HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

hey ssmilezz,
hee hee, yah, i think the bathroom is prettier now, at least i dun hv to look at pipes suspended in mid-air. patrick n one of ah keong's workers (the tall n plump one) did all the rectifications in 3 hrs. what they did for my grouting was to chip away the uneven grouting, fill in all the holes n then paint over all grout lines with a kind of grout paint. now my grout lines r very white, whiter than my tiles, which r off-white. hee. according to patrick, patches of white grout sometimes turns yellow for inexplicable reasons
, so hv to touch up after laying the grout.

oh yeah, patrick said he's still looking for grey grouting, that should be yours right?

did u change ur switches to big-rocker type? so how? r u going to accept the other-brand switches? there's a big, big price difference between clipsal n other brands of switches. if u r paying for clipsal, then hv to make sure u get clipsal switches leh.

hi bluz,
no, no, no raw cement for me.
it's a cement support, like those tiled-countertop in old kitchens. but the look in mine is a bit more updated lah. the cement support is left over from the previous owner. i was told that hdb no longer allows pple to build their kitchens in the service balcony, so if we hack if off, we will need to move the wet kitchen into the dry one, and that will be troublesome.

Thanks... me went to Jalan Besar and Balestier the other day... so many shops and the price they quote is almost 20% higher than what i find in this forum.. Wonder if the price increase .. i should nv underestimate the power of bargaining...

haha ... So btw which brand of hood hob and oven u all use??? It seems like the Franke sink is so popular in this forum and renotalk.....may i know how much some of u pay for it and which model...

My FH has decided that he prefer impress becoz Henry is so much more attentive and ppl from Ho Bee is just too bz. reno will start by next mth.... feel so tempted to place my deposit on those appliances... but keep on tellin myself i must tahan and do my research....

Hi Bluz ~

Yup, HDB permits are very fast one.
Hacking can be done within half a day too. Easy job for the workers, just very messy.

Didn't P tell u if the PE is required? Cos we obtained verbal confirmation from HDB side before going ahead with ours. Which estate is your flat at? PE is approximately $500-600 extra.

In the end, I didn't change to Clipsal. I went for MK instead cos even P says it's better (due to the element used) and many of those shops we went to, also gave the same feedback saying that they are very hardy. Actually, we didn't change it to those designer switches cos we don't like big switches..hehe..very noisy. But yes, you need to add extra to change your switches and it depends on the cost of it. MK is the most expensive, followed by Clipsal and then PLC (something like that i think). These are the few common brands. For new HDB flat, they provide MK switches. My original HDB switches were fine, until some of them became damaged during our reno. So had to change them.

I usually pop quite often esp after we confirm with P that certain stuffs have been done cos we wanna catch any possible mistakes asap, and not let them proceed on. Sometimes, one or two times on a weekday and then on weekends again. Very tiring man.

Hi Summerala ~

Hmm..what brands did u check at Jalan Besar? Cos I think the prices should be around there. Maybe it's a different model? I think for sinks, you need to take note the thickness of the sinks. Thicker ones are more expensive definately. Don't just go for the brand, think abt the size of your kitchen/work area and your usage etc, cos sometimes you may not require a double bowl. FOr me, I also looked at how deep the sink was cos I didn't want water to splash out easily.

So will you be signing up with Impress instead since your FH is more comfortable with Henry? Yes, don't play your deposit yet hor....if you u may regret later on Take your time ok? It will help if you set a timeline for yourselves, like this weekend, what u want to cover or research and then go do that. Rather than going around getting yourself confused.

Hey Och ~

Yah, I'm so glad everything turned out well for you so at least you can use/enjoy your toilet in peace now. No worries abt water splashing etc. hehe..

Ah..yes, my elusive grey grouting. LOL! He said he just found brown grouting...dunno whose he was talking about. Maybe Hunny? Cos I rem seeing her brown toilet wall tiles.

Yeah, P says...anything that cannot be done by the subcontractors, he will take over on his own. Since Ah Keong and the carpenters are his salaried workers, they need to double up as general workers. haha..he also got one of the carpenters to erm..drill holes for us.

