Hilton Hotel

Joanne...
my AD's on a weekend. yeah...I managed to get CONFIRM on the contract. bargained really hard before she gave me more beer and wine corkage too. but maybe cos I was negotiating earlier... she was more flexible.

Morning timminbuzz

Oh icic.. so envy... hopefully Hilton can squeeze out a rm for me on the 2nd nite.. shld hv bargain harder tat time.. so hw many tables do u hv?

Joanne...
Good morning...hmmm...actually it's afternoon! haha...=) I have 40 tables and counting! haha... Quite scary... just thinking abt it. Thank God my wine corkage increases with the no. of tables. I would get 1.5l bottles too...so that I dun hv to limit my guests on wine.

TGIF ladies!!!! Best day of the week! haha....

Hi Dlim,

Can you also pls email me the pic of the red roses theme. My email is [email protected] My AD is 8Oct this yr and have juz gone for my food tasting and met up with the florist. Unfortunately i dun like the 3 themes i saw accept maybe the red roses theme still ok..Sigh..Hope all of u have better themes next yr..

Hi all Hilton brides,
Wow i was so surprised to hear that the rate for next yr has increase so much..I also manage to get 2 nites confirmed stay at the hotel and also a anniversary dinner.

Halo Timmin, wow tats quite a lot of tables.. mine is onli half of urs.. wat I think is tat wif little tables it is harder to neg.

Hihi stars, so ur AD is pretty fast lei, how is ur preparations so far n may I ask wat litte gifts did u choose for your guest?

Enjoy ur wkends to all of u out there!!

Hi Timminbuzz, yah..yours alot of tables man...(mine abt 20)maybe I think that's why she was flexible lah..more tables she more flaxi right? I tried asked a few things initially but she said must think over than let me know..seemed not that easy anymore...But I got myself to blame also la...I forgot to ask for waiver on red wine..only remembered the beer and other stuff....and it's too late..cos I signed contract leow...
looks like got to get those 1.5l wine..

Yah..for those that booked early this year...I tink she was rather flexi..but not those who book later...leh..

Btw, Dang got Bridal show I know about it leow..but..how much it's the discount any idea..I tink not much..right? If so for convenience, I may consider Flamingo lor... c how lah..my AD still a long way..;p

Hi Joanne,

I haven reali confirm the gifts for my guests yet but have been to see them and they are rather unique and different from the rest if the hotel. I am torn between choosing a magnet or a handphone deco thinng...hee hee. Preps are still alot to be done. Juz done the food tasting by hilton. Food and service that day is very good. Wonder if the AD will be that good as well? Haha

Halo stars,

Oh ic, so by when u hv to confirm? Keekee so happy to hear tat they hv nice gifts for the guests cos I was actually thinking of getting something else outside on top of the in house gifts..

Yeap guess u will b busy... btw Hilton had always been giving good service n nice food so dun worry..

Cat...
Yeah...have a lot of tables. No choice. All negotiations have to be done b4 signing, if not it's really hard. I'm not sure how much is the discount. Think it affects only those who want photography.

You still have a lot of time. Can decide in Dec or sth. I'll have to decide on my gown in Dec. So exciting! Can't wait... =D

Hi timminbuzz

I'm looking at Hilton now and just got the email from June...
Can you let me know what are the things that we can actually bargain from the hotel?

hi @stley...
You can try bargaining for more beer, wine corkage, 2nd night stay, carpark, invites etc. It really depends on what are your priorites. However, I negotiated the deal earlier this year and she appeared to be more flexible then. I think what you are getting from her now would be the new package prices and I dunno the details.

Hope this helped. =)

Thanks timminbuzz!

I've met June with my brother this evening...and if everything is fine with my parents we'll sign the contract with June when she's back on next wed...
We are looking at the $850 package for Vista Room. Package given 23L beer for min 20tables, no corkage for hard liquor, 70% cards exclude printing, wedding favours and signature book. The rest like 20% car park passes and 6paxs food tasting I think it's about the same... extra bonus is 1bottle of red wine per table for next year wedd

BTW, how much more do you ask for the beer?

