HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

I've gone to see one of his current project (just completed tiling only) today. Pretty pleased with what we have seen. Have also met with Ah Keong today.

Anyone else with work in progress or soon to start work?

hi ssmilezz,

it should be in time for cny.
i'm staying in my apt, so renovations take a longer time. one of my bathrooms is almost all done up. tiling done, doors in, left with electric wiring n the vanity top. patrick n ah keong just dropped by for a visit. they r at a loss of how to mount the vanity top in my bathroom.

Hi Nihpcac,

I think I have seen that uncle before..at the factory. hehe..dunno his name though. Why? did u get to talk to him?

Hi Och,

Realy ah...how come so diff to mount leh? Issit due to the shape of the bathroom?

hi smilezz,

it's difficult cos i'm not doing a wall to wall vanity, so i have only an l-shape wall to mount the vanity. n my bathroom has a weird space arrangement, so the shower area is not enclosed n directly opposite the vanity top, hence ah keong cannot build a wooden cabinet to support the vanity top.

i wasn't expecting this difficulty originally, since i thot some l-brackets should do the trick. but patrick n ah keong both say l-brackets r insufficient.
they suggested i use hollow block support. cement support in the bathroom.... do u think it looks very ugly?

Hi Och ,

I'm guessing that your sink is prob quite heavy/large so the L-brackets are not sufficient. What kind of basin do you have? Square? Round?

I intend to use hollow block to support the basin with full mirror at the back. Don't intend to have any cabinets below too. I intend to tile up the cement part. Maybe you can experiment with the tile colors? Something matching with your wall tiles?

Not ugly lar...i'm sure Ah Keong and Patrick will come up with some ideas for you. Don't worry. Keep me posted ok?

hey smmilezz,

yup, our basin is very big, 720mm wide. it's oval in shape. we need a countertop of abt 4 feet n patrick said that with such a long countertop, mounting on a l-shape wall is a problem, even if we ignore the length n weight of the basin.

ur design sound interesting but i cannot visualize the design of your bathroom. u mean hollow blocks up to the ceiling or just to support the vanity top. i'm given 2 options, stainless steel legs or hollow blocks. but keong advised against stainless steel legs leh, he said they will start growing black dots after a while, since the legs r exposed to water regularly. most likely it's hollow blocks for me. now busy designing how to place the hollow blocks support.

hi juan,

my quotations is missing quite a bit of things, including replacement of windows, granite tops, hollow blocks etc. so it's probably easiest to approach patrick directly for a quote of ur bathroom.

i asked patrick if the final invoice will be totally different from the quotation n he laughed, said he himself cannot keep track of all the changes fr my quotation.

Hi Nihpcac - I went to the AMK one lar..the Sungei Kaduk one is wayyyy too far. I saw this uncle (bare-bodied) smiling and was quite friendly. :P That was during my 1st discussion with Patrick. hehe..

Hey Och - your basin seems big...i can't recall how long is mine! I know it's longer than the usual one. Erm, sorry abt the bad explaination. I'm just going to build a flat surface just to support my sink. Not too sure abt the legs. haha...:P let me check with my FH.

Yah, Patrick's really confused and blur at times. Wonder how he derives the final quotation. :P

hahaha nihpcac, that's a very funny!
that's my sentiments too. i told patrick to give me a revised quote asap, so that i know how much to spend for my master bathroom.

hey ssmilezz, if u can get by without legs for the countertop, then it will look so much prettier - the countertop n basin will still look suspended. mine cannot hv that look.
n yah, my basin is big. ah keong cannot believe i bought such a big basin that cannot be wall mounted. he kept telling me to go exchange it.
n oh yah, think i made a mistake in my previous post, the basin is not oval, it's egg shape.

sigh.. i have urged malcolm to give mine since nov.. but he said wait till elect all up then see.. lazy to calculate.. hehehe..
anyway, i have to buy another lights for my kitchen.. the dimension cannot fit in..
.. went buyign again.. sigh..

kao_embarrassed.gif
if i post my kitchen light here and sell cheap, will anyone buy??