Yeah, we didn't accept the no brand switches. Spent the whole of Sat supervising the electricians. Met this team of one indian (foreman) and two malays. The indian fellow was very experienced and he did most of the work. But was rather dishonest, cos he damaged (cracked) a couple of our new MK switches but kept quiet until we brought it up. As for the other two Malay workers, quite jia lat, they were very inexperienced and spent a lot of time working very slowly or just stoning trying to do one particular switch. They didn't help much with the lights installation at all. We met their chinese boss (the subcontractor) and had bad vibes i tell you. This guy was supposed to provide us with the new switches but he said he didn't have any and don't have time to buy. Told us, u want them to change the switches, go buy the replacements yourself if not, they may not be able to change in on Sat. Ridiculous leh..P said he already told them what we wanted and despite them making the mistake, they can't be bothered to get it done properly. So we called P up and he brought us to buy the switches immediately. And he also stayed to help run some trunking for us cos he prob knew at the rate those electricians were working, unlikely to finish up.

Oh yeah, talking abt the chinese sub contractor, FH happened to look into his van and found a lot of old reused switches. I believe they actually reuse those switches that ppl don't want! Cos i noticed that the no brand switch which he changed the first time for me? Some looked yellowish and had scratches!

P seems really pek chek with his subcontractors. I think they are giving him a hard time man.

Hi everyone...been really busy thus no updates. We have shifted in ... but lots of probs. Gotta ask u all. How did P rectify the grouting problem? He bought some DIT stuff and paint over the grout for my case. But after 1 week still not dry and when wipe...the grout comes out. Sigh! Very xian. And the kitchen cabinet door fell out today. Painting was lousy. Grout lousy!
Pls share on grouting cos seeing P on wed

Hi ssmilezz
About the switches ... the 'body' is has a tint of yellowishness ... but the top is white. Is this acceptable? Yeah ... the Indian very jia lat ... not truthful at all!

hi ssmilezz,
where did u buy the new switches? We changed all the switches to big clipsals at my former apt ourselves last time. I bought at Choo Chiang near Lavendar that time. I read some where in forum tt there are very nice ones avail other than Legrand n Clipsal.

Aiyah, these pple should discard 2nd hand items instead of using them for the newly renovated house. So far din see any yellow tinge in switch parts but scratch marks on the strips casings(? will be hidden by kitchen cabinets later)

Talking of grouting, LOL.....they use RED for my rustic floor tiles! Luckily grouting only done for fridge n washing machine kerbs.

Anyone can give idea what to do with window btween kitchen n dining?Thanks.I took out the 2 sliding wood/glass windows cos it was so jaded.
A big rectangular hole now. Ah Keong mumbling something but clueless what he talking abt...

hi hunny,
the upper n lower part of my switch is same color.I had a young chn electrician n his older supervisor(who stand ard,did nothing) A few wall tiles got chipped off at corners during process.Luckily I only have minimal electrical works.

hunny bunz:
u can try using this grouting sealer after u left the grouting paint to dry for awhile... its can be found at home fix shop...
hope it helps.

anyhow my place is oso done by patrick... ended renov and move in last dec...

hey summerala,
take ur time choosing the appliances n good luck for ur renovations. my hob is fujioh. no hood, no oven, except a microwave oven.

hi ssmilezz,
sounds like u got the same electricians as hunny. if ur subcon is the same as mine, then i must second u in saying he is quite jialat. i bought the switches myself n he started telling me that i should let him buy them, but he refused to tell me how much each switch is except that he gets them cheap. sleezy like dunno what.

actually i think reuse is the industry norm. i've looked into several electrician's vans, all hv the same things
, which was why i insist on buying the switches myself.

hey hunny,
my grout was also settled using grout paint. it seems ok so far. i've ran my hands over many lines and even took the shower spray to spray at the grout lines, but the colour stuck.

hi vl,
u can look around the veerasamy area for switches. besides clipsal n legrand, there's also mk, pdl, fung yip etc etc. make sure that each of the switches r psb certified, else if there's a fire caused by short circuits in the switches, insurance wouldn't cover. switches hv different types - gangs, 1-way vs 2-way etc. the prices r v. different for every combi.

as for the window, u can
a) smoothen the walls to make a breakfast counter for ur kids. all u will need is a wooden tabletop n some bar stools outside the kitchen.
b) u can also install a piece of glass (or sliding glass windows) in that hole. u can also install blinds on the kitchen side.
c) alternatively, hv a rotating panel that holds a mounted flat screen tv. swing the panel n pple in the kitchen can watch tv. rotate the panel 180 deg n pple in the dining room can watch tv too.

hi och,
the TV panel sound so good but I need to have to close the opening if I switch on the aircon in the dining room. I think Ah keong was mumbling abt dont put the same one as previously(a semi circular wood piece) but use solid top.But it is only abt 3 inches wide now.

