Hilton Hotel

Virtual> perhaps some thing wrg with their domain

i send u a PM OK?

Dear Brides,

I just had my wedding at the Panaroma Room at the 24th Floor. Some of the unpleasant incidents that happened on the day are detailed below, for info. Pardon my ranting and raving as I felt really disillusioned.

Incidents:
1. My husband's name was mis-spelt on the signage and the dinner menu despite that we took the following measures:
(i) My husband's name was spelt correctly on the contract.
(ii) We have spotted the error during the food tasting session and have informed the management to change. But apparently our correction was not followed up.

Hilton’s Response: Oversight by the Coordinator and disciplinary have been taken.

2. Air-conditioning of the function room:
(i) The whole function room was very stuffy, with the problem more pronounced at the last segment of the room,. We have received numerous complaints on the actual day and endless complaints after the event from guests.
(ii) My colleagues said that there were water droplets dropping from the air-con vent onto my wedding albums at the reception.
(iii) There were also water droplets dripping onto my guests (hair, clothes and even into their food) at some tables. It was so bad that a staff has to go into ballroom twice to wipe the ceiling. The guests were asked to vacate the table so that she can use the "ceiling mop" (i.e. a cloth at the end of a stick) to clean up. To be honest, my guests were rather disgusted, more so for those with the water dripping into their food.

Hilton’s Initial Response: It was because the guests kept going in and out of the room. However, according to my guests, the condensation happened before the wedding started proper.
Hilton’s Response after we wrote in (2 pages long to present our views): On the air conditioning in the function room, it was due to the humid air coming from the pool section and when mixed with the cold air, this resulted the condensation on the air troffer which caused the droplets. As to the explanation given by the engineer regarding the condensation, certainly it was a wrong choice of words used, it was never meant to blame any individual.

My impression from my conversation with a Director from Hilton is that I should be grateful that it sent in a staff to clean the ceiling instead of just letting the water droplets drip. Besides, this is the course of actions that any other establishment/hotels would have taken, albeit being unsightly.

3. Some tables situated at the corner of the room complaint that they were very hot and felt “suffocatedâ€
Hilton’s Response: My guests (at the four affected tables) must have been intoxicated by the drinks which is why they felt warm?!

4. The bridal suite that we have been assigned was on a smoking floor. The room stink of smoke and the air-con vent was very noisy (loud sucking noise) that we cannot sleep well. We were woken up by the noise every other hour.

Hilton’s Response: Nothing was wrong with the room and it could be because we were light sleepers. Our preference for the non-smoking floor was not clear as they could not see my preference stated in my HHonor account as this is not a widely shared system amongst Hilton group of hotels.

My dinner is totally ruined by the above as my guests had been very unhappy with the service and condition of the ballroom. I was asked by many of my guests to look through my video to see if this poor service standard was captured! Some also wanted to go down to Hilton to present their complaints. After the event, I was also highly stressed by Hilton. In my teleconversation, it was implied that I had “exaggerated†the seriousness of the matter, albeit that the cleaner had to go in twice to wipe off the water droplets?! In the end, Hilton only offered to issue complimentary meal vouchers (that is after much arguments) to the affected guests as a Gesture of Goodwill (Hilton’s exact phrase) and as a sincere apology. And my Coordinator was issued a warning letter, short of being sacked?! To be honest, my coordinator was quite helpful and not sure if this is the right way that Hilton should handle the matter., i.e. to make her take the fall.

What a way to begin our marriage life.

Devastated Bride....

apologies, typo below

In the end, Hilton only offered to issue complimentary meal vouchers (that is after much arguments) to the affected guests as a Gesture of Goodwill (Hilton’s exact phrase) and

NOT

as a sincere apology.

Anyway, my purpose is just to share my unpleasant experience and to remind all brides to carefully check the signage and menu and to make ur preference clear...dun be caught in my situation

wow. that sounds quite bad. and the explanations given for the various incidents seems kind of weak and somehow it makes me feel that they don't seem to be addressing the issues, and rather trying to shift the blame?

Whether it's the coordinator, the air-con, the stuffy corner, or the suite, all these still represent Hilton...

They really didn't apologise at all?

Virtual> ok replied ur email le

last time food tasting my name also spelt wrongly "e" with "a"... my hubby immediately spotted it and the manager immediately changed all the signages at lobby, menu etc

hmm... then the rest is quite smooth... as my inlaws paid for an additional room for overnight stay, they assign the same (non-smoking as what we indicated in the contact) floor (adjacent to the bridal suite) to us so that it is easier for us ...

btw, my coordinator is Rachel
very nice & patient lady and willing to go the extra mile

Virtual > my coordinator is not new...

shin > the writer did apologise to me but when he called me up to discuss how the hotel could compensate my guests, he was super rude. He was saying things like we should not make this into a "finger pointing exercise" (his exact phrase). He said that any other hotels would bring in the "ceiling mop" to clean up the mess. Re my complaint abt the suite, he remarked that "well, there's a grey line for light sleeper"?!

saggiegirl > I also detected the wrong spelling during the food tasting, but still it was not rectified.

saggiegirl, applie, seems like it's quite common for the typo in name.. cos my name was wrong as well during the food tasting.. and in some of the docs.. -_-

starfrost> coz my name is not very common .... the "e" and "a" sound the same...haha... but all rectified during food tasting
then wedding dinner all OK

wendy> HHonors has no privileges.. HHonors members can clock in privilege pts whenever they stay at the Hilton group of hotels worldwide and participate in any hotel stay promos

Hi Saggiegirl, did you request for your coordinator ? Before I signed the package I am liasing with Rachel. During the day when I signed the contract as it was a roadshow it was handle by someone else. Does it mean my coordiantor has change? I prefer Rachel who is more patient.

