Hilton Hotel

Geraldine.. indeed that's the worst thing we can imagine.. it would be real real sad to hear all the negatives feedbacks despite the countless hardwork, worries etc throughout the preperation process..

if you don't mind, pls share the problems you faced privately by dropping me emails @ [email protected]

if there are ways Hilton is in position to improve, thk we shld highlight / feedback to them. being a 5-star rated hotel with not upto standard service is really bad..

blureth.. my fren also attended one recently. commented the food is so-so only. this is rather disappointed becuase have been thinking Hilton serving great dinner. ya.. we feedback to the chef.. somehow, there isn't much choices between the menu. anything outside the price range gotta top up..

top up quite abit for the studio PS already.. real pain. now, gotta practice cost control le..

Geraldine: Really sorry to hear dat ur wedding din turn out up to ur expectations. Same as lladro, would hope dat if u dun mind & PM me the negative feedback plus how u personally feel abt it in details.

Btw where was ur wedding held in, Grand Ballroom? Cos in my impression, Grand Ballroom spacious, thus if march-in wiv dry ice effect, shld be nice. As for Panorama, a bit hard to visualise wiv dry ice effect as march-in wouldn't be straight, somehow juz dun think it'd look dat gd. :P Wondering if we can go wiv bubble effect hor, anyone here using it?

lladro: I'm as worried as you are. Been updating my hubby wiv all the feedback here so far & he's kinda apprehensive now as well on the standard of food at Hilton. I feel even worse now as I'm the one who did all the research & shortlisted Hilton as one of the "gd ones"!! Sigh, guess we gotta be like wat Ling said & keep the faith dat things will turn out for the better!

Wow, u must have liked ur PS photos a lot to have topped up so much. Wat other stuff do u need to practice cost control besides the dinner menu?

ya.. the PS photos turn out to be very nice.. initially we already told ourselves not to top up further to the package. well.. still fell into the trap.. hubby gave in to my reqeust..

so, the cost control is to get someone to be a "bad guy" to stop another party from further spending than what it should be..

now, having heard all the not-so-good comments abt the hotel.. so, gotta thk of special arrangement during reception so to divert possible negative comments from guests. this again will incurr additional expenses.. sigh..

lladro: Erm, u topped up for ur PS photos for photo developing issit? Lemme guess, ur hubby gonna be the "bad guy"? Heh... Wat kind of "special arrg" are u thinking of using.. and at extra cost? O_O

ling : My AD's on 29 Nov 08, still a long way to go. Haven't sign up with TC yet, shortlisted some BS for HTB and myself to visit next month so hopefully can settle before the end of the year. Then I'll think of the AD photographers & videographers.

Guess all of us here gotta keep our fingers cross that the AD events will be better than the negative stuff we've been hearing about!

Spoke to June before on the dry-ice effect, she mentioned it will not be obstrusive at all as the guests' attention will be on the entrance and the operation of the machine is done very quickly. Was thinking of some additional effects but that can come later...

hi Blureth.. yupe.. hubby supposed to be the bad guy to stop all unnecesary expenses. but some how he always give in to my reqeusts.. not too good huh..

am thinking to take snaps on guests and get them to write their wishes on the printed photos.. this is going to be diff. from the conventional guestbook. hope the guests would take it as a special experience despite possible negative comments.

hi blissful_kitten, can't really comment much as my AD will be next year.. as for now, am quite worry on their food stdn.. the stdn is not realy to what we thought. next, is the carpark.. thk this is not something new..

despite all these, June's service /accomodation has been very good.. so, do bring out whatever concerns you might have for discussion with her.

lladro: Heh, dat's good wat, a hubby dat listens to you. ;) You plan on taking snaps wiv polaroid camera? This idea not bad but would you have time to do it during the dinner? I blur & old liao, tot ur AD in Dec leh. Haha...must have mixed you up wiv others.

blissful kitten: Think watever concerns you might have, phaps bring it up to June & see if she can provide any good alternatives. When's ur AD?

Sorry girls, didn reply as i didn want to comment so much more about hilton. Will only frighten you girls here and maybe add on to more stress. As i had mentioned earlier, what happened to me might not happen to others. June had promised to improve on service provided. I dunno how to improve on that, my wedding was already over, and hilton also cannot do anything to compensate me already right? talk more will only make myself more sad.

just some comments here. lladro: it nice to take polariod pics, but u sure u have ample time? even the guest book also not fully signed, as those older generation will not sign and dunno how to comment also...so might as well save the $.