I thot of using a sliding glass window but it reminded me of restaurant kitchen window.

ya, Ah Keong said, put 2 bar stools there n sip wine...but I need a wider area,not a ledge!

thks for reminding me abt psb certified.och, u are such a great help,is really appreciated.

BTW, I got good feed back abt my newly renovated bathrooms. 2 thumbs up for och for her very helpful n useful suggestions.Actually felt paiseh at times cos kept asking her for advice.A very very discerning gal......

hey vl,
u r welcome.
any pictures to show of ur completed bathrooms?

think i wasn't v. clear. the panel should be big enough to cover the whole hole. it's like the movies, where there r doors to secret chambers. u push the left side of the panel n the right side swings out, turning the panel. the panel has to be quite thick, cos all the lcd cables has to fit inside. ah keong will need to build a wooden frame around the perimeter of the hole so that the panel n the hole fits well. the main switch n cable points to the tv can be mounted on the frame or hidden inside some compartments of the frame. however u will need to find a way to make sure the panel looks good in both ur dining n kitchen.

hi bluz, i found some pictures of the modern black kitchens with glass tabletops.
how the kitchen looks like:
http://www.poggenpohl.de/ENG/740_724_ENG_HTML.htm
the tabletop
http://www.poggenpohl.de/ENG/740_725_ENG_HTML.htm

Hey Hunny,

Some of my switches looked very old and it's quite obvious lor...a lot of fine scratches too.

Yes - also wanted to check with you which brand of solid surface did you go for?

Unfortunately, my grouting issue not resolved yet too and I did hear him say it's going to do DIY type. But since he managed to get it settled for Och, I think yours should be ok too. Not to worry.

The kitchen cabinet door fell out? Gosh, i hope no one was hurt!! See what P says tomorow ok? Keep us posted. I hope he can rectify it for you soon. *sighz*

Hi VL ~ Yes, I got the switches around Lavender/Jalan Besar side. They have many electrical/hardware shops around. Prices are quite ok too. Like what Och says, make sure it's PSB certified too. Safety is also very impt.

So there's this little opening between your kitchen and your dining area now! It suits more of a country house look, what is the theme of your house?

hehe..i think we have an in house ID here ! Och always has some brilliant and creative ideas. *salutes!~*

Hi Och ~

Yah, i also had really bad vibes from that chinese subcontractor. He looked so bo chup. Luckily, you bought the switches on your own.

Was just informed by Ah Keong that one of the laminates chosen by us for our wardrobes is out of stock (no longer in production). Need to re-select.

ssmilezz
I resort to doing the grouting on our own. Will ask P to either buy the grout for us or give us the $$ - I am very fed up liao! The workers attitude and workmanship is really bad. I've started doing the common toilet grout using the DIY ones also - but it is the paste ones rather than the liquid type. Sticks better. Smoother. And less mess.

And yeah. P is comming tonight so he will have a list of rectifications.

Overall, our feeling is FED-UP! Really!

P's subcon really really not up to mark! In the end we have to supervise, we have to go down everyday to look at the work, we have to communicate with the sub cons. And the quality of goods also not that good. Yeah - my top is CRESTO. If you can, choose LG. Heard that its a better top. CRESTO scratches so easily and dirties easily. Very difficult to maintain. But then again, maybe I've choose white top.

Will try to ost pics once everrythg is in place. Hopefully next week.

Hi Ssmilezz~

My new place is at Punngol. P only mentioned that the haulage fee is $300 and he did not mentioned the PE charges lei. Still need to check with him again.

Hi Sumerala~

yes, my Franke sink is a double bowl. I bought the 1st package GEX620D with Fremont Tap. You can view the link below.

http://www.franke.com.sg/product_package_1.html

Take your time to shop around, you might discover new designs that you like, and most impt set a budget for all items.

