taxing to prepare for the ROM . Furthermore, bought a flat this year as well.
Now the wedding !!!!
Actually we wanted to hold back wedding for sometime . But parents dint allow saying that we have already taken enough time grace.
So far, i have only booked menaka.

Shan - U jus contacted Menaka a few days ago is it? Cos I called her and she told mi someone booked for Jan 08. Mine is in Jun 08.. so further than yours. I've booked her for my customary as well. Where r u planning to hold ur customary? 3yrs is really a long wait.

Wahahaaha I think the someone is me sphire.
coz she told me that i am the 1st to book for 2008 and u are the 2nd . I wonder if there is any discount for being the top 10 ? keke
Besides that, am still thinking if i should engage someone else for the dinner.
Anyway, we are planning to hold customary in a temple. Making it a small event as possible. We are not going to book the wedding hall. Thought of arranging a sit down ceremony infront of the deity.
Its way much cheaper.
Still sourcing out venues for the Dinner.
Where are you planning to hold yours

Shan - Welcome on board! So have you booked anything/anyone for your big day in 2008?

Holly - Hey girl, welcome back to SG! I'll be leaving for Perth on the 23rd and back on the 9th. I'm good with sometime next week, 17th to 22nd (with the exception of 21st).

Anyone else here keen on meeting up - will be nice to catch up in person and share our horror and drool-worthy stories.

Sphire - Hope you can join even if it's for a little while. You need to destress from your sis's wedding preps. ;)

Kismet - Wow!!! Must've been a harrowing exp for you trying to get all that done in just a matter of days. But you must be so glad that you've finalised everything for your ROM. Hey, I didn't know you had to pay to use the room!!! Geez!!! Btw, did you register online at the website? What sort of witness's info does the online form require? I'll send you My Secret Garden's proposal in a minute.

Notredame - That's great news you've decided on Annalakshmi. I always think that when you've decided on something, it's always great news because it's one less item on your list of things to worry about. ;) Would you mind sharing Sam's works with me too? Although I've settled on Shanti, I'll admit, I'm kaypoh. Hee! [email protected]

Jini - Sam is an MUA.

Hello rany. Thanks
Till date, i have only booked my bridal. Menaka.
I have read alot of gd reviews abt shanti's makeup .
Can someone send me any pics of her makeup if possible ?
how is edmund leong/hilarion charges like?
My email : [email protected]

Hey notredame,

Havent logged on for some time. Ya i got the pics. Thks for that. I know of this stylist who does makeup as well. She's based at Lucky plaza. Supposed to meet her sometime. No time to book an appt yet. The package i got at Raffles hotel was good coz we were to get 2 nights in the suite but we managed to get one night on the day of the dinner and on the anniversary night with a romantic grill (or so they call it). Got loads of alcohol as part of a promotion too. Looking forward to arranging stuff for that. Have also booked khalsa with food from Riverwalk for another dinner. Foods good there

Shan - hey lady...kekekeke.. dont think got discount la. But i know Menaka is really good for traditional look. To look different for ur dinner, probably u could engage another MUA...like mi. I'm thinking of getting Shanti for my banquet. Which temple do u hv in mind? I'm considering Tank Rd Temple. My customary is goin to be big. both families large. I've booked Edmund for my banquet. A very pleasent guy. U cn check his work out at http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/7/421651.html?1165989071

Rany - Sure... If I cn make, will definate make it to meet u girls. Hope ur preparations are goin well.

Thanks sphire. Our families are highly populated as well . But still trying to negotiate with parents : Just to call the immediate families which seems so difficult for them . LoL
Temple - havent decided which one coz not sure whether all the temples does the ceremony like i have mentioned .

Has edmund done hindu weddings before?

I might be taking different MUA for dinner as well. MUA for my ROM did a gd job and she was quite professional but thought i should try a different one this time .

Hi gals... i'm already in the weekend mood...December seems to be slippin pass without me realising. Need to attend weddings every weekend. Not too bad cos i get ideas...

Hello Shan, welcome.

Notre Dame, could i also trouble u to send me Sam Ong's work. thax a lot. [email protected]

i need contacts for wedding card printers. I've got the plain cards. Any recommendations. Need someone who has hindu wedding symbols, like mehndi hands, couples exchanging jaimala, etc.

