Hilton Hotel

hi saggiegirl, any pics of the ang bao box? and how's the condition of the boxes? thanks gal

Saggiegirl: for my case, I took extra miles for my friends and colleagues, i typed their names on the inserts and envelope.. As for my parents, I am leaving it to them..

Starfrost: I've chosen the white card..
I'll be choosing the ivory color book as well.

starfrost> i never see before so did not took any photos ...

the ivory guest book is normal ivory color with a nice bow in front
coz my BS also got give me guestbook with our photos... so still contemplating which 1 to use on our AD
so all our guestbooks are free
save $$$...

littlewoman> hee hee... all my cards got handwritten names and envelopes are sealed with small xi stickers
simple enuff yet not too complicated
i did them while at home after my hsework

thanks bubblesss
will do that..

what format do we need to use for the songs? normal CD format or mp3 format? :P

for food tasting, are there specific timing for the lunch / dinner?

starfrost> Rachel informed that no MP3
coz due to technical issues & of coz potential copyright/licensing issues... just to be safe lor

food tasting is usually done at dinner from 7-10pm

starfrost: I didn't take pics of the guestbook.. quite plain I feel though..

saggiegirl: I always think my handwriting is small, thus, decided to type..
Didn't know about that.. thanks for the information, shasn't do in Mp3 format then..

littlewoman> ya the hilton guestbook is plain but i like the ivory color
hee hee... my BS guestbook is also ard the same color bt is with our photos de ...

starfrost> food so far quite good... we exchange some dishes between menus...
we took the garoupa coz parents dun really fancy the cod fish fillet...

odod> food cold? got meh... our food is served hot & nice...

starfrost> based on my limited memory... coz me teaching a new module so let me dig out ...

1. cold dish - monkey head mushroom, salmon skin, prawns, eel, and 1 more dish i cannot remember....
2. shark fin
3. herbal chicken
4. abalone & vege
5. garoupa
6. wine prawns
7. zhenjiang pork ribs
8. lotus rice
9. yam paste

paiseh the names dun sound nice coz i just think of the generic names

hi saggiegirl, thanks!

1. is this cold dish nice?
3. heard that this is the signature dish..
i am also thinking of choosing this
6. did u get them to change the wasabi mayonnaise prawn to the wine prawns? cos i don't like wasabi mayonnaise too.. not sure if hilton allows us to change a not.

Hi saggie, then for the songs, can we burn the songs we wan into a CD? that shud be ok right?

wah u seen the guest book already ah.. i havent seen any. may i know now u r dealing with who? coz in the beginning rachel was coordinating with us.. now only Pansy is attending us...

hi odod, the food served on the food tasting day are fresh, cooked on the spot and huge amount. u can go to my multipy site to view it
archbreaker.multiply.com

Our wedding @ Hilton in Dec 2009...

Hope everything turns out fine with the food and service.

Was at Ritz last weekend and everything was terrible. Bad service...food was so-so.

Hullo everyone *waves* m new in here; m a prospective hilton BTB. juz signed the contract for sept 2010 wif June today. M SO excited!!!! juz a question : anyone tried the Bird's nest soup with Conpoy, etc as a replacement for shark's fin? how is it? or is it more worth it to get the sharks fin? i heard dat in traders hotel its essentially chicken soup; with only 2 miserable piece of birds nest floating ard.. eeks.

starfrost>

1. is this cold dish nice? Nice!!... i like the eel & mushroom

3. heard that this is the signature dish.. :-) i am also thinking of choosing this
6. did u get them to change the wasabi mayonnaise prawn to the wine prawns? cos i don't like wasabi mayonnaise too.. not sure if hilton allows us to change a not.... >> we changed to the wine prawns... much nicer than wasabi prawns... coz not many guests like wasabi

Greentea> my coordinator is all along Rachel
although is Pansy who sent the reminder email lar
but all are nice ppl

yes we chosen our guest book on the day of food tasting... done most of the banquet stuff... except for confirmation of tables, songs, AV testing etc..

songs wise, i am deciding within this week ... i will burn into a CD... 1 song per CD to play safe lor

Stella> 1 week countdown!!

MelPin>
last time i went to ritz for a wedding (coz my ex-colleague married a prominent businessman's son)...service & food was very good leh... until now i still dreaming of ritz food

chercher> actually not very "tonic" coz in between got 3 dishes to separate
overall dinner is good... so full till slept at 12am!!

integraGal: I am selecting that as my 2nd dish.. Went for food tasting and I like it..

for my case, I have taken the wasabi prawns, just hope it wun be the leftover dish on that night.

How is the drunken prawns? Is it nice?

littlewoman>> which cold dish, fish and ribz u choose??

saggie>> not veri tonic ah.. hmmm.. will consider.... the song muz be in wat format??? one song per disc??? veri kua zhang leh :p

chercher: I have chosen the cod fish.. can't remember if i choose the ribs.. keke.. follow my HB's ideas on most of it.. How about you?

Is MP4 okay?

haha.. they have different style arh? I dunno Chercher.. I took the one from the package and everyone likes it.. hope it turns out the same on my AD.

thanks saggiegirl
i'll opt for wine prawns then.. cos don't think most guests will like wasabi..

chercher, i just checked with rachel. she said song is to be in wma or CD format..

my mum was concerned that the cod fish, if served slightly cold, will not be nice on the actual day.... hm. wondering if i should opt for other fish, besides garoupa, any other fish we can choose?

starfrost: thanks for the info on songs.

Hmm.. you might want to check what other fishes they can exchange for you w/o incurring any topping up..

starfrost>> thanks
shd be able to change the fish
i still stickin to my cod fish

littlewoman>> yeah different styles of fish, one is cantonese, one is soya sauce
i mixed between the menus...

little woman , hilton will also provide a list of songs they have so if u prefer to use their love songs then u dun need to prepare the cd : )

littlewoman : thanks for the heads up on the birds nest.. i guess i'm jus worrying needlessly. cuz i thot birds nest is kinda like a dessert dish instead of savoury. hee.