Hilton Hotel

chercher: nahz.. I didn't know about that till later.. (after the completion of my printing).. I took the usual gold inserts.. Chosen the white overlaying hearts cards.. How abt you? Which design you pick? Used Hotstamping too?

starfrost: The wine prawns really good; fresh too. For cod fish, ok leh; my FIL who is a food lover finds it so good!

chercher: If you see me on FB, pm me. I have pictures of all the food dishes I food-tasted at Hilton. May help.

littlewoman: I am doing hotstamping. Just want to check, do T-Drago provide Hilton map for us to insert? I want to have so that they know about parking...

stella>>> happie hor

littlewoman>> i choose the couple de.. yeap, i used hot stamping

jane>> sure

Hi Stella, saggiegirl >>

We heard good reviews for Ritz previously but was quite disappointed.

There were ard 72 tables that evening but looked like they had less than 20 waiters/waitresses.

Understaffed perhaps? Especially during examination period...

Already warned my buddy who'll have 85 tables in Jan 2010.

Stella: counting down ya.. the excitment and happiness..

Jane: I am not too sure on the map, didn't print the map.. Kinda of like didn't know about this till later part.

wow.. MelPin: how long was the banquet?

hi gals, can check with you all something, during the actual day event, must the bride or goom give red packets to those not married friends.

bubblesss> no need =)

my parents (& in laws) only give to PG, VG, MUAs, helpers, brothers, car open door boy
the rest ...

i only give small token to my PG, VG, MUA (as they r coming v early at 5-6am)... then to my frens & colleagues who r helping me during the evening reception & photography coordination

now is 49 days away from our wedding...getting faster & faster...

hi saggie n virtual, thks, just to double check first. almost complete in sending out the cards and now wait for the GTL and our PG to pass to her our photos. we have almost one month to the big day

HihI, I am back to work..sianz! Tons of work to do..

Well feedbacks on Hilton:
Rehearsal time is good..but during our 1st march in, we waited abt 5mins outside ballroom!! - 1st mistake! a delay dono why..and somemore they played the wrong song! My 2nd march in song become my 1st march in song! 2nd mistake! Holly shit manz..we were like what happen!?? 3rd mistake - my fanfare song was cut off and changed to another song!

Friends and relatives do not know these mistakes, but WE and the helpers relised it! and the reason that they gave us is "player suddenly got stuck?!" well they do know that that isnt an reason they should gave us..so we asked for comepensation lo! they waive us 1 table and gave us complimentary dinner at Checkers and breakfast the next day.
Haiz...quite disappointed but at least for the songs section, no one realised it..only for the section before we 1st march in, there is a DELAy..everyone standing up le waiting for us...but...anyway is over le..and we did enjoyed durin the banquet and i didnt even get to eat at all..oni for the 1st dish and 2nd dish..my sharkfin i didnt eat finish at all lo..haha

the suite is big manz!! svc to our htl room is great oso!

Stella> how come? did they mention why the song is wrong?

we are using our own songs for march-in... burn each song into 1 CD each to avoid any hiccups...

Stella> i see i see....

was contemplating of bringing my own lappie plus audio cable & speakers...but a bit ma fan coz very heavy... so still dunnoe yet...

but at least the mistake is not that "critical"...

saggiegirl > r u going to use their fanfare song? I m going to do without it but I m not sure if it'd be weird.... I guess u r well prepared for the wedding. Mine is 3 wks after yours but still lots of things never do. Now i feel the stress... not sure if this is so called wedding jitters? =(
R u going to do the photo montage yourself or you get pple to do it for u? Is it tough to DIY? Any software can download online? Rachel said it must be cd format and ppt is not supported.

joyjoy1> hello
long time no see u here

feel free to add me on MSN/FB: [email protected] share photos, etc...

ok...for montage, hubby is doing it
he used some photoshop, GIMP thingy... then i am responsible to do the last step which is to merge the music

fanfare song, i am still thinking real hard :p... was contemplating of using my own songs (as my march-in songs are from my own)...
alrdy burnt them into indiv CDs ....

saggiegirl> ya... long time nvr dropby to this forum. i get panic when the date draws nearer... my hubby not very good at IT, so i will have to do the montage while struggling to go gym. =p

I have decided for the 1st and 2nd march in song. the fanfare song is a little bit drama to me, tat's why i was thinking to do away with it. Just sent u a facebook fren request. we can share photos from there. =)

Oh dear Stella, sounds disappointing yah? But given the waiver of one table sounds not too bad afterall~

May I know what's fanfare song? Paiseh~ still getting used to the wedding terms here.

missysee> ya usually u go to wedding lunches/dinners...before the 1st dish.. got a fast paced song

we will be using our own songs
...hee hee...