@stley...
The amt of extra beer u can ask for depends on the no. of tables you're signing up for. The Vista Room has a max of 20 tables if I'm not wrong...u can try asking for 30l of beer or 2 barrels of 23l.

Yes..correct..you can ask for 30litres of beer.
I believe that extra nite may not be a problem too since their price also increased!!

er...carpark and cards (exclude printing) can't bargain much cos Hilton got small car park and printing ..standard everywhere lah..she can give about 75% on cards loh..

Food tasting..increase to 10please.

I booked after timminbuzz, somewhere in April this year and she din give me much waiver on the wine and extra nights..BOO HOO....but you can ask for extra nights lah..base on the price you are paying.

@stley...
Yup...guess you only need the beer. And corkage for hard liquor if you're serving them. And since the prices have increased, you should ask for the extra night.

You mean now there are different packages with different prices in Hilton?

I think current package is at 850 and 950 (pls correct me if I am wrong)

Previous package was at lower rate loh..for those who had booked much earlier...haiz.

Hi timminbuzz & CAT

Thanks for your infos...

I only manage to get 30L beers, +10% cards and +5% carpark. But June refused to give us another nite, she said unless we took the 40tables....! (yours also vista room right?) Anyway, I still request at least another deluxe room which is connected to the suite, but it's still under pending leh... Maybe I have not enough bargain power lah

I didn't ask for the wine corkage because we already have 20bottles complimentary wine for next year package, so we won't bring in any wine ourself. As for hard liquor, it's already waived in the package...

Yapz! it's either 850 or 950

CAT, yours food tasting for 10persons?

Hi @stley, food tasting can increase to 10 person no problem...I gathered they should give 20 complementary wine foc becos the price had increased..comes up to the same..for those who are holding to the old rate..so whether increase anot..doesn't make a difference..unless you get another night FOC, plus a few bottles wine waived than it's worth it.

My banquet's at the Vista room..20-22 tables.I asked for another day room from 12pm-7pm for my ah yee who will proceed to hotel straight from church service. carpark/ printing stuff..normal lor...abit of % increase only...sianz...
I also booked an extra room at a special rate at SGD150 for my SIL...also got 2 different flavours for my guests, food tasting for 10pax. I said I got big family.;p

getting married means less saving man...haiz.

nope..never heard of non-alcoholic beer/wine..man..anybody heard?

Non-alcoholic beer/wine? Never heard...they are called beer or wine due to their alcoholic content what...are you refering to those sparkling juices?

Hi Astley,

There is non-alcoholic beer around, and it has a strong malt taste. ..I took it in M'sia, not too sure if you can find it in S'pore

Btw, I m taking the Hilton Vista room in this coming Nov, and would be doing food tasting in Sep.

Cat & Ashley,
There is non-alcholic beer & wine around. There are quite a few brands in the market for the non-alcoholic beer. Very bland taste. The non-alcoholic wine unless you referring to sparkling juice. Both items can get it off from the supermarket such as NTUC.

Hi CAT

Hmmn... seems like it's easier to negotiate for those who book early this yr...
Jaclyn called yesterday and said that the management refused to let us have the connected room foc
They charge you SGD150?? But they quoted me SGD180!! Hmmn.... when's your AD? I wonder how/what they base on to charge....

Hi Ashley,

I only know it looks and smells like real beer, but taste abit sweet.... Yes! it's from M'sia... but I don't know the name, do you know? I hope to get some to prevent the groom get drunk!

Hi ic,

Can I know what is the brand you are refering to?

Hi @stley

think the basis is for 2006 weddings, they are not as willing to give many perks...just like many other hotels....all because 2006 is supposedly a good year for weddings

Hi stars,

Sorry for the late reply. I have sent you the link. Please check your email.