Hey Nihpcac,

How come the dimension cannot fit in? What type of kitchen lights did u get? Anyway, which light shop did you go to?

I'm still looking around for lights...*headache*

When will your reno complete?

Hi Och - Yah, i hope the countertop can be suspended. Why made you buy such a big basin? hehe...

Went to select tiles with Patrick today. He says he's up to his neck with his appointments over this long weekend so we told him to leave us there and we took our own sweet time.

Oops ~ before i forget - Happy New Year!!

coz my kitchen is too small.. then with the top cabinet, the door will knock on the lights.. coz i bought sort of chandlier type.. hanging "hamburger" with four bulbs type.. so rather big..
sigh.. dunno if the workers are angry with malcolm or what.. work so slow.. my neighbours above and below started work later than me, finished liao.. and stayed in.. me still seven seven - eight eight done.. where carpentry is half up for nearly a week.. elect took more than 2 days.. still not done finish yet.. sigh..
worse.. one of my neighbour is under Patrick and is almost finished liao... leaving touch up..
hopefully... a new year means everything fine for me..
last of all, may the new year brings peace and harmony to all....

Hey Nihpcac,

No lar, maybe different workers work at different pace lor...don't think too much ba. Any idea when is your estimated handover date? Did Malcom tell you?

Patrick told us he's waiting for our drawings to be ready..Malcom seems to be rather busy.

Have you gotten all your electrical appliances yet?

happy new year everyone!

ssmilezz, where did u go to select ur tiles? i'm selecting my tiles too, for the hollow block support. i usually select the tiles myself too. patrick is always so busy n i dun really like to be rushed, so he leaves me to choose tiles by myself.

i bot my lights at lights arcade. v. lazy. i only walked the stretch between lumiere n lights arcade, got a bit sian, then i saw the lights i wanted for the bathroom at lights arcade, so i got my plcs, bathroom lights n kitchen lights fr there. i bot my big rocker switches fr jln besar.

hi nihpcac, dun feel bad. my renovations isn't going very fast too. hit a few snags, the lastest of which is this basin too long business. n i'm staying in while renovating, so i get kinda impatient sometimes. thank goodness patrick is more patient than me.

Hello ~

I went to Katong side (can't rem the shop name) to take a look. He will prob be bringing us down to Defu Lane side to let us see if there's anything else we may like from them and hopefully, can confirm everything tomorow.

How's the lights @ Lights Arcade? Service ok?

I am new here. Gonna renovate my 5rm resale flat this mar/apr and am considering whether to choose Ho Bee as our main contractor? It seems like we have a lot of good reviews and faithful "fans" here.

Will be following this thread very closely from now on.

ssmilez> sigh.. he keep saying can finish on the 31st dec.. what's the date now.. sigh.. only half carpentry up.. no doors, no shelves, elect lightings up but no switch or not connected yet.. only a few..
anyway, i need to move in by this coming sun.. dunno how lar.. all my appliances bought but dare not delivered yet coz the whole house is so dusty..
i dun think i can stand fridge etc to be left standing on the floor where the floor is not even mopped once..
the only elect appliance that's available to my eyes are my cooker and hob.. but now worried that it may not start up coz they took away the plastic protector.. with all the dust and drilling, dunno how much will get into the nozzle and choked there.. any comments abt how to get over this??
btw, urs is Patrick or Malcolm?

coh> i'm a bit allegy to dust.. so dunno how.. coz my geomancer says move in means no more knocking and drilling.. so with this "stupid" definition, both of us are stuck in between..

ssmilez> light arcade is good.. i just exchanged a downlight with 2 spotlights and my kitchen light.. just top up the difference even though the goods was lying inmy house untouched for >2weeks.