Which i think more important is, have a chief bridemaid who will organise and make decisions for u. coz u really wont have the time.Even i came down during reception/cocktail, i also dont have time to listen here & there...

blureth- it is in feb 08. i am getting a bit worried now..

go u gals know that they have some new themes coming up for next year? have any of u seen these new themes?

blissful kitten: Wow, so you're worried abt the food quality rite? Try to feedback as much as you can during your food tasting session & also your concerns to June. See what she says.

Yes, I know new themes are to replace Euphoric Romance & Fiery Passion next yr when I signed up in Sept. However, not sure when it'll be ready. Has June asked you which theme you want? Mebbe you can ask her when it'll be ready for viewing, then let us know?

Geraldine: Hmm, I agree on the part on getting someone to help make decisions. Heh, then we can concentrate on being pretty brides. :P

Hi, for those who took the Panaroma room, will the last tables be too far from the stage and hence, not able to view the projector and stage?

hi Wendelyn, to my understanding 2 projectors will be set up at both ends. so, there is no worry if the guests sitting at the end couldn't see things happen at front of the room.

hope this helps..

Hi Winnie,

I think calling them up would be a faster way to get things done... At least dat's how it seems to me when I was calling up for quotations.

Gd luck!

Hi BTBs, I haven't been reading the posts on the forum for a few months already. Quite surprised to see so many unpleasant posts. We held our wedding dinner last week. Just to share our personal experience, there were several unpleasant problems we faced during our dinner:
1) Very late set up of ballroom. There was another function which ended at around 5.30pm, so setup for our dinner was completed only at 7plus! There were already guests streaming in for cocktails and the staff had still not completed full set up of the ballroom. My emcees did not have the opportunity to rehearse.
1) Tables were not set up per instruction. We had a few tables of 11s, one of which was meant for my hubby's bosses. To our horror, the table for his bosses was only set up for 10 pax (although we had given very clear instructions that it was for a table of 11 pax), leaving one of the bosses to have to wait for so long while the set up was done in front of the other bosses. This really left a bad impression with his bosses.
3) First course presentation was delayed for sooooo long, for no apparent reason. When our friend who was helping to coordinate the dinner went out to check with the banquet manager, he saw that the food was not yet ready to be served! Guests had to wait 5-10 mins before the first course started after we had already marched in and were seated. Everyone had to wait so long before the first course started.
4) As we were pouring champagne, the glasses toppled! Yes - no kidding! You can imagine what a horrific moment that was. Some of the champagne spilled onto my evening gown, some glasses broke. When we complained about this after the dinner, the assistant manager said this was because we poured the champagne too fast. Can you imagine! They had to cheek to push the blame to us!
5) As I returned to the office, so many colleagues complained about the service level. So many examples of poor service for the waiters serving my colleagues. Too many examples to name. Btw, yes, in my opinion, the food standard did drop from food tasting to AD for my case
6) Parking - this was a mess. So many ppl complained. Many had to resort to valet parking, URA carparks were not easily available either, some of my guests had to resort to parking at other places such as Wheelock Place.
7) Photo montage - was played even before it was suppose to. It went on up till my hubby's solo section was already almost completed before my brother finally got hold a staff to get them to stop it. So it spoiled the "fun" for our guests when we replayed it before our first march in.
8) Rostrum mike did not work during speech. Finally ended up using the wireless mikes instead.

Well, these were some of the "hiccups" we experienced. Hope you ladies can learn something from our experience and have a smoother AD. Overall, the level of service on the AD was really below our expectations, did not expect this from a 5 star hotel. But agree with some of the previous posts that June’s service was good. But at the end of the day, the delivery of the service on the AD was not up to par. Our 2 cents worth

Hi minxX.. really sorry to learn the hiccups you had experienced during your AD dinner.

June has repeatedly assured us that Hilton is trying to improve on their services based on couple's feedback but seems like things have not changed for better.

what's it paying for the "bad service" of a "5-star" rated hotel?? imagine our efford would just go down the drain with the bad encounters during AD?? imagine having to face with bad comments from colleagues the next day back to work..

realised Hilton services has gone down in the past 2 years.. things are no longer the same as what we heard / learnt from forum. is it a way to cut the operational cost??

really hope Hilton would take the feedback seriously, else for sure they will loose all the potential customers..