Hi och~

Thank u for taking time to search for the pic. It is really cooool.... But now my FH having 2nd tots, at one moment he say gd cos dirty not obvious then now he say the whole kitchen will look dark. Sometimes i tink men can be fickle minded too... haha....

I just took the Cresto solid surface from P. I am wondering if they hv any other brands to choose from? Heard that Corian brand oso not bad rite?

Hi Hunny~

Oh no... kitchen cabinet fall out? how come the worksmanship so bad? quite scary lei, did P mention how come like dat?

Hi VL~

Ya, i agree that och gave pretty gd ideas. In fact i learned alot in this forum. I will be lost if without this forum. Thank you everybody!!!Cheers!!!

id? no lah, just someone who reads too many magazines.

hi ssmilezz,
how's ur home coming along? almost done?

hi hunny,
i hope ur rectifications r completed soon. can understand ur frustrations, it's a huge hassle to be living in the house undergoing rectifications.

hi bluz,
r u hacking a load-bearing wall? if not, i dun think u need a pe right? pe = professional engineer?

ur hubby's u-turn quite normal lah. i think many sgreans still not used to the concept of using black. hee hee. n hor, black tiles, glossy black cabinets n polished black tabletops actually shows up scratches, water stains, dust n grease more obviously than white.
so how? r u considering other colour schemes now?

btw, p definitely carries corian n if my memory serves me right, he carries lg too. however he seldom mentioned other brands unless customers ask. most pple think all solid surfaces r equal, but they r not. cresto solid surface is not 100% acrylic like corian or lg. it's warranty is also shorter (2 yrs if my memory serves me). corian is expensive, $110 pfr is the std price the sole sg distributor gives on its website. corian is the first to come up with solid surface tops, hv the largest range of colours n the nicest lustre. warranty is 10 yrs, limited. lg is usually sub-$100 pfr, but it's also 100% acrylic n it has 15 yrs warranty.

whatever the solid surface, if u r going to choose pure-colour solid surface (especially dark- or bright-coloured solid surfaces), then be mentally prepared that scratches will always show up more obviously than those with speckles. if u choose dark colours, then be mentally prepared that u will see water stains too. some pple dun care abt scratches n water stains, some cannot take it, so it's difficult to say whether what is better than another. there r a lot of threads in this forum n in renotalk where pple discuss scratches n water stains. u can read up on those if u r really interested.

Hi Hunny,

How did the meeting with P go? So u really gonna do all the grouting on your own? I can sense your frustrations.
Cos I felt the same way many times. A lot of things are not within our control despite our best efforts to minimise the errors.

I'm a little confused cos unless I rem wrongly, I think P advised us not to go for those 100% arylic solid surface tops due so some reason. Hmm..i can't rem why now. *gosh* Will confirm with him again.

Hi Bluz ~ The PE costs should be around there lar....he won't overquote you. Yes, he has other solid surface brands too, just need to get the samples from him.

Hi Och ~ nope, things not done yet. Still a lot of things to do. Very slow hor....

Quite true, the dark color tops have their pros and cons. It all boils down to what u can accept and what you can't.

Hi e eryone...guess what! My Franke sink (Franke Acquario) rusted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG ! So now how? I bought from Asia Excel. And the best thg is the sink is undermount. Did not meet P today cos it was my son's bday. so we went out for a small celebration. Tomorrow meeting P. Will update

hey ssmilezz,
oh no, that is v. slow indeed. i thought u wanted handover in mid-april? what else is left? carpentry? lights?

yah i agree, 100% acrylic n non-100% acrylic tops both hv their pros n cons. that's why the different solid surface tops r not all equal mah. dun think there is one absolutely better top though... or maybe there is, but it costs $200 pfr.
for something so heavily used like the kitchen top, it's better to check out the different options available b4 deciding, then can pick the most suitable material for yourself mah. nowadays kitchens hv to function as both a showpiece n a food-preparaions area, so the kitchen must be both pretty n functional. hehe.

hi hunny,
ohno! how can the sink rust?! isn't it supposed to be stainless steel?! have u called asia excel?

hunnybunz> use CIF detergent to clean once.. or twice.. mine also like that at the starting.. only explanation is that the reaction of the material to the surrounding is new.. so will rust a bit.. after using, no more rust and till now okay..

