Hilton Hotel

All hilton brides, do you all find that hilton is not really flexible in some stuff? have u all consider about the parking problems (lack of hotel car park lots) before you all book hilton?
dunno why maybe coz my wedding is just around the corner, i find that whatever i asked from June also cannot...sucks...kindof pissed off

lladro: My AD is 14 June 2008. When do U hv to give June/Rachel ur no. of cfm tables? Wat are U adding to ur floral decor?

Geraldine: So did U change any dishes on ur menu? Wat wedding favors U giving?
Before I signed up wiv Hilton, oredi heard abt parking probs from Hilton brides liao. Still chose it cos it is not too far to walk from Orchard MRT & this would be good for relatives/frens who dun have cars to commute in. Of cos heard dat food there oso not too bad plus we using Panorama with poolside reception, whole floor exclusive to us. Hehe...
kao_babydust.gif
Wat did U ask from June dat she rejected? Phaps ur wedding is near, thus more kanjiong?

Ling: Still have yet to settle my AD PG yet. Gonna go wiv TC recommendations 1st.

Geraldine.. when is your AD? sorry if i've asked this before.. have been very forgetful recently..

in fact, i was rather stress out through out the trial dinner. the foods didn't turn out to be as good as what i imagined. cracking head now to look at other available dishes to swap around. not sure how much gotta pay if we reqeust to go for another round of food tasting on those dishes that we reqeust to change.

yupe.. car park is really a big headache for dinner at Hilton. this wasn't really in our consideration when looking arnd for venues.. what to do, just gotta highlight to our guests, reqeust them to come early so to secure a lot..

what are the things you've been requesting from June? wanna share? think you're too stress out.. hoping everything to be as perfect as possible for the big day.. i started to feel bit kan chiong also.. can understand how you feel as the big day draws near.
Blureth.. not sure when am i suppose to confirm the tables to June. will find out more when we meet up with her next week..

my wedding 4 days away..i.e. 16/11/07 (Friday). Yesterday went to see the layout and design setting. It was really plain. kindof sad by the decor. Doesnt match with a 5 star hotel. Hubby think its ok, but not ok for me lor. dunno how to improve it also. and the carpark situation...i see already i want to faint. we were parking our car in the carpark and when we left hilton at 8+, our car were blocked by many many cars, and the valet have to reverse one by one then we can go out...and practically only one lane to go out..very squeezy...

blureth: i have chosen the keepsake box and the cherisi bear, alternate on each table. Ya, i alternate the dishes between the 2 menus, instead of honeydew sago, i had it changed to mango puree. very nice.

one of the things is the corkage charges for red wine. dont wanna talk abt it already. sian...

confirmation of the number of tables, can be one week before actual dinner, so no worries for u all ok...

Managed to talk to june just now, maybe things can be discussed ba...

Any Hilton brides here had asked to do photoshoot within Hilton Hotel, phaps even using one of the suites for a few hrs?

Geraldine: What theme did U choose? Btw when did U sign up wiv Hilton exactly?

Juz try to relax... things will work out by itself. Yes, talk to June. I'm sure she shld understand the anxiety of brides-to-be after being in the industry for so long...13 yrs with Hilton if I remember. Do let us know the outcome of ur discussion.

Hi nt259 : My AD PG is Yuhsin fm TinyDot Photography & his number is 91075546. As for VG, his name is Dino fm Brilliant Pic & can be contacted @ 81275210.

Geraldine : Oh my.. can totally understand your stress level now.. But you should try to relax & take things a lil easier. Like that then can look mei mei on your AD mah.. =)

Well, I have to agree that Hilton's parking situation isn't exactly ideal & could be a nitemare to any driver. But its something that you can't change by being unhappy.. So no point worrying over this.. Let your guest handle their parking headaches themselves.. Okie? Aiya, you trust me k? It isn't that bad lah.. Surprisingly Sporeans are pretty good at finding spots to park in Orchard. =)

As for the wedding theme.. which did you choose? Btw, which ballroom you taking? Actually it doesn't look that bad after the lights are dimmed & the mood is set. Maybe you can ask Hilton to provide more flowers or even lil tea candles? But to me, what's important is that my guest enjoy the food and remember the way I look in my gowns.. Keke... =P

Aey.. as for the corkage charges.. I am sure June has her restrictions... Why dun you consider taking their house wine? I am sure she can give you a good deal if you take all the wines fm them.. =)

Geraldine.. 4 more days to your big day! agree with Ling, try to relax and pamper yourself with good spa so to look great on your actual day k.. looking fwd to see your beautiful AD photos k..