sorry pple if i seemed to be complaining.. but both my hubby and i were stuck btw geomancer and malcolm.. i noe the workers are busy but hmm.. they do take own sweet time too.. (that's normal for all salaried workers.. can understand..)
anyway, dunno abt the laminates too.. muz see touch up liao..

hi nihpcac,
dun worry, i know how frustrating it is if renovations doesn't go well. i was complaining non-stop when waiting for my bathroom door n the vanity top design to be settled too.

i think u should remind malcolm that u need to move in by sunday. sometimes these datelines slip his mind. electrical wiring n carpentry can be done in a couple of days at most, provided the carpentry is already completed in the factory. then ur main problems r with cleaning n then the delivery of furniture, dunno when is the next available date. what u can do is to ask for the furniture to be delivered n stored in a room that's not being used. make sure the plastic is still on the furniture. then when the workers r done with carpentry, ask them to help u move the heavy furniture into the living n dining rooms.

think the cooker will still start up. my cooker also totally exposed to dust while hacking, it's still ok. just wipe the surface first, n i think u should be fine.

hi ssmilez, lights arcade's service is good. i went to exchange my bathroom lights n it was done really quickly.

Hi Nihpcac,

I also agree with Och and think you should "gently remind" Malcom abt your moving in dateline.

What's wrong with the laminates? You did that for your room? I think better hold on to your appliances delivery hor...if not, no point cos it's stil too dusty.

Walked past lights arcade today but didn't go in. Shall pop by one of these days with all your good recommendations.

Patrick's handling mine. We finally selected our tiles today. One of our wall tiles selected busted our budget..so had to reselect lor...

thanks och and ssmilezz.. have daily reminders for him from my hubby.. hehehe.. till i felt so sian and embarassed abt it..
och> factory side had finished long time and they had finally transport everytihng to my house, lying at the corner.. some came with furnish done, some don't.. elect have been doing for 3 days.. sigh..
me alreadi locked 2 bedrooms to store whatever small stuff i bought coz things mia-ing always during reno..

would like to make sure plastic still on.. but only 20% sure.. coz my bedroom keys are on the knobs since reno started and yesterday when i go down and cleaned up 2 rooms first, i have to do a "hide-and-seek game" with the keys and finally found them with some debris and one of the keys is bended.. sigh.. very frustrating..

btw, do they paint the house twice?? if so, then my locked rooms have to be opened again..

hi nihpcac,

dun need to feel embarrassed abt it lah. the renovations is behind schedule mah, so u hv plenty of reasons to be unhappy.

btw, laminates dun scratch that easily, so dun worry abt the cupboards stuff. and adding laminates shouldn't take that long. maybe when u r giving malcolm ur daily reminder, remind him of the works that r outstanding: carpentry, electricity (in which rooms)...

oh yah, n u should remove the keys fr ur locks. u can buy those big black plastic bags n tape over ur stuff to make sure they r not exposed to dust. that's what i'm doing now, since i'm staying in while renovating.

i'm not sure abt the painting part, depends on how many coats has already been painted.

electrician n the bangla doing the hacking r in my house now. some progress at last.

Hi Nihpcac,

Think on the bright side ~ at least all the carpentry are at your place. Just a matter of time before everything is put into place like lego toys! *wink*

Better check with Malcom abt the painting yah? Maybe they have not done the final coat of paint and you may need to move your stuffs out again.

Daily reminders are fine lar..as long as it's not the 3am in the morning type. hehee.....

Hi Och - ahh..work in progress for you now! Patrick just commented that day that he's rushing to complete a resale flat by end of this month (3 weeks of work). Not your house ba? Did you meet him on Monday? hehe.....

hi nihpcac, any progress?

hi ssmilezz, where is ur flat? i din meet him on mon, so that flat is most likely not mine. i'm not overhauling the entire flat, so my renovations is relatively minor i think. dun really need to rush.

had a blackout yesterday night bcos of the hacking.

ssmilezz> is normal office hours reminders.. eheh..
och> progress.. hopefully can see some tonite coz he promised to finish all by tonite.. gtg down to see later.. wish me luck..heheh

hey nihpcac,

hope ur apt will be all done up when u visit tonight. is ur apt in tampines? i overheard the electrician saying he has a job in tampines today. is that urs?