Applie: That is realli bad and I can imagine the ordeal both ur HB and u been through... I used the Panaroma room for my wedding last yr too and everything went very well (though there were some minor wrongs with regards to the bridal suite). Who was ur coordinator and the banquet manager for ur AD? Frankly, it is not unfair for your coordinator to take the blame as she is responsible for mistakes like the wrong spellings and in ensuring the good condition of the venue and the comfort resting suite for the couple. As most of us are aware, hotels hire PT staffs for weddings and thus, the staffs might not be senstive enuff to know a few things and thus, this is where banquet manager has to step in and take charge of the whole situation, by mopping the ceiling during banquet is certainly not acceptable in away, thus, perhaps this boils down the the responsibility of the banquet manager. What is the hotel's compensation to your HB and you?

Sunnyham: I doubt there is a change of coordinator unless prior notice... Same as saggiegirl, Rachel was my coordinator till my big day...

Littlewoman > I dun feel like naming her... thanks for agreeing that " it is unacceptable for mopping the ceiling during banquet " as a Director in Hilton called to say that any other entities would have done the same and the way he sounded was like I am over-reacting....

Applie: of coz... It is rather logical and common sense that a reputable hotel won't be doing such thing. Anyway, it is over, don't let it further affect both of you anymore ya...

Hey Applie,
sorry to hear about so many things happening during your wedding dinner.. hope they have followed up on it and had taken the appropriate actions... Hope you still had good memories of the morning event as well as some of the night event! Think of the good things after that k?

I just had my wedding banquet in the grand ballroom over the weekend, and everything went thru smoothly mostly.. My surname was spelled wrongly too, although it was rectified fairly quickly when my dad noted it.
The AV guys, the banquet manager as well as my coordinator were very on the ball and everything went like clockwork..

Only not so gd thing was the after banquet dinner was sent up to the suite before we even called the room service, so after removing the gazillion pins and washing up, the food went cold already.. But everybody was very polite and smiley after knowing we had our wedding there.. It was quite a dream having our wedding at Hilton, no regrets for us..

hopefully Hilton can keep up the good work they gave us for all future Hilton couples..

Hey Virtual,
we chose the crystal theme, but made quite a few changes to the table cloth colour and napkin colours..

I think gold cloth for VIP tables, silver cloth for other tables.. Bronze backdrop on the stage.. Bronze reception table with red roses... haha.. u can request with your coordinator on the colour combi.. My coordinator gave us some good advice as well.. but I dont think my helpers took photos of the ballroom..

Have to wait till after cny to get the photos from my photographers.. will post some here when i get them..

Heya all! I am finally back in Singapore for CNY! gona eat and eat and eat.... going to see the panorama room for the first time...yes we booked it without even visiting it!

Anyways need a favour from all the brides to be...or the now Mrs..... as I am lugging my wedding dress all the way from Norway to Singapore, I will need someone to dry clean/steam it when we get here in July .... do you guys know of any reliable dry cleaners who can guarantee to a good job on dry cleaning/steaming wedding dresses? If not, can you guys ask your bridal boutique whether they do it and if yes, how much??? MY gown is so precious to me I am worried any old dry cleaners might destroy it!!

I've asked Hilton but their housekeeping dept don't do wedding gown cleaning services.....

Thanks a million in advance!

Ailing> u can try Presto drycleaners
i dry clean my BLUM dresses from them
they have multiple outlets in SG so just find one closer to your home

my bridal boutique dry clean all our gowns and suits (for photoshoot & AD) with no charge as we booked our package from them

happy CNY!

Ailing: Welcome back to SG... Getting ready for the AD?
My BS doesn't realli outsource this service... But I had used Presto drycleaners before... they are not too bad...

Heya saggie and littlewoman... I went to 2 bridal shops today around Bugis....one quoted me $50 for drycleaning and steaming.... and the other one quoted me $200!

Then I went to presto at taka and the very nice lady say because I have only 3 days for the dry cleaning and steaming they have to do it as express service... so that cost $240....not worth it she said! Alamak...