Hey Nihpcac ~ Where did it start rusting first?

Hi Och ~ Yeah, very very slow. Even though we told him to take his time, i think this is really pushing our limits. Just today, i heard more bad news. The factory at Sungei Kadut? The lease had expired but they did not move out in time so i understand they got fined. So now all the carpenters are busy moving all the carpentry back to the AMK factory. And becos of this delay, Ah Keong cannot settle stuffs at my place.

Hi Hunny ~ Oh dear, undermount would be tedious to remove right? How ah? Should you continue to monitor the situation first or call up Ray?

Hi all, met P today. He's like a Doremon. Bought a couple of stuff - funny looking stuff to solve our problems.

First - he showed us a new grout. But he will try in his home first before getting his workers to do it for us.

Then the sink. Use some kind of stainless steel cleanet to clean and then use somethg else to polish. Just a demo session LOL. We've gotta do it on our own! Apparently, the sink got tainted by acid during the acid wash. That's why never install any toilet fittings before acid wash!! Actually we install our roilet fittings after the acid wash. However, the Franke sink, we kept it in the store room so the acid fumes got onto it! According to P, if I want to change the sink in future (bc undermount) - I can still do it w/out damaging the solid top. But gotta find a sink the same size as my current one lah!

The kitchen cabinet - he drill it back!

Sometimes really pity him - was almost 8pm already...still have not have dinner! And yeah - they are shifting factory. Heard that must clear by midnight!

But I must say he's very sincere in solving our problems. He went to DIY shop to get us the stuffs that we need - and din't charge us. He even get a 3M polish for us - bc I told him that my kitchen top scratches easily.

Anyway, been really busy with unpacking. Finally finish my masterbedroom and part of kitchen. Uploaded pics of the master bedroom on our blog.

Takea peek at
http://ourrenoblog.blogsome.com

Hi Hunny,

I left my sink in the original box and packaging at my bomb shelter too. And i think we prob had two chemical washes already. Uh oh...!

Hi Nihpcac ~ Okie...looks like i'll need to examine my sink carefully once it's up.

Don't have anything much to report this week. Has been another slow week.

How's the rest coming along? ;) Am feeling really lousy now...sick *cough sniffles* Having this on and off fever for the past 2 days.

Hunny,

JIF or CIF is those white cream cleaner.
Very effective to clean out dirt too.

What is the full name of the 3M polish? P says will do my grouting within this week, apparently, he has tested on his own home and it works? See how it goes!

Here i am again. really disappointed...

from the time the kitchen wall done till now, nothing much has been done.

basically poor co-ordination frm all party. Ya i can understand that they have prob with their work place but how abt the rest of the co-ordination??

I had really given them final deadlne but still cannot be completed in time.

really disappointed and fed-up and lost!!

Nihpcac,
this coming week will be my second move-in date which i had given them. the previous date was in end Mar.

When they were unable to meet the March deadline, we were kind enough to allow them to get it completed with Mid apr, thinking that this time we could move in smoothly.

But we are wrong, with the mindset that everything has been confirmed and finalised, we are being backfired once again.

And the most fustrating thing is that I had been pushing and making endless call to him few time every week,and daily call for the past 2 weeks but the result is still not satifactory.

How am i going to do with all the furntures that are supposed to arrive?? I had liaise with 4 parties for this date. Movers for moving old furnitures, furniture company, electrical shop and panasonic company, all on the same day.

He could simply replied: "i nv promised u hor." and "it's not my prob" to push away to blame to someone else.
I later realised that he himself too delay in my completion.
Really given hope on this guy.

I had always been nice and tried not to make him difficult but what did i get ultimately.

All the problems and frustration.

After meeting up with P at our place, we then realised that there are so many designs that is failure.

Eg, socket shifted near to the edge of cabinet, ended up cabinet door could not be opened totally, etc...

Hi Aprilgal ~

I can understand what you are going thru too. Cos this week is supposed to be my handover date too and guess what? Many many things are not done yet. Similiarly, I am expecting furniture and deliveries to come in really soon cos my reno has been coming to 3 months. Unbelievable right? Although we did give him a lot of time and leeway, and P said himself 3 months is more than enuff, looks like due to the subcontractor issues, we end up taking a much longer time.