How did it go Nihpcac??
Any good news? Keep us updated!

Och ~ My place is at Redhill. How abt yours? How did the hacking result in a blackout?

och, ssmilezz> luckily he really keep his promise..
now 90% done as from last nite.. all carpentry got doors liao though no knobs yet.. my vanity no lights yet and no shower screen too.. my glass door missing though.. but at least not too bad, hopefully.. he is to drill the bathroom accessories by today.. will keep u informed..
och> mine not in tampines... near redhill..
ssmilez> hehehe.. quite near urs but far from urs.. depot.

yay nihpcac, happy to hear that ur reno is 90% completed. looks like u can move into ur apt this weekend as planned.
ur apt is at depot road?

hi ssmilezz, i'm in bt batok. hv u completed ur renovations?

the workers hacked the master bathroom on tue n they damage the electrical wirings lor. the electrician din notice, he sealed the ends of the wires b4 he left, but at night, the damaged wirings shorted, hence the blackout. at least that's what the electrician said lah.

can i do a poll here? what type of doors did u hv for ur bathrooms?

Looks like Nihpcac will be super busy this weekend! Need to do major spring cleaning. hehe....Sounds like the reno works are 77 88 already!

Ahh...Nihpcac, we are so near and yet so far.
Issit a resale or new flat?

Och - no..my actual reno works haven't even started yet. Will prob start the hacking and wet works before CNY.

I'm doing a glass door for MBR. The kitchen door is the usual bi-fold type lar...

How abt you guys?

Patrick very blur leh...he thought supposed to start work today and asked his team of ppl to go to my place. Only to realised that the door was still locked. We already told him we're pushing back the start date....blur sotong!

ssmilez> new flat.. yup this is what's i meant by 7788 when u can see only minor stuff left..

my kitchen door, bifold.. done by carpenters. toilets use back HDB..

Hey Nihpcac,

Weekend's here..Feeling excited?

I can finally collect some of my lights from one of the lighting shops. It was erm..delayed for abt 2 weeks. Hopefully, nothing goes wrong man.

ssmilez> not really... coz need to "move" in.. everything must be new.. how to die.. siao.. even comp cannot bring in.. urggggrrr..
and the stupid floorings mopped a few times still dusty.. will die of mopping and cleaning.. only both of us...sian...

Hey Nihpcac,

You mean your fengshui master say everything brand new in the house...? Comp not new so cannot bring in yet? serious?

Think the dusty feeling will remain for a while one..cannot help it...Close one eye..or maybe both eyes for the time being.

Don't stress yourself out too much cleaning. Is your AD coming soon?

seems like all of you already started on the reno... ours still under HDB's hand. still waiting for them to hack and replace hollow tiles.
don't think can complete before CNY liao... sobs...

Btw, did malcolm give you gals constructive ideas on the reno or simply follow your suggestions? How abt the designing part? Did he just leave all the thinkings to you?

He asked me to choose the materials and then he'll work from there... feel sense of insecure leh... worried might get 'rojak' end of the day...

How?

hi ssmilezz,
haha, patrick so blur. he's also very blur when it comes to my place. he passed the wrong design to the workers for the vanity top. thankfully, he passed it to them a few days earlier, so i managed to catch the error b4 they started work.

my bathroom doors r both pvc material.

hi nihpcac, can empathise how tough cleaning is. first time i move into my flat, also took a few moppings to be clean. do u hv a vacuum? it's faster to vacuum first, then mop (from personal experience). or u can engage those cleaning companies to do a one off cleaning.

who is ur fengshui master? sounds very demanding leh, even computer must be new. then what abt clothes?

