HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

Different governing rules and regulations, practice and procedures I guess.

I think we all know that HDB renovation works are quite restrictive, but some condos can be worse depending on the rules set by each individual condo.

I'm doing up a condo and am wondering if Ho Bee has any experience in that because I have totally none. I really have no idea what I need to take care of and look out for. All I know is that condos love to impose all kinds of fines and penalties for breaking their many rules and stuff.

I therefore need to rely heavily on my contractor to ensure everything is done properly.

Thanks for the info Atreyu!

I'll be considering Ho Bee, Patrick as my contractor after reading all the praises sung by his satisfied customers. Appreciate if any satisfied customers with pictures or quotations to share, share with me at [email protected]

Thanks all!

Thanks Rachel

Lovely home you have there! It's almost as if you've got yourself an ID! Love what you did for your flooring...blending the 2 (or 3?) types of flooring together + having slightly raised platforms for the dinning and sitting area. Great ideas!

By the way, your shoe rack looks familiar. Is it from Ikea? Thanks.

Hi Rachel, sorry. Just saw your mail. Have rcved the mail. many thanks.

Rachel, your hse is really nice! Could you share the contact for the calligraphy and perhaps tell me where could I find more info abt the "bath"? Many thanks in advance.

Need some advice on timing leh..

u see... i am buying a resale 5 rooms and will probably get the keys in June 06..(some arrangement between us and the current owner)..

so if it's only in june06 i get the keys..when should i start making contact with patrick/malcolm for quotation, design idea, etc?

also could anyone share how's the payment schedule like? thanks in advance people!

juan>depending when u want to move in.. normally if nothing goes wrong (i.e. no hacking permit being held up, all furnishing bought), the process will take 6 weeks.. if u had confirmed u want patrick/malcolm, and u know what theme or idea u want, 3 weeks b4 should be sufficient..give them floor plan.
payment wise, mine is 30%, 50%, 20%.. 30% when u sign on dot so that they can buy materials. 50% when carpentry comes in. 20% handing over.. something like that.. mine malcolm..
but hor, 1 thing to take note, they are real busy.. must nag for quotations and drawings from malcolm..hehehe

i guess the payment part depends on the degree of renovation u are doing. My flat is not very furnish type, so payment is 20% - 30% - 30% - 20%

aprilgal> no photos yet coz still in midst of doing.. carpentry in process of doing.. only have homo floor, and false ceiling/L-box up with wiring.. as for quotations, not accurate coz we minus and add stuff here and there due to unforeseen circumstances. sorry for that..

hi nihpcac,
no prob...
can i check with you for the following:

1) did malcolm require you to sign back on the initial quotation drafted by malcolm as a form of confirmation so that he can come up with the perspective drawings?

If yes, does it mean that we have stick to whatever items stated on the quotation and cannot back out on any of the items?

2) when is first payment made?

3) tot quotation has been fixed and confirm before the start of the reno, u mean there will still be changes during the reno?

aprilgal>
1) nope, mutual understanding.. up to now.. i think i got more than 30 amended quotes from him..
can liaise with him.. coz 1st timer like us got a lot of fanastic ideas which is not feasible to them.. so most prob quotes always change. just nag him for a fresh quote each time u change ideas but don't get too many times coz he will get frustrated one.. and don't joke anymore, get tense situations which is not good..

i did back out some stuff coz last min, my fengshui master add in "ridculous" ideas after we are comfortable with the designs. Malcolm is still kind to change(coz work not done yet, lucky..)..some other IDs may refuse.

2) 1st payment: confirm perspectives..

3) yup. as the process goes on, my hubby wanted to add in more stuff like carpentry, box-ing up pipes etc..esp aircon pipes where the "stupid" aircon technicians from g*** ***y drilled wrong holes and still proceeded when they knew is wrong but didnt tell my hubby who was there whole day with them.

eling, tare> no photos yet coz still renovating.. not much to see yet.. quotations.. hehehe.. not accurate coz we keep changing.. dont worry, ho bee quotes are in the middle range or cheap range depending on your gauge. Ask for the best price from them. If need, PM me and i try to talk to malcolm.. hehehe.. dun worry, me not taking conmission as i can understand how home owners feel at this time when reno is such a big $$$ to most of us.

hi nihpcac,
really?! just quote your big name to bargain for better discount?
How should i address you then?