I honestly need this urgently. I did my cards when i was in india and just been told tat i need more. Thank God i got some plain ones from india. Quantity isnt huge just abt 100.

hi everyone..

havent been checking the forum for a long time cos was so tied down with work. on a good note, my dates are gg to be confirmed real soon! but now that i know its gg to be here real soon, im really beginning to feel the jitters and the stress!!! arghhh!!! its so strange cos my AD is prb still about a year away?!!! shucks.. maybe its cos i have like 3 other close relatives getting married ard the same time and its just rather stressful cos im quite a perfectionist!..so irritated with myself! n me and my FH are quarelling cos he feels im getting stressed out for nothing! arghhhhhh!!!!

anyways im really desp trying to seek a rom venue thats not too expensive and sthg else besides a function room. i really dont want a hotel cos the wedding dinner is most prb gg to be there. but i also dont want something too expensive. planning to call abt 100 people. any suggestions gals? help me out pls!!

hi rany could i have the proposal too of my secret garden? looks v nice in the website. hw many pple can they accomodate? thanks gal!! my email is [email protected]

sorry gals i think u guys have been giving suggestions to rom venues in the posts above.. forgot to scroll up in my exasperation..

anyone tried having their rom at vansh? is it v expensive?

Gals... need a favor. Whoever has tried Shanti.. cld hv ur pic with her makeup on? I'm goin to confirm her jus by judging pics. thanks. I'm at [email protected]

Notredame - Cld I also take a look at Sam's work? Thanks.

Apryl - Hvnt start my research on printers. Not of much help. Sorry.

Lisa - Hi there again. I'm in the same boat as u. FH asks y so kiasu when AD is so far.

hi ladies....

Just a thought...For those of you who are looking for MUAs and can't seem to find one whose work you really like, how about going for trials at make-up counters like MAC etc....Many of the people at these counters do double-up as MUAs on the side. Sometimes they do a much better job, especially if you are looking for different looks for your dinner reception...All you have to do is buy a product or 2 and they give you a free trial

hi SK, i had a trial done with one of the MAC MUAs before and it was good but they charge quite alot for wedding day/night makeup and also bear in mind that most of them dun do hairstyling. However, if you know a particular MUA in MAC, she could give you a better deal.

Hey Rany, how abt meeting on wed 20th??
Btw, this gathering is open to everyone on this thread.

Hi Notredame, i am married but am curious to see Sam's work as well. If you dun mind, can share your pics with me. Email: [email protected]

Hey Shan, if you are still looking out for a VG, you can check out Ernst from Miror Creations. He did my wedding montage and express highlights. I was really happy with his work. As for PG, you can also consider jonathan from expressivelyjoh*.com ( replace * with O). I lurve his work!!! He is also very good with people.

Wow i have been away for 2 weeks and the thread has so many comments...
Here's a "summary" about what i have been doing so far....

1) Temple Wedding At Sri Mariamman Temple
- showed my hubby the mandapam...thankfully he liked it
- enquired about the decor and was told that they have this guy called Kuna who is their recommended decorator. If i want to hire someone else, they have to talk to the temple staff. Thats quite troublesome! Mayura catering said that most of the time, their proposals get rejected.
- So we are going to meet with Kuna next week...

2) Enquired at Ananda Bhavan
-Quoted us abt $13 for 100 people..quite reasonable for a menu with alot of variety
-however, they don do any decoration...only for the food counter...
-heard that if u tell them its the first wedding in the family, they will make quite special...
- cant have the food-tasting until 15 days b4 the wedding

3) Entertainment
- Met up with an Entertainment company and the cost came up to $2500 cos we wanted to have Bhangra Troupe and Belly-dancing
- had other unexpected costs like Intelligence Lighting, Extras Speakers, Large Projection Screen...

4) Invitations
- went to Interactive Printers, Gemini Printers, KM Wedding Services, Abirami Wedding Services but din like any of the card designs
- Hubby went to Chennai for a business trip this morning so he's going to look for invites over there...Hopefully, he brings some good samples...Other particulars could be emailed or faxed over. Thought of just getting the cards from india and have them printed here but it seems that most printing companies here don have the compatible machines to do so...

5) Decor
- Meet with a malay decorator...she din have any pictures to show us cos she doesnt do the same design more than once...very inconvenient for us...luckily, i brought alot of malay wedding magazines so i just showed her a couple of pictures...some decor have to be made in KL...came up with an ivory & gold theme for the banquet...

6) Wedding Attire
- Hubby brought my wedding and reception saree...So gorgeous! my wedding saree is in maroon & gold with full stone work...but its so heavy...Reception saree is a maroon north indian type of saree...din want to wear maroon for both functions so went to stylemart, jinder's, indian saree emporium...cant find anything that i like...most were made of net and came in red...wanted to wear one in orange so i ordered from stylemart for $1200+++...came home and tried on the maroon saree and it looked better on me...Still thinking whether i want to cancel the order.hmmmmmmm...
- gave order for my hubby at indian saree emporium...a sherwani suit & another casual coat suit...they have alot of designs to choose from...definitely made my hubby happy!