Ailing x

Ailing: S$50 is rather cheap... but are they reputable? I mean it is usually rather senstive and we hope that they can be careful with our wedding gowns...

hi girls.. anybody went for food tasting recently? any recommendations? hee.. im having my food tasting soon.. not sure what to choose.. by the way, can we mix and match between menus?

cocotintin> from wat i know, the price is $918 nett for weekends... if it falls on auspicious dates (do check with Hilton on the dates) then is $1018 nett

lingz> u can mix & match between menus
that is wat we did for our wedding in Dec 09. However do note that certain dishes needs to top up e.g. the Hilton Signature Cheesecake, or if u want a particular fish like Soon Hock...coz higher priced fish

hihi, saggie, how are u being a mrs. Have u register the diploma for the wedding planning ?
Btw a word of advice to all potential Hilton bride to be , from the feedbacks gathered from my last banquet in hilton, there are some negative feedbacks : a) the music of the montage from the first march in to the second march in - is not loud enough especially the food funfair where i choose this song from the beauty and the beast ( be my guest )the volumn is low. b) the food for the guest tables are cold and not warm enough. Please made sure the coordinators are informed and be around during the banquet.

hi bubblesss, thanks so much for highlighting that. I'm getting a bit worried now as I've started to rec'd few feedbacks from frens who attended dinner at Hilton that food not nice etc. Making me anxious but I doubt there's anything we can do too ya?

Like to check with the Happily Mrs here, what's the usual procedure for wine control? I am bringing in own wine and am not sure what's the best way for wine control. ie. Do we handover ALL the wines to the hotel staff in advance? Can we trust them that they will serve the guests and not for own consumption? Hope I am not sounding too skeptical here but some married friends had bad encounters with other hotels hence just being careful.

Hi Lingz> I'm also gg for my food tasting soon.. Next week to be exact..

missysee: Any special wines for specific tables? For my case, I brought in 48 bottles of wine, my HB handed over all the wine (i.e. with proper labelling) to Rachel, my coordinator on the eve of the wedding. Subsequently, we gave instructions to the banquet manager that they are only allowed to use my wine after the completion of the hotel wine for general tables and only certain tables enjoyed better quality of wine and they have to check with my in-charge or my HB upon opening up any new bottles... As my HB and the banquet manager did a stock take of the wine, they are rather careful with it and they returned a lot of bottles to us due to non-consumption by our guests.

bubblesss> haha... ya i know the diploma in wedding planning
not yet signed up...
due to heavy work commitments

dunnoe leh...for us the music volume is just nice, food warmly served (even for our share up in the suite)...

missysee> must enjoy ur food tasting ya?

for wine wise, my MIL bought chilean red wine from NTUC as she knows the supplier well
... so we delivered all the wine on 4 Dec as my wedding on 6 Dec... in the end only 33 bottles out of the 60 bottles are consumed... then the remaining bottles we bring home and now sitting in my in-laws place
so can be used for future weddings in our families lor...

Thanks to two Mrs. for sharing! hee..

Some years back, I saw my cousin controlled the wines by asking the servers to exchange 1 empty wine bottle to a new one at a helper's table. Not sure if this is necessary as I find it troublesome for helpers. At the same time worried there's not enough control and no more wine halfway.. hmm.. maybe I should not be so bothered and trust them..

I am preparing 1 wine/table, do u girls think it's enough?

Saggie, is your co-o Rachel as well? I wonder if there'll be any diff in treatment due to diff co-o.. wow, if u had taken the diploma earlier, I will hire u first!

missysee> 1 wine bottle per table is enuff provided there are no heavy wine drinkers (wine lovers) in your guests
coz if your guests esp if they are arranged in 1 table are all drinkers, then the 1 wine bottle per table may not be enuff

the banquet manager will ask u how u want to control the wine etc (that is wat i can recall)... so no worries

i got see before...1 table can drink up to 5 bottles @_@...

what i realise is that even our free beer also not many guests drink...

yeah! my co-ord is Rachel as well
very nice lady with a heart of patience... attended to our needs promptly... June also attended to our needs on our big day as well...and walked to me to "sayang" me on my bday
...hehe...

hi missysee.. my food tasting is one week after yours! haha.. guess our wedding should be around the same time then.. hee..

njoy your food tasting then.. let me know how it goes ya? =)

missysee: Hmm... it will depends who are the guests at the table. Some of my HB's army buddies, my dad's friends and close relatives drank slightly more than the rest but overall, I suppose 2 - 3 bottles should be just nice if most of them are drivers... they would take note of their limits.

oh ic ic.. Then I'll just estimate 1 wine/ table bah.. else I duno what to do with the unconsumed ones.. hee..

Hiyah Lingz, I am so looking forward to the fooood... hoping to take a pic of everything!

Missysee, dun worry, the main server will let u take a pic of all the dishes as ure supposed to be ok with the presentation bef they proceed to divide the food during ur food tasting..

hehe... we also took photos here and there

remember not to take a heavy lunch on the date of food tasting

we had such good food tasting that we slept at 12am coz we are too full!!
but probably is the only time we get to enjoy the good food as on our AD, no time to eat (except for 1st, 2nd, last dish)

I'm thinking of holding my wedding dinner either at Hilton or Goodwood Park. Any suggestions?

Anyone had theirs wedding dinner at these 2 places? Appreciate your inputs.