Oh No! What's happening to Hilton?!? I'm really freaking out even thgh my AD nt near yet. Bad service by waiter/waitresses & big drop in food quality.

Thks minxX for sharing with us... was ur wedding on a weekday? What's rostrum mike btw? Did the banquet mgr inform u to pour the champagne slowly b4hand?

lladro: Thing is, her assurance to us is one issue but whether feedbacks are really conveyed to the relevant depts is another matter. There's onli so much June can do. Wat abt ur own prep? So far smooth going?

pringirl: Actually I've seen AD photos of champagne pyramid toppling... but the bride was actually laughing away while the groom carried a shocked expression. :P It turned out to be a candid shot snapped by their photographer. However on a more serious note, unstable champagne pyramid is indeed a worrying factor as flying glass shards might still hurt ppl. In any case, the banquet mgr shld nt hv said dat to the couple.

Hi Mrs Tan,

Panorama can be considered pillarless but there's still some blocking of view if guests happen to sit at the innermost tables. Those are the partition walls within Panorama itself, in the event they need to use only part of the ballroom for other functions.

Grand Ballroom has 3 pillars. Not too sure abt Vista. Hope the pics are clear enuff! Have sent the photos to you via email!

Hi BTBs, just back from our honeymoon! It was really good!!!!! but back to reality (work) tomorrow ;)

Blureth: yes, our wedding was held on a weekday, rostrum mike is the one on the wooden panel on the stage.. nope, no one gave instructions on the speed of pouring the champagne, but netherless, the glass pyramid needs to be stacked in a sturdy manner to cater to any speed of pouring right? this is something very basic i feel... when the glasses toppled, of course we couldn't look horrified in front of the gusts, so shortly after, we continued pouring to whatever glasses were remaining so that we can still do the bride and groom cross arm toast...

My advise ladies: If unfortunately any hiccups occur, just STAY COOL & ENJOY!... Ultimately it's your big day! One of the happiest days of your life so must enjoy and smile
Despite the hiccups, we are happily married now!

Hi ladies, sorry to hear so many hiccups. I just had my BIG day early Dec 07. I was just like any brides to be, excited but yet very worried especially seeing so many bad feedbacks frm forum hence my expectation towards Hilton dropped tremendously. Food during food tasting was not to our standard either and we did gave some feedback to the chief (eg: fish was tough, sharkfins lousy etc).

To cut story short, everything turn out WELL!!! Feedback from our relatives and friends are good even till now that we are back from honeymoon hee hee. The only bad remark so far that we have heard was that the waiter broke some bowls at the back of the function hall. Well, nothing is perfect and it is quite common these days (at least it's towards the end of the dinner). Otherwise, the guest mentioned that the food was nice, the ambience was good especially with the swimming pool which is something different from others that they have attended. They love the exclusive idea (whole level to us only). My hubby and i have no regret holding our big memorable day at Panorama. In fact, we even hold our ROM by the pool, before the dinner of cause.

To certain extend, i have to agreed with the ladies here that carpark is a BIG problem at Hilton even if the guests have the URA coupon. So what we did was that we pre-alert our guest on that and in fact many of them are aware of the it (perhaps from their previous experienced), so some of our friends told us that they are prepared not to drive and take public transport instead..so see, that actually reduced the number of unhappy guests

About the food, well i guess we have only about 20 tables that day so with smaller number of tables to handle should be okay.

My advise ladies - don't hold very high expectation and you will be a more happier bride hee hee. Well, just relex, everybody has different encounter, it may not be as bad as you think ;) *wink*

If you just got married, can intro some AD photography and videography.

Very stress up....

Any advise when looking for AD photography and videography?

blur_angel, sweet of you to share ur experience here... Guess we just have to hope for the best... Dun expect too high, phaps things will turn out for the better.