Who actually said that to you? Issit M? Cos I don't quite doubt P will say such things. It's not his character to behave like that! And I'd really be very shocked if u tell me it's him.

Right now, i think u need to get a firm date from P when he can do the rectification works for u and how much more works are you expecting to be done? Has the carpentry come in yet? I presume your tiling should be done by now.

Then need to call up and arrange all the new dates. It is really going to be a hassale but not much of a choice at this stage.
Keep us posted how it goes ok? I hope P can settle it for u soon.

I will also be very surprised if it is P who said that. From my experiences with him, he is the type who will try his darnest to solve problems created by his sub cons.And definitely wont shrink away from responsibilties.

aprilgal> go ahead and send in your furniture.. this is what i did..
M was the one who liaised with me.. we pushed back abt 3 times to move in too.. but coz is near new yr, everyone is rushing so bo-bian..so we told M die die must settle coz i'll be moving in..
he doesn't believe me when we said that but only realsied i'm not playing a fool with him when he saw one of my bedroom is locked and when my hubby opened for him to see.. he knew i'm staying in liao..so within a week, all settled.. except for a few minor alteration here and there.. though that time i did complained abt the homo tiles which are uneven..and he managed to do it within a day.. workers worked till 9 plus into the nite.
btw, his worker also came yesterday(booked with him 2 weeks ago) to rectify some drilling etc..
anyway, i think they might be too busy due to the factory..
as for the switches, i suspected u got the uncle and auntie team who is not very responsible and "no common sense" type.. also anyhow count moving and pulling of wires to earn $$$. My house got this couple and really the sockets are put in weird places. they claimed is said by M where M sort of try to rectify for us.. obviously is not his idea.. but at least he didn't push away responsiblitity.

aprilgal, I'm surpurised at the kind of treatment that u are receiving. Is it from M or P?

I'm actually shortlisted Ho Bee as my contractor long ago and now I'm having second thoughts. Reason being me and hubby both very comfortable with P. Pls update us.

thanks,

Nihpcac,
Ya exactly!! Just felt that our words are not being heard. As if we are talking rubbish when we really meant it.

After so many issues, we discovered that M is simply inflexible and not co-operative when we need his guides and advises. He can just push away the prob to others.

We got no choice but to raise this issue to P and we do not want to suffer under his hand anymore. It's a torture to us.

I won't be so fed-up and frustrated if things are going smoothly, but it isn't. There are so many things done wrong or unfeasible which is not convenient with us.

Ya we do not wish to post-poned the date anymore and will proceed with the current date with the involvment with P.

Hi Winner,
I was under M from the beginning. Cos that time P too busy.

Note:
Personal advise-
If you unable to engage P due to his work over-load (that's what happen to me), then i recommend you not to choose Ho Bee.
unless you have no hurry to reno your house, then you can wait for P.

I can say it's quite safe to engage P, since he is the boss and he's more responsible and will rectfy problem without pushing the blame to anyone.

Now P is fully in-charge of my hse liao.

Hi Aprilgal,

Keep us posted how your reno moves along yes?

For me, they tried to install my toilet glass door on Sat but realised that one side of my wall (which was rebuilt by P's workers), not straight. Hence, my toilet door alightment is out. So trying to rectify that. Not sure how they gonna settle it .

Hope this will be a fruitful week for us.

Hi Aprilgal
I am sorry to hear about your problems. Initially I too wondered if you were talking about P. But I knew very well that P is not that kind. In fact, he will go way beyond to rectify things for us and meet our deadline.

EG: Our storeroom door was spoilt - it was a cheap wooden door. P replaced it with a solid wood one for us - without us even asking or feeding back to him that it was spoilt. That's really initiative on his part.

Overall, I feel that P is a sincere and honet person. But recently, I think he's really too busy and have no time to monitor his projects. My Father-in-law decided againts him and his comment was "P is good - but no time to monitor then what's the point!"

Though we have move in - he still 'owe' us some small items like tempered glass back splash, timber stripes, etc.. But for us, as long as we can stay in the house, we are OK with the smaller delays. So I agree, move the furniture in first ... but rem to protect them with towels, cardboards, etc

Keep us updated.