Thats very fast...2 months to go for your wedding. U must be very excited now.

I didnt really have a look at all the 3 themes yet except the rose theme. I went down to Hilton to view the design & it happened to be Rose Theme. I find it not bad although it is not really what i want. I hope they will have a better themes next year.

Good to hear that the food tasting & servcies are good. Dun worry, i believe it will be the same on your wedding day. Remember to share your photos with us!

Yes @stley, in addition to what Juv said 2006 Hotel Rates according to the hotel market will increase. Which is why the wedding package is much higher.

I agree can bargain much more things if I booked earlier..
free room and few bottles wine complementary...or wine cockage free..haiz.
Sorry..think I typed wrongly I was quoted 180 per extra room..but I never ask for connecting room..or room to be close to the bridal suite...for what? U suppose to lovey dovey with FH mah...and we haven proved the walls to be sound prove yet...
kek kek kek

Yes...another reason is lots of pple getting married for 2006 also! heh heh...

i am soo disappointed after meeting the co-ordinator last sat to discuss the package...

She simply never elaborate more abt the wedding... she just showed us the ballroom... and brought us to the dinner setup room.. and thats it... she never bother to say much things... we dun even FEEL special and that our wedding with them will be a memoriable one....

we had to ask things like what are the favours we can chose... can we have one more barrel, one more night stay.. she din seem to entertain us with our requests...she had them written down.. but we din know whether are they being considered... basically... she DIN even let us feel like her customer...

i had met better co-ordinator who bothers to know what are our priority when looking at venue... isit price, perks, ambience, co-ordinator, etc.... and even bother to explain more like telling us.. private recept area with bar will make guests feel easier to mingle ard... guests will be serve with mocktail for example to make guests feel welcome.... things like that....

hilton co-ordinator simply.... haii... we walk out of the hotel feeling disappointed....

Oh....dear....sorry to hear such comments on the coordinator bug..um....I think WHOEVER the coordinator is...she need warming up lah..initially when I was talking to her..she also wrote them down..but I reasured her I had attended wedding weddings at Hilton before and loved their theme...except food wise I not too happy...blah blah blah...once she hear your comments..and you came back to Hilton she will open up and talk to you cos she knows what your requests are and what your likes.

I was kind of nasty initally, I said "why can't I have 2 flavours for my guests-I attended PAN PAC wedding dinner and they had 2 different flavours for the guests?"

She bothered to show me later the bridal suite and explained to me the area outside the fucntion rooms is where we can mingle with our guests and where thery served cocktail....

I asked for some other minimal things and got what I want lo-eg. 2 flavours etc etc and some other perks...but not to free night and waiver of wine cockage.

I think maybe not her day la...she was okay with me after I spoke to her my needs and wants.
Although my perks are those smaller things..but I had great service from her le..

Sorry that you had such lousy feeling girl..

Hi Dlim,

Okie. Thanks for the pics. Ya i din reali like all the designs much except the rose theme. Sigh.
Will be going down to see the themes in sept when they have weddings.

Hi @stley,
I have 38 tables. But might increase.

Hi Stars,

Actually u can arrange to go down one of this weekends to see their themes if u r free. Dun really have to wait till sept.

Worst come to worst, if u really not comfortable with it, well...u still can change the theme to what u want except that u have to top up the difference.

Hi Dlim,

What do u mean that i can arrange to view the themes? I was told of the dates in sept where the different themes would be used and i can go down to see the themes..

Hi Dlim, yah...I was also told also that new themes would be out in sept..so for those of who wants to view the new themes can go down take a look...no need arrange with June mah..

Hey Cat,

Can i check with u regarding the new themes..Does it mean that the current theme of the roses, the fountain of wealth n etc will be change? If it is, i am very very happy coz i currently dun like the theme at all...Sigh! I chose hilton last time coz their themes have always been very new but this new florist with them for abt 7mths, i dun like the 3 themes i juz saw early this mth...how? N i dun wan to pay extra for flowers n deco..Btw when is yr wedding going to be?