hey aprilgal,
what's the scope of ur renovations? i'm with patrick. i'm not sure what's the norm, but for all my renovations so far, i design, contractors n carpenters tells me my designs r practical or not. i choose the materials too, but if i'm not sure whether the materials suit my needs n purpose, i will ask patrick for his advice. patrick knows my style, so if need calls for it, he will immediately restrict my choice of materials to those that r practical. stuff like how thick curbs should be, where pipings should run etc, i just give broad guidelines n let the workers execute best practices based on those guidelines. i hv a separate carpenter doing my carpentry, but if i'm not wrong, ah keong will draw out the designs of the carpentry b4 he starts work. does this help?

Hi Aprilgal - HDB will take some time ba..i'm also waiting for them to get back on the cement screeding. *sighz* Where are the hollow tiles at? Toilet or kitchen?

I'm with Patrick too. But i think their working style should be rather similiar. Else I think Nihcpac can probably give you better advise since she's with Malcom

Like wat Och says, we will have a preliminary discussion then I met up with Ah Keong (the carpenter) on site to discuss my carpentry needs. He did sketches on the spot for me then handed the rough sketches to Malcom to do illustrations.

Next, we went for tiles selection already (by that time, i already received a few revised quotations based on the changes each time we meet up). Will be getting the final quote from him soon and he has already gotten approval for the hacking and is in fact ready to start work before we sign/confirm our final quote.

Hey Och - eh guess wat? I received my drawings from Ah Keong recently and realised that the toilet/vanity top drawing is sa-la! There's a L-box and not mine lar...hehe..maybe it's YOURS! Cos our vanity top quite similar right? Basin is suspended on top.

Ah Keong runs on rubber time..super duper late one..when my FH called Patrick to get Ah Keong's hp number, Mrs Quek picked up and said..HUH? Ah Keong not there yet ah..tat fellow runs on LONDON time. Forever late one...

ssmilez> AD in Jun.. said not new stuff wait till later then can bring in.. sian..

aprilgal> dun worry.. if what u choose is not appropiate, he'll tell u unless u insist on what u want.. ideas we gave and he modified most of it without telling us.. uuntil we saw the end-product.. but the reason he gave is justified.. so not too bad.

och> vacuum liao then mopped a few times.. still dusty.. now back pain liao.. the fengshui master is one of my hubby's aunt's friend who helps pple to see.. anyway, today so call official move-in with stove on.. etc.. she gave us a long list of what should be done and we only followed half coz no time to buy the stuff and we feel troublesome.. so just play by ear which we think is logical and not too superitious.

ssmilez> dun blame ah keong.. he is so-call the chief carpenter.. even though mine is under Malcolm and he's not involved in any ways, he still cmoe out and took a look once a while to make sure everything is fine..

Take for e.g. my study table.. i drew for malcolm, he sort of managed to visualise it and ask the carpentry pple to do.. ah keong is not convinced of the design coz he told me (after it is done) that he dun get what malcolm is drawing. so when he came to my house to see the output, he was enlightened and said he like the design too.. ehehe

aprilgal> by the way, Malcolm said that recently some one told him my name.. is it u? also, Malcolm is more towards Zen.. anything, can either email me or post here.. will try to get back to u asap..

anyone interested? me blur and bought shower heads without realising that instant heater comes with it.

340525.jpg

340526.jpg

this light I'm also letting out coz it exceeds my designated place.

email me if u are intereseted.. [email protected]

Hi all, I am signing up with Malcolm. Though i have no time factor,but i am surprised to see the hassle the home owner might faced.But i think the key issues such as:

1) Carpentry is good,not major screwed up.
2) The way i look at it, i think they are very flexible as comparable to other IDs.Malcolm has been very accomodating to our request.But nevertheless, i cant comment further as my reno is stopped by HDB side.I understand many of you wanted it before CNY.
3)I was shocked by the wrong design given to workers by Patrick.I was wondering if they will absorb if owners werent careful enough?

Regards.