Ling: Did U attend an actual wedding to know it din look too bad "after lights are dimmed & mood is set"? :P Guess I'm more or less like U too, guests must enjoy the food & remember the way I looked. Haha...

Erm, no one replied, so I'm juz posting this question again. "Any Hilton brides here had asked to do photoshoot within Hilton Hotel, phaps even using one of the suites for a few hrs?" Heh...

Geraldine: Relax urself... *breathe in, breathe out*

sorry blureth, have not came across such encounters before. we had this idea initially, expecially shooting around the lobby, designer shops which to me can be very classy.. however, we didn't pursue on this. thk you can always chk with June for the clearance, and am sure this can be done.

if you decided to take photoshoot at Hilton, you may wanna proceed to wheelock plc. ever seen a very nice photos where the bride posed on the staircases infront of ZARA, beside the Hermes..

Thank you everyone....
Maybe now then i started get stressed out, thats why i had fever last night and pimples popping!
Last minute really alot of problem seems to come by, 1stly table seating, 2nd i have problems with my gown! Luckily bridal shop managed to change another one for me...

But after discussion with June & my hubby, seems like things are better now. June had been very nice and accomodating already.

Dunno why i suddenly just feel like getting the wedding over. Sian lor~~

'Breathing in and out"

Geraldine:

U had ur facial yet? Mebbe can get beautician to help on the pimples. Phaps even do a massage to relieve some of dat stress.

Glad to hear dat June has been nice & accomodating. Heh... When ur wedding is really over, U might wish instead dat time could stop at dat moment ar! Haha... Things will work out lar. Juz concentrate on being a happy bride this Fri, like all of us have been telling U...*breathe in somemore thru the nose, hold for 5 secs, breathe out thru the mouth* Pls repeat the above action till U feel better. :P

Distract U...where U going for honeymoon?

lladro:

Taking photoshoot in Hilton was actually suggested by my photographer. He said it's best to get a brightly lit & spacioius room. Even said it would be good if we can go Presidential Suite or something. Haha... 2-3 hrs shld be enuff, according to him. But since my PS is in Mar 08, mebbe ask June in Dec or Jan next yr. :P

Of coz can share, just copy & paste only mah. here goes:
1) Abundance of Fortune (Roasted Suckling Pig, Prawns Salad, Pomegranate Chicken, Poached Chicken with Spices & Soya Sauce, Gold Coin Meat)
2) Braised Shark’s Fin Soup with Shredded Jellyfish & King Crabmeat
3) Braised Sliced Abalone & Sea Cucumber served with “Hong Kong†Kai Lan
4) Hilton Signature Herbal Empress Chicken
5) Stir-fried Fresh Scallops & Prawns with Celery
6) Steamed Spotted Live Garoupa with Yellow Bean Crumb (Feedback – Yellow Bean Crumbs are not crispy enough)
7) Stir-fried Three-flavor Mushrooms with “Taiwan†Cabbage
8) Golden Strands of Ee-Fu Noodles Braised with Shredded Chicken and Dried Sole
9) Chilled Mango Puree with Sago Pearl & Pomelo
*Jasmine Tea

*Chili Padi for every table

thanks there!!
went for food tasting last, and got real worry especially for the steamed Garoupa.. the meat tasted rather hard. were you experienced the same?

is the stir-fried 3-flavour mushrooms with taiwan cabbage tasted really nice? we tot of changing the Braised Mushroom With Oyster Sauce On Fresh Green Vegetables to this dish..

geraldine, bluereth and other btbs,
may i have the contact for hilton?
would like to get their 2008 pricing lah..
do they ever have a wedding show?
i find their website soooooo irritating... :P

Hi Nec,

You can call June at 67303211. She is my coordinator. However she is on leave today.. But you may still leave her a voice mail. She will definitely return your call. Aey, I don't remember Hilton having any wedding shows leh.. But I do know that sometimes they have tied ups with credit cards for special promos.

Ling:

HAPPY BDAY TO YOU!!! Hahaha... Many happy returns!!!
Anyway, let us know how ur food tasting session went today, ok?

lladro:

Besides the chef, was ur coordinator there during ur food tasting session?

Nec:

I too dun remember them having wedding shows. I think for 2008, they got promo wiv UOB. Do cfm wiv them when U call up.

nope.. June wasn't there during the trial dinner. the chef was attended to us in the end of dinner to listen to our feedbacks / comments.