Saggiegirl> Tks for the compliment. U r looking good too and best of it, u n yr hubby dun hv to lose weight. I hv put on a lot since i met my hubby. We always go hunt for good food. That's why now i got to go gym more frequent. =(

Btw, I saw the pink tea set in your FB. May i know where to get it?

joyjoy1> haha...
it is the truth wat

no lar... me in real person look plain de... u ask freegoer (aka my hubby)...

the pink tea set i bought from chinatown $25... although i say a bit "heartpain" lar... but it is nice

saggiegirl> u r too humble. =) But i think u r not plain, just need some flesh/meat... which i can give it to u foc. kekeke....
do u hv the address to buy the tea set? I m going to get only tea set and lamp only. The rest of the GDL items, can either simplify or skip it. My MIL did not mention anything and my mom first time marry off the daughter. so we only follow as much as we know.

Oohh.. icic.. Thanks freegoer and Saggiegirl.

Just wondering if we should appoint a friend as our AV coordinator to avoid what Stella had went through... ?

joyjoy1>> u can get them at chinatown.... smith street.. the market der.. u know where is shuang yu?? yeah, its der.. alternatively, the people's park centre... the one next to OG building, level 2 or 3 have other shops

missysee> maybe u can
i am asking my nice guy colleague (he is married but with experience in wedding helper)...to coordinate with photography...so find another fellow to help me with AV stuff etc etc...

joyjoy1> haha...
u all ah...

the tea set i buy from the Tiao Xi*ng (replace * with a) dept store @ Chinatown market
...it is behind new bridge centre (where downstairs is the CK dept store)

chercher> Tks! i didnt know Chinatown sells wedding stuff.... got to ask my hubby to go Chinatown shopping w me. btw, shuangyu is replaced by CK so u r talking abt the same shop as saggiegirl right?

saggiegirl> Tks. i dunno where is newbridge centre but i know chinatown market and ck dept store. shld be able to find since i hv the name now. the tea set is cute but it is also quite ex... can nego there?

hi littlewoman > my hubby is very particular on the sound system and video arrangement, he will delicate the task to our main coordinator ( helper ) on the AD and another coordinator for the reception , just like the company dinner and dance format. We will bring along our nieces and nephews who are performing on our AD to the AV testing

joyjoy1> hee hee... new bridge centre is accessible by chinatown mrt station and a lot of buses
.... yes...i "fall in love" with the tea set....
haha.... we tried to nego but a bit difficult coz the quality of porcelain used is good...not those lousy type

bubblesss: That's good... It is an important day, we should minimise mistakes right. I am rather afraid after hearing Stella's comments too. Keeping my fingers crossed that everything will turn out well. Probably getting one of the XDs to standby jus in case anything gets wrong with the AV system.

hi littlewoman> thats normal, it is such an important occasion whereby there must be an alternative plan if some mistakes are made on that day. Thats why we had a briefing to the sisters last week on their specific task for that day. Task ranging from time keeper to the banquet arrangement.

bubblesss: Same here.. I will be meeting all my XDs and JMs to discuss on the day plans on 6 Nov.. Kinda of stress up at times.. just hope that everything will be smooth..

chercher> yes we took the garoupa
as both side parents prefer a fish presented with head & tail (in chinese saying: you3 tou2 you3 wei3...got to read in hanyu pinyin lar)...
the fish meat not tough ... very fresh as it is not frozen fish...

i oso took that.. but the meat is tough lo.. then the chef told me its normal for live fish to be like tat......we were all like... zzzzzzzzzzzz

hahhaa