Hi stars, my wedding is hell a long way..haaa..next yr!!

But this is what she told me...it would be changed this september, which I can go down take a look. But the thing is nobody can guarantee if they will still change again....for next year..ummmm

Actually the theme of roses and white roses one is not too bad what..I only afraid they change to soemthing else worse..that I dun like..than dead meat...leow..cos my guests sure lots of comments one!!!

But anyway it's my wedding la..I want everything swee swee..can those getting married this year do a verification for me if the theme would change huh? Timminbuzz can check for me? ;p

Hi stars & CAT,

Oic! I didnt know that the new themes will be out this sept. I thought next year. So any ideal which day we can go down to see the new themes?
Did June call & inform u abt this? I was not aware at all.

Hi Juv,

Ya... I can feel that too... prices went up but not much perks anymore... now only hope is they will change the themes... we dun like roses...

Hi twinstars,
can't remember the brand name. But i remembered it was a German brand, green can. They also sell the alcoholic version. Available at NTUC.

Hi CAT

HAHAHA.... Don't worry! We went to take a look at the suite already... The connected room is at the sofa side, and the suite have a "bedroom" with the door itself... if the connected door is closed, can't hear anything... hehehehehe.....

CAT, when's your AD?

Hi star,

IC, no wonder you can have the 2nd night stay

You don't like the roses theme? We too. Find that roses are too normal and abit dull.... Wanted to add some Lilies but wonder how they going to charge... Have you ever talk to Hilton about you don't like the themes? What did they say?

Hi @stley,

Ya i mention to June b4 and she said some couples also told her that but when they went down to see the deco for other couples wedding, they like it. I am very doubtful coz i dun like any of the themes at all coz i feel that it is not class especially the vines and twits hanging all around esp on the stage..SIgh...
Dun noe how... I reali hope that the themes will change coz my wedding is 8oct this yr which is very soon..Actually i signed up with hilton 1 yr ago n hence maybe that is y the perks i got is rather good.. ;P

Anyway...any one knows what the waiters at Hilton wears? Is it those with the Mandarin collars? If they are, i better warn hubby...dun think he wants to look like waiters....

attended one where groom and waiters wore very similar things except for the corsage...embarassing

Hi @stley, I saw the suite room too..but I was referring to the extra room leh the 180bucks per night one..(no need to be connected)not the next sofa room..that is inside the suite...which one you referring?

I asked for an additional day room..although the suite room has the dry toilet - with toilet bowl but it's not equiped with bathing facilities for my ah yee..(I neow dunwan them to use my toilet to BATHE leh!)

Yah..stars..good for you...good bargain..also lah..so lucky..now I sianz..no nights free..no wine cockage waived! BOO HOO

Juv, think the ast time I attended, they wore mandarin collared ones..but not sure change uniform anot? heh heh..play save...FH wear jacket lah..

Hi star,

IC... ya... since here so many of them also don't like the themes...
We're like you, don't feel like paying extra for the flowers just for that few hours and at the end it doesn't belongs to us also... Really hope they will have new themes coming soon...

Oh ya, how's the food tasting?
Which menu you chose? Did you do any swapping between the menu before the tasting?

Hi Juv,

I saw them wearing vest + Bow-tie last wednesday, but not sure whether are they going to wear this during the dinner...

Anyway, I'll go down to sign the contract on this wed/thur, I'll ask June and update here?

Hi CAT,

I'm also refering to the deluxe room (SGD180) which can be connected to the suite, the door is just beside the sofa area. (not the suite room) They will have their own toilet and bath area, after helping counting and records the angbaos thingy they will just close the door and sleep... the only thing is both room can share the sofa area... hehehe...

Girls, I'm going to sign the contract soon... Other than those things I requested, what are the things I need to look out in the contract? Because I'm afraid once I sign and nothing can be change liao...