Ling.. you went for your trial dinner? how was it?

IIadro: Ya, the 3 types of mushrooms were nice..i like those taiwan cabbage, u know those cabbage transparent type vege? i didn select xiaobai cai coz i was thinking that one easily find and cheap only. Notice that i changed abit of things, e.g the ee fu noodles also fried with mushroom, so we changed to dried sole & chicken. Then instead of just "Braised Sliced Abalone “Hong Kong†Kai Lan, we changed to sliced abalone & sea cucumber with kai lan. and i changed the honeydew sago to mango sago. taste great.

And then hor, the actual chef that come and talk to you when u having the food tasting and the actual day chef is not the same person lor! U knw how come i know? coz that day i went down to see the layout, the banquet manager was introducing me to the chef, and diff person! Anyway, you have to assure yourself that the taste definitely will be diff, coz its 1 to 1 and 1 to 20...so standard sure drop...

blureth: thank u for the consolation ya...i feeling better already. Anyway, my wedding is tomorrow only. stressed until maximum liao, so now must relax.

Sob...me not going for honeymoon yet. Have to see what is the results for the banquet...if no lose $, then can go lo.

lladro: forget to answer yr earlier query abt the fish. Yes, i also encounter the same thing. garoupa taste is like tat one, it is fresh u knw, the meat is not hard la, its stiff stiff right, then like chewing on meat. its like that. usually wedding dinner ppl serve this kindof fish. not to worry ok...its only u choose what kind of cooking style, just dont choose teochew style (means steam with salted veg etc)

Geraldine.. will be attending a wedding tomorrow, but will be at Intercontinetal Hotel. enjoy your big day and to look good k!

ya.. precisely the description on steamed Garoupa. the meat is stiff. it is so different from the normal steamed fish that i eat.. my aunt has been selling fish porriage for many years.. she condemed alot on the fish. instead of taking risk to have steamed fish, she advised to consider the friend twin soon-hock.. sigh...

braised mushroom that we had tasted really bad. the chef then recommend us to have the 3-types of mushroom as the replacement.

the Braised Sliced Abalone Served With “Hong Kong†Kai Lan tasted good. any comments on the sea-cucumber? tot of adding the sea cucumber because the abalone looks just too much on the plate..

Geraldine:

Hope U're oredi in dreamland at this hour, cos ur wedding is TOMORROW!!! OMG!!! SO excited for U... Everything will turn out fine! Remember to stay tuned to this thread & chat with us till we all married ok? :P

lladro:

Enjoy the wedding dinner tmr! Hmm, my MIL was saying dun want soon hock fish when she went thru the menu. She's oso quite picky on food...guess tasting might change her mind.

Hi Ling (ling1411),
Would u be so kind as to PM me what you're charged for your AD photography and videography?
I'm doing all the sourcing, my HTB is the "director" who does the approving!

Hi Ling (ling1411),
Would u be so kind as to PM me what you're charged for your AD photography and videography?
I'm doing all the sourcing, my HTB is the "director" who does the approving!

Lay Ling!!! U're finally back. Been busy with work? Cos after U sign up with Hilton, didn't hear much from you liao. I same as you lor, doing all the sourcing, then hubby will be the one to help confirm.

Ling: How's ur food tasting?

Haha, I was away on a trip to Swiss/Italy, came back earlier this week. It was COLD!!! Can't imagine what it'll be like in jan!

Now I'm looking into the BS part. Hey, you're with Ted Collection right? Can share with me how much it costs approx. via PM?

Ya, my wedding finally over. Overall some minor hiccups but too be frank i am not very happy with hilton. June was nice and accomodating and the banquet manager in charge was really experienced and provide the best service.

But some problems ~~ waitress inexperienced, spilled red wine on my thai relatives (lucky they stayed at hilton so went up to change), the bartender spoilt one of the red wine, the cork sucked inside and waste that bottle. Asked for chilli padi and normal big chilli given.

and D for the food, absolutely different from actual food tasting. The sharkfins was cold and the dessert cannot see the mango...haha...

So everyone here please be prepared ok...and those having their dinner at vista room, pls pray hard that there is not other function at the grand ball room, it was a mess when there was 2 functions. I had guests over at grandball room came over and took our red wine and even wanted to sign in!! heng i told him, i dun think i knew him then he realized he walk to the wrong one.

Above for all of your info only...Service by June & Matthew had been nice

blureth : It was for leisure. Going nuts at work, so needed a break. No lah, not going again in Jan, don't think my boss will okay that even if I have the funds to go again!