7) Bridal Photoshoots
- went for the fittings for both my photoshoots..so tired from it..but my hubby was so luckily cos he din have to try on anything until the actual day...since he has alot of time to kill while i am putting on the makeup...
- For my JB Photoshoot, i was very afraid that they are going to screw up on the MU but i had a pleasant surprise! the MU was so natural and beautiful...i actually felt so comfortable that i smiled so big! the people at the studio took good care of us...finished indoor and outdoor in 8 hours! quite tiring but i had alot of fun trying on different hairstyles and costumes...i am so impressed with the MU's talent that i am going to hire her for my Reception...Went to choose the pictures already...they were so nice that we had a hard time choosing.had to top up another 400RM since we wanted to buy the negatives and add another 6 shots to the album.

- As for the indian photoshoot, they were quite unprofessional...i demanded to have all the costumes altered cos they wanted to use pins...then every other day, they called me up to ask me to bring my own bangles, blouse etc! I had to be firm with them...MU on the day of the photoshoot was heavy but looked ok in the photos. am in a dilemma whether i want to change my MU for the AD...

Sorry if i bored u with a long posting...just wanted to share my experiences with u ladies and to make up for the 2 weeks that i was away...hehehe...

Wow Kayla, awesome progress. Cld i ask who is the malay decorator and how much are the charges.

Notre Dame thx u so much for the pixs. Great work, sweet, simple & natural. Not cakie...if u know wat i mean.

Notredame - Sam's MU and Shanti's makeup are so natural. Thanks for sharing.

Kayla - WOW!! Thats a good work done. Hv u booked MUA for ur AD?

hi notredame, thanks for sharing.
I like both their makeup style but prefer what Sam did to your eyebrows. Shanti din fill in and shape it as well as what Sam did.
btw, i like the very 1st pic in the album...where you are fixing your earrings...

Thanks ladies,
Well, the decorator is from House of Belezza...not sure if u guys know them...they did the makeup for Miss Vasantham...got to know them thru my Malay frens...the boss is very down-to-earth and is very practical...advises on what to spend on and what not to...she is very creative i must say...she is came up with a waterfall theme for my fren's wedding which is in next june...going to have water flowing along the aisle...still waiting for another fren's wedding next week b4 i put my deposit...as for the charges, i am only hiring her for the extra decor...the rest will be done by the OCC. so far, she's charging me 2k...could be more or less...

Hi Sphire,
I will still keep Susiee as my MU for my traditional wedding as i like her ornaments etc but must ask her to cut down on the makeup on the AD... as for the reception, going to hire the Chinese MUA from JB who did my MU for my photoshoot plus i am going to MTM my reception gown in the same studio. Plus, i saw how quick the lady was in doing various hairstyles...so i can get her to do one for the gown and another when i wear my saree...but must get someone to tie the saree for me...hehehe

kayla.. know of an amazing bhangra troupe.. Sheirea Punjab... one of the main guys is Jasbir 94899423. Brilliant. I'm punjabi and i think they are the best around town!

Hey Rany,.. it was horrid.. can't tell u. I booked on Monday and that was the second last day to book. All the offices in the ROM office were fully booked out so had no choice but to just use love that blinds. they did everything including the online regirstration. all i had to do was pay ;)

Apryl, what about Khalsa printers? they do heaps of card and really well...dont have their contacts though, soorry... but always get heaps of cards from them.. word of warning people, always make more cards than people your expecting to invite.. at least 100.. u never know and there always ends up being people u forgot or feel obliged to give even though they might not come.. had to reprint my sisters wedding cards 3 times.. was sooo bad!

aabout makeup artist, it really depends on what your looking for i guess.. really traditional would be meneka, mid way would be shanti and saheli while totaly western would be sam ong and mac.. really depends on what u want and what suits u.

Kayla.. wow, seems like you've got heaps done.. amazing! congrats!

Thanks kismet for the contact...will call him soon...ya it seems that i have alot of work done! but i have to...cos my hubby will only stay here until next tues...have to get everything in order b4 he leaves...can only see him a few days before the wedding...physically, i am so exhausted cos we have been going out everyday in the morning only to return at night...somemore, must make my hubby's stay as enjoyable as possible...so after 6pm, we spend leisurely time together...think after i send him off at the airport, i am going straight to my bed and never get up!

My hubby called from India a few hours back...seems the cards there are average as well...he's bringing back 2 samples tmr...one of which is the wedding invitation of Sonia Agarwal-Selvaraghavan who got married today. Hopefully that looks nice...