Hi Winnie,
You may want to monitor this thread a lil more before making a decision. But I would still recommend P.

Will update my photo soon

M is not that bad.. but i think he might not be given the team of pple to work with.. at least after handing over, asked him to ask workers to come my place to rectify is still good service.. btw, in case, you all dun know, the workers don't really want to listen to M coz they are not under him, so makes his work hard too.. still remembered the workers fly him kite when they are supposed to come to remove the debris for my laminated pp to lay but in the end, no one came and he himself cleared everything for us and in the course, hurt his back..
hmm.. so april, just move in and if they damage anything, ask P or M to settle coz ausp. date and timing is impt and cannot always change..

ssmilezz, hunny bunz,
sure, will keep you guys updated.

Now the prob is i'd intro one of my fren to M. me also paiseh to tell them my situation. cos all along i've been assuring to them of M. Really dunno how to face them. but think i still need to tell them what'd happened.

sigh...

Hi Nihpcac,
I nv say that M is bad. i just find that he's unable to solve my prob and yet giving me more headaches which we cannot take it anymore. Moreover i also can't solve his prob, so...

Hi Aprilgal,

It's ok. Just be truthful and let your friend what you are facing. Cos i think they would want to know what's happening too so at least they can deal with it if it does happen in future. It's impossible for renovations to go 100% smoothly cos workers are humans too and yes, they make mistakes or sometimes take the easy way out (lazy lar).

Hi Hunny,

I agree with you. P is very sincere. There has been a break in at my block so FH is extremely concerned with our security issue. So we arranged to meet P last min today and he turned up without any complaints.

My solid surface is up but Ah Keong says the remaining carpentry may be delayed. I still have carpentry, some toilet stuffs, final painting and cleaning to go. Supposed to handover end of this week. Hmm...

Frankly if anyone asks me if I will recommend P, I'll be in a dilenma. Cos I know he's a great person and all but at the end of the day, if you are not a patient person and don't have time to spend scrutinizing and following up closely, i think it can get really frustrating. So i'll prob say, yes to P (great chap and all), no to the standard of work (subcontractors). Carpentry wise, Ah Keong is great. I have no complaints. hehe

Hi ssmiless
Come to think of it, I have to agree with you about recommend P. Yes, unless you are the patient kind and have time to monitor the work, you might end up getting really frustrated. Anyway, I keep a blog, so if friends ask for my recommendation, I will prob say, go read and decide! LOL

It's kind of sad. Ho Bee has been enjoying very good reputation and recommendations until recently. Let's hope its not a turning point for P and Ho Bee.

Anyway, think P did mention to hubs that he will take less project cos 'no time'.

Oh!Have updated my blog with pics of the master toilet.

http://ourrenoblog.blogsome.com/

Hi Hunny,

I love your master toilet...
By the way, how do you find IKEA Pax wardrobe? is it flimsy? How much you spend on the wardrobe for your masterbed room?

aprilgal> dun worry.. we went thru the same thing.. let M solve his own problem.. just concentrate in checking for the goods when they come in the whole lot.. very stressful when u need to check for dents etc..

Halo ladies,

quite some time nv come to this thread.... well still gg actively..

Just had my downlights electrical points n kitchen's kerb done. Ya, P is very bz now. Heard from Ah Keong dat now P got 10 projects on hand n wif all the office shifting stuff, so shld b crazy like hell.

Now it seems like Hennie is looking after my project, not much comments on her yet. Shall update u gals.

Hi Hunny,

Yah lar, P is biting off more than he can chew so cannot cope and seriously hor, his co-ordination planning quite terok. :P Too many things on his mind, we feel like we are his secretary sometimes, need to nag nag/remind remind.

Love your toilet pics. Looks like a very shiok place to relax after a long day @ work.

I like the IKEA Pax system cos it keeps storage of items easy. Ah Keong is doing a very similiar/modified one for our wardrobe too and he was very funny..kept saying.."Same as ikea leh...same same..." LOL!

Hi Bluz ~ 10 projects? That's a lot man..phew..he works wayyyy too hard. Poor chap...

We returned all our solid surface samples to P and he said he's going to pass them to another client at Mcnair Road. Wondering if it's anyone of you guys here.

Is Hennie chinese? Her name is quite unique.