Geraldine : Sorry to hear about the hiccups. BTW, just to consult you guys, my friend was saying something about needing to control red wine intake and how the waiters pour the wine coz they'll start refilling like it's plain water. Is that true and how to control if true?

Hi Nt259 & Lay Ling: Erm... I signed up with my PG & VG some time back so the pricing I had is no longer applicable. You may wish to email them for their packages/prices & availablility. Let them know you have been referred to by Alicia.
Yuhsin (PG) : [email protected]
Dino (VG) : [email protected]

Hi Geraldine: Glad your stress is finally over. Haha. Oh my.. did all that happened during your wedding? Shark fin was cold? How about the other dishes? Served cold as well? Actually this is one of my main concern... cos I heard all 3 ballrooms are taken on my AD. I really wonder how their chef will be coping with the various banquet going on at the same time...

Actually when I went to view Euphoric Romance @ Panorama last time, a num of banquet waiter/waitresses looked pretty young, I guess many are there on holiday jobs. I wonder if there's any way we can work ard this prob of inexperienced staff.

Geraldine: When u say the bottle of red wine wasted but it's the fault of the bartender, shldn't they compensate another bottle instead? Oh, U mean U were out attending to guests oredi even b4 ur 1st march in?

Lay Ling: Wat I heard from my cousin was, to instruct banquet staff dat they are to refill red wine only upon request and not like normal drinks e.g. chinese tea, soft drinks where they'll keep refilling. Geraldine, did u do any red wine control on ur AD?

Ling: How's ur food tasting dat day? Oh no, guess I better chk wiv June if there's other weddings ongoing on my AD too.

Lay Ling: My suggestion is for you to start serving red wine only when dinner commences. I'll be doing that on my AD.

Blureth: Food tasting was ok.. Some of the dishes needs improvement but some tasted fabulous. My fav was the prawns with sambal sauce & the vege dishes... Actually I just emailed June some of my comments & concerns.. Guess we will probably meet up soon to dicuss on how best to improve on the menu.. =) But I believe things will turn out well. Have faith in them. Keke...

Geraldine: Did you get your red wines fm them? How many bottles was consumed that evening?

Geraldine.. sorry to hear that there were some hiccups. but, at last the stress is over... now, you can do things which you've been postponed due to the wedding preparation.

ya, a fren went for a wedding dinner @ Hilton. heard the service wasn't upto the standard as well. pretty worrying becuase professional service was one of our considerations for choosing to have dinner @ Hilton.

learnt that all function rooms would be up for wedding dinner on my AD dinner. am praying hard everything will go smoothly..

The time when I went down to sign the contract I visited the Grand Ballroom, the waitresses looked pretty "senior", if you know what I mean.

Guess it's the school vacation now? Oh no, my AD is in late Nov around this period too... My concern is more on food though.

We can only keep our fingers cross that all goes well. Let's keep the faith! Haha...

Thanks ling and blureth on the tips on the wine consumption. Just worried what people will think if I start limiting wine consumption only when dinner starts, HTB super-concerned on the "well-being" of the guests, esp. his friends so he may take some persuading! =(

Will take note to ask them to note to top up wine only when requested though!

Ling: Yes, the food was really not up to the standard, absolutely different from food tasting. Please dont expect too much. All the ballrooms if taken, esp vista and grand ballroom. Have the banquet manager arrange someone to guide the guests. some are coming from the escalator, some from the lifts.

Lay ling: I did not control the intake of the red wine. In fact, i bought 48 bottles there and only consume 24 bottles. There is no way that u can control on the red wine. I even asked waiter to leave one whole bottle on several tables coz one bottle can pour limited glasses only. On the controlling part, u just have to set a limit on the bottles to be open, consult someone when the target is hit. to continue or to stop. I did not get the red wine from them. I purchased outside. Their red wine average cost about $30+ ok. the cheapest one.

Blureth: I was out during cocktail. Coz i had a cocktail dress. I didn wear my wedding gown. I think it is the best time (sober time) to mingle with the guest and take photos and at the same time, guide the ppl. The bottle of red wine wasted, practically there is nothing u can do right? u wouldn know is it the fault of the bartender or wat. Just take it as bad luck.

And girls, i tell u...no matter what instructions given or u want them to follow. ITS REALLY HARD lor...actual day can never follows wat u want. Cos u wouldn want the whole thing to look not nice also right? Initially i didn want to serve red wine on cocktail, but insisted by hubby and i think it was nice, coz i realize there are really alot of ppl consume red wine while at reception.