Oh, may I know how ur tables for reception by the pool is decorated? Cos I'll be having my wedding at Panorama as well. So far, prefer those outside Vista/Grand Ballroom instead of Panorama as they are 'dressed' more elegantly. Thks...

hi blur_angle, great to hear that your wedding dinner turned out well. with good comments on foods. seems like both of us were panicked over the same things, eg. the fish was tough, sharkfins lousy etc after the food tasting.. after your feedbacks to chief, did you still go ahead with this 2 dishes? if yes, were these 2 dishes turned out nice?

despite the worries, we still opt to have the shark fin and steamed fish. no other choice available. we talked to the chief and can just pray hard the foods will turn out to be good..

hi blureth, was dissapearing quite awhile.. yupe, am rather busy over the preparation. time is ticking away.. 3 more weeks to go to the big day. rather nervous now.. argghh..

will hav my dinner at Panaroma, same as you. when is ur AD? how's the preparation?

lladro: heh, oh my, 3 more weeks... GDL over liao? my AD in June... now i'm fretting over wedding shoes. Cos need to get them b4 my gown fitting & PS in Mar.
Today juz went to City Plaza & Paragon, din see anything I like. Previously had tried almost the whole stretch of Orchard, still nothing interested me to even try on. Really praying hard I won't hv to custom-make my wedding shoes.

Btw when will Hilton call us for food tasting b4 our AD again? Cos I think my MIL will be making changes to the menu b4 food tasting session.

lladro - yes we went ahead with the 2 dishes, feed back for fish was nice (surprise to me hee hee) as for sharkfins nobody comment on that.

blureth - June will send you by post the dates to take note like when do you have to arrange for food tasting, printing of cards etc. My wedding in Dec and my food tasting in Oct. So don't worry you are still on track

hi blureth - ya. GDL over already. it was last week. ya, finding shoes was a big headache for me as well. gotta have shoe which is not too high becuase me and hubby are abt the same height. after the search, i got my shoe custom made by leaping lizard. btw, what kind of height and color are you looking for?

hi blue_angel - it was indeed great to hear the fish turned out nice. personally, i don't eat sharkfin. so, can't really comment much on it during food tasting. but, my aunt didn't like the taste. well, i've reached a point where somehow i gotta accept what we've decided. worries on foods, services and parking will never end if i keep on dwell over it.. arrgghh.. there are still lots of things to settle...

blur_angel: ok...dat means rite aft CNY, i'll be quite busy liao. :P Printing, did U engage the one tied-up wiv Hilton or did U get one urself outside?

lladro: For me, lotsa designs out there I dun like. Went to Essex Walk & Leapin' Lizard yday...Liked a design @ Essex Walk but costs $380 & takes 6 wks to 2 mths to custom make from UK!! Dun think I'll wanna spend this amt for wedding shoes. The staff there said the design I chose is the simplest they have on display. LOL. As for Leapin' Lizard (LL), Isaac attended to me, nice guy & attentive (no other custs in the shop 'cept for my mom & me). Designs there, din see any I like. Btw how do U find the quality of ur LL shoes? Good? Did U custom-make based on the designs U see in LL shop? Hw much did U spend for them?

I'm looking for gold shoes (don't want metallic or too yellowish kind of gold), abt 3 - 3.5". Want a simple & elegant design. Ankle strap, open toe, straps design for the front part.

you can try Pedal Works in Amara Shopping.
i bought one pair with tie back ribbon ankle strap in nice swarovski crystal, in front jus a simple strap with open toe. they also do make to measure for 20% more

Blureth - no, i didn't engage the one tied-up with Hilton. I get my own printer.

lladro - yes, don't worry too much, i am sure you will be a much prettier and happy bride. You will get very very super uptight when nearer. Oh yes, my advise take 1 week leave if you can to finish up whatever u need to do before the wedding otherwise you will be even more stress. My hubby and i only took 3 days leave before the wedding and guess what, till the night before our wedding we still meet up hahahah...no kidding..

hi blureth.. i bought a pair fr. Tangs before deciding to custom made my shoe with LL. so, it was kinda regretted of spending something extra. the shoe custom made by LL is ok. to me, more importantly is be able to get shoes with the right height and size for me. got only plain shoes from them, added the crystals myself.. so, save quite a bit from there..posted my shoe from LL, for your reference.
594199.jpg
594200.jpg

hi blur_angle - ya, agreed. am always thinking there are things which haven't finish yet.. anyway, thanks for the advices you've given so far..

lladro: U got both pairs of heels from LL? Wow, U actually added the crystals urself... I am thinking of getting a plain pair (with no crystals) from them too if I really gotta custom make. Are they all satin? Like the simplicity of ur designs...

blur_angel: Oh no, heard quite a num of brides getting their printers... think it's gonna be another research then for me liao. Argh...@_@

hi blureth.. ya, both pairs are from LL, and they are satin. added the crytals myself.. pretty easy. learnt the tips from previous post. you may wanna check out for more details from the link below.