Malcolm requested us to sign back the initial quotation, wondering is it a norm? cos my FH dun feel at ease at signing that doc.

aprilgal> i think he wants u to sigh so that u won't run away..hehehe..
won't say got more discount or not, depending.. but at least he knew we noe each other and is safer in a sense..
PM u, ok?

wah... the postings here really helped so so much. my hubby and me are still in the midst of getting quotations. if you guys don't mind and if it's not too much trouble, could you please send me your quotations? would really help a lot a lot a lot. thank you!!!

my email addy is [email protected]

btw, where's ho bee? think hubby and i will drop by this week. :D

krispykreme> dun bother to go their shop.. at AMk..
u won't like it.. they so busy till their shop is nothing much there.. they dun station there too..
need to call them one..
aprilgal>PM u liao.. need to know ur name too..

I have been reading all the good reviews about Ho Bee and am seriously considering to use them over an ID but am worried that design-wise, I won't be able to convey to them what I want as a whole... cause not very good in imagining what the whole house will look like in the end. Would Ho Bee be able to advise on the ID-design part?

Anyone has any quotations and photos to share, appreciate it if you can send to me at [email protected]. Thanks in advance!

Hi Rachel, bearyhugs, kopi and aeina and nihpcac, please share your pic and qoute with me can ka? we also very curious with the ho bee how much they qoute why everybody was saying a good .... contractor and price. thanks for your help all.

Hi Rachel, bearyhugs, kopi and aeina and nihpcac, please share your pic and qoute with me can ka? we also very curious with the ho bee how much they qoute why everybody was saying a good .... contractor and price. thanks for your help all. my email is [email protected]

LP> no pic yet.. still in midst of reno..
if you are interested, why dun u contact Patrick or Malcolm instead?

As for quotes, depending on what u want, i believe all our quotes are different.. in fact, when i looked for my ID, the same thing i did was to ask for other pple's quotes.. in the end, dunno what i'm looking at.. the best way is to ask them to quote u and from there, we might be able to help better..
another reason i dun share quotes coz i'm worried abt rival companies trying to get the price and customers.. so is quite unfair for Ho Bee..

I'm in the mist of confirming my final quotes with Patrick. I realised that the quotes for tiling works (Homo) is apprx $3k for my 5 room and I'm only doing the hall/dining/corridor area. Does it seem rather high? Cos when I compared it with my other quotes (between $1.8k to $2.5k), it seems exhorbitant.How much did your tiling works cost?

Another thing to check - did HDB do your cement screeding or did Patrick get his tiling guys to do for you guys?

Would appreciate some advise. Cos other that this, we are fine with his overall quotes.

Thanks guys!

ssmilez> $3k coz the tiles belongs to $3.50 to $4
range.. i get what u mean.. coz other IDs quoted $2 to $3psf, so the rest is the worksmanship cost..
if u choose a lower price, that is $2 to $3 psf type, they should cut cost down.. u ask him.. if u are still worried, ask them to write on quotes too..
as for difference in material, this i'm not sure.. but design wise.. might be limited..
my screeding done by HDB, foc. if u ask Patrick to do, need $$. HDB's is fine.. if it is too high near the door, Patrick's guys will settle..
hope this do help..

Hi Nihpcac,

Yeah, Patrick did say that the prices may be lower if i chose cheaper tiles in the end and he will revise the quotes accordingly.

He said he'll get his guys to do the screeding instead of HDB cos it's better? Hmm....I'm not too sure how i should proceed from here. Stick with HDB?

up to u..
hdb free and worksmanship not bad..
most prob he wants to make sure that screeding is properly leveled.. if is done by his team, they know how much exactly to level.. if done by hdb, he's worried that he might have to either level up or down..
mine done by hdb, no problem.. but dunno why his workers go leveled up the space near my bedrm's door.. in the end cannot close door..