Iladro: normally those working are part timers. they cant be as professional lor, which i think personally. even the waitress who was serving VIP was a young lady.

And forget to tell u all, the car park situation was really really bad...my guests told me they had a hard time fnding lots at the URA car park. Some have to park further away from the hotels...

I hope i did not miss out any replies....if any other queries that i miss out, please post again ok. will drop by again even though my wedding is over.

Note to all hilton brides here:

Above comments are just my personal views. Service provided by June & the banquet manager was really great and experienced.

There are bounds to be cock ups or maybe some last minutes situtions. But hope everything will turn out fine for everyone here. The dry ice machine was great too, not like wat i expected. And its a nice staff who operated the machine ya

nt259:

My photographer and videographer are from malaysia....they are really professional and service really good...if you dont mind then i recommend u

hi Geraldine.. how was the dry ice effect? how was it done? was it machine operated? have seen from frends' weddings where the hotel stuff came with pails.. the dry ice effect started when they pour something into bowls which are normally place near to the aisle decor stands.

lladro: The dry ice was a machine...small machine only, operated by a lady staff, she moved along the aisle in quite a fast manner. in fact nobody notice her la, coz most people were focus on us whom were marching in... there were no staff standing there holding kettles or watsoever..it was nice actually.

hope that your wedding will be a huge success. mine was bad actually, too many last minute problems at hilton....even now i still receive bad feedback from my guests

thanks Geraldine.. mind to share what were the bad feedbacks? if there are something which we can avoid then definitely hope to learn from you..

Geraldine: Haha...I had originally wanted to opt out of dry ice effect, but since U said it was nice, mebbe I'd give it a 2nd thought.
So meaning the lady operating the dry ice machine was some distance in front of you as you marched in?? Nice to mingle wiv guests b4 dinner starts but most likely I'd be wearing my WG for 1st march-in, dun think poolside spacious enuff for me to move abt & mingle wiv my guests. Heh... It'd be good if you can share with us your bad feedback, so we can try to work ard them.

lladro: A fren of mine oso attended a Hilton wedding recently at Vista Ballroom. However, he only commented dat the food generally OK except he found the fish kinda overcooked. Not sure if he juz din wanna put it too harshly as he know I'd be having my wedding there.

Lay Ling: Discuss wiv ur HTB on banquet details, still got plenty of time.
It never crossed my mind to start serving red wine during cocktail though, will see wat hubby thinks of such an idea. Heh...

Ling: Really hope they can buck up on the food quality lor. I mean, if they can be good, standard shldn't drop too far behind on AD rite? :P My MIL & hubby quite fussy abt food, can only hope it won't be disappointing on our AD.

blureth.. now you realy make me worried. the feedback on food is not ok! i got my aunt to attend my trial dinner, hoping that she can give some concrete feedback as she is pretty fussy about food. even though she din't condemn much but can tell from her expression that the food wasn't upto the standard. it was the trial dinner and food supposed to taste good. can't imagine how would be the standard during actual dinner??!

am sure will be condemned on the limited car parks.. and really don't hope to receive bad feedback on the food.

lladro: Eh...din mean to make U worried leh.
My fren onli commented it's generally OK...so meaning overall still not too bad. Ur aunt din like the food during trial dinner? Did U ask her to voice out to the chef then?

As for carpark prob, I plan to advise those coming by car to come really really early, if not, take public transport would be better. After all, it's not too long to walk from Orchard MRT. Anyway, not within our control liao.

Lay Ling: Actually for banquet staff, so far I went to view 2 wedding setups, saw some familiar faces amidst the staff and they are more auntie types. Guess they shld be perm staff. It shld be hard for Hilton to engage too many perm banquet staff as there are mths where there aren't many banquets to be held, thus during busy mths, temp staff are employed to tide over bah. Think it really can't be helped.

For my case, i really had alot of problems with hilton and also even after the wedding, i still received bad feedback from guests. Heard until so sad, although its already over, i still feel sad.

blureth: i think the dry ice machine is really nice and the staff who is pushing it is a lady, smartly dressed and she was fast. definitely wont knock into u. it is something special i think, rather than those waiters standing by the aisle pouring into the dry ice (that was when i was working in hotel 10 years back).

I dont think it is nice to comment here, coz what happened to me might not happened to anyone. Hope Hilton will made improvements. I already considered myself "suay" to choose hilton without thinking. blamed myself only...