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/3/490854.html?1186372262

hey.. didn't get my invitation card insert printed by AWT cos find their charges is alot more expensive. got ours printed by Speed Technology at very reasonable price. you may contact them for more details if you want to.. contact is given below.

Speed Technology
Catherine Peh
6741 0083

cheerss...

hahahah i used Speed Technology too. Catherine is a very nice lady..she was also recommended to me by another of my friend..

LOL. But if I remember someone saying the address of Speed Technology, like in the East rite?

Btw, I found my gold heels yday!! Heh... see wat my designer says when I go for 1st fitting. If not ok & not enuff time, plan to use the heels for PS, then custom make for AD. :P

HiHi ladies, didnt know there are so many bad remarks abt Hilton. Well, mine was held early Jan 08 and it was at Panorama Room. I must say we have no regrets to hold the wedding with Hilton. I like the idea of chilling out at the poolside during cocktail serving and it was kinda exclusive since it's the only function room at that level. Overall feedback from friends and relatives was good regarding the banquet services and no complaint on food so far. The banquet manager was very experienced and guided me and my hubby throughout the dinner what to do, get prepared to leave for clothes change and stuff like that.
I guess they have really shown some improvements in their services then. In fact my friends were impressed by their services. The only disadvantage was the parking lot. Many guests complained about the parking lot and they had to park outside the hotel and was really crowded as 3 function rooms were holding wedding banquets on the same day. I thanked June as well, she's really nice and accommodating. I am quite happy with them. The initial part was more difficult like negotiating for some additional perks but eventually we worked it out with them.

Hi pepperoni, thks for sharing ur experience wiv us... This made me & my hubby felt sooo much better. We were kinda worried when negative comments juz kept coming and were getting discouraged. It's really nice to hear dat both food & service has improved... Hope to hear more good comments... I'm holding my wedding at Panorama too this coming June. Juz received a letter from June with a portion of URA carpark coupons & an estimated "when to do what" list.

Btw, is the sound & PA system good there? Cos I'm quite a music fanatic so I'd pretty much like the sound system to be at least clear-sounding. I've been to weddings where the music sounded like they were playing from behind layers of cotton, all muffed up.

lladro: Remember to update us wiv ur wedding experience at Hilton Panorama!!

hi blureth..i'm back! back from yesterday dinner at Panaroma! must say it is indeed a memorable one for us! agreed with pepperoni, thk Hilton has improved alot on their service and foods standard. guests commented good foods and service. but not too sure for the feedbacks on carpark cos' we have upfront informed the guests abt carpark problem, so many of them choosed not to drive.

there were some issue on the seating arrangement (thk it is due to our own fault), but luckily June was there to assist us.

personally thk that the services provided is excellence. if you remember i was hell worried on their food standard, but to our surprise the taste turned out to be much better than the foods during trial dinner. thk Hilton really taken note customers comments seriously. so, jus highlight to them should there be change / improvement is required during trial dinner.

hey.. Panorama is smaller in scale compared to grandballroom. and it doesn't look as grand. however, it does have its own uniqueness. it is really meant for those who has smaller groups of guests,whom prefer to have a casual feeling, being able to mingle around with guests.. so no regrets of choosing Panorama!

we would like to give credit to the banquet manager in-charged,Nic. He is very prompt in attending our requests, courtous.. he gave guidances throughout the session. Thanks, Nic!

also, Thank you very much to June for being so patient in accomodating to our requests. there were so many good comments abt her in previous posts. once again, June has done a great done!

hi blureth.. thk the sound system is fine. what is determining the outcome is the song quality. so long it is of original version, then there wouldn't be any prob.

lladro & pepperoni, how's the poolside cocktail reception being decorated? Cos the few on-site viewings I went to, it seems pretty bare...

Thks lladro for ur feedback on the sound system...

Hi Blureth, I don't remember there's any decor at the poolside. We don't really care actually, i think the decor in the function room is more important. Sound system is ok, no problem with that. But music was quite soft initially, u can get the technician to increase the volume, not an issue at all.
Hi nt 259, i'll pm u my PG and VG. I think they did a good job too. Very good co-ordination on the AD between the 2 of them and received compliments from the photo highlights of the day. Check it out.